DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 8/22/2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-21 are pending. Claim 1 is currently amended.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 4-13 in the reply filed on 08/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the hydroxyl group of N-hydroxyethylacrylamide (HEAA) is different from the claimed alkyl group having 3 or less carbons. This is not found persuasive because Tatuhiro discloses a polymerizable composition (active energy ray-curable nanocarbon dispersion) [0001] comprising a N-substituted (meth)acrylamide is one or more monomers selected from (meth)acryloylmorpholine (meets the limitations of a (meth)acryloylmorpholine represented by formula (1) of the instant claims wherein R1 is hydrogen or methyl), N,N-dimethyl(meth)acrylamide, N,N-diethyl(meth)acrylamide, and N-methyl(meth)acrylamide [0012]. As shown in Example 3, Tatuhiro discloses acryloylmorpholine (ACMO) and N-hydroxyethylacrylamide (HEAA) as shown in Example 3 wherein a total content of the first component and a content of the second component of the polymerizable composition is 50 wt% or more as shown in Table 2. The nanocarbon is as low as 0.01 wt% and the PVP is as low as 0.05 wt% [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the N-hydroxyethylacrylamide as shown in the Example 3 with either N,N-dimethyl(meth)acrylamide, N,N-diethyl(meth)acrylamide, or N-methyl(meth)acrylamide as these compounds are functional equivalents of the N-substituted (meth)acrylamide and similar properties would be expected.
.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10, and 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatuhiro (JP 2014152080 A, See machine translation for citation).
Regarding claims 1 and 4-6, Tatuhiro discloses a polymerizable composition (active energy ray-curable nanocarbon dispersion) [0001] comprising a N-substituted (meth)acrylamide is one or more monomers selected from (meth)acryloylmorpholine (meets the limitations of a (meth)acryloylmorpholine represented by formula (1) of the instant claims wherein R1 is hydrogen or methyl), N,N-dimethyl(meth)acrylamide, N,N-diethyl(meth)acrylamide, and N-methyl(meth)acrylamide [0012]. As shown in Example 3, Tatuhiro discloses acryloylmorpholine (ACMO) and N-hydroxyethylacrylamide (HEAA) as shown in Example 3 wherein a total content of the first component and a content of the second component of the polymerizable composition is 50 wt% or more as shown in Table 2. The nanocarbon is as low as 0.01 wt% and the PVP is as low as 0.05 wt% [0044]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the N-hydroxyethylacrylamide as shown in the Example 3 with either N,N-dimethyl(meth)acrylamide, N,N-diethyl(meth)acrylamide, or N-methyl(meth)acrylamide as these compounds are functional equivalents of the N-substituted (meth)acrylamide and similar properties would be expected.
Regarding claims 7-9, Tatuhiro discloses 1,6-hexanediol di(meth)acrylate (R6 is 6 carbon atoms), neopentyl glycol di(meth)acrylate (R6 is 5 carbon atoms), diethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate, tripropylene glycol di(methacrylate) (R6 has 9 carbon atoms), or ditetraethylene glycol di(meth)acrylate (R6 has 8 carbon atoms) [0053].
Regarding claim 10, Tatuhiro discloses the amount of the photopolymerization initiator is from 1 to 10 wt% which overlaps the claimed range and similar properties would be expected [0064]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 13, Takuhiro discloses an ink [0010]. However, Tatuhiro does not disclose the ink for inkjet which is intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02 (II).
Regrading claim 12, Tatuhiro discloses the appropriate viscosity range of the coating agent depends on the application method is 1 to 10,000 mPaˑs at an application temperature of 20 to 100℃ [0066].
However, Tatuhiro does not limit the viscosity at 25℃ is 2 to 30 mPaˑs. As obtaining a good nanocarbon dispersion or coating agent, a resulting coating film with high smoothness and transparency and other physical properties such as durability are variables that can be modified by adjusting said viscoisty, the precise viscosity would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the viscosity, and the motivation to do so would have been to obtain desired obtaining a good nanocarbon dispersion or coating agent, a resulting coating film with high smoothness and transparency and other physical properties such as durability, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatuhiro (JP 2014152080 A, See machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Hirotetsu (JP 2010222386 A, See machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 11, Tatuhiro discloses the polymerizable composition as shown above in claim 1. Tatuhiro discloses antioxidants may be added [0068].
However, Tatuhiro does not disclose a content of the antioxidant in the solid content of the polymerizable composition is 0.01 to 10 wt%. Hirotetsu teaches the amount of the antioxidant is from 0.1 to 8 wt% based on the solid content which is within the claimed range (P23). Hirotetsu is concerned with an ink composition (Abstract). Tatuhiro and Hirotetsu are analogous art concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely ink compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the amount of antioxidant as per the teachings of Hirotetsu, and the motivation to do so would have been as Hirotetsu suggests stabilizing the composition.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2019104867 A .
Correspondence
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725