DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are currently pending. Claim 4 has been cancelled. New claims 8-16 has been added. The amended claims do overcome the previously stated 102 and 103 rejections. However, upon further consideration, claims 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under the following new 112, 102, and 103 rejections. This action is made FINAL as necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a plurality of first wire inserting portions through each of which at least two of the electric wires are inserted … a plurality of second wire inserting portions through each of which at least two of the electric wires are inserted” is not supported by the specification.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “a first wire inserting portions through which at least two of the electric wires are inserted … a second wire inserting portions through which at least two of the electric wires are inserted” is not supported by the specification.
Although para. [0058] of the specification discloses “first wire inserting portions 31 … in which the electric wires 11 are inserted … second wire inserting portions … in which the electric wires 11 are inserted”, there is no inherent or explicit teaching of “first wire inserting portions through each of which at least two of the electric wires are inserted” and “second wire inserting portions through each of which at least two of the electric wires are inserted”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A, machine translation).
Regarding claims 10-12, Hirano et al discloses a battery wiring module “10” for attachment to a cell group “60” (secondary battery), comprising: detection wires “W” (electric wires) configured to be electrically connected to the cell group; and a case configured to house the detection wires, wherein the case includes a first wire accommodating groove “22” (first case body / first wire inserting portion) through which at least two of the detection wires are inserted, a second wire accommodating groove “22” (second case body / second wire inserting portion) through which at least two of the detection wires are inserted, a first wire accommodating groove cover “50” (first cover) configured to be attached to the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first case body) and cover the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first wire inserting portion), and a second wire accommodating groove cover “50” (second cover) configured to be attached to the wire accommodating groove “22” (second case body) and cover the second wire accommodating groove “22” (second wire inserting portion); the first wire accommodating groove cover and the second wire accommodating groove cover are separate members; and the first wire accommodating groove cover and the second wire accommodating groove cover have a axis-symmetrical shape with respect to the center line “L” between the pair of groove covers corresponding to shapes identical to each other when one groove cover is turned over;
wherein the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first wire inserting portion) includes a first bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first lock piece receiving portions “20A” (first engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (first side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the second wire accommodating groove “22” (second wire inserting portion) includes a second bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second lock piece receiving portions “20A” (second engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (second side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the first wire accommodating groove cover (first cover) includes a plurality of first lock pieces “53” (first engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions (first engaged portions), the second wire accommodating groove cover (second cover) includes a plurality of second lock pieces “53” (second engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions (second engaged portions), and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions;
wherein a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) is set identical to a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) ([0019],[0036],[0037],[0057],[0058],[0068], [0070] and Figs. 2, 3, 7, and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A) in view of Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Hirano et al discloses a battery wiring module “10” for attachment to a cell group “60” (secondary battery), comprising: detection wires “W” (electric wires) configured to be electrically connected to the cell group; and a case configured to house the detection wires, wherein the case includes a first wire accommodating groove “22” (first case body / first wire inserting portion) through which at least two of the detection wires are inserted, a second wire accommodating groove “22” (second case body / second wire inserting portion) through which at least two of the detection wires are inserted, a first wire accommodating groove cover “50” (first cover) configured to be attached to the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first case body) and cover the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first wire inserting portion), and a second wire accommodating groove cover “50” (second cover) configured to be attached to the wire accommodating groove “22” (second case body) and cover the second wire accommodating groove “22” (second wire inserting portion); the first wire accommodating groove cover and the second wire accommodating groove cover are separate members; and the first wire accommodating groove cover and the second wire accommodating groove cover have a axis-symmetrical shape with respect to the center line “L” between the pair of groove covers corresponding to shapes identical to each other when one groove cover is turned over;
wherein the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first wire inserting portion) includes a first bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first lock piece receiving portions “20A” (first engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (first side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the second wire accommodating groove “22” (second wire inserting portion) includes a second bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second lock piece receiving portions “20A” (second engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (second side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the first wire accommodating groove cover (first cover) includes a plurality of first lock pieces “53” (first engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions (first engaged portions), the second wire accommodating groove cover (second cover) includes a plurality of second lock pieces “53” (second engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions (second engaged portions), and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions;
wherein a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) is set identical to a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) ([0019],[0036],[0037],[0057],[0058],[0068], [0070] and Figs. 2, 3, 7, and 9).
However, Hirano et al does not expressly teach a first case body including a plurality of first wire inserting portions through each of which at least two electric wires are inserted, a second case body including a plurality of second wire inserting portions through each of which at least two electric wires are inserted, a plurality of the first covers provided in correspondence with the plurality of first wire inserting portions, and a plurality of the second covers provided in correspondence with the plurality of second wire inserting portions (claim 1).
Ogasawara et al discloses a plurality of electric wire accommodating portions “17a” (first wire inserting portions / second wire inserting portions) through each of which at least two electric wires “7” are inserted and a plurality of covers “17b” (first covers / second covers), wherein each of the plurality of covers (first covers / second covers) is adapted to cover an opening of each of the electric wire accommodating portions “17a” (first wire inserting portions / second wire inserting portions) ([0052] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano battery wiring module to include a first case body including a plurality of first wire inserting portions through each of which at least two electric wires are inserted, a second case body including a plurality of second wire inserting portions through each of which at least two electric wires are inserted, a plurality of the first covers provided in correspondence with the plurality of first wire inserting portions, and a plurality of the second covers provided in correspondence with the plurality of second wire inserting portions in order to prevent the cover from becoming larger, while also preventing the external components from coming into contact with the connection between the electric wire and the electrode due to vibrations during driving and large impacts in the event of vehicle’s collision([0014]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Hirano et al does not expressly teach a case further including a third case body having a plurality of third wire inserting portions through which the electric wires are inserted, and a plurality of third covers configured to be attached to the third case body and cover the plurality of third wire inserting portions, and the plurality of third covers have shapes identical to each other (claim 7); or case further including a third case body including a plurality of third wire inserting portions through each of which at least two of the electric wires are inserted; and a plurality of third covers provided in correspondence with the third wire inserting portions to cover the third wire inserting portions, respectively, each of the third covers is disposed between one of the first covers and one of the second covers (claim 8).
Ogasawara et al discloses a plurality of first covers “21” (third covers), wherein each of the plurality of first covers (third covers) is adapted to cover an opening of each of the first accommodating portions “16” (third wire inserting portions), wherein the first covers have shapes identical to each other ([0052] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano battery wiring module to include a plurality of the third covers that are provided in correspondence with the plurality of third wire inserting portions in order to prevent the cover from becoming larger, while also preventing the external components from coming into contact with the connection between the electric wire and the electrode due to vibrations during driving and large impacts in the event of vehicle’s collision ([0014]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A) and Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fu (CN 210349932 U).
However, Hirano et al as modified by Ogasawara et al does not expressly teach the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body (claim 5); wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover (claim 6).
Fu teaches the concept of marking the surface of a left battery cover “10” with “-“ buoy “105” and marking the surface a right battery cover “20” with “+” buoy “204” (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano/Ogasawara battery wiring module to include the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body; wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover in order to facilitate the assembly of the wiring module, thereby ensuring proper design of the wiring module.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A) and Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori et al (US 2018/0294464).
However, Hirano et al as modified by Ogasawara et al does not expressly teach the third covers all have second identical shapes identical that is different from the first identical shape (claim 8); one end portion of each of the third covers that is disposed below one of the first covers, and another end portion of each of the third cover that is disposed below one of the second covers (claim 9).
Mori et al teaches the concept of providing a tongue piece “30” on a first cover bodies “21” (third covers) that is disposed below a second cover portion “22” (first covers/second covers), wherein the first cover bodies have shapes different from the second cover portions ([0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano/Ogasawara battery wiring module to include one end portion of each of the third covers that is disposed below one of the first covers, and another end portion of each of the third cover that is disposed below one of the second covers; wherein the third covers all have identical shapes identical that is different from the first identical shape in order to prevent erroneous assembling with the reverse order of closing the first covers and second covers ([0034]).
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A) in view of Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1). The Hirano reference is applied to claim 10 for reasons stated above.
Regarding claim 13, Hirano et al does not expressly teach a plurality of the first covers are provided in correspondence with the plurality of first wire inserting portions and a plurality of the second covers are provided in correspondence with the plurality of second wire inserting portions (claim 4).
Ogasawara et al discloses a plurality of first covers “21” (first covers / second covers), wherein each of the plurality of first covers (first covers / second covers) is adapted to cover an opening of each of the first accommodating portions “16” (first wire inserting portions / second wire inserting portions) ([0052] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano battery wiring module to include a plurality of the first covers that are provided in correspondence with the plurality of first wire inserting portions and a plurality of the second covers that are provided in correspondence with the plurality of second wire inserting portions in order to prevent the cover from becoming larger, while also preventing the external components from coming into contact with the connection between the electric wire and the electrode due to vibrations during driving and large impacts in the event of vehicle’s collision([0014]).
Regarding claim 16, Hirano et al does not expressly teach a case including a third case body having a plurality of third wire inserting portions through which the electric wires are inserted.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano battery wiring module to include a third case body having a plurality of third wire inserting portions through which the electric wires are inserted because duplication of parts was held to be obvious (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
However, Hirano et al does not expressly teach a plurality of third covers configured to be attached to the third case body and cover the plurality of third wire inserting portions, and the plurality of third covers have shapes identical to each other.
Ogasawara et al discloses a plurality of first covers “21” (third covers), wherein each of the plurality of first covers (third covers) is adapted to cover an opening of each of the first accommodating portions “16” (third wire inserting portions), wherein the first covers have shapes identical to each other ([0052] and Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano battery wiring module to include a plurality of the third covers that are provided in correspondence with the plurality of third wire inserting portions in order to prevent the cover from becoming larger, while also preventing the external components from coming into contact with the connection between the electric wire and the electrode due to vibrations during driving and large impacts in the event of vehicle’s collision([0014]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A) in view of Fu (CN 210349932 U). The Hirano reference is applied to claim 10 for reasons stated above.
However, Hirano et al does not expressly teach the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body (claim 14); wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover (claim 15).
Fu teaches the concept of marking the surface of a left battery cover “10” with “-“ buoy “105” and marking the surface a right battery cover “20” with “+” buoy “204” (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Hirano battery wiring module to include the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body; wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover in order to facilitate the assembly of the wiring module, thereby ensuring proper design of the wiring module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Ogasawara fails to disclose, for example, that the plurality of first and second covers, respectively configured to be attached to the first and second case bodies and cover the first and second wire inserting portions through each of which at least two of the electric wires are inserted, all have a first identical shape, as required by claim 1 as amended. Applicant believes that there is simply nothing in Ogasawara that discloses this feature of claim 1. For example, Applicant notes that at least paragraph [0041] of Ogasawara recites that: [0041] As shown in FIG 1, the first accommodating portions 16 each continue to corresponding each of a plurality of wall portions 27 (illustrated in FIGS. 5 and 6) upstanding from the plate body 15 so as to take a box shape defined to be capable of accommodating the bus bar 6 and the connecting terminal 7a connected to the bus bar 6. ... That is, the alleged first and second wire inserting portions merely accommodate the busbars 6 and the connecting terminal 7a, and at least two of the electric wires are not inserted into the alleged first and second wire inserting portions. Applicant submits that the busbars 6 and the connecting terminal 7a of Ogasawara are substantially different from the electric wires as in amended claim 1”.
In response, as stated above, Ogasawara discloses a plurality of electric wire accommodating portions “17a” (first wire inserting portions / second wire inserting portions) through each of which at least two electric wires “7” are inserted and a plurality of covers “17b” (first covers / second covers), wherein the covers all have a first identical shape (see Figs. 3-5 and para. [0059]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 10/20/2025