DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 3/30/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12, 14-17, and 19-24 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on March 30, 2026. Claims 1, 12, 22, and 23 have been amended. Claims 3,8,13,and 18 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12, 14-17, and 19-24 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 22, and 23 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12, 14-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VUKADINOVIC et al. (US application 2023/0034755 A1) (an International application WO 2021140267 A1, filed 07 January, 2020), hereinafter “D1”, in view of Kodaypak et al. (US 2020/0274643 A1), hereinafter “D2”, and further in view of LEE et al. (US20190313221), hereinafter “D3”.
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0128], and Fig. 4, a V2X UE]), the method comprising:
determining a configuration ([see, [0147], determining the network may comprise configuration]) for a plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs ([see, [0123], V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]) based on at least one requirement associated with at least one V2X application ([see, [0135, 0147], and Fig. 5:S5, the application requirements and the availability of resources, criteria for use in determine for the V2X application client]), wherein the configuration controls distribution of V2X messaging ([see, [0104-0107], Cooperative awareness (CA) is one C-ITS basic service configuration that enables a vehicular or roadside ITS station that controls the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information of V2X messaging]), and
wherein the configuration comprises at least one parameter ([see, [0147], configuration of a CA message based on the parameters and the availability of resources]) that indicates whether to activate or deactivate UE-to-UE relaying ([see, [0150], the parameters of configured grant (CG) indicates configuration/activation at the UE]);
transmitting the configuration to at least one V2X UE of the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123, 0127, 0147], wherein the configuration of a CA message that configure to V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs, and the CA is transmitted from the V2X application server to the V2X application client), wherein the UE-to-UE relaying for the at least one V2X application is activated or deactivated based in part on the transmitted configuration ([see, [0126-0136, 0147], and Fig. 5, the V2X UEs relaying a request to an application client from a server for the application that triggered the CA messages to a network]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: transmitting feedback to a V2X application server or a V2X application enabler (VAE) server, wherein the feedback indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement.
However, D2 discloses transmitting feedback to a V2X application server or a V2X application enabler (VAE) server ([see, [0060], wherein monitor the conditions of transmissions to the C-V2X UE, and based on an analysis of parameters associated with the transmissions, feedback can be sent through the network core to an application layer server device (e.g., C-V2X application server 510)]),
wherein the feedback indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement ([see, [0060, 0070], and Fig. 13, wherein provide feedback regarding which forward error correction code to use for decoding received transmissions, C-V2X UE can determine one or more attributes (requirement) of the transmission to determine a condition of the communications channel, signal to noise ratio (SNR) relate to the transmissions, and the number of times there were errors in the transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the feedback indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement, wherein the at least one requirement comprises one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services, and a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
However, D3 discloses wherein the feedback (response) indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement (i.e., policy parameter information) ([see, 0021, 0073, 0077], a policy response message including the mapping information and policy parameter information for providing a V2X service]),
wherein the at least one requirement ([see, [0077], policy parameter information managed by the V2X AS for providing the V2X service may include a service ID]) comprises one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services ([see, [0026, 0113-0114], and Fig. 9, service mapping information discloses between the V2X service is identified by a service ID (e.g., PSID or ITS-AID), and can be associated with a RAT type for the service provisioning information]), and
a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide service mapping information results improved 5G or pre-5G communication systems to meet the ever-increasing demand for wireless data traffic (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the feedback is associated with the at least one requirement ([see, [0060, 0070], and Fig. 13, wherein provide feedback regarding which forward error correction code to use for decoding received transmissions, C-V2X UE can determine one or more attributes (requirement) of the transmission to determine a condition of the communications channel, signal to noise ratio (SNR) relate to the transmissions, and the number of times there were errors in the transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the configuration is configured to minimize broadcast of V2X messages for the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0104-0107], Cooperative awareness (CA) is one C-ITS basic service configuration that enables a vehicular or roadside ITS station that controls the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information of V2X messaging]).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the at least one requirement further comprises one or more of: an application identifier, a group identifier, and a transaction identifier ([see, [0067-0071], wherein requirements associated with the application for cooperative awareness messages may comprise at least one of latency and message priority, which has criteria may comprise rules for discarding of cooperative awareness message]).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the configuration further comprises one or more of: a V2X application enabler (VAE) client identifier, an application identifier, a group identifier, or at least one relay identifier, and a configuration policy identifier ([see, [0123, 0147], configuration of a CA message that includes the V2X application client and the V2X application enabler (VAE) disclosed]).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the at least one parameter ([see, [0006], QoS parameters disclosed) further comprises one or more of: a current quality of service (QoS) policy, a requested QoS policy, a current number of allowed V2X message re-transmissions, a requested number of allowed V2X message re-transmissions, an indication to activate V2X message bundling, and an indication to deactivate the V2X message bundling ([see, [0014], QoS, parameters may comprise at least one of latency, throughput, and reliability]).
As per Claim 12, D1 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0128], and Fig. 4, a V2X UE]), the method comprising:
receiving a V2X message from a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) application of at least one V2X UE ([0127,0147], transmitted from the V2X application server to the V2X application client]);
processing the V2X message ([i.e., a CA message]) based on a configuration ([see, [0147], determining the network may comprise configuration]) for a plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123], V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]), the at least one V2X UE selected from the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123, 0126], a V2X UE from supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]),
wherein the configuration controls distribution of V2X messaging ([see, [0104-0107], Cooperative awareness (CA) is one C-ITS basic service configuration that enables a vehicular or roadside ITS station that controls the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information of V2X messaging]), and
wherein the configuration comprises at least one parameter ([see, [0147], configuration of a CA message based on the parameters and the availability of resources]) that indicates whether to activate or deactivate UE-to-UE relaying ([see, [0150], the parameters of configured grant (CG) indicates configuration/activation at the UE]); and
relaying at least one V2X message to at least one V2X UE of the plurality of V2X UEs based on the configuration ([see, [0126-0136, 0147], and Fig. 5, the V2X UEs relaying a request to an application client from a server for the application that triggered the CA messages to a network]); and
wherein the configuration controls the V2X message distribution among the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123, 0127, 0147], wherein the configuration of a CA message that configure to V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs, and the CA is transmitted from the V2X application server to the V2X application client), by activating UE-to- UE relaying for at least one V2X application supported at the UE ([see, [0126-0136, 0147], and Fig. 5, the V2X UEs relaying a request to an application client from a server for the application that triggered the CA messages to a network]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: transmitting, to the at least one V2X application, a feedback associated with the at least one V2X message, wherein the feedback indicates successful relaying of the at least one V2X message.
However, D2 discloses transmitting, to the at least one V2X application, a feedback associated with the at least one V2X message ([see, [0060], wherein monitor the conditions of transmissions to the C-V2X UE, and based on an analysis of parameters associated with the transmissions, feedback can be sent through the network core to an application layer server device (e.g., C-V2X application server 510)]),
wherein the feedback indicates successful relaying of the at least one V2X message ([see, [0060, 0070], and Fig. 13, wherein provide feedback regarding which forward error correction code to use for decoding received transmissions, C-V2X UE can determine one or more attributes (requirement) of the transmission to determine a condition of the communications channel, signal to noise ratio (SNR) relate to the transmissions, and the number of times there were errors in the transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration is based on at least one requirement associated with the V2X application, the at least one requirement comprising one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services, and a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
However, D3 discloses wherein the feedback (response) indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement (i.e., policy parameter information) ([see, 0021, 0073, 0077], a policy response message including the mapping information and policy parameter information for providing a V2X service]),
wherein the at least one requirement ([see, [0077], policy parameter information managed by the V2X AS for providing the V2X service may include a service ID]) comprises one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services ([see, [0113-0114], and Fig. 9, service mapping information discloses between the V2X service is identified by a service ID (e.g., PSID or ITS-AID), and can be associated with a RAT type for service provisioning]), and
a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide service mapping information results improved 5G or pre-5G communication systems to meet the ever-increasing demand for wireless data traffic (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claim 14, D1 and D2 disclose method of claim 12, and D1 further discloses wherein the configuration is based on at least one requirement associated with the V2X application ([see, [0067-0071], wherein requirements associated with the application for cooperative awareness messages may comprise at least one of latency and message priority, which has criteria may comprise rules for discarding of cooperative awareness message]).
As per Claim 15, D1 and D2 disclose method of claim 14, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses further comprising transmitting feedback associated with the at least one requirement. ([see, [0060, 0070], and Fig. 13, wherein provide feedback regarding which forward error correction code to use for decoding received transmissions, C-V2X UE can determine one or more attributes (requirement) of the transmission to determine a condition of the communications channel, signal to noise ratio (SNR) relate to the transmissions, and the number of times there were errors in the transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 16, D1 and D2 disclose method of claim 12, and D1 further discloses wherein relaying the at least one V2X message comprises bundling a plurality of V2X messages according to the configuration ([see, [0104-0105], wherein CA message (V2X messages), the CA is achieved though the transmission of messages that contain information such as, but not limited to, the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information depending according to the C-ITS basic service configuration]).
As per Claim 17, D1 and D2 disclose method of claim 12, and D1 further discloses further comprising receiving the configuration from one of the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [00123-0126], and Fig. 5, CA message transmission from the V2X application client to the V2X application server, wherein V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]).
As per Claim 19, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 12, and D1 further discloses further comprising establishing a V2X application enabler (VAE) session with a VAE client running on the at least one V2X UE ([see, [0123], V2X Application Client consists of V2X application specific client, VAE client, and SEAL clients]),
wherein relaying the at least one V2X message (i.e., CA messages) comprises relaying at least one V2X message received via the VAE session ([see, [0142-0144], wherein the CA messages recived from the VAE server]).
As per Claim 20, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 19, and D1 further discloses wherein a VAE session establishment message ([see, 0144], the CA messages may involve internal signaling within VAE server]), includes an identifier for a destination VAE client and one or more parameters for supporting message relay to a destination V2X UE ([see, [0156-0157], receiving the CA messages from a UE sends a V2XApplicationRequirementRequest to the VAE server indicating its CA requirements]).
As per Claim 21, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 12, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the feedback is separate from the relayed at least one V2X message ([see, [0061], wherein the feedback is forwarded by the network device to an application server, the C-V2X UE acknowledges the receipt of the FEC code by sending an acknowledgement to the application server)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
As per Claim 22, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0128], and Fig. 4, a V2X UE]), comprising:
at least one memory ([see, [0042], at least one memory]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory ([see, [0042], at at least one processor and at least one memory]); and configured to cause the UE to:
determine a configuration ([see, [0147], determining the network may comprise configuration]) for a plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs ([see, [0123], V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]) based on at least one requirement associated with at least one V2X application ([see, [0135, 0147], and Fig. 5:S5, the application requirements and the availability of resources, criteria for use in determine for the V2X application client]), wherein the configuration controls distribution of V2X messaging ([see, [0104-0107], Cooperative awareness (CA) is one C-ITS basic service configuration that enables a vehicular or roadside ITS station that controls the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information of V2X messaging]), and
wherein the configuration comprises at least one parameter ([see, [0147], configuration of a CA message based on the parameters and the availability of resources]) that indicates whether to activate or deactivate UE-to-UE relaying ([see, [0150], the parameters of configured grant (CG) indicates configuration/activation at the UE]);
transmit the configuration to at least one V2X UE of the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123, 0127, 0147], wherein the configuration of a CA message that configure to V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs, and the CA is transmitted from the V2X application server to the V2X application client), wherein the UE-to-UE relaying for the at least one V2X application is activated or deactivated based in part on the transmitted configuration ([see, [0126-0136, 0147], and Fig. 5, the V2X UEs relaying a request to an application client from a server for the application that triggered the CA messages to a network]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: transmit feedback to a V2X application server or a V2X application enabler (VAE) server, wherein the feedback indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement.
However, D2 discloses transmit feedback to a V2X application server or a V2X application enabler (VAE) server ([see, [0060], wherein monitor the conditions of transmissions to the C-V2X UE, and based on an analysis of parameters associated with the transmissions, feedback can be sent through the network core to an application layer server device (e.g., C-V2X application server 510)]),
wherein the feedback indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement ([see, [0060, 0070], and Fig. 13, wherein provide feedback regarding which forward error correction code to use for decoding received transmissions, C-V2X UE can determine one or more attributes (requirement) of the transmission to determine a condition of the communications channel, signal to noise ratio (SNR) relate to the transmissions, and the number of times there were errors in the transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the feedback indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement, wherein the at least one requirement comprises one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services, and a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
However, D3 discloses wherein the feedback (response) indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement (i.e., policy parameter information) ([see, 0021, 0073, 0077], a policy response message including the mapping information and policy parameter information for providing a V2X service]),
wherein the at least one requirement ([see, [0077], policy parameter information managed by the V2X AS for providing the V2X service may include a service ID]) comprises one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services ([see, [0113-0114], and Fig. 9, service mapping information discloses between the V2X service is identified by a service ID (e.g., PSID or ITS-AID), and can be associated with a RAT type for service provisioning]), and
a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide service mapping information results improved 5G or pre-5G communication systems to meet the ever-increasing demand for wireless data traffic (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claim 23, D1 discloses a user equipment (ULE) ([see, [0128], and Fig. 4, a V2X UE]), comprising:
at least one memory ([see, [0042], at least one memory]); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory ([see, [0042], at at least one processor and at least one memory]); and configured to cause the UE to:
receive a V2X message from a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) application of at least one V2X UE ([0127,0147], transmitted from the V2X application server to the V2X application client]);
process the V2X message ([i.e., a CA message]) based on a configuration ([see, [0147], determining the network may comprise configuration]) for a plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123], V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]), the at least one V2X UE selected from the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123, 0126], a V2X UE from supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs)]),
wherein the configuration controls distribution of V2X messaging ([see, [0104-0107], Cooperative awareness (CA) is one C-ITS basic service configuration that enables a vehicular or roadside ITS station that controls the identity and type of the transmitting ITS station, its geographical location, lane position, speed, acceleration, heading, and other information of V2X messaging]), and
wherein the configuration comprises at least one parameter ([see, [0147], configuration of a CA message based on the parameters and the availability of resources]) that indicates whether to activate or deactivate UE-to-UE relaying ([see, [0150], the parameters of configured grant (CG) indicates configuration/activation at the UE]);
relay at least one V2X message to at least one V2X UE of the plurality of V2X UEs based on the configuration ([see, [0126-0136, 0147], and Fig. 5, the V2X UEs relaying a request to an application client from a server for the application that triggered the CA messages to a network]); and
wherein the configuration controls the V2X message distribution among the plurality of V2X UEs ([see, [0123, 0127, 0147], wherein the configuration of a CA message that configure to V2X Application Server supports V2X UEs (plurality of vehicle-to-everything (V2X) UEs, and the CA is transmitted from the V2X application server to the V2X application client), by activating UE-to- UE relaying for at least one V2X application supported at the UE ([see, [0126-0136, 0147], and Fig. 5, the V2X UEs relaying a request to an application client from a server for the application that triggered the CA messages to a network]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: transmit, to the at least one V2X application, a feedback associated with the at least one V2X message, wherein the feedback indicates successful relaying of the at least one V2X message.
However, D2 discloses transmitting, to the at least one V2X application, a feedback associated with the at least one V2X message ([see, [0060], wherein monitor the conditions of transmissions to the C-V2X UE, and based on an analysis of parameters associated with the transmissions, feedback can be sent through the network core to an application layer server device (e.g., C-V2X application server 510)]),
wherein the feedback indicates successful relaying of the at least one V2X message ([see, [0060, 0070], and Fig. 13, wherein provide feedback regarding which forward error correction code to use for decoding received transmissions, C-V2X UE can determine one or more attributes (requirement) of the transmission to determine a condition of the communications channel, signal to noise ratio (SNR) relate to the transmissions, and the number of times there were errors in the transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide transmitting feedback to a V2X application results improving efficiency that enhanced autonomous driving, facilitate vehicle-to-infrastructure (V2I), vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) and vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications (D2, ¶ [0005]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the configuration is based on at least one requirement associated with the V2X application, the at least one requirement comprising one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services, and a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
However, D3 discloses wherein the feedback (response) indicates that the UE has implemented the at least one requirement (i.e., policy parameter information) ([see, 0021, 0073, 0077], a policy response message including the mapping information and policy parameter information for providing a V2X service]),
wherein the at least one requirement ([see, [0077], policy parameter information managed by the V2X AS for providing the V2X service may include a service ID]) comprises one or more of: application-to-service mapping information, a policy provisioning for services ([see, [0113-0114], and Fig. 9, service mapping information discloses between the V2X service is identified by a service ID (e.g., PSID or ITS-AID), and can be associated with a RAT type for service provisioning]), and
a set of candidate relay identifiers per application or group of applications.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide service mapping information results improved 5G or pre-5G communication systems to meet the ever-increasing demand for wireless data traffic (D3, ¶ [0003]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of NGUYEN et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200021941), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 24, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 1, and D1 further discloses the at least one V2X application ([see, [0123], the V2X application disclosed]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the at least one parameter indicates to activate UE-to-UE relaying, the configuration further compress a set of candidate relay identifiers.
However, D3 discloses wherein the at least one parameter indicates to activate UE-to-UE relaying ([see, [0068], the UE 505 may determine which UE(s) are to act as relaying UE(s) based on parameter at least in part on one or more locations corresponding to one or more neighbor UEs]) and the configuration further compress a set of candidate relay identifiers ([see, [0072], the UE 505 may identify the UE 515 as a relaying UE because the distance between the UE 505 and the UE 515 is greater than a first threshold]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide determining whether a peer-to-peer (P2P) communication is to be relayed results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs that enhanced expanding services (D2, ¶ [0005]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418