DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on April 28, 2026.
Claims 1 – 11 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claim 17 has been added.
Claim 16 has been canceled.
Claims 1 – 15 and 17 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 28, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh in view of Shin as set forth in the office action filed March 25, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 28, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huh in view of Shin and further in view of Parham as set forth in the office action filed March 25, 2026.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed April 28, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5, 7 – 10, 12 – 14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh as set forth in the office action filed March 25, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 15 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (KR20190007968A, using US20200136057A1 as the official English Language translation) in view of Shin (KR20120029751A, using the previously provided machine translation).
As per claims 1 – 11 and 17, Ryu teaches:
A composition for an organic optoelectronic device comprising a first compound represented by Chemical Formula 1
(Ryu teaches a composition comprising a first compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 -1
([0057]). A particular compound within the scope of Chemical Formula 1 taught by Ryu is compound A-8
([0086]). Compound A-8 does not contain a heteroaryl group in the position corresponding to Ar1 in claim 1. However, Ryu teaches that Z1 in Chemical Formula 1-1 can be selected from among a phenyl group or a dibenzofuran group ([0063]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Compound A-8 to include a dibenzofuran group off of the indologroup instead of the shown phenyl group. These compounds are a structural isomer of the claimed Formula that differs in the bonding of the indolo group to the dibenzofuran group in the polycyclic ring system. However, in analogous art, Shin teaches compounds of Formula 1
(Page 4), which shows that the structural isomers of indolodibenzofuran and indolodibenzothiophene are functionally equivalent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bonding of the indolo group to the dibenzofuran group in the compound of Ryu and arrive at a compound of the claimed Formula. The Office points out that sections 2144.09 I and II of the MPEP state “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.” An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c). and “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein X is O; Z1 and Z2 are N and Z3 are CRa; all R groups are hydrogen; L1 to L4 are all single bonds; Ar1 is an unsubstituted C12 heterocyclic group, namely a dibenzofuranyl group as required by claim 2; Ar2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 3, represented by
in claim 4 and
in claim 5 and Ar3 is an unsubstituted C12 arylene group, namely a biphenyl group as required by claim 3, represented by
in claim 4 and
in claim 5. The modified compound is the same as compound A-184
in claim 6.)
Comprising a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2
(Ryu teaches that the composition comprises a second compound represented by Chemical Formula 2
([0013]). A particular compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 taught by Ryu is compound C-2
([0096]). This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein Ar4 and Ar5 are an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, namely a phenyl group as required by claim 8; L5 is a single bond and L6 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group, namely a phenylene group as required by claim 8; all R groups are hydrogen and m is an integer of 0. This compound is represented by Chemical Formula 2-8 in claim 7. The L-Ar groups are represented by
and
in claim 9 and
and
in claim 10. This compound is the same as compound C-23 in claim 11.
Ryu includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ryu being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of an organic optoelectronic diode having high efficiency and long life-span ([0009]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 12, Ryu teaches:
An organic optoelectronic device comprising an anode and a cathode facing each other and a at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer includes a light emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer includes the composition for an organic optoelectronic device ([0021]: “According to another embodiment, an organic optoelectronic diode includes an anode and a cathode facing each other and at least one organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode, wherein the organic layer includes the aforementioned composition for an organic optoelectronic diode.”)
As per claim 13, Ryu teaches:
Wherein the composition for an organic optoelectronic device is includes as a phosphorescent host of the light emitting layer ([0055]: “The composition for the organic optoelectronic diode according to the present invention uses an electron transporting host having an indolodibenzofuran (or indolodibenzothiophene) structure and a hole transporting host having a structure in which two carbazoles are linked as a phosphorescence light emitting material.”)
As per claim 14, Ryu teaches:
Wherein the composition for an organic optoelectronic device includes the first compound and the second compound in a weight ratio of 20:80 to 50:50 ([0098: “For example the first compound for the organic optoelectronic diode and the second compound for the organic optoelectronic diode may be included in a range of about 3:7.”)
As per claim 15, Ryu teaches:
A display device comprising the organic optoelectronic device ([0022]: “According to another embodiment, a display device including the organic optoelectronic diode is provided.”)
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789