DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gershinsky et al. (“Ultra fast elemental synthesis of high yield copper Chevrel phase with high electrochemical performance”) in view of Woan et al. (“Electrospinning of nanofiber Chevrel phase materials”).
With regard to Claim 1, Gershinsky teaches a method for synthesizing a Chevrel phase compound comprising combining a set of elemental precursors including molybdenum (Mo), molybdenum disulfide (MoS2), and copper (Cu) (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar…Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere…Cu2Mo6S8 was prepared also by a known [13] solid-state technique: a mixture of binary sulfides (MoS2, CuS) and elemental Mo loaded in Swagelok; Page 54, 3.2. Mechanisms of the Cu2Mo6S8 synthesis).
Gershinsky teaches subjecting the combined set of elemental precursors to an environment adapted for self-propagating high temperature synthesis, thereby synthesizing the Chevrel phase compound (Abstract, Self-propagating High-temperature Synthesis (SHS) was applied for the first time to prepare Chevrel phases, MxMo6T8 (M = metal, T = S, Se); Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar…Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere…Cu2Mo6S8 was prepared also by a known [13] solid-state technique: a mixture of binary sulfides (MoS2, CuS) and elemental Mo loaded in Swagelok).
Gershinsky teaches removing the synthesized Chevrel phase compound from the environment (Fig. 4; Page 53, A typical morphology of the SHS product, Cu2Mo6S8, is presented in Fig. 4). The synthesized Chevrel phase compound must be removed from the reaction environment to further analyze the compound, e.g. using a scanning electron microscope.
Gershinsky is silent to the method wherein combining the set of elemental precursors includes encapsulating the elemental precursors in a polymer solution and electrospinning the set of elemental precursors to form electrospun films.
Woan teaches encapsulating elemental precursors in a polymer solution and electrospinning the elemental precursors to form electrospun films (Fig. 2; Abstract, Sols are electrospun into continuous nanofiber precursors and then heat treated to obtain Chevrel-phase sulfide materials; Page 8537, we report the electrospinning parameters and heat treatment schedules to yield Cu2Mo6S8 [Cu-Chevrel] and Mg2Mo6S8 [Mg-Chevrel] phase materials… The DMF and polyacrylonitrile formed the base electrospinning system, which maintains the metal chlorides and sulfur-containing compound in stoichiometric ratios as to yield the desired Chevrel phase system). Woan notes that this is done to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity (Page 8537, Electrospun fibrous materials have shown marked improvement in achieving high stability and enhanced kinetics for various electrical and chemical processes… The 1D structure results in shorter diffusion distances and large surface areas upon which reactions may take place. Furthermore, the nanofibrous morphology allows for well dispersed grains rather than aggregates seen in nanoparticle compactions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Gershinsky to teach encapsulating elemental precursors in a polymer solution and electrospinning the elemental precursors to form electrospun films, as taught in Woan, to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity.
With regard to Claim 5, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound has at least one of catalytic, photocatalytic, and sorbent properties (Page 50, 1. Introduction; The molybdenum chalcogenides, MxMo6T8 (M = metal, T = S, Se, Te), also known as Chevrel phases, are an important class of inorganic compounds with remarkable superconductive, magnetic, thermoelectric, and catalytic properties).
With regard to Claim 6, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the Chevrel phase compound is synthesized in 10 minutes or less of the combined set of elemental precursors being subjected to the environment (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was…introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
With regard to Claim 7, Gershinsky does not explicitly teach the method wherein the Chevrel phase compound is synthesized in less than 15 seconds of the combined set of elemental precursors being subjected to the environment, instead disclosing the total time that the mixture is in the environment (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was…introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
However, Gershinsky teaches the self-propagating high-temperature synthesis reaction itself completes in a relatively brief time span (Page 50, 1. Introduction; The synthesis is extremely fast and the overall reaction process takes only a few seconds or minutes). Given that the method of synthesizing the Chevrel phase compound disclosed by Gershinsky in view of Bell and the method of the claimed invention are substantially identical, it is expected that the length of time it takes for the reaction to complete would be substantially the same as the process claimed and in the range of the claim. See MPEP 2112.01.I.
With regard to Claim 8, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound does not require further treatment subsequent to the self-propagating high temperature synthesis (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods).
With regard to Claim 9, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the environment is within a tube furnace (Fig. 2; Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar).
With regard to Claims 10-13, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the combined set of elemental precursors is encapsulated within an encapsulating instrument within an argon (Ar) atmosphere when subjected to the environment, wherein the encapsulating instrument is a quartz tube, wherein the air is removed from the atmosphere within the encapsulating instrument (Fig. 2; Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar).
With regard to Claims 14-15, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the environment has a temperature greater than or equal to 800°C and less than or equal to 1100°C, and wherein the environment has a temperature of 1000°C (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere, and introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
With regard to Claim 16, Gershinsky is silent to the method wherein the environment has a temperature of 1050°C, instead teaching the method wherein the environment has a temperature of 1000°C (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere, and introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
Woan teaches the method wherein the environment has a temperature of 1050°C (Page 8538, The furnace was ramped to 700 °C and held for 1 hour, followed by a ramp to 1200 °C and held for 2 hours to calcine the fibers. Both temperature ramps were set to take 1 hour. After the high temperature dwell, the furnace was left to cool overnight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one temperature known to be successful in the production of a material in place of another used to produce the same material with a predictable result of synthesizing a Chevrel phase compound. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Furthermore, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05.I, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regard to Claim 18, Gershinsky is silent to the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound is in the form of nanofibers.
Woan teaches the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound is in the form of nanofibers to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity (Fig. 2; Abstract, Sols are electrospun into continuous nanofiber precursors and then heat treated to obtain Chevrel-phase sulfide materials; Page 8537, Electrospun fibrous materials have shown marked improvement in achieving high stability and enhanced kinetics for various electrical and chemical processes… The 1D structure results in shorter diffusion distances and large surface areas upon which reactions may take place. Furthermore, the nanofibrous morphology allows for well dispersed grains rather than aggregates seen in nanoparticle compactions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Gershinsky to teach the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound is in the form of nanofibers, as taught in Woan, to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity.
Claims 1, 5-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gershinsky et al. (“Ultra fast elemental synthesis of high yield copper Chevrel phase with high electrochemical performance”) in view of Bell et al. (“Nanostructured Material for Advanced Energy Storage -- Magnesium Battery Cathode Development”).
With regard to Claim 1, Gershinsky teaches a method for synthesizing a Chevrel phase compound comprising combining a set of elemental precursors including molybdenum (Mo), molybdenum disulfide (MoS2), and copper (Cu) (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar…Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere…Cu2Mo6S8 was prepared also by a known [13] solid-state technique: a mixture of binary sulfides (MoS2, CuS) and elemental Mo loaded in Swagelok; Page 54, 3.2. Mechanisms of the Cu2Mo6S8 synthesis).
Gershinsky teaches subjecting the combined set of elemental precursors to an environment adapted for self-propagating high temperature synthesis, thereby synthesizing the Chevrel phase compound (Abstract, Self-propagating High-temperature Synthesis (SHS) was applied for the first time to prepare Chevrel phases, MxMo6T8 (M = metal, T = S, Se); Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar…Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere…Cu2Mo6S8 was prepared also by a known [13] solid-state technique: a mixture of binary sulfides (MoS2, CuS) and elemental Mo loaded in Swagelok).
Gershinsky teaches removing the synthesized Chevrel phase compound from the environment (Fig. 4; Page 53, A typical morphology of the SHS product, Cu2Mo6S8, is presented in Fig. 4). The synthesized Chevrel phase compound must be removed from the reaction environment to further analyze the compound, e.g. using a scanning electron microscope.
Gershinsky is silent to the method wherein combining the set of elemental precursors includes encapsulating the elemental precursors in a polymer solution and electrospinning the set of elemental precursors to form electrospun films.
Bell teaches encapsulating elemental precursors in a polymer solution and electrospinning the elemental precursors to form electrospun films (Abstract, This work developed a continuous and fibrous nanoscale network of the cathode material through the use of electrospinning with the goal of enhancing performance and reactivity of the battery; Page 11, 2.1 Electrospun Cathode Preparation; The electrospinning solutions consisted of N,N dimenthylformamide (DMF) with 5 wt% polyacrylonitrile). Bell notes that this is done to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity (Page 9, 1. Introduction; We proposed the usage of the electrospinning processing technique to directly produce continuous and fibrous networks of the Mg2Mo6S8 cathode material. This has the potential benefits of decreasing the heat treatment temperature, increasing electrochemical activity and conductivity due to the nanoscale of the fibers and the intimate integration of carbon into the fibrous matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Gershinsky to teach encapsulating elemental precursors in a polymer solution and electrospinning the elemental precursors to form electrospun films, as taught in Bell, to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity.
With regard to Claim 5, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound has at least one of catalytic, photocatalytic, and sorbent properties (Page 50, 1. Introduction; The molybdenum chalcogenides, MxMo6T8 (M = metal, T = S, Se, Te), also known as Chevrel phases, are an important class of inorganic compounds with remarkable superconductive, magnetic, thermoelectric, and catalytic properties).
With regard to Claim 6, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the Chevrel phase compound is synthesized in 10 minutes or less of the combined set of elemental precursors being subjected to the environment (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was…introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
With regard to Claim 7, Gershinsky does not explicitly teach the method wherein the Chevrel phase compound is synthesized in less than 15 seconds of the combined set of elemental precursors being subjected to the environment, instead disclosing the total time that the mixture is in the environment (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was…introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
However, Gershinsky teaches the self-propagating high-temperature synthesis reaction itself completes in a relatively brief time span (Page 50, 1. Introduction; The synthesis is extremely fast and the overall reaction process takes only a few seconds or minutes). Given that the method of synthesizing the Chevrel phase compound disclosed by Gershinsky in view of Bell and the method of the claimed invention are substantially identical, it is expected that the length of time it takes for the reaction to complete would be substantially the same as the process claimed and in the range of the claim. See MPEP 2112.01.I.
With regard to Claim 8, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound does not require further treatment subsequent to the self-propagating high temperature synthesis (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods).
With regard to Claim 9, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the environment is within a tube furnace (Fig. 2; Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar).
With regard to Claims 10-13, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the combined set of elemental precursors is encapsulated within an encapsulating instrument within an argon (Ar) atmosphere when subjected to the environment, wherein the encapsulating instrument is a quartz tube, wherein the air is removed from the atmosphere within the encapsulating instrument (Fig. 2; Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Frontal combustion (for all the M–Mo–T systems under study): The combustion was performed in quartz tubes under Ar).
With regard to Claims 14-15, Gershinsky teaches the method wherein the environment has a temperature greater than or equal to 800°C and less than or equal to 1100°C, and wherein the environment has a temperature of 1000°C (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere, and introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
With regard to Claim 16, Gershinsky is silent to the method wherein the environment has a temperature of 1050°C, instead teaching the method wherein the environment has a temperature of 1000°C (Page 51, 2.2. Synthetic methods; Thermal explosion or bulk combustion (for the Cu–Mo–S system): The elemental mixture (2 or 5 g) with extra sulfur (Cu2Mo6S8.5 stoichiometry) was loaded into a Swagelok stainless steel vessel under argon atmosphere, and introduced in the hot furnace (1000 °C) for 2 and 10 min for 2 g samples or for 10 and 20 min for 5 g samples).
Bell teaches the method wherein the environment has a temperature of 1050°C (Page 9, 1. Introduction; To synthesize an active cathode Chevrel phase, there are a multitude of steps required. High temperature synthesis of 1000-1200 °C of the combined elements and sulfides results in a cation-stabilized phase, such as Cu2Mo6S8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute one temperature known to be successful in the production of a material in place of another used to produce the same material with a predictable result of synthesizing a Chevrel phase compound. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Furthermore, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05.I, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regard to Claim 18, Gershinsky is silent to the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound is in the form of nanofibers.
Bell teaches the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound is in the form of nanofibers to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity (Page 9, 1. Introduction; We proposed the usage of the electrospinning processing technique to directly produce continuous and fibrous networks of the Mg2Mo6S8 cathode material. This has the potential benefits of decreasing the heat treatment temperature, increasing electrochemical activity and conductivity due to the nanoscale of the fibers and the intimate integration of carbon into the fibrous matrix).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Gershinsky to teach the method wherein the synthesized Chevrel phase compound is in the form of nanofibers, as taught in Bell, to increase electrochemical activity and conductivity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-7, filed June 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 5-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Gershinsky et al. (“Ultra fast elemental synthesis of high yield copper Chevrel phase with high electrochemical performance”) in view of Bell et al. (“Nanostructured Material for Advanced Energy Storage -- Magnesium Battery Cathode Development”) have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Furthermore, new grounds of rejection are made of claims 1, 5-16, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Gershinsky in view of Woan et al. (“Electrospinning of nanofiber Chevrel phase materials”).
On page 6 of Applicant’s arguments, with regard to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that “Bell does not teach or suggest any of the elements of the claim 1 polymer solution comprising molybdenum (Mo), molybdenum disulfide (MoS2), and copper (Cu)”, that “Bell expressly teaches avoiding the use or preparation of copper Chevrel phase compositions, where the inefficient displacement of copper with magnesium is required to provide Bell's desired magnesium Chevrel phase”, and that “Bell's disclosure does not teach or suggest that copper would behave analogously to magnesium in electrospinning operations”. It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
In this case, the Examiner maintains the rejection, and notes that Bell is used as a secondary reference to cure the deficiencies of Gershinsky with regard to the electrospinning limitation (see amended Claim 1 rejection). Furthermore, Bell still discloses a copper Chevrel phase embodiment (Page 9, 1. Introduction; To synthesize an active cathode Chevrel phase, there are a multitude of steps required. High temperature synthesis of 1000-1200 °C of the combined elements and sulfides results in a cation-stabilized phase, such as Cu2Mo6S8). As set forth in MPEP 2123.II, “disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments”. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). Additionally, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 6 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that “Bell does not describe electrospun films”. As set forth in MPEP 2111.01, “Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms.” Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1315, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
In this case, the Examiner contends that Bell meets the limitation of “electrospun films” as claimed. Paragraph 0009 of the instant specification discloses the process of electrospinning, explaining that the final product of the electrospinning is “a non-woven mat of nanofibers”. Bell discloses “a non-woven mat of nanofibers” (Page 9, 1. Introduction; the cathode material was spun into a fiber mat). Thus, using the broadest reasonable interpretation of “electrospun films”, Bell meets the limitation as claimed.
On page 7 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that “there would be no expectation of success combining Gershinsky and Bell… The electrospun fibers of Bell have an entirely different set of properties from the mixtures of Gershinsky. A person of ordinary skill would not reasonably expect that the SHS combustion behavior of the fibers of Bell would remain viable as a method of making a Chevrel phase”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Both Gershinsky and Bell disclose the synthesis of copper Chevrel phases (see Claim 1 rejection). While Gershinsky is pointed to nanoparticles as opposed to nanofibers, the use of Bell as a secondary reference to teach the electrospinning step necessitates the formation of nanofibers (Page 9 of Bell, 1. Introduction; We proposed the usage of the electrospinning processing technique to directly produce continuous and fibrous networks). Further, as evidenced by Woan, a nanofibrous structure would necessarily result from the electrospinning step, and is preferred over a nanoparticle structure (Page 8537 of Woan, Electrospun fibrous materials have shown marked improvement in achieving high stability and enhanced kinetics for various electrical and chemical processes… The 1D structure results in shorter diffusion distances and large surface areas upon which reactions may take place. Furthermore, the nanofibrous morphology allows for well dispersed grains rather than aggregates seen in nanoparticle compactions). Therefore, the Examiner contends that one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the copper Chevrel phase of Gershinsky, if combined with the electrospinning step of Bell, would have a nanofibrous structure.
Furthermore, arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965) and In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984), see MPEP 716.01(c).II.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-RAHMAN YUSUF WALEED SMARI/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736