DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “a surface of the extension away from the winding center forms a vacant area which surrounds the roll-core by at least one turn”.
However, Claim 1 sets forth the first insulation film and/or the second insulation film forming an extension with respect to the negative material at a tail of the roll-core and Claim 8 further sets forth the negative material having an extension with respect to the positive material at a tail of the roll-core” and therefore it is unclear which of the two extensions set forth the limitation is referring to.
For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to recite “a surface of the extension of the negative material away from the winding center forms a vacant area which surrounds the roll-core by at least one turn”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 110828716 A, cited on the IDS dated December 1, 2022, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation), and further in view of Ahn et al. (US PGPub 2021/0265696 A1), Kim et al. (US PGPub 2006/0024571 A1), Kim et al. (US PGPub 2022/0376321 A1), hereinafter referred to as Son, Aoki (US PGPub 2021/0159546 A1), and Kim et al. (US PGPub 2003/0072993 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shin.
Regarding Claim 1, Xu discloses in Figs. 5-6 a button battery ([0004], [0007]-[0008], [0050]), comprising:
a first shell (2), the first shell (2) comprising a first annular sidewall (22) and a first end cover (21), wherein the first annular sidewall (22) is hermetically provided with the first end cover (21) at one end and is open at the other end ([0050], [0064]);
a second shell (1), the second shell (1) comprising a second annular sidewall (12) and a second end cover (11), wherein the second annular sidewall (12) is hermetically provided with the second end cover (11) at one end and is open at the other end ([0050], [0064]);
the first shell (2) and the second shell (1) are connected together with their open ends opposite to each other, the first annular sidewall (22) is sleeved outside the second annular sidewall (12), an insulating sleeve (4) is provided between the first annular sidewall (22) and the second annular sidewall (12), a first annular protrusion (13) protruding toward the insulating sleeve (4) is formed in the circumferential direction of the outer surface of the second annular sidewall (12), and the first annular protrusion (13) abuts against the insulating sleeve (4) ([0050], [0059]); and
wherein a second annular protrusion (23) protruding toward the insulating sleeve (4) is formed in the circumferential direction of an inner surface of the first annular sidewall (22) , and the second annular protrusion (23) abuts against the insulating sleeve (4) (Figs. 5-6, [0050], [0059]).
However, Xu does not disclose wherein on the first annular sidewall, between the first end cover and the second annular protrusion, a plurality of elongated through-holes or grooves formed by a scribed line process are provided, each of the plurality of elongated through-holes or grooves extending in an axial direction of the first shell.
Ahn teaches in Figs. 9A-11 a cylindrical battery (100) comprising a shell (110, 120, 130) comprising an annular sidewall (110), a first end cover (130), and a second end cover (120), wherein a plurality of elongated grooves (150) are provided on the annual sidewall (110) and extend in an axial direction of the shell (110, 120, 130) and a groove (160) provided on the second end cover (120) ([0141]-[0142]).
Specifically, Ahn teaches wherein the plurality of elongated grooves (150) and the groove (160) break when a pressure inside of the cylindrical battery (100) exceeds a preset pressure in order to discharge gas outside of the cylindrical battery (100) ([0137], [0141]-[0142]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a plurality of elongated grooves on the first annular sidewall of Xu, each of the plurality of elongated grooves extending in an axial direction of the first shell of Xu, and to provide a groove on the second end cover of Xu, as taught by Ahn, in order to discharge gas outside of the cylindrical battery of Xu when a pressure inside of the cylindrical battery exceeds a preset pressure.
Ahn further teaches in Figs. 9A-11 wherein the plurality of elongated grooves (150) are positioned to be biased toward the first end cover (130) in order to prevent movement within the cylindrical battery (100) by balancing gas discharged from the plurality of elongated through holes (150) on the annual sidewall (110) and the groove (160) on the second end cover (120) ([0147]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the plurality of elongated grooves to be biased toward the first end cover of modified Xu, as further taught by Ahn, such that they are positioned between the first end cover and the second annular protrusion of modified Xu, in order to prevent movement within the cylindrical battery of modified Xu by balancing gas discharged from the plurality of elongated through holes in the first annual sidewall of modified Xu and the groove in the second end cover of modified Xu.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “a plurality of elongated through-holes or grooves formed by a scribed line process are provided” is a product-by-process limitation and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the implied structure of the product.
The Examiner notes that the instant specification discloses wherein the through-holes or grooves can be formed by a scribed line process such that when the high-pressure gas inside the button battery or cylindrical battery reaches a preset pressure, it can automatically break along the scribed line to release the pressure ([0041]).
Thus, because modified Xu discloses a plurality of elongated grooves (150 of Ahn) that break when a pressure inside of the cylindrical battery (100 of Xu) exceeds a preset pressure in order to discharge gas outside of the cylindrical battery (100 of Xu) ([0141]-[0142] of Ahn), such reads on the limitation “a plurality of elongated through-holes or grooves formed by a scribed line process are provided”.
Modified Xu further discloses wherein the first shell (2 of Xu) and the second shell (1 of Xu) enclose a receiving cavity in which a roll-core (3 of Xu) is provided, the roll-core (3 of Xu) is connected with the first shell (2 of Xu) and the second shell (1 of Xu) respectively via a tab (31 of Xu) (Figs. 5-6, [0050], [0072] of Xu).
However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein one end surface of the roll-core and the first end cover are provided with an insulating spacer therebetween, or the end surface and the second end cover are provided with an insulating film spacer therebetween.
Kim teaches in Fig. 1b a cylindrical battery (100) ([0026]) comprising a first shell (400) and a second shell (300) enclosing a receiving cavity in which a roll-core (200) is provided, wherein the roll-core (200) is connected with the first shell (400) and the second shell (300) respectively via a tab (215, 225) ([0027]-[0028]).
Specifically, Kim teaches in Fig. 1b wherein one end surface of the roll-core (200) and the first shell (400) are provided with an insulating spacer (214) therebetween in order to insulate the roll-core (200) from the first shell (400) ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an insulating spacer between one end surface of the roll-core of modified Xu and the first end cover of modified Xu, as taught by Kim, in order to insulate the roll-core from the first end cover.
Modified Xu further discloses wherein the roll-core (3 of Xu) comprises an insulating film (35 of Xu), a positive material (341 of Xu) and a negative material (342 of Xu), the positive material (341 of Xu) being sandwiched between the insulating film (35 of Xu) and the negative material (342 of Xu) being located outside the insulating film (35 of Xu) (Figs. 5-6, [0072] of Xu).
However, modified Xu does not disclose a first insulating film and a second insulating film, the positive material being sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film, and the negative material being located outside the first insulating film or the second insulating film.
Son teaches in Figs. 1-3 a roll-core (100) comprising an insulating film (160) in order to separate and electrically insulate the positive material (110) from the negative material (120) ([0024]-[0025]).
Specifically, Son teaches in Figs. 1-3 wherein the insulating film (160) may comprise a first insulating film (140) and a second insulating film (150) such that the positive material (112) is sandwiched between the first insulating film (140) and the second insulating film (150) and the negative material (120) is located outside the first insulating first insulating film (140) or the second insulating film (150) ([0038], [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the insulating film of modified Xu to comprise a first insulating film and a second insulating film, the positive material of modified Xu being sandwiched between the first insulating film and the second insulating film, and the negative material of modified Xu being located outside the first insulating film or the second insulating film, as taught by Son, as such is a known configuration in the art for a roll-core that separates and electrically insulates a positive material from a negative material and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the roll-core desired by modified Son.
Modified Xu discloses wherein during winding, the positive material (341 of Xu) is located on the side close to a winding center and the negative material (342 of Xu) is located on the side away from the winding center (Figs. 5-6, [0072]).
Consequently, modified Xu does not disclose wherein during winding, the negative material is located on the side close to a winding center and the positive material is located on the side away from the winding center.
The Examiner notes wherein during winding, either the positive material or the negative material is located on the side close to the winding center and either the positive material or the negative material is located on the side away from the winding center and therefore the order of the positive material and the negative material is simply a design choice.
Aoki teaches in Fig. 4 a cylindrical battery comprising a roll-core (60) comprising an insulating film (6), a positive material (4) and a negative material (2), wherein during winding, the negative material (2) is located on the side close to a winding center (18) and the positive material (4) is located on the side away from the winding center (18) ([0097]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the roll-core of modified Xu such that during winding, the negative material of modified Xu is located on the side close to a winding center and the positive material of modified Xu is located on the side away from the winding center, as taught by Aoki, as the order of the positive material and the negative material is simply a design choice and such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the roll-core desired by modified Xu.
Modified Xu discloses wherein the insulating film comprises a first insulating film (140 of Son) and a second insulating film (150 of Son) (Figs. 1-3, [0038], [0040]-[0041] of Son).
However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein the first insulating film and/or the second insulating film forms an extension with respect to the negative material at a tail of the roll-core, and the extension surrounds the roll-core by at least one turn, wherein the extension has a length no less than that of a vacant area of the negative material, and wherein the extension encloses a periphery of the roll-core to enhance insulation between the roll-core and the first shell or the second shell.
Shin teaches a battery comprising a roll-core with improved structural and thermal stabilities ([0003]).
Specifically, Shin teaches in Figs. 2-6 a roll-core (20) comprising an insulating film (50), a positive material (30) and a negative material (40) ([0034]), wherein the insulating film (50) forms an extension (see 52 of 50) with respect to the negative material (40) at a tail of the roll-core (20), and the extension (see 52 of 50) surrounds the roll-core (20) by at least one turn, wherein the extension (see 52 of 50) has a length no less than that of a vacant area of the negative material, and wherein the extension (see 52 of 50) encloses a periphery of the roll-core (20) ([0037]-[0038], [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first insulating film of modified Xu and/or the second insulating film of modified Xu to form an extension with respect to the negative material of modified Xu at a tail of the roll-core of modified Xu, wherein the extension surrounds the roll-core by at least one turn, wherein the extension has a length no less than that of a vacant area of the negative material, and wherein the extension encloses a periphery of the roll-core, as taught by Shin, in order to form a roll-core with improved structural and thermal stabilities.
The Examiner notes that the limitation “to enhance insulation between the roll-core and the first shell or the second shell” is intended use and therefore is not given patentable weight aside from the structure required to perform such function.
Thus, because modified Xu discloses wherein the extension of the first insulation film (140 of Son) and/or seconds insulation film (150 of Son) forms an extension that encloses a periphery of the roll-core (3 of Xu) (Figs. 2-6, [0037]-[0038], [0040] of Shin), such reads on the limitation “to enhance insulation between the roll-core and the first shell or the second shell”.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Xu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the first annular protrusion (13 of Xu) and the second annular protrusion (23 of Xu) are staggered in an axial direction of the first shell (2 of Xu) (Figs. 5-6 of Xu).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Xu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Xu remains silent regarding a distance between the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion and consequently does not disclose wherein such is less than or equal to 4 mm.
Though, modified Xu discloses wherein a height of the button battery is 3 to 6 mm ([0050] of Xu) and therefore modified Xu discloses wherein the distance between the first annular protrusion (13 of Xu) and the second annular protrusion (23 of Xu) is necessarily and inherently less than 3 mm when the height of the button battery is 3 mm, which falls within and therefore reads on the instantly claimed range of less than or equal to 4 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the button battery to have a height of 3 mm, as disclosed by modified Xu, such that the distance between the first annular protrusion and the second annular protrusion is less than 3 mm, wherein the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the button battery desired by modified Xu.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Xu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the positive material (341 of Xu) and the negative material (342 of Xu) include a current collector and an electrode active material covering a surface of the current collector ([0072] of Xu).
However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein the electrode active material covers both surfaces of the current collector and further does not disclose wherein the negative material has an extension with respect to the positive material at a tail of the roll-core, and a surface of the extension of the negative material away from the winding center forms a vacant area which surrounds the roll-core by at least one turn.
Shin further teaches wherein the positive material (30) and a negative material (40) include an electrode active material (34 or 44), wherein the electrode active material may be applied to one or both surfaces of a current collector (32 or 42) ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to cover both sides of the current collector of modified Xu with the electrode active material of modified Xu, as further taught by Shin, as such is a known configuration in the art and therefore the skilled artisan would have reasonable expectation that such would successfully form the positive material and the negative material desired by modified Xu.
Moreover, Shin teaches in Fig. 5-6 wherein a negative material (40) has an extension (see 42 of 40) with respect to a positive material (30) at a tail of a roll-core (20), and a surface of the extension (see 42 of 40) of the negative material (40) away from the winding center forms a vacant area which surrounds the roll-core (20) by at least one turn in order to achieve an enhanced heat-dissipating effect.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the negative material of modified Xu to have an extension with respect to the positive material of modified Xu at a tail of the roll-core of modified Xu, wherein a surface of the extension of the negative material away from the winding center of modified Xu forms a vacant area which surrounds the roll-core by at least one turn, as further taught by Shin, in order to achieve an enhanced heat-dissipating effect.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Xu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses a central post, and the first insulating film (140 of Son), the second insulating film (150 of Son), the positive material (341 of Xu) and the negative material (342 of Xu) wind around the central post (Figs. 5-6, [0072] of Xu and Figs. 1-3, [0038], [0040]-[0041] of Son).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Xu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further discloses wherein the tab (31 of Xu) is respectively connected with the first shell (2 of Xu) and the second shell (1 of Xu) ([0072] of Xu).
However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein such is done by resistance welding, laser welding or ultrasonic welding.
Kim further teaches in Fig. 1b wherein the roll-core (200) is connected to the first shell (400) and the second shell (300) via the tab (215, 225]) by laser welding in order to reduce the amount of impurities and prevent the roll-core from being damaged from sparks which may be generated during a resistance welding process while providing uniform welding strength ([0025], [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to respectively connect the tab of modified Xu with the first shell of modified Xu and the second shell of modified Xu by laser welding, as further taught by Kim, in order to reduce the amount of impurities and prevent the roll-core of modified Xu from being damaged while providing uniform welding strength.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (CN 110828716 A, cited on the IDS dated December 1, 2022, see also the provided EPO machine generated English translation) in view of Ahn et al. (US PGPub 2021/0265696 A1), Kim et al. (US PGPub 2006/0024571 A1), Kim et al. (US PGPub 2022/0376321 A1), hereinafter referred to as Son, Aoki (US PGPub 2021/0159546 A1), and Kim et al. (US PGPub 2003/0072993 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shin, as applied to Claim 11 above, and further in view of Jeung et al. (US PGPub 2007/0154790 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Xu discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. However, modified Xu does not disclose wherein at least one of the first insulating film and the second insulating film protrudes from the positive material and the negative material, and a protruded portion forms an insulating protective layer between the first end cover and the roll-core; and/or the protruded portion forms an insulating protective layer between the second end cover and the roll-core.
Jeung teaches a roll-core that minimizes thermal damage to roll-core and prevents the occurrence of short circuits due to introduction of foreign matter into the roll-core ([0011]).
Specifically, Jeung teaches in Figs. 1-4 a roll-core (100) comprising an insulating film (130), a positive material (110) and a negative material (120), wherein the insulating film (130) protrudes from the positive material (110) and the negative material (120), and a protruded portion forms an insulating protective layer between a first end cover (cap plate) and the roll-core (100) ([0032]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form at least one of the first insulating film of modified Xu and the second insulating film of modified Xu to protrude from the positive material of modified Xu and the negative material of modified Xu, wherein a protruded portion forms an insulating protective layer between the first end cover of modified Xu and the roll-core of modified Xu, as taught by Jeung, in order to minimize thermal damage to roll-core and prevent the occurrence of short circuits due to introduction of foreign matter into the roll-core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIMBERLY WYLUDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725