DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 12/01/2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-7 and 10-12 are now pending in the Application. Claim 3 has been amended, claim 2 has been canceled and new claim 12 has been added by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application of National Stage entry of PCT/KR2021/005613, International Filing Date of 05/04/2021 that claims foreign priority to KR 10-2020-0053857, filed 05/06/2020 (Korea).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the phrase limitation where “the image information has a first shaking region less than a total area of the image sensor in a wide-angle state of the camera actuator and a second shaking region less than a total area of the image sensor in a telephoto state of the camera actuator, wherein the first shaking region is smaller than the first shaking region” recited in lines 1-4 of the claim. However, this limitation is confusing because it is unclear how it can be understood and treated, given that (i) it is unclear what is first/second shaking region, how is it defined or selected, and if it is intrinsic property of camera with actuator and image sensor or if it is selected area of the image sensor determined by some processor configuration? Moreover, (ii) it is unclear how and what additional elements of the camera actuator and image sensor are required in order to produce image i.e. image information in wide-angle state and in telephoto state? Specifically, the recited camera actuator has actuation elements and image sensor generating image information i.e. capturing an image, but the claims have no recited structures of a zoom camera assembly that can produce image in a wide-angle and/or telephoto state. Lastly, the phrase “wherein the first shaking region is smaller than the first shaking region” is confusing, since it is unclear how the same region i.e. the first shaking region can be smaller than the same first shaking region? For the purposes of examination, the above phrase limitation will be treated broadly, such that camera or image acquisition device intrinsically can focus or zoom acquiring wide angle and telephoto images, where user shake results in blurriness of image of object(s) being imaged, and where upon imaging due to shaking the captured image area is smaller than the total imaging sensor area in both wide-angle and telephoto modes, and where due to larger distance and magnification the telephoto image area is smaller than the wide-angle image area, meaning that remaining area of image sensor is larger in telephoto mode, and/or that first shaking region can be same or smaller than the same first shaking region. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations as to how to treat the claim limitations and remove the indefiniteness issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (hereafter Kang, of record, se IDS dated 12/20/2023) US 20190285907 A1 in view of Yajima (of record, see IDS dated 06/03/2025, where attached English language machine translation is referenced) JP H11136567 A.
In regard to independent claim 1, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) a camera actuator (image acquisition device e.g. 100, having an image stabilization function, see abstract, paragraphs 02, 11-24,39-49, 61-73,87-96,99-112]) comprising:
a mover including an optical member for changing a path of incident light (i.e. reflection unit 300 with bracket 310 and reflection lens 301, and refraction unit with pressing unit 600,610, both changing direction of incident light, paragraphs [40-47, 63-77, 87-96,99-112);
a driving unit configured to move the mover in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction (i.e. as first drive unit to move 300 with 301, 600 with 610, e.g. including 712, 711, operated by driver, paragraphs [40-47, 54-56,68-77, 87-96, 110-112], e.g. Figs. 7-8,12);
an output unit configured to output a control signal for moving the mover (i.e. gyro sensor and/or Hall sensor that output signals for driving 300, 600 to driver, paragraphs [93-94, 110-112], Fig. 11);
a first position sensor configured to detect position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. location sensor Hall 713, for part 610,600 location information of the mover 300,600, paragraphs [87-96, 63-77, 110-112], Fig. 7-8, 12);
a second position sensor configured to detect the position information in the first direction of the mover (i.e. as Hall location sensor for part 300,301 of the mover of 300,600, paragraphs [87-96, 63-77], Fig. 7-8, 12),
an image sensor configured to receive light passing through the optical member to generate image information (image sensor 500, e.g. configured to acquire the image formed by the light of the lens unit 400 and reflection unit 300 optical passage, see paragraphs [40-44, 52,107], Figs. 1,8); and
a calculation unit (i.e. as driver, paragraphs [12, 110-112] Fig. 11) configured to calculate a rotational correction amount of the image information using the position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. as best understood, as driver generates tilting amount for the 300,600 unit for correcting hand-shaking or vibration of the images acquired by image acquisition device 100, using position information with Hall 713 sensor of e.g. 600, and gyro hand-shake information, see paragraphs [68-77, 88-91, 110-112], Fig. 11),
wherein the incident light is incident in the first direction from the mover and output in the optical axis direction (i.e. as best understood the incident light is incident in (from) first direction Fig. 1, e.g. y-direction, and output in z- optical axis of e.g. lens unit 400 or second direction, paragraphs [40-48, 64-66], Figs. 1,4), But Kang is silent that
when the optical member moves in the second direction, the image information rotates about the optical axis direction (i.e. as 600,610 is moved or tilted towards x-direction), that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount of the image information and the rotational correction amount is used for making compensation for an angle of rotation of the image information about the optical axis direction, and that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as best understood to the extent of the recited necessary structures required for rotational correction of image information).
However, Yajima teaches in the same field of invention of image pickup device (see Figs. 1-5, having mirror based camera-shake correction system, paragraphs [1,4-8, 9-12]), and further teaches that when the optical member moves in the second direction, the image information rotates about the optical axis direction (i.e. as mirror 1 (22) is moved or tilted in left-right (e.g. horizontal) direction, the image 17 rotates in the sensor or image (CCD) plane, while the image is unaffected, does not rotate in the CCD/image plane, when mirror mover, tilts in up-down (vertical) direction, see paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], Figs. 1-3),
that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount of the image information and the rotational correction amount is used for making compensation for an angle of rotation of the image information about the optical axis direction (i.e. as due to rotation of CCD 15 in 14 the image is rotates and image is corrected by appropriate amount, paragraphs [9-12]), and that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD, plane, and specifically, as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD, plane, as described above, and since only the vertical movement amount of reflective element mirror 1 does not cause image rotation in the image plane, hence the calculation unit is configured to calculate zero for the rotational correction amount, given that no rotation of image occurs, which is explained and clearly presented in Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], and therefore providing image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the
rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [08, 11-12]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the image acquisition device with image stabilization function of Kang to include that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount with rotation control unit based on image rotation which is only due to detected horizontal (left-right) movement/tilt of shake stabilization mirror according to teachings of Yajima, in order to provide for such image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [08, 11-12]).
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the incident light is incident in the first direction from the mover and output in the optical axis direction (as depicted incident light in first direction and reflected by 300 into optical axis direction, Figs. 1, 8, e.g. paragraphs [40-48, 61-73,87-96]).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the optical member is disposed to have an inclination which is not perpendicular to the first direction and the optical axis direction (i.e. as 300 with reflective surface is inclined with respect to incident light y-axis direction, and optical axis z-axis direction, and since 300 is moved, tilted with respect to x-axis, Figs. 1-3, 7-8, , paragraphs [40-47, 54-56,68-77, 87-96]).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the optical member is disposed to be inclined with respect to a plane formed by any one of the first direction and the optical direction and the second direction (i.e. as 300 with reflective surface is inclined with respect to plane y-axis x-axis, or x-axis z-axis plane, and since 300 is moved, tilted with respect to x-axis, Figs. 1-3, 7-8, , paragraphs [40-47, 54-56,68-77, 87-96]).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the optical member is perpendicular to a plane formed by the first direction and the optical axis direction (i.e. as 300 with e.g. top surface is perpendicular to y-z axes plane, Figs. 1-3, 7-8, , paragraphs [40-47, 54-56,68-77, 87-96]).
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) the calculation unit does not reflect the position information to the rotational correction amount in the first direction of the mover (i.e. as best understood and treated in light of the 112(b) issues noted above, given that as driver generates tilting amount for the reflection unit 300 for correcting hand-shaking or vibration of the image acquisition device 100, using position information with its own Hall sensor (paragraph [93-94]), but not the location information of 713 location sensor which is for the tilting of 610,600 unit, see paragraphs [68-77, 88-94, 110-112]; further, the above limitation for calculation unit notes a specific operation step not configuration, and will be treated to the extent of structure and structural features, as it is held that "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP § 2113; In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original, MPEP §2114)).
In regard to independent claim 10, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) a camera actuator (image acquisition device e.g. 100, having an image stabilization function , see abstract, paragraphs 02, 11-24,39-49, 61-73,87-96,99-112]) comprising:
a mover including an optical member configured to change a path of incident light (i.e. reflection unit 300 with bracket 310 and reflection lens 301, changing direction of incident light, paragraphs [40-47, 68-77, 87-96,99-112);
a driving unit configured to move the mover in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction (i.e. as first drive unit that moves 300 with 301 , e.g. including 712, 711, operated by driver, paragraphs [40-47, 54-56,68-77, 87-96, 110-112], e.g. Figs. 7-8,12);
an output unit configured to output a control signal for moving the mover (i.e. gyro sensor and/or Hall sensor that output signals for driving 300, 600 to driver, paragraphs [93-94, 110-112], Fig. 11);
a first position sensor configured to detect position information in the first direction of the mover (i.e. location sensor Hall 713, for part 610,600 location information of the mover 300,600, paragraphs [87-96, 63-77, 110-112], Fig. 7-8, 12);
a second position sensor configured to detect position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. location sensor Hall 713, for 300 location information paragraphs [93-94, 110-112], Fig. 7-8, 12);
an image sensor configured to receive light passing through the optical member to generate image information (image sensor 500 e.g. configured to acquire the image formed by the light of the lens unit 400 and reflection unit 300 optical passage, see paragraphs [40-44, 52,107], Figs. 1,8); and
a calculation unit (i.e. as driver, paragraphs [12, 110-112] Fig. 11) configured to calculate a rotational correction amount by which rotated in direction using the position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. as best understood, as driver generates tilting amount for the reflection unit 300 for correcting hand-shaking or vibration of the image acquisition device 100, using position information with Hall sensor 713 and gyro hand-shake information, where tilting amount for 300 is relative rotation with respect to image sensor 500, see paragraphs [68-77, 88-91, 110-112]),
wherein the incident light is incident in the first direction from the mover and output in the optical axis direction, wherein the optical axis direction corresponds to an incident direction of light on the image sensor, (i.e. as best understood the incident light is incident in (from) first direction Fig. 1, e.g. y-direction, and output in z- optical axis of e.g. lens unit 400 or second direction, which is also incident direction to image sensor 500, paragraphs [40-48, 64-66], Figs. 1-4), But Kang is silent regarding a sensor driving unit located in a region adjacent the image sensor, the sensor driving unit being configured to rotate the image sensor,
that calculation unit configured to calculate rotational correction amount by which the image sensor is rotated about the optical axis direction using the position information in the second direction of the mover, and
that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as best understood to the extent of the recited necessary structures required for rotational correction of image information).
However, Yajima teaches in the same field of invention of image pickup device (see Figs. 1-5, having mirror based camera-shake correction system, paragraphs [1,4-8, 9-12]), and further teaches a sensor driving unit located in a region adjacent the image sensor, the sensor driving unit being configured to rotate the image sensor (i.e. since as mirror 1 (22) is moved or tilted in left-right (e.g. horizontal) direction, the image 17 rotates in the sensor (CCD) plane, while it is unaffected when mirror mover, tilts in up-down (vertical) direction, thus having rotation drive unit 16 to rotate CCD holder 14 with CCD 15 to offset this image rotation, see paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], Figs. 1-3),
that calculation unit configured to calculate rotational correction amount by which the image sensor is rotated about the optical axis direction using the position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount and output rotational amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction by rotation of the image sensor CCD 15 in 14, given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, as the image rotation is due to horizontal left-right movement of mirror 1 detected by 8, see paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], Figs. 1-3), and that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD plane, specifically, as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD, plane, as described above, and since only the vertical movement amount of reflective element mirror 1 does not cause image rotation in the image plane, hence the calculation unit is configured to calculate zero for the rotational correction amount, given that no rotation of image occurs, which is explained and clearly presented in Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], therefore providing image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [08, 11-12]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the image acquisition device with image stabilization function of Kang to include that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount with rotation control unit rotating the image sensor CCD in CCD holder, based on image rotation which is only due to detected horizontal (left-right) movement/tilt of shake stabilization mirror according to teachings of Yajima, in order to provide for such image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [08, 11-12]).
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) that the image information generated from the image sensor does not rotate about the optical axis direction in response to movement of the optical member in the first direction (i.e. as due to combination with Yajima, teaching that image in imaging sensor CCD 15 is not rotated as 300/310 mirror/reflector, corresponding to mirror 1 moves/tilts in vertical direction, see Yajima see paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], Figs. 1-3, and as applied to Kang, paragraphs [40-47, 63-77, 87-96,99-112).
Regarding claim 12, the Kang-Yajima combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and further teaches (see Kang Figs. 1-12) that the image information has a first shaking region less than a total area of the image sensor in a wide-angle state of the camera actuator and a second shaking region less than a total area of the image sensor in a telephoto state of the camera actuator, wherein the first shaking region is smaller than the first shaking region (i.e. as treated with respect to the above 112(b) issues, given camera or image acquisition device 100 intrinsically can focus or zoom acquiring wide angle and telephoto images with lens unit 400, where user shake results in blurriness of image of object(s) being imaged onto IS 500, and where upon imaging due to shaking the captured image area is smaller than the total imaging sensor area 500 in both wide-angle and telephoto modes, and where due to larger distance and magnification the telephoto image area is smaller than the wide-angle image area, meaning that remaining area of image sensor is larger in telephoto mode, and where the either state or focused state the first shaking region is same as first shaking region, see e.g. paragraphs [03,08, 40-47. 97-98]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (hereafter Kang, of record, se IDS dated 12/20/2023) US 20190285907 A1 in view of Yajima (of record, see IDS dated 06/03/2025, where attached English language machine translation is referenced) JP H11136567 A, and further in view of Cho et al. (hereafter Cho) US 20090067051 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) further comprising at least one lens disposed between the image sensor and the optical member and configured to move in the optical axis direction (e.g. as lens unit 400 as depicted between 300,600 and image sensor 500, that moves in optical passage/axis direction and has one or more lenses 411, paragraphs [21, 40-44, 48-49,97-98], e.g. Figs. 1-3), but Kang is silent that the calculation unit adjusts a change in the rotational correction amount of the position information according to a change in focal length of the at least one lens (however, the above limitation for calculation unit notes a specific operation step not configuration, and will be treated to the extent of structure and structural features, as it is held that "While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. See MPEP § 2113; In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). “[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original, MPEP §2114)).
However, Cho teaches in the same field of invention of a system and method of correcting a light pathway by driving a prism (see Figs. 1-7, abstract, e.g. paragraphs [13-26, 37-42,52-60, 61-73,99-116] including the system 101, change amount measurement unit 102/301, prism driving unit 103/302, determining rotation of prism due to light pathway correction amount, Figs. 1,3, 6-7), and further teaches that calculation unit (101) adjusts a change in the rotational correction amount of the position information according to a change in focal length of the at least one lens (i.e. as rotation of prism is determined based on light pathway correction amount including information for zoom lens and zoom magnification and specific focus of the lens, paragraphs [47, 52-73, 77, 99-116], thus providing system for correcting light pathway for lens system at specific focus and zoom magnifications and eliminating various shakings of a camera by driving a curved prism composed of various refraction surfaces).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the driver for image stabilization of image acquisition device of Kang, to include determination of rotation of prism that is based on light pathway correction amount including information for zoom lens and zoom magnifications and specific focus of the lens according to teachings of Cho in order to provide such correcting light pathway for lens system at specific focus and zoom magnifications that eliminates various shakings of the camera by driving the prism as reflection unit (see Cho paragraphs [99-116]).
Regarding claim 7, the Kang-Cho combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and further teaches (see Kang Figs. 1-12) that the change in the rotational correction amount increases when the focal length of the at least one lens increases and decreases when the focal length of the at least one lens decreases (i.e. as due to combination with Cho, due to focus and zoom changes and corresponding magnification and focal length changes, see Cho, paragraphs [47, 52-73, 77, 99-116]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, the Applicant argues on page 9-10 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of the combination of Kang and Yajima does not disclose the features recited in the independent claims 1 and 10, namely that (1) “the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction”, because as acknowledged by the Examiner Kang doesn’t disclose such calculation unit configuration and the since allegedly the cited portions of Yajima are also silent to such configuration of the calculation unit. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to issue (1) as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Kang teaches most limitations and in combination with cited prior art of Yajima teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1, as Kang teaches (see Figs. 1-12) a camera actuator (image acquisition device e.g. 100, having an image stabilization function, see abstract, paragraphs 02, 11-24,39-49, 61-73,87-96,99-112]) comprising:
a mover including an optical member for changing a path of incident light (i.e. reflection unit 300 with bracket 310 and reflection lens 301, and refraction unit with pressing unit 600,610, both changing direction of incident light, paragraphs [40-47, 63-77, 87-96,99-112);
a driving unit configured to move the mover in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction (i.e. as first drive unit to move 300 with 301, 600 with 610, e.g. including 712, 711, operated by driver, paragraphs [40-47, 54-56,68-77, 87-96, 110-112], e.g. Figs. 7-8,12);
an output unit configured to output a control signal for moving the mover (i.e. gyro sensor and/or Hall sensor that output signals for driving 300, 600 to driver, paragraphs [93-94, 110-112], Fig. 11);
a first position sensor configured to detect position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. location sensor Hall 713, for part 610,600 location information of the mover 300,600, paragraphs [87-96, 63-77, 110-112], Fig. 7-8, 12);
a second position sensor configured to detect the position information in the first direction of the mover (i.e. as Hall location sensor for part 300,301 of the mover of 300,600, paragraphs [87-96, 63-77], Fig. 7-8, 12),
an image sensor configured to receive light passing through the optical member to generate image information (image sensor 500, e.g. configured to acquire the image formed by the light of the lens unit 400 and reflection unit 300 optical passage, see paragraphs [40-44, 52,107], Figs. 1,8); and
a calculation unit (i.e. as driver, paragraphs [12, 110-112] Fig. 11) configured to calculate a rotational correction amount of the image information using the position information in the second direction of the mover (i.e. as best understood, as driver generates tilting amount for the 300,600 unit for correcting hand-shaking or vibration of the images acquired by image acquisition device 100, using position information with Hall 713 sensor of e.g. 600, and gyro hand-shake information, see paragraphs [68-77, 88-91, 110-112], Fig. 11),
wherein the incident light is incident in the first direction from the mover and output in the optical axis direction (i.e. as best understood the incident light is incident in (from) first direction Fig. 1, e.g. y-direction, and output in z- optical axis of e.g. lens unit 400 or second direction, paragraphs [40-48, 64-66], Figs. 1,4).
But Kang is silent that when the optical member moves in the second direction, the image information rotates about the optical axis direction (i.e. as 600,610 is moved or tilted towards x-direction), that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount of the image information and the rotational correction amount is used for making compensation for an angle of rotation of the image information about the optical axis direction, and that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as best understood to the extent of the recited necessary structures required for rotational correction of image information).
However, Yajima teaches in the same field of invention of image pickup device (see Figs. 1-5, having mirror based camera-shake correction system, paragraphs [1,4-8, 9-12]), and further teaches that when the optical member moves in the second direction, the image information rotates about the optical axis direction (i.e. as mirror 1 (22) is moved or tilted in left-right (e.g. horizontal) direction, the image 17 rotates in the sensor or image (CCD) plane, while the image is unaffected, i.e. does not rotate in the CCD/image plane, when mirror mover, tilts in up-down (vertical) direction, see paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], which is due to slant reflective surface rotation and laws of reflection of light and clearly depicted and demonstrated in Figs. 1-3), and further teaches that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount of the image information and the rotational correction amount is used for making compensation for an angle of rotation of the image information about the optical axis direction (i.e. as due to rotation of CCD 15 in 14 the image is rotates and image is corrected by appropriate amount, paragraphs [9-12]), and
that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD, plane, as described above, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], therefore providing image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the
rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [08, 11-12]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the image acquisition device with image stabilization function of Kang to include that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount with rotation control unit based on image rotation which is only due to detected horizontal (left-right) movement/tilt of shake stabilization mirror according to teachings of Yajima, in order to provide for such image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [08, 11-12]).
Specifically, as noted above, Kang does not disclose image rotation (about optical axis in image plane) issue when correcting horizontal shake-correction, namely Kang is silent that when the optical member moves in the second direction, the image information rotates about the optical axis direction (i.e. as 600,610 is moved or tilted towards x-direction), that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount of the image information and the rotational correction amount is used for making compensation for an angle of rotation of the image information about the optical axis direction, and that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as best understood to the extent of the recited necessary structures required for rotational correction of image information).
But as noted above, Yajima teaches in the same field of invention of image pickup device (see Figs. 1-5, having mirror based camera-shake correction system, paragraphs [1,4-8, 9-12]), and further teaches that when the optical member moves in the second direction, the image information rotates about the optical axis direction (i.e. as mirror 1 (22) is moved or tilted in left-right (e.g. horizontal) direction, the image 17 rotates in the sensor or image (CCD) plane, while the image is unaffected, does not rotate in the CCD/ image plane, when mirror mover, tilts in up-down (vertical) direction, and hence any rotational correction amount is zero, see paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], Figs. 1-3). Yajima further teaches that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount of the image information and the rotational correction amount is used for making compensation for an angle of rotation of the image information about the optical axis direction (i.e. as due to rotation of CCD 15 in 14 the image is rotates and image is corrected by appropriate amount, paragraphs [9-12]). Finally, Yajima teaches that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction (i.e. as stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD, plane, as described above, and since only the vertical movement amount of reflective element mirror 1 does not cause image rotation in the image plane, hence the calculation unit is configured to calculate zero for the rotational correction amount, given that no rotation of image occurs, which is explained and clearly presented in Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [4-8, 9-12], of Yajima.
It was also noted that correcting when such image rotation occurs is beneficial, as therefore providing image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element , such that the rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [4-8, 11-12]). Hence it was noted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and modify the image acquisition device with image stabilization function of Kang to include that the image information is rotated by the rotational correction amount with rotation control unit based on image rotation which is only due to detected horizontal (left-right) movement/tilt of shake stabilization mirror according to teachings of Yajima, in order to provide for such image rotation correction by appropriate amount given horizontal movement/tilt of mirror element, such that the rotation of the image is offset by controlling the rotation of the image photoelectric conversion element (paragraphs [4-8, 11-12]).
Below are the cited paragraphs of Yajima reproduced:
[0004]
The technology disclosed in the above-mentioned Japanese Patent Laid-Open Publication No. 6-153057 makes it possible to correct vibration in one direction, either vertical or horizontal, but there is a problem in that if corrections are made in both the horizontal and vertical directions at the same time, an image rotation phenomenon occurs.
[0005]
Here, the image rotation phenomenon will be described with reference to FIGS. FIG. 2 is a diagram explaining the correctable area in terms of the relationship between the subject, mirror, and image. In order for the image on lens 17 to move on straight line 18, i.e., for blur correction in the left-right direction to be performed, the light beam between plane 19, whose rotation axis is straight line 18, and plane 21, whose rotation axis is subject 20, must be on intersection 22 of mirror 1. This is only possible when mirror 1 moves in the up-down direction; if mirror 1 moves left-right, i.e., if the normal vector of mirror 1 is tilted left-right, the image will inevitably be tilted.
[0006]
Figures 3 and 4 show the image rotation that occurs when mirror 1 is rotated left and right when the inclination angle of mirror 1is 45 degrees. For example, in Figure 4, if the light ray is tilted 5 degrees, the center moves vertically at a ratio of 4.34/100, and the originally horizontal straight line becomes tilted by 5.01 degrees.
As can be seen from FIG. 4, up to a swing angle of about 30 degrees, the screen tends to tilt in proportion to the swing angle. When the light beam is swung to the maximum angle of 0.5 degrees, which is the maximum angle that is thought to be actually used, the screen will tilt by about 0.5 degrees.
Specifically, Yajima teaches the rotational correction that occurs in shake correction when image is corrected by moving the angled (e.g. by 45 degrees) optical element such as mirror (1) in horizontal manner i.e. left-right, which is the same problem the Applicants are attempting to solve, see specifically paragraphs [04-07]. Moreover, Yajima teaches that the calculation unit is configured to calculate the rotational correction amount without applying the position information in the first direction to the rotational correction amount by determining that an image does not rotate about the optical axis direction when the first position sensor and the second position sensor detect that the mover has only moved in the first direction and not moved in the second direction i.e. given that stabilization 12 and rotation 13 control unit calculate rotational correction amount to rotational drive unit 16 for image rotation correction given detection signals of detectors 8 and 9, given that only the horizontal movement/tilt detected by horizontal detector 8 causes image rotation in image detector CCD, plane, as described above, and since only the vertical movement amount of reflective element mirror 1 does not cause image rotation in the image plane, the calculation unit is configured to calculate zero for the rotational correction amount, given that no rotation of image occurs, which is explained and presented in Figs. 1-2 and paragraphs [4-8, 9-12]. Applicant’s argument simply state that some of the cited paragraphs (10-12) do not disclose the recited limitations under issue (1), without providing sufficient explanations and reasoning of how and why the above teachings of Yajima differ from the claimed limitations and how is the problem that Yajima is solving, i.e. image rotation in the image plane due to optical image stabilization using slanted reflective surface rotated in two directions different from the same problem that the instant application is addressing? Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive.
The same answers also apply to claim 11.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 10 of the Remarks dated 12/01/2025.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872