DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 13 and 14 in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grune et al. (US Patent 2016/0338923) in view of Matsuda et al. (US Patent 5,650,172).
Grune et al. disclose liposome composition comprising natural phospholipids or lecithin (([0045]). Grune et al. disclose the composition comprises black pepper and clove is present in an amount of between about 0.1% and about 10% ([0047]). Grune et al. disclose the composition is a carrier for food and /or pharmaceutical grade products (reference claim 2). Grune et al. disclose the composition comprises tocopherol acetate ([0068]).
Grune et al. differs from the instant claims insofar as they do not disclose a ratio of bioactive to vesicle.
Matsuda et al. disclose a fat emulsion of fat microparticles, which can be lyophilized and easily and rapidly reconstituted (ABSTRACT). Matsuda et al. disclose a fat emulsion comprising 48 g lecithin, 5g of oleic acid, and 5 g of tocopherol acetate, which is a ratio of 9.6:1:1 and meets the limitation of instant claim 4 (EXAMPLE 10). Matsuda et al. disclose the fat emulsion has a mean particle diameter of about 80 nm.
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have used the pharmaceutical composition of Matsuda with the carrier of Grune since Grune teaches the liposomal carrier for food and pharmaceutical products. One of ordinary skill in the art would have by routine experimentation found the claimed ratio of bioactive to vesicle and to have formulated the vesicles in the claimed size range. The composition suggested by the references would be capable to be used for the intended use of claim 13 and 14.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612