DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on August 7, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 8-12, 14-18, and 21-23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al (US 6133406 A) in view of Van Dijk et al (US 2021/0002481 A1) and Washio et al (US 2016/0168381 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 11-12, and 14: Kosaka teaches a system comprising carbon fibers and a polyamide (col. 11, lines 39-45), wherein the polyamide comprises a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 45-75 mol% of a terephthalic acid and 15-55 mol% of a second dicarboxylic acid (col. 6, lines 31-44) such as cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid (col. 4, lines 23-29), and a diamine component comprising 60-100 mol% of a non-cyclic aliphatic diamine and 0-40 mol% of an alicyclic diamine (col. 6, lines 53-60), wherein the non-cyclic aliphatic diamine may be 1,6-diaminohexane (col. 5, lines 55-65) and the alicyclic diamine may be 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane (col. 6, lines 22-30). Kosaka does not teach any other components as being necessary in the system; therefore, the system can be considered to consist of the carbon fibers and the polyamide.
The disclosed molar amounts of each monomer in the polyamide teach the claimed ranges with sufficient specificity that they are considered anticipated. See MPEP 2131.03(II).
Not disclosed is the tensile strength retention after heat aging or the tensile modulus at 125°C and 150°C. However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Kosaka is silent to the content of the carbon fiber and the polyamide.
Van Dijk teaches a composition containing 30-80wt% of a polyamide and 20-70wt% of a fibrous filler (para. 0109), such as a carbon fiber (para. 0101). Van Dijk and Kosaka are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely polyamide compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to turn to Van Dijk for the suitable content of carbon fiber and polyamide in the composition taught by Kosaka, and they would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a suitable reinforcement effect.
Kosaka is silent to the carbon fibers being PAN-based carbon fibers or pitch-based carbon fibers.
Washio teaches a composition containing a semi-aromatic polyamide (para. 0009) and carbon fibers including pitch-based carbon fiber and PAN-based carbon fiber, wherein the PAN-based carbon fiber is especially preferred due to its excellent elastic modulus and impact resistance (para. 0087-0088). Washio and Kosaka are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely polyamide compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add PAN-based carbon fibers to the composition of Kosaka because they display excellent properties such as elastic modulus and impact resistance.
Regarding Claim 8-10 and 16: Kosaka further teaches glass fibers as a possible reinforcement in the polyamide compositions (col. 11, lines 39-45) but is silent to the combination of glass fibers and carbon fibers.
Van Dijk teaches that the fibrous filler may be a combination of glass fibers and carbon fibers, wherein the fibrous filler consists of30-70wt% glass fiber and 30-70wt% carbon fiber (para. 0106). Based on calculations, the weight ratio of the carbon fiber to the glass fiber is from 0.4-2.3.
The total content of the fibrous filler is 20-70wt%, or preferably 25-60wt% (para. 0109). Based on the ratio of carbon fibers to glass fibers taught by Van Dijk, the glass fiber is present at 7.5-42wt%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine carbon fibers and glass fibers in the composition of Kosaka in the amounts taught by Van Dijk because the combination of the two fibers in the disclosed amounts provide an optimal balance of mechanical properties, cost, and weight reduction (para. 0106).
Regarding Claim 15: Van Dijk teaches an automotive component comprising the composition (para. 0121).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al (US 6133406 A) in view of Van Dijk et al (US 2021/0002481 A1) and Washio et al (US 2016/0168381 A1), as evidenced by Vincent et al (US 2023/0203307 A1).
Kosaka, Van Dijk, and Washio teach all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Kosaka further teaches the structure of the claimed recurring unit RPA1 (col. 4, formula [1]). However, Kosaka does not specifically teach the structures of recurring units RPA2, RPA3, and RPA4.
Vincent sets forth that said repeat units would naturally arise from the polycondensation reactions of the disclosed diamines and dicarboxylic acids (para. 0031). Furthermore, if one were to use only the disclosed diamines and dicarboxylic acids, as set forth above, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the repeat units RPA1 to RPA4 to have a concentration of at least 99 mol% in the polyamide.
Claims 18 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al (US 6133406 A) in view of Van Dijk et al (US 2021/0002481 A1) and Washio et al (US 2016/0168381 A1).
Regarding Claim 18: Kosaka teaches a system comprising carbon fibers and a polyamide (col. 11, lines 39-45), wherein the polyamide comprises a dicarboxylic acid component comprising 45-75 mol% of a terephthalic acid and 15-55 mol% of a second dicarboxylic acid (col. 6, lines 31-44) such as cyclohexane dicarboxylic acid (col. 4, lines 23-29), and a diamine component comprising 60-100 mol% of a non-cyclic aliphatic diamine and 0-40 mol% of an alicyclic diamine (col. 6, lines 53-60), wherein the non-cyclic aliphatic diamine may be 1,6-diaminohexane (col. 5, lines 55-65) and the alicyclic diamine may be 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane (col. 6, lines 22-30).
The disclosed molar amounts of each monomer in the polyamide teach the claimed ranges with sufficient specificity that they are considered anticipated. See MPEP 2131.03(II).
Not disclosed is the tensile strength retention after heat aging. However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Kosaka is silent to the content of the carbon fiber and the polyamide.
Van Dijk teaches a composition containing 30-80wt% of a polyamide and 20-70wt% of a fibrous filler (para. 0109), such as a carbon fiber (para. 0101). Van Dijk and Kosaka are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely polyamide compositions. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to turn to Van Dijk for the suitable content of carbon fiber and polyamide in the composition taught by Kosaka, and they would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve a suitable reinforcement effect.
Kosaka is silent to the carbon fibers being PAN-based carbon fibers or pitch-based carbon fibers.
Washio teaches a composition containing a semi-aromatic polyamide (para. 0009) and carbon fibers including pitch-based carbon fiber and PAN-based carbon fiber, wherein the PAN-based carbon fiber is especially preferred due to its excellent elastic modulus and impact resistance (para. 0087-0088). Washio and Kosaka are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely polyamide compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add PAN-based carbon fibers to the composition of Kosaka because they display excellent properties such as elastic modulus and impact resistance.
Regarding Claims 21-23: Kosaka further teaches glass fibers as a possible reinforcement in the polyamide compositions (col. 11, lines 39-45) but is silent to the combination of glass fibers and carbon fibers.
Van Dijk teaches that the fibrous filler may be a combination of glass fibers and carbon fibers, wherein the fibrous filler consists of30-70wt% glass fiber and 30-70wt% carbon fiber (para. 0106). Based on calculations, the weight ratio of the carbon fiber to the glass fiber is from 0.4-2.3.
The total content of the fibrous filler is 20-70wt%, or preferably 25-60wt% (para. 0109). Based on the ratio of carbon fibers to glass fibers taught by Van Dijk, the glass fiber is present at 7.5-42wt%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine carbon fibers and glass fibers in the composition of Kosaka in the amounts taught by Van Dijk because the combination of the two fibers in the disclosed amounts provide an optimal balance of mechanical properties, cost, and weight reduction (para. 0106).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant argues that the polyamide of Van Dijk does not consist of the claimed repeat units and therefore cannot be relied upon in the rejection. However, Van Dijk is relied upon for the fiber content of the composition, not the nature of the polyamide itself. Therefore, the polyamide of Van Dijk having repeat units other than those specified in the claims does not invalidate the teachings of Kosaka, which teaches a polyamide consisting of the claimed repeat units.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767