DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 2 September 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 14, claims 10 and 15 have been canceled, new claims 16-22 have been introduced, and claims 1-9, 11-14, and 16-22 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9, 11-14, and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senga et al. (US 2018/0162730, hereinafter “Senga”; listed in the IDS filed 26 June 2024), in view of Goto et al. (WO 2012/046854 A1, hereinafter “Goto”; using the attached English machine translation for citations) and Yanagi (US 2017/0008808).
Regarding claim 1, Senga teaches a solid electrolyte producing method comprising:
obtaining a slurry including a polar solvent (see [0095]) and a solid electrolyte (see [0108]) or a precursor of the solid electrolyte, by allowing a raw material-containing material comprising at least an alkali metal (lithium, see [0088]-[0108]), sulfur atoms (see [0088]-[0108]), and phosphorus atoms (see [0088]-[0108]), to react in the polar solvent (see [0088]-[0108]); and
drying by heating in a horizontal vibrating fluidized drying machine (see [0115]), thereby obtaining a powder of the solid electrolyte (see [0111]-[0116]) or the precursor of the solid electrolyte.
Senga is silent to drying the slurry by fluidized drying using media particles as a medium, thereby obtaining a powder of the solid electrolyte or the precursor of the solid electrolyte, and a content of the raw material-containing material being 5 g or more and 500 g or less per 1 L of the polar solvent; and
Goto teaches drying a slurry by fluidized drying using media particles as a medium (see [0075]), thereby obtaining a powder (see [0070]-[0083]). This allows for the object to be dried with less unevenness (see [0070]).
In view of Goto’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Senga to include drying a slurry by fluidized drying using media particles as a medium, thereby obtaining a powder, as taught by Goto, because it is a known method of drying a slurry to obtain a powder, and it allows for more even drying.
The combination of Senga and Goto is silent to a content of the raw material-containing material being 5 g or more and 500 g or less per 1 L of the polar solvent
Yanagi teaches a method for producing fine particles wherein a good solvent solution comprising a good solvent and a plurality of raw material components dissolved in the good solvent is provided. The good solvent solution may be in the state of a slurry with at least one type of raw material component in powdered form dispersed in the good solvent and the total concentration of the plurality of raw material components dissolved in the good solvent may be 10 g/l or greater. The plurality of raw material components may include lithium sulfide, lithium iodide and lithium bromide, and the particles are raw material particles of a solid electrolyte material. Solid solution particles are provided with sulfur, lithium, iodine and bromine as solid solution components (see [0007]). Yanagi teaches the good solvent solution for the disclosure is a solution having the raw material components dissolved in the good solvent. There is no particular restriction on the concentration of the plurality of raw material components in the good solvent solution, but it is preferably a total concentration of 5 g/l or greater, 10 g/l or greater, 20 g/l or greater or 50 g/l or greater. This is because a higher concentration of raw material components in the good solvent solution will allow more complexed particles to be obtained (see [0029]).
In view of Yanagi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Senga and Goto to include wherein a content of the raw material-containing material being 5 g or more and 500 g or less per 1 L of the polar solvent, as taught by Yanagi, because it allows for more complexed particles to be obtained.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the solid electrolyte or the precursor of the solid electrolyte contained in the slurry further comprises halogen atoms as constituent atoms (Senga: see [0108])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the slurry includes the precursor of the solid electrolyte, which has a structure in which the alkali metal, the sulfur atoms and the phosphorus atoms are bonded together via the polar solvent (Senga: see [0088]-[0108]) and/or directly bonded together not via the polar solvent.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the polar solvent contains at least one type of atoms selected from the group consisting of nitrogen atoms, oxygen atoms and halogen atoms (Senga: see [0095]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi is silent to wherein a content of the polar solvent in the slurry before drying is 5% by mass or more. However, if the content of the solvent in the slurry before drying was low, then the slurry would have a low flowability for mixing. On the other hand, if the content of the solvent in the slurry before drying as high, it would take an exorbitant amount of time to dry. Therefore, there must be an optimal content of the polar solvent in the slurry before drying, and it would obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to discover the optimum amount through routine experimentation. See MPEP §2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the fluidized drying is performed using a medium fluidized bed dryer having a mechanism for fluidizing the media particles with a gas (Goto: see [0070]-[0083).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the gas is an inert gas (Goto: see [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the gas has been heated (Goto: see [0087]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the drying is performed in a circulating manner (Goto: see [0070]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the powder obtained by the drying is collected in a bag filter (Goto: bag filter 50, see Fig. 5; [0074]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches
heating the powder to obtain an amorphous solid electrolyte or a crystalline solid electrolyte (Senga: see [0116]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein a gas supply temperature is 90 to 150°C (Goto: see [0062]).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the content of the raw material-containing material is 30 g or more and 300 g or less per 1 L of the polar solvent (Yanagi: see [0029]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the raw material- containing material contains two kinds of halogen atoms (Senga: see [0026]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein the solid electrolyte has crystallization peaks at 2θ = 20.2° and 23.6° as measured by X-ray diffraction measurement using a CuKa ray (Senga: see [0118]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches
heating the obtained amorphous solid electrolyte at a temperature of 130 to 300°C to obtain a crystalline solid electrolyte (Senga: see [0113]-[0116]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi teaches wherein fluid at an outlet of the fluidized bed dryer has a temperature of 60 to 90°C (Goto: see [0085]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chiga et al. (JP 2014-220051 A, hereinafter “Chiga”; using the attached English machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi is silent to wherein the polar solvent has an amino group.
Chiga teaches a process of manufacturing a solid electrolyte (see abstract). Chiga teaches the use of a polar solvent including an amino group (see [0023]). The inclusion of this solvent in Chiga’s method allows for the production of the solid electrolyte without requiring any specific mechanical device, and so the equipment costs and operating utility costs can be reduced (see [0011]).
In view of Chiga’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi to include wherein the polar solvent has an amino group, as taught by Chiga, because it allows a reduction in costs for production. Furthermore, the substitution of a known element (the solvent of the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi) for another known element (the solvent of Chiga including an amino group) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huang et al. (CN 110600745 A, hereinafter “Huang”; using the attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi is silent to wherein the polar solvent has two tertiary amino groups.
Huang teaches a known polar solvent is tetramethylethylenediamine (see [0015]).
In view of Huangs’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Senga and Goto to utilize a known polar solvent such as tetramethylethylenediamine, as taught by Huang, because the substitution of a known element (the solvent of the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi) for another known element (the tetramethylethylenediamine of Huang) would have been obvious with predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. It is noted that tetramethylethylenediamine is the same material as an example of a polar solvent that has two tertiary amino groups as discussed in [0039] of Applicant’s specification.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kimbara et al. (JP 2017-188352 A, hereinafter “Kimbara”; listed in the IDS filed 9 November 2022; using the attached English machine translation for citations).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi is silent to wherein the slurry further includes another solvent.
Kimbara teaches a method which makes it possible to produce a solid electrolyte of a small particle size in a shorter time than before (see abstract). Kimbara teaches that the initial slurry contains a solvent (see [0012]), and then during the grinding process, a second solvent is added (see [0032]). Kimbara teaches that this decreases the time required for processing (see [0034]).
In view of Kimbara’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi to include wherein the slurry further includes another solvent, as taught by Kimbara, because it can help to shorten processing time of producing a solid electrolyte.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7-8 of the remarks, Applicant argues, with respect to claim 1, that the prior art fails to teach or suggest to a person of ordinary skill in the art to control the content of a solid electrolyte raw material-containing material being 5 g or more and 500 g or less per 1L of a polar solvent.
The Examiner finds this argument moot as claim 1 is now being rejected by the combination of Senga, Goto, and Yanagi. Yanagi teaches a method for producing fine particles wherein a good solvent solution comprising a good solvent and a plurality of raw material components dissolved in the good solvent is provided. The good
solvent solution may be in the state of a slurry with at least one type of raw material
component in powdered form dispersed in the good solvent and the total concentration of the plurality of raw material components dissolved in the good solvent may be 10 g/l or greater. The plurality of raw material components may include lithium sulfide, lithium iodide and lithium bromide, and the particles are raw material particles of a solid electrolyte material. Solid solution particles are provided with sulfur, lithium, iodine and bromine as solid solution components (see [0007]). Yanagi teaches the good solvent solution for the disclosure is a solution having the raw material components dissolved in the good solvent. There is no particular restriction on the concentration of the plurality of raw material components in the good solvent solution, but it is preferably a total concentration of 5 g/l or greater, 10 g/l or greater, 20 g/l or greater or 50 g/l or greater. This is because a higher concentration of raw material components in the good solvent solution will allow more complexed particles to be obtained (see [0029]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.S.H/Examiner, Art Unit 1735 10 December 2025
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735