DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 37, 42, 47 and 52 are amended.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 37-39, 41-44, 46-49, 51-54 and 56 are pending for examination.
Applicant Argument
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 6-8), filed on 05/28/2026, with respect to claims 37-39, 41-44, 46-49, 51-54 and 56 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection below which better address the claimed invention as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37-39, 41-44 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo et al. (US 20200228251 A1), hereinafter “Yeo”, in view of Xiong et al. (US 20210250887 A1), hereinafter “Xiong”, in view of Wong et al. (US 20220086873 A1), hereinafter “Wong”, and in view of Hosseini et al. (US 20210044385 A1), hereinafter “Hosseini”.
Per claim 37 and 42:
Regarding claim 37, Yeo teaches ‘A wireless device (WD)’ (Yeo: [FIG.11]: “Terminal”); ‘configured to communicate with a network node’ (Yeo: [FIG.9]: “Terminal” communication with “Base station”); ‘the WD comprising: a radio interface’ (Yeo: [FIG.11]: “Terminal reception unit”, “Terminal transmission unit”; [0158]: “a radio channel”);
‘configured to:
receive a configuration of a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback group size from the network node’ (Yeo: [FIG.4], [FIG.9]: Step 9-05: “Base station” to “Terminal”: “HARQ configuration information”; [0123]: “If HARQ-ACK information is expressed in CBG units, information on the maximum number of CBGs per TB or the number of CBGs per TB, or information on the number of HARQ-ACK bits per TB”; may receive HARQ-ACK feedback group size from the network node);
‘receive a downlink transmission scheduled by a downlink control information (DCI) message from the network node’ (Yeo: [FIG.9]: Step 9-10: “Scheduling information”; [0124]: “The terminal may receive the scheduling information via DCI”; Step 9-10: “Downlink data”);
‘processing circuitry’ (Yeo: [FIG.11]: “Terminal processing unit”);
‘generate HARQ-ACK feedback of the size determined by a feedback group size for the downlink transmission’ (Yeo: [FIG.4], [FIG.5], [FIG.6], [FIG.9]: Step 9-25: “Generate HARQ feedback information”; [0127]: “The terminal may generate HARQ feedback information based on the HARQ configuration information”; [0123]: “If HARQ-ACK information is expressed in CBG units, information on the maximum number of CBGs per TB or the number of CBGs per TB, or information on the number of HARQ-ACK bits per TB”; [0104]-[0106]: generate HARQ-ACK feedback of the feedback group size determined by HARQ configuration information);
‘transmit generated HARQ-ACK feedback to the network node’ (Yeo: [FIG.9]: Step: 9-35: “Terminal” to “Base station”: “Transmit HARQ feedback information”);
‘wherein the WD receives an indication indicating initial transmission of one or more CBs or CBGs of the TB with a Start Length Indicator Value (SLIV) from the network node’ (Yeo: [0094]: “a receiving terminal has received the TB and scheduling information, if a new data indicator (NDI) a new data indicator (NDI) … the corresponding TB is transmitted first, the transmission is considered as new transmission”, receiving indication indicating initial transmission of the TB; [FIG.4], [0088]-[0093]: one or more CBs or CBGs of the TB; [0067]-[0068]: SLIV for PUSCH transmission).
Yeo does not expressly teach, but Xiong in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘a downlink transmission over multiple slots’ (Xiong: [FIG.5]: “PDSCH”, one TB spans four slots; [0055]: “slot aggregation can be employed and one transport block (TB) may span multiple slots”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s teaching with that of Yeo in order to support system operating at above 52.6 GHz carrier frequency with long transmission duration (Xiong: [0002]: “methods for long transmission duration for systems operating at above 52.6 GHz carrier frequency”).
Combination of Yeo and Xiong does not expressly teaches, but Wong in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘schedule a single transport block (TB) across multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) each of the multiple PUSCHs having code blocks (CBs) grouped into a single code block group (CBG)’ (Wong: [0019]: “FIG. 6 shows a second example of a single TB PUSCH transmission, where Type B mapping is used and the TB extends beyond the slot boundary”, a single TB across multiple slots (PUSCHs); [0058]: “PUSCH slot aggregation is introduced where a PUSCH Transport Block (TB) is repeated over multiple slots”; [0059]: “a PUSCH repetition can cross slot boundary as shown in an example in FIG. 4. Here a 4× PUSCH mini-slot repetition starts at time t.sub.1, which is the 8.sup.th symbol of Slot n thereby leaving only 7 symbols for PUSCH repetitions. Hence, the repetitions occupies two slots, where 3 PUSCH repetitions are in Slot n and the last PUSCH repetition is in Slot n+1”; one TB over multiple slots (PUSCHs); [0081]: “In Rel-15 NR, a TB such as a PUSCH can be divided into multiple Code Blocks (CBs) where each CB contains its own CRC. A Code Block Group (CBG) is formed from at least one CB. This is beneficial because the receiver could indicate precisely which CBG contains errors and thus requires retransmission, thereby avoiding the transmitter (e.g. the UE) having to retransmit the entire TB”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wong’s teaching with that of combination of Yeo and Xiong in order to improve the reliability of PUSCH reception (Wong: [0050]-[0055]: “High reliability can be achieved by … Repetition: The URLLC transmission can be repeated”).
First, Wong’s teaching of a single TB across multiple slots teaches a single TB over multiple PUSCHs.
Moreover, Hosseini in the same field of endeavor teaches schedule a single TB over multiple PUSCHs (Hosseini: [FIG.2]: “DCI”, “PUSCH1” … “PUSCHN”; [0128]: “a single instance of DCI may be configured for scheduling uplink resources for a transport block over multiple PUSCH instances (e.g., multiple PUSCH transmissions corresponding to a single TB)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hosseini’s teaching with that of combination of Yeo, Xiong and Wong in order to support more reliable communications (Hosseini: [0007]: “By applying the described techniques for uplink repetition, a wireless communications system may support more reliable communications”).
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 recites the method implemented by the WD of Claim 37 (see rejection of claim 37 above).
Per claim 38 and 43:
Regarding claim 38, combination of Yeo, Xiong, Wong and Hosseini teaches the WD of Claim 37 (discussed above).
Yeo teaches ‘wherein the HARQ-ACK feedback is provided per code block group (CBG) when the WD is configured with CBG retransmission’ (Yeo: [0095]: “The HARQ-ACK information of the PDSCH … may be HARQ-ACK information in units of CBG in the case where CBG unit retransmission and feedback are configured”).
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 recites the method implemented by the WD of Claim 38 (see rejection of claim 38 above).
Per claim 39 and 44:
Regarding claim 39, combination of Yeo, Xiong, Wong and Hosseini teaches the WD of Claim 37 (discussed above).
Yeo teaches ‘wherein code blocks (CB) of a single transport block (TB) are grouped into code block groups (CBGs)’ (Yeo: [FIG.4]; [0089]: “the TB may be grouped according to the following rules in order to configure M CBGs”; [0093]: “one TB may include maximum 4 CBGs”).
Regarding claim 44, claim 44 recites the method implemented by the WD of Claim 39 (see rejection of claim 39 above).
Per claim 41 and 46:
Regarding claim 41, combination of Yeo, Xiong, Wong and Hosseini teaches the WD of Claim 37 (discussed above).
Yeo teaches ‘wherein code blocks, CBs, are grouped into a single code block group, CBG’ (Yeo: [FIG.4]; [0089]-[0093]: may group CBs into a single CBG if M=1).
Combination of Yeo and Xiong does not expressly teach, but Wong teaches ‘transmitted in one or more PUSCHs’ (Wong: [FIG.7]; [0058]: “PUSCH slot aggregation is introduced where a PUSCH Transport Block (TB) is repeated over multiple slots”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wong’s teaching with that of combination of Yeo and Xiong in order to improve the reliability of PUSCH reception (Wong: [0050]-[0055]: “High reliability can be achieved by … Repetition: The URLLC transmission can be repeated”).
Regarding claim 46, claim 46 recites the method implemented by the WD of Claim 41 (see rejection of claim 41 above).
Claims 47-49, 51-54 and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeo, in view of Wong, in view of Hossein, and in view of Tang et al. (US 20210167901 A1), hereinafter “Tang”.
Per claim 47 and 52:
Regarding claim 47, Yeo teaches ‘A network node’ (Yeo: [FIG.12]: “Base Station”); ‘in communication with a wireless device(WD)’ (Yeo: [FIG.9]: “Base station” communication with “Terminal”); ‘the network node comprising: A radio interface’ (Yeo: [FIG.12]: “Base station reception unit”, “Base station transmission unit”; [0161]: “a radio channel”);
‘configured to:
transmit to the WD a configuration of a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback group size’ (Yeo: [FIG.9]: Step 9-05: “Base station” to “Terminal’: “HARQ configuration information”; [0123]: “If HARQ-ACK information is expressed in CBG units, information on the maximum number of CBGs per TB or the number of CBGs per TB, or information on the number of HARQ-ACK bits per TB”; may transmit HARQ-ACK feedback group size to terminal);
‘transmit a downlink control information (DCI) to schedule an uplink transmission over multiple slots from the WD’ (Yeo: [FIG.9]: Step 9-10: “Scheduling information”; [0055]: “the DCI may indicate whether it is scheduling information (UL grant) for uplink data”; may transmit DCI to schedule an uplink transmission). However, Yeo fails to expressly teach an uplink transmission over multiple slots from the WD;
‘processing circuitry’ (Yeo: [FIG.12]: “Base station processing unit”);
‘generate HARQ-ACK feedback of a size determined by the feedback group size for the uplink transmission’ (Yeo: [0067]: “physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission”; [FIG.4], [FIG.5], [FIG.6], [FIG.9]: Step 9-25: “Generate HARQ feedback information”; [0127]: “generate HARQ feedback information based on the HARQ configuration information”; [0123]: “If HARQ-ACK information is expressed in CBG units, information on the maximum number of CBGs per TB or the number of CBGs per TB, or information on the number of HARQ-ACK bits per TB”; [0104]-[0106]: generate HARQ-ACK feedback of the feedback group size determined by HARQ configuration information);
‘indicate initial transmission of one or more CBs or CBGs of the TB with a Start Length Indicator Value (SLIV)’ (Yeo: [0094]: “a receiving terminal has received the TB and scheduling information, if a new data indicator (NDI) a new data indicator (NDI) … the corresponding TB is transmitted first, the transmission is considered as new transmission”, indicate initial transmission of the TB; [FIG.4], [0088]-[0093]: one or more CBs or CBGs of the TB; [0067]-[0068]: SLIV for PUSCH transmission).
Yeo does not expressly teach, but Wong teaches ‘an uplink transmission over multiple slots from the WD’ (Wong: [0058]: “PUSCH slot aggregation is introduced where a PUSCH Transport Block (TB) is repeated over multiple slots”);
‘receive the uplink transmission over multiple slots from the WD’ (Wong: [0058]: “PUSCH slot aggregation is introduced where a PUSCH Transport Block (TB) is repeated over multiple slots”; [0019]: “FIG. 6 shows a second example of a single TB PUSCH transmission, where Type B mapping is used and the TB extends beyond the slot boundary”; [0059]: “a PUSCH repetition can cross slot boundary as shown in an example in FIG. 4. Here a 4× PUSCH mini-slot repetition starts at time t.sub.1, which is the 8.sup.th symbol of Slot n thereby leaving only 7 symbols for PUSCH repetitions. Hence, the repetitions occupies two slots, where 3 PUSCH repetitions are in Slot n and the last PUSCH repetition is in Slot n+1”);
‘wherein the method further comprising scheduling a single transport block (TB) across multiple physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) each of the multiple PUSCHs having code blocks (CBs) grouped into a single code block group (CBG)’ (Wong: [0019]: “FIG. 6 shows a second example of a single TB PUSCH transmission, where Type B mapping is used and the TB extends beyond the slot boundary”, a single TB across multiple slots (PUSCHs); [0058]: “PUSCH slot aggregation is introduced where a PUSCH Transport Block (TB) is repeated over multiple slots”; [0059]: “a PUSCH repetition can cross slot boundary as shown in an example in FIG. 4. Here a 4× PUSCH mini-slot repetition starts at time t.sub.1, which is the 8.sup.th symbol of Slot n thereby leaving only 7 symbols for PUSCH repetitions. Hence, the repetitions occupies two slots, where 3 PUSCH repetitions are in Slot n and the last PUSCH repetition is in Slot n+1”; one TB over multiple slots (PUSCHs); [0081]: “In Rel-15 NR, a TB such as a PUSCH can be divided into multiple Code Blocks (CBs) where each CB contains its own CRC. A Code Block Group (CBG) is formed from at least one CB. This is beneficial because the receiver could indicate precisely which CBG contains errors and thus requires retransmission, thereby avoiding the transmitter (e.g. the UE) having to retransmit the entire TB”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wong’s teaching with that of Yeo in order to improve the reliability of PUSCH reception (Wong: [0050]-[0055]: “High reliability can be achieved by … Repetition: The URLLC transmission can be repeated”).
First, Wong’s teaching of a single TB across multiple slots teaches a single TB over multiple PUSCHs.
Moreover, Hosseini teaches schedule a single TB over multiple PUSCHs (Hosseini: [FIG.2]: “DCI”, “PUSCH1” … “PUSCHN”; [0128]: “a single instance of DCI may be configured for scheduling uplink resources for a transport block over multiple PUSCH instances (e.g., multiple PUSCH transmissions corresponding to a single TB)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Hosseini’s teaching with that of combination of Yeo and Wong in order to support more reliable communications (Hosseini: [0007]: “By applying the described techniques for uplink repetition, a wireless communications system may support more reliable communications”).
Combination of Yeo, Wong and Hosseini does not expressly teach, but Tang in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘transmit the HARQ-ACK feedback to the WD’ (Tang: [FIG.2]: S220: “The network device sends the first HARQ information to a terminal device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tang’s teaching with that of combination of Yeo, Wong and Hosseini in order to inform the terminal whether the previously transmitted data was received successfully or not.
Regarding claim 52, claim 52 recites the method implemented by the network node of Claim 47 (see rejection of claim 47 above).
Per claim 48 and 53:
Regarding claim 48, combination of Yeo, Wong, Hosseini and Tang teaches the network node of Claim 47 (discussed above).
Yeo teaches ‘wherein the HARQ- ACK feedback is provided per code block group (CBG) when the WD is configured with CBG retransmission’ (Yeo: [0095]: “The HARQ-ACK information… may be HARQ-ACK information in units of CBG in the case where CBG unit retransmission and feedback are configured”).
Regarding claim 53, claim 53 recites the method implemented by the network node of Claim 48 (see rejection of claim 48 above).
Per claim 49 and 54:
Regarding claim 49, combination of Yeo, Wong, Hosseini and Tang teaches the network node of Claim 47 (discussed above).
Yeo teaches ‘wherein code blocks (CB) of a single transport block (TB) are grouped into code block groups (CBGs)’ (Yeo: [FIG.4]; [0089]: “the TB may be grouped according to the following rules in order to configure M CBGs”; [0093]: “one TB may include maximum 4 CBGs”).
Regarding claim 54, claim 54 recites the method implemented by the network node of Claim 49 (see rejection of claim 49 above).
Per claim 51 and 56:
Regarding claim 51, combination of Yeo, Wong, Hosseini and Tang teaches the network node of Claim 47 (discussed above).
Yeo teaches ‘wherein code blocks (CBs) are grouped into a single code block group (CBG)’ (Yeo: [FIG.4]; [0089]-[0093]: may group CBs into a single CBG if M=1).
Yeo does not expressly teach, but Wong teaches ‘transmitted in one or more PUSCHs’ (Wong: [FIG.7]; [0058]: “PUSCH slot aggregation is introduced where a PUSCH Transport Block (TB) is repeated over multiple slots”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wong’s teaching with that of Yeo in order to improve the reliability of PUSCH reception (Wong: [0050]-[0055]: “High reliability can be achieved by … Repetition: The URLLC transmission can be repeated”).
Regarding claim 56, claim 56 recites the method implemented by the network node of Claim 51 (see rejection of claim 51 above).
Conclusion
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462