DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application file on November 07, 2022. Claims 1-13 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy (of CN202211029919.4 filed on August 25, 2022) has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/CN2022/118363 filed on September 13, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed for this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig.1 reference character “100” should be “10” as seen in Fig. 2, where both reference characters “10” and “100” are shown confirming the Examiner’s interpretation. This is considered a typo by the Examiner. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7, para. [00031] recite “FIG, 4 is a right side view…” this should be “FIG, 4 is a rear view…”. Reason: page 9, para [00040] lines 4-6 recites “…a first water outlet 50… provided rearward… at a rear part of the vehicle body 10…” and where fig. 4 shows reference character “50” and therefore is the rear view not the right-side view.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 7-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5 and 11-13 line 13 all have “…second screw propeller rotate…” this should be “…second screw propeller to rotate…”.
Claims 7-10 all have the first line as “The control method for pool cleaning robot…” this should be ““The control method for the pool cleaning robot…” as claim 7 is referring back to “…the pool cleaning robot according to claim 1…”.
Claim 7 line 3 “…the motor state…” should be “…the motion state…” see fig. 7 and claim 1 line 6.
Claim 7 line 6 “…when the body…” should be “… when the vehicle body…” to match the previous recitations of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "…the obstacle…" in line 2. Where the claim tree of 8-7-1 does not previously recite “…an obstacle…”. The examiner notes that “…an obstacle…” is found in claim 2 line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "… a second motion state…" in lines 4-5. Claim 1 line 10 already recites “… a second motion state…”. Therefore, it is not clear if this a the same “second motion state” as recited in claim 1 or a new “second motion state”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Erlich et al. (US 2013/0269729 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Erlich et al. discloses a pool cleaning robot, comprising: (pool cleaner 10) (See at least: Fig. 1, pool cleaner (10))
a vehicle body, (housing 12) (See at least: para. [0049] “…a pool or tank cleaner 10 has an exterior cover or housing 12…”)
a sensor, (one or more sensors 120) (See at least: para [0051] “The processor/controller 68 can be programmed in accordance with methods known in the art to interact with a timer and/or one or more sensors or switches to effect the functioning and directional control of the pool cleaner.” Para [0062] “control signals can be generated by one or more sensors 120 which detect the motion of, or the absence of movement of the pool cleaner, e.g., when the pool cleaner's forward motion is stopped by encountering a wall or an obstacle such as a ladder.”)
a first electric motor, and (two separate motors)
a second electric motor, (two separate motors) (See at least: para [0071] “In an alternative embodiment, the invention comprehends the use of two separate motors (not shown) whose axes of shaft rotation are coincident, instead of a single motor 60.”)
a water suction port (inlet port 18) provided at a bottom part (lower body portion 12B) of the vehicle body (12), (See at least: Figs. 3-4 where fig. 4 shows the lower body portion 12B with the inlet port 18)
a first water outlet (discharge ports 40) communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) provided rearward along a horizontal direction (longitudinal) at a rear part (opposing front and rear end walls 14) of the vehicle body (12), (See at least: figs. 4-5 for how the inlet port 18 communicates to the discharge port (40) and para [0053] “FIGS. 1 and 4, the pool cleaner cover includes opposing front and rear end walls 14, in each of which there is formed a water jet discharge port 40…” and para [0054] “…longitudinal water jet discharge conduits 42, each of which terminate with discharge ports 40…” )
a second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) provided vertically upward at a top part (the upper housing cover 12A) of the vehicle body(12) , and (See at least: figs. 1, 3-4 and para [0053] “…The vertical discharge ports 72 are positioned at the opposing ends of the cleaner 10…”)
the sensor (one or more sensors 120) arranged at a front part (opposing front and rear end walls 14) of the vehicle body (12) for detecting a motion state (movement, lack of movement, responsive to a vertical wall or change in position) of the vehicle body (12); (See at least figs. 4 and 10a-10b, para. [0016] “… sensor which detects movement, or lack of movement, or a sensor which is responsive to a vertical wall or other change in position of the pool cleaner, either in the generally horizontal or generally vertical position…” and para [0063] “…a sensor 120 (shown in phantom)…” where fig. 4 shows 120 on end B on the side with a pair of wheels 30 and where para [0083] “step 1002 to propel the pool cleaner in a forward direction as defined by the end of the unit having the axle-mounted wheels”. The Examiner notes the specification has swapped use of “END A” and “END B” when viewed to the figures where para. [0083] and the figures determine the forward direction of the robotic pool cleaner.)
the first electric motor (two separate motors) configured to control the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) to drain water when the sensor (one or more sensors 120) detects that the vehicle body (12) is in a first motion state (stopped moving). (See at least: Figs. 1-4 and 10A-10B, where first motion state a modified (due to two separate motors, disclosed in para [0071]) steps 1020 and 1022 of fig. 10B; The Examiner’s para [0071] interpretation is shown for these steps: 1020… signal to interrupt power to a pump motor when sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving; 1022… active the opposite pump motor to propel the cleaner in the reverse direction and para. [0074] “In operation, the rotation of the propeller at the end of the motor opposite the direction of movement produces a jet of water that is discharged through conduit (40) to propel the pool cleaner forward.”)
the second electric motor (two separate motors) configured to control the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water when the sensor (one or more sensors 120) detects that the vehicle body (12) is in a second motion state (an angle). (See at least: Figs. 1-4, 10A-10B and 14-16; where the second motion state is step 1012 of fig. 10B “In response to a signal from a tilt sensor or a time clock, resume the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port to provide a force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall and optionally, active the pump motor when the forward end floats upwards a predetermined angle to thereby propel the pool cleaner up the sidewall of the pool.” where para. [0087] recites “when the pool cleaner reaches the water line in step 1014, a signal is sent either by an optional sensor or a time clock that initiated the count of a predetermined period of time after the reactivation of the vertical discharge of water in step 1012…” and where Fig. 14 shows that arrows in both vertical discharge and auxiliary discharge ports. In this use the second motor is the motor that has power before approaching the wall that the pool cleaning robot goes in the same direction, where the first motor described above is the motor that not running during the approach, see para [0071] for the disclosed use of two motors “…a first motor is provided with power to turn the propeller that produces the motive jet stream and the adjacent and opposing (second) motor is stopped to reduce turbulence inside the housing 12. When the directional movement of the cleaner is reversed, the power to the rotating motor is interrupted and the second motor is activated….”)
Regarding claim 3, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein further comprises
a wheel (wheel assembly 32, a pair of wheels 30) arranged on the bottom part (lower body portion 12B) of the vehicle body (12), (See at least: fig. 1, 3-4 and 17-20; where fig. 1 shows the wheel assembly 32, fig. 3 shows the base plate 16 connected to the wheel assembly 32 (not labeled in fig. 3), fig. 4 shows the base plate 16 is a part of the lower body potion 12B and fig. 17-20 show the pair of wheels 30 and the wheel assembly 32 on the baseplate 16)
the first motion state (stopped moving) further includes the wheel (32, 30) being in an idling state (lack of movement), and (See at least: para [0016] “the operation of the pump motor can be controlled in accordance with a predetermined program that interrupts and then reverses the polarity, or direction of the electrical current flowing to the pump motor in response to either a timed sequence, a sensor which detects movement, or lack of movement, or a sensor which is responsive to a vertical wall or other change in position of the pool cleaner, either in the generally horizontal or generally vertical position…” and fig. 10B (modified) “1020… signal to interrupt power to pump motor when sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving”)
when the wheel (32, 30) is in an idling state (lack of movement),
the first electric motor (two separate motors) starts to control the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) to drain water backwards (reverse direction). (See at least: Figs. 1-4 and 10A-10B, where first motion state a modified (due to two separate motors, disclosed in para [0071]) steps 1020 and 1022 of fig. 10B; The Examiner’s para [0071] interpretation is shown for these steps: 1020… signal to interrupt power to a pump motor when sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving; 1022… active the opposite pump motor to propel the cleaner in the reverse direction and para. [0074] “In operation, the rotation of the propeller at the end of the motor opposite the direction of movement produces a jet of water that is discharged through conduit (40) to propel the pool cleaner forward.” The phrase “to drain water backwards” under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) includes the interpretation of, to reverse the flow of water, which occurs when the opposite pump is started and the previously running pump is stopped. Also, when the sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving the wheel (32, 30) is interpreted to being in an idle state or having a lack of movement.)
Regarding claim 4, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein
the second motion state (an angle) includes an angle (an angle) between the vehicle body (12) and the sidewall (side wall) of the swimming pool (pool) being less than or equal to a preset angle (an angle of at least 45°), and
when the angle (an angle) between the vehicle body (12) and the sidewall (side wall) of the swimming pool (pool) is less than or equal to a preset angle (an angle of at least 45°), the second electric motor (two separate motors) starts to control the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water upwards (vertical discharge of water). (See at least: para [0086] “When the pool cleaner body has achieved an angle of at least 45°, a tilt sensor transmits a signal to the processor/controller in step 1012 and a further signal is generated to reinstitute the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port and thereby provide an opposing force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall in a vertical orientation…” and Figs. 1-4, 10A-10B and 14-16; where the second motion state is step 1012 of fig. 10B “In response to a signal from a tilt sensor or a time clock, resume the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port to provide a force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall and optionally, active the pump motor when the forward end floats upwards a predetermined angle to thereby propel the pool cleaner up the sidewall of the pool.” where para. [0087] recites “when the pool cleaner reaches the water line in step 1014, a signal is sent either by an optional sensor or a time clock that initiated the count of a predetermined period of time after the reactivation of the vertical discharge of water in step 1012…” and where Fig. 14 shows that arrows in both vertical discharge and auxiliary discharge ports. In this use the second motor is the motor that has power before approaching the wall that the pool cleaning robot goes in the same direction, where the first motor described above is the motor that is powered off during the approach, see para [0071] for the disclosed use of two motors “…a first motor is provided with power to turn the propeller that produces the motive jet stream and the adjacent and opposing (second) motor is stopped to reduce turbulence inside the housing 12. When the directional movement of the cleaner is reversed, the power to the rotating motor is interrupted and the second motor is activated…”)
Regarding claim 5, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein
the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) is communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) through a first water conduit (inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, discharge ports 40 ), and the first electric motor (two separate motors) is arranged inside the first water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 40), (See at least figs. 1-8 and Fig. 4 Mod. 1 below; Where the modified drawing shows a motor 1 (M1) and motor 2 (M2) in the interpretation of the alternative embodiment of para [0071], with the water flow path through the inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A and discharge ports 40; where the motor 1 (M1) is located in the upper body portion 12A)
the pool cleaning robot (pool cleaner 10) further including (See at least: Fig. 1, pool cleaner (10))
a first screw propeller (propellers 64) arranged inside the first water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 40) and connected with an output shaft (drive shaft 62) of the first electric motor (two separate motors); (See at least: Figs.1- 4 and para[0054] “horizontally mounted motor 60 with drive shaft 62 projecting from both ends supports opposing propellers 64.” ; where the propellers 64 are located in the upper body portion 12A. The Examiner notes: The BRI for screw propeller is found in the NPL: “propeller” below where the first para. recite “most marine propellers are screw propellers…”)
the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) is communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) through a second water conduit (inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, vertical discharge conduits sections 71 and 70, vertical discharge port 72 ), and the second electric motor (two separate motors) is arranged inside the second water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 71, 70, 72), (See at least figs. 1-8 and Fig. 4 Mod. 2 below; Where the modified drawing shows a motor 1 (M1) and motor 2 (M2) in the interpretation of the alternative embodiment of para [0071], with the water flow path through inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, vertical discharge conduits sections 71 and 70 and vertical discharge port 72; where the motor 2 (M2) is located in the upper body portion 12A)
the pool cleaning robot (pool cleaner 10) further comprising (See at least: fig. 1)
a second screw propeller (propellers 64) arranged inside the second water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 71, 70, 72) and connected with an output shaft (drive shaft 62) of the second electric motor (two separate motors); (See at least: Figs.1- 4 and para[0054] “horizontally mounted motor 60 with drive shaft 62 projecting from both ends supports opposing propellers 64.”; where the propellers 64 are located in the upper body portion 12A)
the pool cleaning robot (10) further comprises (See at least Fig. 1)
a controller (programmed controller 68) connected with the sensor (one or more sensors 120), the first electric motor (two separate motors), and the second electric motor (two separate motors), (See at least: Figs. 4, 9, and 14-16, which shows the programmed controller 68 connected to a propulsion cutoff switch 130 and to the electric motor 60 (where as modified by para [0071] is two separate motors), also depicted is the sensor 120; para [0081] “FIGS. 4, 9, and 14-16, the pool cleaner 10 includes a propulsion cutoff switch 130, which is electrically coupled to the controller 68 via conductor 138 and the electric motor 60 via conductors 136…” and para [0064] “During operation, when the timing circuit times out or the sensor 120 detects the sidewall, the controller 68 optionally interrupts power to the motor 60, thereby terminating the discharge of water…” which shows that the sensor 120 is connected to the programmed controller 68.)
the controller (68) is configured to control the start of the first electric motor (two separate motors) and/or the second electric motor (two separate motors) to drive the first screw propeller (propellers 64) and/or the second screw propeller (propellers 64) rotate, thereby controlling the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) and/or the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water. (See at least: fig 10A-10B and Fig. 4 Mod 1 and 2 below; where the method in Fig. 10A is the program installed on the programmed controller 68 which at step 1002 “pump motor activated to propel the pool cleaner in a forward direction on the bottom surface of the pool” which in Fig. 4. Mod.1 shows that motor 2 (M2) would start to move the device forward with the majority of water flowing through the discharge port 40 on the left of the fig; at the same time in Fig. 4. Mod. 2 as motor 2 (M2) is running there is a flow through vertical discharge port 72 on the left side of the fig.; throughout the program of Figs. 10A-10B when the statement of “activate the pump motor with opposite polarity…” is interpreted with the alternate embodiment of para [0071] which the opposite motor is started from the motor that was previously in operation. Therefore, the programmed controller 68 is configured to start or stop either of the two electric motors which rotate the corresponding propellers 64 to control the flow of water through discharge ports 40 and vertical discharge port 72).
Regarding claim 7, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses a control method (Fig. 10A-10B) for pool cleaning robot (10), wherein the method (Fig. 10A-10B) is applied to the pool cleaning robot (10) according to claim 1 comprising: (See at least: figs. 1 and 10A-10B; where fig. 10A-10B shows a control method)
detecting the motor state (stopped moving, an angle) of the vehicle body (12) by the sensor (one or more sensors 120) after the pool cleaning robot (10) starts; (See at least: figs. 1 and 10A-10B; where the method of fig.10A-10B have signals from the sensor in step 1006 “signal from on-board sensor indicates that the forward end of the pool cleaner is proximate a sidewall of the pool”, step 1012 “…a signal from a tilt sensor…” where the tilt sensor measures an angle from step 1010; and 1020 “signal to interrupt power to pump motor when sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving…”)
controlling the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) to drain water by the first electric motor (two separate motors) when the vehicle body (12) is in the first motion state (stopped moving);.(See at least: See at least: figs. 1-4 and 10A-10B; where the method of fig.10B steps 1020-1022, where the sensor detects that the pool cleaner has stopped moving… and activates the opposite pump (See para [0071]) to propel the cleaner in the reverse direction, where forward and reverse are from the water jet through discharge ports 40)
controlling the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water by the second electric motor (two separate motors) when the body (12) is in the second motion state (an angle).(See at least: See at least: figs. 1-4 and 10A-10B; where the method of fig.10B steps 1010-1012, where the sensor detects that an angle… and activates the pump motor to propel the cleaner up the sidewall of the pool, where para [0087] “…after the reactivation of the vertical discharge of water in step 1012.” Where the vertical discharge of water is through the vertical discharge port (72).
Regarding claim 9, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 7 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein
the first motion state (stopped moving) includes the wheel (wheel assembly 32, a pair of wheels 30) being in an idling state (lack of movement), (See at least: fig.1, para [0016] “…a sensor which detects movement, or lack of movement, or a sensor which is responsive to a vertical wall or other change in position of the pool cleaner, either in the generally horizontal or generally vertical position…” and fig. 10B (modified) “1020… signal to interrupt power to (a) pump motor when sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving”)
the steps (1020, 1022) that the first electric motor (two separate motors) controls the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) to drain water when the motion state (stopped moving, an angle) of the vehicle body (12) is the first motion state (stopped moving) include: controlling the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) to drain water by the first electric motor (two separate motors) when the wheel (32, 30) is in an idling state (lack of movement). (See at least: Figs. 1-4 and 10A-10B, where first motion state a modified (due to two separate motors, disclosed in para [0071]) steps 1020 and 1022 of fig. 10B; The Examiner’s para [0071] interpretation is shown for these steps: 1020… signal to interrupt power to a pump motor when sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving; 1022… active the opposite pump motor to propel the cleaner in the reverse direction and para. [0074] “In operation, the rotation of the propeller at the end of the motor opposite the direction of movement produces a jet of water that is discharged through conduit (40) to propel the pool cleaner forward.” the flow of water, which occurs when the opposite pump is started to the opposite conduit (40). Also, when the sensor detects that pool cleaner has stopped moving the wheel (32, 30) is interpreted to being in an idle state or having a lack of movement.)
Regarding claim 10, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 7 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein
the second motion state (an angle) includes the angle (an angle) between the vehicle body (12) and the sidewall (side wall) of the swimming pool (pool) being less than or equal to a preset angle (an angle of at least 45°), (See at least: para [0086] “When the pool cleaner body {12} has achieved an angle of at least 45°, a tilt sensor transmits a signal to the processor/controller in step 1012 and a further signal is generated to reinstitute the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port and thereby provide an opposing force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall in a vertical orientation…” and Figs. 1-4, 10A-10B and 14-16; where the second motion state is step 1012 of fig. 10B “In response to a signal from a tilt sensor or a time clock, resume the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port to provide a force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall and optionally, active the pump motor when the forward end floats upwards a predetermined angle to thereby propel the pool cleaner up the sidewall of the pool.” where para. [0087] recites “when the pool cleaner reaches the water line in step 1014, a signal is sent either by an optional sensor or a time clock that initiated the count of a predetermined period of time after the reactivation of the vertical discharge of water in step 1012…” and where Fig. 14 shows that arrows in both vertical discharge and auxiliary discharge ports. In this use the second motor is the motor that has power before approaching the wall that the pool cleaning robot goes in the same direction, where the first motor described above is the motor that is powered off during the approach, see para [0071] for the disclosed use of two motors.)
the steps (1012) that the second electric motor (two separate motors) controls the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water when the motion state (stopped moving, an angle) of the vehicle body (12) is a second motion state (an angle) include: controlling the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water by the second electric motor (two separate motors) when the angle (an angle) between the vehicle body (12) and the sidewall (side-wall) of the swimming pool (pool) is less than or equal to a preset angle (an angle of at least 45°). (See at least: para [0086] “When the pool cleaner body has achieved an angle of at least 45°, a tilt sensor transmits a signal to the processor/controller in step 1012 and a further signal is generated to reinstitute the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port and thereby provide an opposing force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall in a vertical orientation…” and Figs. 1-4, 10A-10B and 14-16; where the second motion state is step 1012 of fig. 10B “In response to a signal from a tilt sensor or a time clock, resume the discharge of water through the auxiliary discharge port to provide a force vector to direct the pool cleaner towards the side wall and optionally, active the pump motor when the forward end floats upwards a predetermined angle to thereby propel the pool cleaner up the sidewall of the pool.” where para. [0087] recites “when the pool cleaner reaches the water line in step 1014, a signal is sent either by an optional sensor or a time clock that initiated the count of a predetermined period of time after the reactivation of the vertical discharge of water in step 1012…” and where Fig. 14 shows that arrows in both vertical discharge and auxiliary discharge ports. In this use the second motor is the motor that has power before approaching the wall that the pool cleaning robot goes in the same direction, where the first motor described above is the motor that is powered off during the approach, see para [0071] for the disclosed use of two motors.)
Regarding claim 12, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 3 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein
the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) is communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) through a first water conduit (inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, discharge ports 40 ), and the first electric motor (two separate motors) is arranged inside the first water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 40), (See at least figs. 1-8 and Fig. 4 Mod. 1 above; Where the modified drawing shows a motor 1 (M1) and motor 2 (M2) in the interpretation of the alternative embodiment of para [0071], with the water flow path through the inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A and discharge ports 40; where the motor 1 (M1) is located in the upper body portion 12A).
the pool cleaning robot (pool cleaner 10) further including (See at least: Fig. 1, pool cleaner (10))
a first screw propeller (propellers 64) arranged inside the first water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 40) and connected with an output shaft (drive shaft 62) of the first electric motor (two separate motors); (See at least: Figs.1- 4 and para[0054] “horizontally mounted motor 60 with drive shaft 62 projecting from both ends supports opposing propellers 64.” ; where the propellers 64 are located in the upper body portion 12A)
the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) is communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) through a second water conduit (inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, vertical discharge conduits sections 71 and 70, vertical discharge port 72 ), and the second electric motor (two separate motors) is arranged inside the second water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 71, 70, 72), (See at least figs. 1-8 and Fig. 4 Mod. 2 above; Where the modified drawing shows a motor 1 (M1) and motor 2 (M2) in the interpretation of the alternative embodiment of para [0071], with the water flow path through inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, vertical discharge conduits sections 71 and 70 and vertical discharge port 72; where the motor 2 (M2) is located in the upper body portion 12A).
the pool cleaning robot (pool cleaner 10) further comprising (See at least: fig. 1)
a second screw propeller (propellers 64) arranged inside the second water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 71, 70, 72) and connected with an output shaft (drive shaft 62) of the second electric motor (two separate motors); (See at least: Figs.1- 4 and para[0054] “horizontally mounted motor 60 with drive shaft 62 projecting from both ends supports opposing propellers 64.”; where the propellers 64 are located in the upper body portion 12A)
the pool cleaning robot (10) further comprises (See at least Fig. 1)
a controller (programmed controller 68) connected with the sensor (one or more sensors 120), the first electric motor (two separate motors), and the second electric motor (two separate motors), (See at least: Figs. 4, 9, and 14-16, which shows the programmed controller 68 connected to a propulsion cutoff switch 130 and to the electric motor 60 (where as modified by para [0071] is two separate motors), also depicted is the sensor 120; para [0081] “FIGS. 4, 9, and 14-16, the pool cleaner 10 includes a propulsion cutoff switch 130, which is electrically coupled to the controller 68 via conductor 138 and the electric motor 60 via conductors 136…” and para [0064] “During operation, when the timing circuit times out or the sensor 120 detects the sidewall, the controller 68 optionally interrupts power to the motor 60, thereby terminating the discharge of water…” which shows that the sensor 120 is connected to the programmed controller 68.)
the controller (68) is configured to control the start of the first electric motor (two separate motors) and/or the second electric motor (two separate motors) to drive the first screw propeller (propellers 64) and/or the second screw propeller (propellers 64) rotate, thereby controlling the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) and/or the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water. (See at least: fig 10A-10B and Fig. 4 Mod 1 and 2 above, Where the method in Fig. 10A is the program installed on the programmed controller 68 which at step 1002 “pump motor activated to propel the pool cleaner in a forward direction on the bottom surface of the pool” which in Fig. 4. Mod.1 shows that motor 2 (M2) would start to move the device forward with the majority of water flowing through the discharge port 40 on the left of the fig; at the same time in Fig. 4. Mod. 2 as motor 2 (M2) is running there is a flow through vertical discharge port 72 on the left side of the fig.; throughout the program of Figs. 10A-10B when the statement of “activate the pump motor with opposite polarity…” is interpreted with the alternate embodiment of para [0071] which the opposite motor is started from the motor that was previously in operation. Therefore, the programmed controller 68 is configured to start or stop either of the two electric motors which rotate the corresponding propellers 64 to control the flow of water through discharge ports 40 and vertical discharge port 72).
Regarding claim 13, Erlich et al. discloses all the limitations of claim 4 as noted above. Additionally, Erlich et al. discloses wherein
the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) is communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) through a first water conduit (inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, discharge ports 40 ), and the first electric motor (two separate motors) is arranged inside the first water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 40), (See at least figs. 1-8 and Fig. 4 Mod. 1 above; Where the modified drawing shows a motor 1 (M1) and motor 2 (M2) in the interpretation of the alternative embodiment of para [0071], with the water flow path through the inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A and discharge ports 40; where the motor 1 (M1) is located in the upper body portion 12A).
the pool cleaning robot (pool cleaner 10) further including (See at least: Fig. 1, pool cleaner (10))
a first screw propeller (propellers 64) arranged inside the first water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 40) and connected with an output shaft (drive shaft 62) of the first electric motor (two separate motors); (See at least: Figs.1- 4 and para[0054] “horizontally mounted motor 60 with drive shaft 62 projecting from both ends supports opposing propellers 64.” ; where the propellers 64 are located in the upper body portion 12A)
the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) is communicated with the water suction port (inlet port 18) through a second water conduit (inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, vertical discharge conduits sections 71 and 70, vertical discharge port 72 ), and the second electric motor (two separate motors) is arranged inside the second water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 71, 70, 72), (See at least figs. 1-8 and Fig. 4 Mod. 2 above; Where the modified drawing shows a motor 1 (M1) and motor 2 (M2) in the interpretation of the alternative embodiment of para [0071], with the water flow path through inlet port 18, lower body portion 12B, filter 88, upper body portion 12A, vertical discharge conduits sections 71 and 70 and vertical discharge port 72; where the motor 2 (M2) is located in the upper body portion 12A)
the pool cleaning robot (pool cleaner 10) further comprising (See at least: fig. 1)
a second screw propeller (propellers 64) arranged inside the second water conduit (18, 12B, 88, 12A, 71, 70, 72) and connected with an output shaft (drive shaft 62) of the second electric motor (two separate motors); (See at least: Figs.1- 4 and para[0054] “horizontally mounted motor 60 with drive shaft 62 projecting from both ends supports opposing propellers 64.”; where the propellers 64 are located in the upper body portion 12A)
the pool cleaning robot (10) further comprises (See at least Fig. 1)
a controller (programmed controller 68) connected with the sensor (one or more sensors 120), the first electric motor (two separate motors), and the second electric motor (two separate motors), (See at least: Figs. 4, 9, and 14-16, which shows the programmed controller 68 connected to a propulsion cutoff switch 130 and to the electric motor 60 (where as modified by para [0071] is two separate motors), also depicted is the sensor 120; para [0081] “FIGS. 4, 9, and 14-16, the pool cleaner 10 includes a propulsion cutoff switch 130, which is electrically coupled to the controller 68 via conductor 138 and the electric motor 60 via conductors 136…” and para [0064] “During operation, when the timing circuit times out or the sensor 120 detects the sidewall, the controller 68 optionally interrupts power to the motor 60, thereby terminating the discharge of water…” which shows that the sensor 120 is connected to the programmed controller 68.)
the controller (68) is configured to control the start of the first electric motor (two separate motors) and/or the second electric motor (two separate motors) to drive the first screw propeller (propellers 64) and/or the second screw propeller (propellers 64) rotate, thereby controlling the first water outlet (discharge ports 40) and/or the second water outlet (vertical discharge port 72) to drain water. (See at least: fig 10A-10B and Fig. 4 Mod 1 and 2 above, Where the method in Fig. 10A is the program installed on the programmed controller 68 which at step 1002 “pump motor activated to propel the pool cleaner in a forward direction on the bottom surface of the pool” which in Fig. 4. Mod.1 shows that motor 2 (M2) would start to move the device forward with the majority of water flowing through the discharge port 40 on the left of the fig; at the same time in Fig. 4. Mod. 2 as motor 2 (M2) is running there is a flow through vertical discharge port 72 on the left side of the fig.; throughout the program of Figs. 10A-10B when the statement of “activate the pump motor with opposite polarity…” is interpreted with the alternate embodiment of para [0071] which the opposite motor is started from the motor that was previously in operation. Therefore, the programmed controller 68 is configured to start or stop either of the two electric motors which rotate the corresponding propellers 64 to control the flow of water through discharge ports 40 and vertical discharge port 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by “Erlich et al. in 2013” (US 2013/0269729 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of “Erlich et al. in 2002” (US 2002/0129839 A1).
Regarding claim 6, “Erlich et al. in 2013” discloses all the limitations of claim 5 as noted above. Additionally, “Erlich et al. in 2013” discloses wherein the first water conduit (discharge ports 40) is provided with a one-way valve (split flap valves 90) at the position corresponding to the first water outlet (discharge ports 40);
However, “Erlich et al. in 2013” does not disclose the bottom part (lower body portion 12B) of the vehicle body (12) is provided with a filter screen (mesh material 116) in the position of the water suction port (inlet port 18) (See at least: Fig. 1-4 where the filter is shown to be inside the upper cover portion 12A).
“Erlich et al. in 2002” in the same field of endeavor, teaches the bottom part (lower body portion 12B) of the vehicle body (housing 12.) is provided with a filter screen (filter 61) in the position of the water suction port (inlet port) (See at least: para [0088] “As filter 61 accumulates debris and dirt, the bag clogs up, pressure drops…” and figs. 1-1A and Fig. 1 Mod 1 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the filter position with an accessible lower body portion 12B of “Erlich et al. in 2013” with the filter position of “Erlich et al. in 2002” design. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit preventing accumulates debris and dirt inside the lower body portion 12B of “Erlich et al. in 2013” preventing lowering suction pressure on the pool cleaner (See at least: “Erlich et al. in 2002” para [0088]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 and 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Additional Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure and may be found in the accompanying PTO-892 Notice of References Cited:
Liu (CN 116101463 A) is not considered prior art as it is published May 12 2023. Liu teaches a underwater robot with a control method that is similar to the applicants disclosed in claim 2 detection with a different response “when detecting that the distance between the robot main body and the obstacle is less than or equal to the threshold value, controlling the water pumping mechanism to operate in a second state, making the water flow from the first water discharging port and discharged through the second water discharging port, so as to lift the front end of the robot main body with a preset angle.” (See at least: Machine translation copy page 3 7th -8th para.).
Besnier et al. (US 20220043450 A1) teaches in para [0022] “the sensor 118 may detect various characteristics of the APC 114 relative to the wall 106 and/or other potential obstacle, including but not limited to a distance between the wall 106 and the APC 114, an orientation or angle of the APC 114 relative to the wall 106, combinations thereof, and/or other characteristics as desired.” (See at least: para [0022] lines 1-10).
Chafik et al. (US 20220333395 A1) claims “The APC of claim 5, wherein, based on the sensed information from the ToF sensor, the controller is configured to determine a distance of the APC from a wall, floor, or object or angular information relating to an underwater obstacle.” (See at least: claim 5).
Erlich et al. (US 10294686 B1) teaches a first water pump with a downward thrust component, along with second water pump for providing at least a rearward thrust component where both pumps are mounted vertically with associated conduit. (See at least Fig. 12).
Pichon et al. (FR 2925558 A1) teaches a rear jet stream that produces a hydraulic reaction force that along with a forward drive engine allows the submerged surface cleaner to climb a vertical wall (See at least: fig. 4).
Propeller [online]. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propeller, 2021 [archived on 2021-01-27]. Retrieved from the Internet: <URL: https://web.archive.org/web/20210127063246/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propeller >.
Conclusion
/E.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/LARS A OLSON/Prima