DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-15 are currently pending. Claims 4, 8, and 16 are cancelled. The previously stated 112, 1st paragraph rejection of claims 1-3 and 5-16 is withdrawn. The amended claims do overcome the previously stated 102 and 103 rejections. However, upon further consideration, claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-15 are rejected under the following new 102 and 103 rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 already recites a third case body having a plurality of third wire inserting portions and a plurality of third cover. Therefore, claim 7 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1).
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Ogasawara et al discloses a plate “5” (battery wiring module) for attachment to a battery cell assembly “2” (secondary battery), comprising: electric wires “7” (electric wires) configured to be electrically connected to the battery cell assembly; and a second accommodating portions “17” (case) configured to house the electric wires, the second accommodating portions includes
a first electric wire accommodating portion “17a” (first case body) including a first wire inserting portion through which the electric wires are inserted,
a second electric wire accommodating portion “17a” (second case body) including a second wire inserting portion through which the electric wires are inserted,
a third electric wire accommodating portion “17a” (third case body) having a plurality of third wire inserting portions through which the electric wires are inserted;
a first cover “17b” configured to be attached to the first electric wire accommodating portion and cover the first wire inserting portion,
a second cover “17b” configured to be attached to the second electric wire accommodating portion and cover the second wire inserting portion;
a plurality of third covers “17b” (on the left and right side of plate “8”) configured to be attached to the third electric wire accommodating portions “17a” and cover the plurality of third wire inserting portions;
the first electric wire accommodating portion, the second electric wire accommodating portion, and the third electric wire accommodating portion are separate members;
and the first cover and the second cover are separate members and have shapes identical to each other, and
the plurality of third covers have shapes identical to each other;
wherein the first electric wire accommodating portions (first case body) includes a plurality of first wire inserting portions, and a plurality of first covers that are provided in correspondence with the plurality of first wire inserting portions;
wherein the second electric wire accommodating portions (second case body) includes a plurality of second wire inserting portions, and a plurality of second covers that are provided in correspondence with the plurality of second wire inserting portions;
wherein the first covers and the second covers all have an identical shape ([0044],[0045],[0059] and Figs. 2 and 5).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second case body / second wire inserting portions)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (third case body)][AltContent: textbox (first case body / first wire inserting portions)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1) in view of Ikeda et al (US 6,261,719).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Ogasawara et al discloses a plate “5” (battery wiring module) for attachment to a battery cell assembly “2” (secondary battery), comprising: electric wires “7” (electric wires) configured to be electrically connected to the battery cell assembly; and a second accommodating portions “17” (case) configured to house the electric wires, the second accommodating portions includes
a first electric wire accommodating portion “17a” (first case body) including a plurality of first wire inserting portions through each of which the electric wires are inserted,
a second electric wire accommodating portion “17a” (second case body) including a plurality of second wire inserting portions through each of which the electric wires are inserted,
a third electric wire accommodating portion “17a” (third case body) including a plurality of third wire inserting portions through each of which the electric wires are inserted;
a plurality of first covers “17b” provided in correspondence with the plurality of first wire inserting portions, and configured to be attached to the first electric wire accommodating portions and cover the first wire inserting portions,
a plurality of second covers “17b” provided in correspondence with the plurality of second wire inserting portions, and configured to be attached to the second electric wire accommodating portions and cover the second wire inserting portions;
a plurality of third covers “17b” provided in correspondence with the third wire inserting portions to cover the third electric wire accommodating portions;
the first covers and the second covers all have a first identical shape, and each of the third covers is disposed between one of the first covers and one of the second covers;
the first electric wire accommodating portion, the second electric wire accommodating portion, and the third electric wire accommodating portion are separate members ([0044],[0045],[0059] and Figs. 2 and 5). Examiner’s note: the third covers is construed as one third cover on left side of plate “8” and a corresponding third cover on right side of plate “8” (see Fig. 2).
However, Ogasawara et al does not expressly teach the third covers all have a second identical shape that is different from the first identical shape (claim 1).
Ikeda et al discloses covers “19” corresponding to sections “15A”, “15B”, and “15C”, where sections “15A” and “15C” have six electrode receiving holes and section “15B” has eight electrode receiving holes, wherein the cover corresponding to section “15A” (first covers) and the cover corresponding to section “15C” (second covers) all have a first identical shape and cover “27” corresponding to section “16B” (third covers) has a second shape that is different from the first identical shape (col. 6, lines 12-27 and Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Ogasawara second accommodating portions to include third covers that all have a second identical shape that is different from the first identical shape in order to improve the precision of the width dimension of the rectangular batteries themselves and of the centering of their positive and negative electrodes, thereby enabling easy production of the battery-connecting plate (col. 2, lines 29-36).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al in view of Ikeda et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A).
However, Ogasawara et al as modified by Ikeda et al does not expressly teach first wire inserting portion including a first bottom wall portion, a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first engaged portions provided on the first side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion, a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second engaged portions provided on the second side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the first cover includes a plurality of first engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of first engaged portions, the second cover includes a plurality of second engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of second engaged portions, and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first engaged portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second engaged portions (claim 2); wherein the first wire inserting portion includes a first bottom wall portion and a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion and a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a distance between the pair of first side wall portions is set identical to a distance between the pair of second side wall portions (claim 3).
Hirano et al discloses wherein the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first wire inserting portion) includes a first bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first lock piece receiving portions “20A” (first engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (first side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the second wire accommodating groove “22” (second wire inserting portion) includes a second bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second lock piece receiving portions “20A” (second engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (second side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the first wire accommodating groove cover (first cover) includes a plurality of first lock pieces “53” (first engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions (first engaged portions), the second wire accommodating groove cover (second cover) includes a plurality of second lock pieces “53” (second engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions (second engaged portions), and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions; wherein a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) is set identical to a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) ([0019],[0036],[0037],[0057],[0058],[0068], [0070] and Figs. 2, 3, 7, and 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Ogasawara/Ikeda second accommodating portions to include first wire inserting portion including a first bottom wall portion, a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first engaged portions provided on the first side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion, a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second engaged portions provided on the second side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the first cover includes a plurality of first engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of first engaged portions, the second cover includes a plurality of second engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of second engaged portions, and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first engaged portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second engaged portions; wherein the first wire inserting portion includes a first bottom wall portion and a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion and a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a distance between the pair of first side wall portions is set identical to a distance between the pair of second side wall portions in order to prevent the housed detection wire from being damaged during the connection work between the bus bar and the energy storage element, and prevents the detection wire from the insulating holder and becoming a hindrance during the connection work ([0008]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al in view of Ikeda et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fu (CN 210349932 U).
However, Ogasawara et al as modified by Ikeda et al does not expressly teach the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body (claim 5); wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover (claim 6).
Fu teaches the concept of marking the surface of a left battery cover “10” with “-“ buoy “105” and marking the surface a right battery cover “20” with “+” buoy “204” (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Ogasawara/Ikeda second accommodating portions to include the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body; wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover in order to facilitate the assembly of the wiring module, thereby ensuring proper design of the wiring module.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al in view of Ikeda et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori et al (US 2018/0294464).
However, Ogasawara et al as modified by Ikeda et al does not expressly teach one end portion of each of the third covers that is disposed below one of the first covers, and another end portion of each of the third cover that is disposed below one of the second covers (claim 9).
Mori et al teaches the concept of providing a tongue piece “30” on a first cover bodies “21” (third covers) that is disposed below a second cover portion “22” (first covers/second covers) ([0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Ogasawara/Ikeda second accommodating portions to include one end portion of each of the third covers that is disposed below one of the first covers, and another end portion of each of the third cover that is disposed below one of the second covers in order to prevent erroneous assembling with the reverse order of closing the third covers with the first covers and the second covers ([0034]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1) in view of Hirano et al (JP 2016009646 A). The Ogasawara reference is applied to claim 10 for reasons stated above.
However, Ogasawara et al does not expressly teach first wire inserting portion including a first bottom wall portion, a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first engaged portions provided on the first side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion, a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second engaged portions provided on the second side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the first cover includes a plurality of first engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of first engaged portions, the second cover includes a plurality of second engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of second engaged portions, and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first engaged portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second engaged portions (claim 11); wherein the first wire inserting portion includes a first bottom wall portion and a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion and a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a distance between the pair of first side wall portions is set identical to a distance between the pair of second side wall portions (claim 12).
Hirano et al discloses wherein the first wire accommodating groove “22” (first wire inserting portion) includes a first bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first lock piece receiving portions “20A” (first engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (first side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the second wire accommodating groove “22” (second wire inserting portion) includes a second bottom wall portion (not labeled), a [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second lock piece receiving portions “20A” (second engaged portions) provided on the inner wall “15” (second side wall portions) along a direction in which the detection wires are inserted, the first wire accommodating groove cover (first cover) includes a plurality of first lock pieces “53” (first engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions (first engaged portions), the second wire accommodating groove cover (second cover) includes a plurality of second lock pieces “53” (second engaging portions) configured to engage with the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions (second engaged portions), and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first lock piece receiving portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second lock piece receiving portions; wherein a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of first side wall portions) is set identical to a distance between the [groove wall “23” + inner wall “15”] (pair of second side wall portions) ([0019],[0036],[0037],[0057],[0058],[0068], [0070] and Figs. 2, 3, 7, and 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Ogasawara second accommodating portions to include first wire inserting portion including a first bottom wall portion, a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, and a plurality of first engaged portions provided on the first side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion, a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a plurality of second engaged portions provided on the second side wall portions along a direction in which the electric wires are inserted, the first cover includes a plurality of first engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of first engaged portions, the second cover includes a plurality of second engaging portions configured to engage with the plurality of second engaged portions, and arrangement intervals of the plurality of first engaged portions are set identical to arrangement intervals of the plurality of second engaged portions; wherein the first wire inserting portion includes a first bottom wall portion and a pair of first side wall portions extending from the first bottom wall portion, the second wire inserting portion includes a second bottom wall portion and a pair of second side wall portions extending from the second bottom wall portion, and a distance between the pair of first side wall portions is set identical to a distance between the pair of second side wall portions in order to prevent the housed detection wire from being damaged during the connection work between the bus bar and the energy storage element, and prevents the detection wire from the insulating holder and becoming a hindrance during the connection work ([0008]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogasawara et al (EP 2659531 B1) in view of Fu (CN 210349932 U). The Ogasawara reference is applied to claim 10 for reasons stated above.
However, Ogasawara et al does not expressly teach the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body (claim 14); wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover (claim 15).
Fu teaches the concept of marking the surface of a left battery cover “10” with “-“ buoy “105” and marking the surface a right battery cover “20” with “+” buoy “204” (Fig. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Ogasawara second accommodating portions to include the first cover and the second cover each having a mark thereon that indicates an orientation of attachment to a corresponding first case body or second case body; wherein the marks are provided on a surface of the first cover and a surface of the second cover in order to facilitate the assembly of the wiring module, thereby ensuring proper design of the wiring module.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 8/19/2026