DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tashiro (US 2017/0231837).
With reference to claim 1, Tashiro discloses an absorbent garment (i.e., disposable diaper) comprising:
a longitudinal direction (Y), a lateral direction (X), and a central lateral axis (figure 2);
a front region (1), a back region (2), a crotch region (3), the crotch region being disposed between the front region and the back region (figure 2), the crotch region including an absorbent assembly (30);
the absorbent assembly including a skin-facing liner (32) and an absorbent composite (31), the absorbent assembly also includes a front edge, a back edge and a pair of laterally-opposed side edges (figure 2);
a front panel in the front region (10), wherein the front panel includes an inner layer (41), an outer layer (42), a softened material layer (44), and an elastic area (43) disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer (figure 3),
a portion of the front panel being folded over forming a front waist edge about a front fold line, wherein a portion of the softened material is folded over the front fold line (figure 11a),
a back panel in the back region (20), wherein the back panel includes an inner layer (41), an outer layer (42), a softened material layer (44), and an elastic area (43) disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer (figure 3), a portion of the back panel being folded over forming a back waist edge about a back fold line, wherein a portion of the softened material is folded over the back fold line as shown in figure 11a.
Tashiro also discloses that the front panel and the back panel are bonded to each other to form side seams of the absorbent garment as shown in figure 1.
The difference between Tashiro and claim 1 is the explicit recitation that that the front panel includes a first attachment regions bonding the outer layer to the skin facing liner and a second attachment region bonding the softened material layer to the outer layer and a back panel that includes a third attachment region bonding the outer layer to the skin-facing liner and a fourth attachment region bonding the softened material layer to the outer layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the front and back panels of Tashiro with first and third attachment regions which bond the outer layer to the skin-facing liner because Tashiro discloses that the skin-facing liner and the outer layer may be connected and/or integrally formed as set forth in [0070].
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the front and back panels of Tashiro with second and fourth attachment regions bonding the softened material layer to the outer layer because Tashiro discloses that the softened material layer may overlap the outer layer with an integral connection in [0073].
With reference to claim 2, Tashiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tashiro and claim 2 is the provision that the softened material layer has a folded over portion in the front and back panels having ends that are disposed closer to the central lateral axis as compared to an end of the outer layer in the folded over portion of the respective panel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the dimensions of the softened material layer as desired since it has been held that the mere change in size and/or shape of an element previously disclosed by the prior art is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill of one in the art.
As to claim 3, Tashiro discloses a garment wherein the portion of the outer layer in the folded over portion of the front panel has an end that is disposed closer to the central lateral axis as compared to an end of the softened material layer in the folded over portion of the front panel, and wherein the portion of the outer layer in the folded over portion of the back panel has an end that is disposed closer to the central lateral axis as compared to an end of the softened material layer in the folded over portion of the back panel as shown in figure 11a.
Regarding claims 4 and 6-8, Tashiro discloses a garment wherein the attachment regions include an adhesive for bonding the material layers as set forth in [0072], [0076] and [0114].
With reference to claim 5, Tashiro teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tashiro and claim 5 is the provision the adhesive has specific dimensions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the dimensions of the adhesive as desired since it has been held that the mere change in size and/or shape of a previously disclosed element is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill of the art.
As to claim 9, see the rejection of claim 1.
The difference between Tashiro and claim 9 is the provision the garment includes fifth and sixth attachment regions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the article of Tashiro with fifth and sixth attachment regions as claimed since it has been held that the duplication of essential workings parts of a device is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
The difference between Tashiro and claim 10 is the provision that the second attachment region is located from about 10 mm to about 40 mm from the front waist edge and, wherein the fourth attachment region is located from about 10 mm to about 40 mm from the back waist edge.
Tashiro provides the general teaching of providing attachment regions as claimed as set forth in [0070-0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the location of the attachment regions as desired in order to provide the desired product. The attachment of Tashiro provides the same function as the attachment of the instant application. The change in location is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. (US 2013/0317471) and further in view of Tashiro (US 2017/0231837).
With reference to claim 1, Morimoto et al. (hereinafter “Morimoto”) discloses an absorbent garment (i.e., disposable diaper) comprising:
a longitudinal direction, a lateral direction, and a central lateral axis (figure 2);
a front region (LF), a back region (LB), a crotch region (3), the crotch region being disposed between the front region and the back region (figure 2), the crotch region including an absorbent assembly (38);
the absorbent assembly including a skin-facing liner and an absorbent composite [0020], the absorbent assembly also includes a front edge, a back edge and a pair of laterally-opposed side edges (figure 2);
a front panel (84) in the front region (figure 2) and a back panel (86) in the back region (figure 2) , wherein the front and back panel each include an inner layer (94), an outer layer (92), a softened material layer (200), and an elastic area (96) disposed between the inner layer and the softened material layer (figure 4a),a portion of the respective panel being folded over to form a respective waist edge (see figures 4a-4d) and wherein the front and back panel are bonded to form side seams as shown in figure 1.
The difference between Morimoto and claim 12 is the explicit recitation that that the front panel includes a first attachment regions bonding the outer layer to the skin facing liner and a second attachment region bonding the softened material layer to the outer layer and a back panel that includes a third attachment region bonding the outer layer to the skin-facing liner and a fourth attachment region bonding the softened material layer to the outer layer.
Tashiro teaches an analogous garment that includes integral bonding of the layers of the article as set forth in [0070].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the front and back panels of Morimoto with first and third attachment regions which bond the outer layer to the skin-facing liner as taught by Tashiro in order to provide the article with a stable and fitted connection as taught by Tashiro in in [0070].
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the front and back panels of Morimoto with second and fourth attachment regions bonding the softened material layer to the outer layer as taught by Tashiro in order to provide the article with a stable and integral connection as taught by Tashiro in [0073].
As to claim 13, see the rejection of claim 5.
With respect to claim 14, Morimoto modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 12.
The difference between Morimoto modified and claim 14 is the provision that the adhesive includes at least two strips of adhesive having different lengths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the adhesive in the form of strips, duplicate the strips and provide them at different lengths as desired because Tashiro provides the general teaching of utilizing adhesive the secure the elements of the article.
A change in size and/or shape, as well as a duplication of the essential working parts of the device is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
As to claim 15, see figures 4a-4d of Morimoto.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection of claim 2.
As to claim 17, see the rejection of claim 3.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto et al. (US 2013/0317471) in view of Tashiro (US 2017/0231837) and further in view of Yahiaoui et al. (US 2012/0328850).
With reference to claim 19, Morimoto modified teaches the invention substantially as claimed as set forth in the rejection of claim 12.
The difference between Morimoto modified and claim 19 is the provision that the nonwoven material is treated with a softener additive.
Yahiaoui et al. (hereinafter “Yahiaoui”) teaches an analogous absorbent article including a nonwoven material treated with a softener additive as set forth in [0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the nonwoven of Morimoto with a softening additive as taught by Yahiaoui in order to improve the softness of the layer without sacrificing any durability of the layer as taught by Yahiaoui in [0028].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 20-24 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the cited prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the combination of front and back panels in respective front and back regions, wherein the front and back panel each include an inner layer, an outer layer, and an elastic area disposed between the inner layer and the outer layer, wherein the inner layer includes an end comprising a softened material layer, wherein the end including the softened material layer is folded over the elastic area such that the softened material layer forms a folded over portion disposed between the elastic area and the outer layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to provide the recited attachment regions. The examiner disagrees. Tashiro discloses that the outer layer is bonded to the skin facing liner and that the softened material is bonded to the outer layer as shown in figure 11a.
The skin-facing liner and the outer layer may be connected and/or integrally formed as set forth in [0070] and the softened material layer may overlap the outer layer with an integral connection in [0073].
The claim requires a portion of the front panel to be folded over. This does not preclude any single layer, or combination thereof, from meeting the limitation as claimed.
Additionally, the substitution of individual attachment regions as opposed to a single layer of attachment is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant argues that the Office Action relies on a different embodiment of Tashiro to support elements recited in claim 1.
Applicant is reminded that a reference may be relied upon for all that It would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. Tashiro provides several examples of how the layers may be configured. The rearrangement of the layers, based on the disclosure of Tashiro, is considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art since Tashiro provides different arrangement patterns.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELE KIDWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781