DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 2020090147, filed on 05/14/2020.
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed 05/28/2026 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 5 have thereby been amended.
Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-3 and 5-11 are being examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld (20120165734) in view of Sauerwein (US 3669093) in further view of Mernoe (WO 2004009160).
Regarding claim 1, Auld discloses a unidirectional-driven drug infusion device, includes: a reservoir (Fig. 2: 108), a piston (Fig. 2: 110) and a screw (Fig. 2: 112), wherein the piston, connected with the screw, is arranged in the reservoir (Fig. 2: 110 and 114 end of screw 112 arranged within 108); a driving module (Figs. 1 and 3A: box 111) which includes at least one driving wheel (Fig. 3A: wheel 118) and at least one driving arm (Fig. 3A: 139 and 141) that cooperate with each other (Fig. 3A-B: arms are both fixed to frame 136, thereby cooperating with each other and moving together), a circumferential surface of the driving wheel is provided with wheel teeth (Fig. 3A: teeth 119) which can be pushed to rotate the driving wheel driving the screw forward (Figs. 7 and 8; para. [0049], the pushing of the teeth rotates the wheel and screw); a power module (Fig. 3A: 130) coupled to the at least one driving arm (Fig. 3A: 130 coupled to 139 and 141) wherein the power module includes a first power unit (Auld: para. [0043], sentences 1 and 3: first power unit being 132 or 134 delivering pneumatic pressure to move the member) and a second power unit (Auld: para. [0043], sentences 3-5: second power unit being the bias member that returns the member back to the original position, creating oscillation) respectively connected to the driving arm (Auld: para. [0044], sentence 1, the power units of 130 coupled to the frame; Fig. 3A: the frame directly fixed to both driving arms); a control module (Fig. 20: 212; para. [0061], sentences 1-2), connected to the power module (Fig. 20: 212 connected to 208 via 218), controls the power module to apply different driving powers to the driving arm (para. [0061], sentences 1-2; para. [0057], sentence 4), making the driving arm perform linear reciprocating motion, thus, driving the driving wheel to rotate (Figs. 7 and 8; para. [0049]; para, [0052], sentence 4), and by the action of the power module, the driving arm is controlled to push the wheel teeth in its only one motion direction (Auld: Figs. 7 and 8; para. [0044]), wherein during a first direction movement, the driving arm is configured to engage the wheel teeth to drive the driving wheel to rotate (Fig. 7: arm 140 drives the wheel clockwise as 140 is pulled in arrow 146). However, Auld does not teach a friction member contacting the driving wheel, or that a single driving arm moves back and forth in two opposite directions without the aid of another driving arm.
Sauerwein teaches an analogous device with an analogous driving wheel (Figs. 2 and 3: 10) with a friction member (Figs. 2 and 3: 10a) which is directly in contact with the surface of the driving wheel (Figs. 2 and 3: 10a directly on surface of 10; col. 2, lines 16-24) and increases the maximum static friction force received by the driving wheel (col. 3, line 74 – col. 4, line 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Auld device by incorporating the friction member taught by Sauerwein, in order to increase the friction force on the wheel and resist slipping.
Mernoe teaches an analogous driving arm system to drive a toothed wheel, wherein during a first direction movement, the driving arm is configured to engage the wheel teeth to drive the driving wheel to rotate (Fig. 24: Driving arm 71’’’+72’’’ moves in direction R4 to push the wheel; pg. 30, lines 15-21), wherein during a second direction movement, the driving arm is configured to slide relative to the wheel teeth without driving the driving wheel (Fig. 24: Driving arm 71’’’+72’’’ moves in direction R3 to slide over the sloped of the tooth without pushing the wheel; pg. 30, lines 15-21), wherein the first direction and second direction are opposite direction (Fig. 24: R3 and R4). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Auld driving arms and wheel of the Auld-Sauerwein combination by incorporating the dual movement driving arm, as taught by Mernoe, in order to be able to completely drive the wheel with only a single driving arm, and ensure that it continues to drive the wheel without depending on another driving arm.
Regarding claim 2, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 1, wherein the different driving powers applied by the power module to the driving arm includes different linear directions (Auld: para. [0048], last sentence, the two linear directions depicted by the arrows in Figs. 7 and 8) or different magnitudes.
Regarding claim 3, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 2, as described above, wherein the driving arm includes a variety of different motion amplitudes or a variety of different motion rates (Auld: para. [0055], last two sentences; para. [0057], last sentence, varying the oscillation motion rates).
Regarding claim 7, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the driving wheel is a ratchet wheel (Auld: Fig. 7:118), the wheel teeth are ratchet teeth (Auld: Fig. 7: 119a-b), the driving arm is a pawl which pushes the ratchet teeth to make the ratchet wheel rotate intermittently (Auld: Fig. 7: pawls 139 and 140; para. [0048], last two sentences).
Regarding claim 9, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the friction member has elasticity (Sauerwein: 10a, inherently possesses a degree of elasticity; col. 2, lines 20-22), and the contact position of the friction member with the surface of the driving wheel includes the tooth surface or the non-tooth surface of the driving wheel (Sauerwein: Figs. 2 and 3: 10a is located around the perimeter of wheel 10, where the tooth surface extends from the non-tooth surface).
Regarding claim 10, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 9, as described above, wherein the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device further includes a base (Auld: base 120). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the friction member of Sauerwein at the base 120 of Auld such that it contacts the wheel in the same manner as taught by the cord contacting the wheel of Sauerwein, the driving wheel is movably assembled on the base (Auld: Fig. 6: wheel assembled on 120) where the friction member is located and frictionally fits with the friction member (Sauerwein: frictional fit between the friction member 10a and the cord, analogous to the contact between the wheel and the base upon the combination).
Regarding claim 11, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 10, as described above. According to the combination described in claim 10, it directly follows that the friction member of Sauerwein is arranged on the base of Auld, and the friction member is frictionally fitted with the side surface of the driving wheel (Sauerwein: Figs 2 and 3: the side surface of the driving wheel possesses 10; Auld: the side surface of the driving wheel contacts base 120).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld (20120165734) in view of Sauerwein (US 3669093) in further view of Mernoe (WO 2004009160) in further view of Yang (US 20190117881).
Regarding claim 5, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 1, as described above, wherein the second power unit includes an electrically driven linear actuator, an electrically heated linear actuator or an elastic member (Auld: para. [0043], sentences 3-5: second power unit being the elastic bias member that returns the member back to the original position, creating oscillation), and the control module controls the frequency (para. [0056], last two sentences, the frequency of the power is controlled to control the frequency of the oscillations) or the magnitude of the power exerted by the first power unit and the second power unit, in order to control the motion amplitude or motion rate of the driving arm (Auld: para. [061], sentence 1, the control module 212 controls the frequency of power exerted to 208/130, applied via the first power unit and returned by the second power unit). Although Auld teaches that the power module (130) may be electric rather than pneumatic (para. [0043], last sentence), Auld fails to disclose the first power unit as being electrically driven in its interaction with the elastic second power unit member.
Yang teaches an analogous drug infusion device wherein the first power unit includes an electrically driven linear actuator (Yang: Fig. 1: 1; para. [0054], sentence 1) while the second power unit includes an elastic member (Yang: Fig. 2: spring 6; para. [0055] and para. [056], sentence 1). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also modified the first power unit of the Auld device to be electrically/piezoelectrically driven rather than pneumatic, in order to remove the need for additional air compression and air delivery elements to the power unit.
Regarding claim 6, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe in further view of Yang teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 5, as described above, wherein the first power unit is an advancing member (Yang: Fig. 1: 1; para. [0054], sentence 1; Auld: para. [0043], sentences 1 and 3, Fig. 7: 139 is advanced) while the second power unit is a reset member (Yang: Fig. 2: spring 6; para. [0055] and para. [056], sentence 1; Auld: para. [0043], sentences 1 and 3, Fig. 7: 139 is reset), during the operation, the advancing member applies power to the driving arm to push the wheel teeth forward, while the reset member applies power to the driving arm to make the driving arm reset (Auld: Figs. 7-8).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Auld (20120165734) in view of Sauerwein (US 3669093) in further view of Mernoe (WO 2004009160) in further view of Gross (US 20030236498).
Regarding claim 8, Auld in view of Sauerwein in further view of Mernoe teaches the unidirectional-driven drug infusion device of claim 1, as described above, but does not teach the driving arms as having two driving ends that are not flush.
Gross teaches an analogous driving wheel with a pawl arm and a ratchet wheel, wherein the driving arm (18) includes two driving ends (Fig. 2: ends 31 and 32), arranged up and down (Fig. 2: 31 arranged up, 32 arranged down), whose front ends are not flush (Fig. 2: 31 and 32 separate and not flush), and the two driving ends can alternately push the wheel teeth (Figs. 2 and 3; para. [0100]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arms taught by Auld in the Auld-Yang device, by incorporating each arm to have the separate driving ends (31 and 32) as taught by Gross, in order to allow for shorter stroke movements and therefore greater precision with rotation of the driving wheel and delivery of the drug (Gross: para. [0104]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/28/2026 have been fully considered but are considered moot in light of the claim amendments filed 05/28/2026 and their new grounds for rejection, as recited above.
Applicant argues that Auld’s driving arms do not teach a single arm that moves in two opposite directions to drive the wheel in a single direction. However, the rejection of independent claim 1 no longer relies upon Auld alone to teach all claimed limitations of the driving arms, but rather now relies upon Auld in view of Mernoe to teach the dual and opposite directions of movement of the driving arm.
For these reasons, claims 1-3 and 5-11 stand rejected as recited above.
Conclusion
/K.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/NATHAN R PRICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783