DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15-20, 22-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muroya et al. (JP2016-192322A), in view of Yamada et al. (US2014/0242440A1).
As to claim 1, Muroya discloses an energy storage device (Secondary battery 10) comprising: an electrode assembly (Electrode body (14)); a case (Exterior body (12) including sealing plate (20) ) that accommodates the electrode assembly [0017]; and an external terminal (Negative terminal (40)) made of metal (Copper (90) and (92) aluminum [0042]) and disposed in the case [0019], wherein the external terminal includes:
a flange portion (Flange portion 80 ) spreading along the case outside the case (Flange-shaped portion disposed on the outer surface of the sealing plate 20 in the negative electrode terminal 40 [0041] fig. 5(a)); and a shaft portion extending from the flange portion (Insertion portion (82) connected to one surface is a surface on the -Z side of the flange portion 80 [0041] fig. 5(a)), penetrating the case (Insertion portion (82) penetrating seal plate (20) fig. 5(a)), and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (An annular insertion part 82 which is connected to one side of the flange part 80 and the tip side of which is connected to the negative electrode collector 18 [Abstract]),
wherein the flange portion includes a plurality of metal layers layered in a penetrating direction of the shaft portion (Negative terminal 40 has a first region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal…Flange portion 80 includes a first region 90 and second region 92 are laminated. [0042]), wherein a second metal layer (92) of the plurality of metal layers covers at least a peripheral end surface of a first metal layer (90) adjacent to the second metal layer in the penetrating direction (Outer circumferential side 101 [0046] fig. 7(b)),
wherein the second metal layer (92) is a metal layer at an end opposite to the case in the penetrating direction among the plurality of metal layers (fig. 7(b)),
wherein the flange portion has a welded surface of the second metal layer on the opposite side to the case ([0049], figs. 5(a), 5(b)), for being welded to a conductive member (outer conductive member (44) [0049]),
Muroya does not explicitly disclose, the flange portion includes a through hole through which the shaft portion is inserted, and wherein the shaft portion includes a swaged portion spreading along a surface of the flange portion opposite to the case and locating a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion.
In the same field of endeavor Yamada discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches, the flange portion (Plate 9) includes a through hole (Through-hole 9a) through which the shaft portion (Connecting part 8c) is inserted, wherein the shaft portion includes: a swaged portion (8d) spreading along a surface of the flange portion opposite to the case and locating a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion ([0053] annotated fig. 3).
(Yamada annotated fig. 3)
Yamada further teaches In the prismatic secondary battery according to an aspect of the present invention, preferably, a through-hole side surface of the external conduction member of the first protruding part is an inclined surface or a curved surface. This can prevent a gap from being generated between the swaged part of the second connecting part and a range in the vicinity of the first protruding part in the external conduction member, which can prevent cracks and voids from being generated in the welded part. [0030])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modified Muroya with the structure of Yamada to prevent cracks and voids being generated in the welded part and thereby improve reliability.
As to claim 5, modified Muroya discloses the flange portion is formed of a clad material [Tsunaki 0053], wherein metal layers adjacent to each other in the plurality of metal layers are made of different kinds of metals (First region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal [0042]), wherein the second metal layer is a metal layer disposed on an outermost side among the plurality of metal layers in the penetrating direction (second region 92 fig. 5(a)), and wherein the second metal layer (92) includes a cover portion protruding in the penetrating direction along the peripheral end surface of a remaining metal layer of the plurality of metal layers (101 [0046] fig. 7(b)).
As to claim 7, Muroya discloses the second metal layer (92) is disposed on an outermost side among the plurality of metal layers in the penetrating direction, and wherein the second metal layer includes a cover portion protruding from a boundary surface between the second metal layer (92) and the first metal layer (90), the boundary surface spreading in a direction orthogonal to the penetrating direction (annotated fig. 5(a)), the cover portion protruding in the penetrating direction along an outer periphery of the first metal layer (101 annotated fig. 7(b) as exemplified in fig. 6 (4112c) of the instant specification).
(Muroya, annotated figs. 5(a) and 7(b))
As to claim 8, Muroya discloses the external terminal is a negative electrode (Negative electrode terminal 40 [0019]).
As to claim 9, Muroya discloses the second metal layer includes aluminum or an aluminum-based metal, and wherein the first metal layer includes copper or a copper-based metal layer (First region 90 composed of a copper-based metal First metal layer, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal Second metal layer. [0042]).
As to claim 12, Muroya discloses an energy storage device (Secondary battery 10) comprising: an electrode assembly (Electrode body (14)); a case (Exterior body (12) including sealing plate (20) ) that accommodates the electrode assembly [0017]; and an external terminal (Negative terminal (40)) made of metal (Copper (90) and (92) aluminum [0042]) and disposed in the case [0019], wherein the external terminal includes:
a flange portion (Flange portion 80 ) spreading along the case outside the case (Flange-shaped portion disposed on the outer surface of the sealing plate 20 in the negative electrode terminal 40 [0041] fig. 5(a)); and a shaft portion extending from the flange portion (Insertion portion (82) connected to one surface is a surface on the -Z side of the flange portion 80 [0041] fig. 5(a)), penetrating the case (Insertion portion (82) penetrating seal plate (20) fig. 5(a)), and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (An annular insertion part 82 which is connected to one side of the flange part 80 and the tip side of which is connected to the negative electrode collector 18 [Abstract]),
wherein the flange portion includes a plurality of metal layers layered in a penetrating direction of the shaft portion (Negative terminal 40 has a first region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal…Flange portion 80 includes a first region 90 and second region 92 are laminated. [0042]), wherein a second metal layer (92) of the plurality of metal layers covers at least a peripheral end surface of a first metal layer (90) adjacent to the second metal layer in the penetrating direction (Outer circumferential side 101 [0046] fig. 7(b)),
wherein the second metal layer (92) is a metal layer at an end opposite to the case in the penetrating direction among the plurality of metal layers (fig. 7(b)),
wherein the flange portion has a welded surface of the second metal layer on the opposite side to the case ([0049], figs. 5(a), 5(b)), for being welded to a conductive member (outer conductive member (44) [0049]),
Muroya does not explicitly disclose, the flange portion includes a through hole through which the shaft portion is inserted, and wherein the shaft portion includes a swaged portion spreading along a surface of the flange portion opposite to the case and locating a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion.
In the same field of endeavor Yamada discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches, the flange portion (Plate 9) includes a through hole (Through-hole 9a) through which the shaft portion (Connecting part 8c) is inserted, wherein the shaft portion includes: a swaged portion (8d) spreading along a surface of the flange portion opposite to the case and locating a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion ([0053] annotated fig. 3), and wherein the second metal layer includes a concave part recessed in the penetrating direction (Annotated fig. 3)
(Yamada annotated fig. 3)
Yamada further teaches In the prismatic secondary battery according to an aspect of the present invention, preferably, a through-hole side surface of the external conduction member of the first protruding part is an inclined surface or a curved surface. This can prevent a gap from being generated between the swaged part of the second connecting part and a range in the vicinity of the first protruding part in the external conduction member, which can prevent cracks and voids from being generated in the welded part. [0030])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modified Muroya with the structure of Yamada to prevent cracks and voids being generated in the welded part and thereby improve reliability.
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Muroya the conductive member (external conductive member 44 [Abstract]) is a bus bar (Bus bar 116, which is a kind of external conductive member [0058]) connecting a plurality of energy storage devices (fig. 8).
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Muroya discloses the external terminal is a negative electrode (Negative electrode terminal 40 [0019]), wherein the second metal layer includes aluminum or an aluminum-based metal, and wherein the first metal layer includes copper or a copper-based metal layer (First region 90 composed of a copper-based metal First metal layer, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal Second metal layer. [0042]).
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Muroya discloses the second metal layer includes a cover portion protruding from a boundary surface between the second metal layer and the first metal layer, the boundary surface spreading in a direction orthogonal to the penetrating direction (annotated fig. 5(a)), the cover portion protruding in the penetrating direction along an outer periphery of the first metal layer (101 annotated fig. 7(b) as exemplified in fig. 6 (4112c) of the instant specification).
(Muroya annotated figs. 5(a) and 7(b)
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Muroya does not explicitly disclose shaft portion includes an enlarged diameter portion formed between the flange portion and the outer surface of the case and spreading along the outer surface of the case; wherein the swaged portion sandwiches the peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion between the swaged portion and the enlarged diameter portion.
Yamada discloses the shaft portion includes: an enlarged diameter portion (8a) formed between the flange portion and the outer surface of the case and spreading along the outer surface of the case (fig. 3). the swaged portion (8d) sandwiches the peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion (9a) between the swaged portion and the enlarged diameter portion (fig. 3).
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Muroya does not explicitly disclose, the flange portion includes a convex part protruding in the penetrating direction in the concave part of the second metal layer, and wherein the convex part is disposed between an outer peripheral edge of the concave part and an outer peripheral edge of the swaged portion in a direction orthogonal to the penetrating direction.
In the same field of endeavor Yamada discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches, the flange portion includes a convex part protruding in the penetrating direction in the concave part of the second metal layer (Protruding part 9b), and wherein the convex part is disposed between an outer peripheral edge of the concave part and an outer peripheral edge of the swaged portion in a direction orthogonal to the penetrating direction (annotated fig. 3).
(Yamada annotated fig. 3)
As to claim 19, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, Muroya discloses the external terminal is a negative electrode (Negative electrode terminal 40 [0019]).
As to claim 20, Muroya discloses an energy storage device (Secondary battery 10) comprising: an electrode assembly (Electrode body (14)); a case (Exterior body (12) including sealing plate (20) ) that accommodates the electrode assembly [0017]; and an external terminal (Negative terminal (40)) made of metal (Copper (90) and (92) aluminum [0042]) and disposed in the case [0019], wherein the external terminal includes:
a flange portion (Flange portion 80 ) spreading along the case outside the case (Flange-shaped portion disposed on the outer surface of the sealing plate 20 in the negative electrode terminal 40 [0041] fig. 5(a)); and a shaft portion extending from the flange portion (Insertion portion (82) connected to one surface is a surface on the -Z side of the flange portion 80 [0041] fig. 5(a)), penetrating the case (Insertion portion (82) penetrating seal plate (20) fig. 5(a)), and electrically connected to the electrode assembly (An annular insertion part 82 which is connected to one side of the flange part 80 and the tip side of which is connected to the negative electrode collector 18 [Abstract]),
wherein the flange portion includes a plurality of metal layers layered in a penetrating direction of the shaft portion (Negative terminal 40 has a first region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal…Flange portion 80 includes a first region 90 and second region 92 are laminated. [0042]), wherein a second metal layer (92) of the plurality of metal layers covers at least a peripheral end surface of a first metal layer (90) adjacent to the second metal layer in the penetrating direction (Outer circumferential side 101 [0046] fig. 7(b)),
wherein the second metal layer (92) is a metal layer at an end opposite to the case in the penetrating direction among the plurality of metal layers (fig. 7(b)),
wherein the flange portion has a welded surface of the second metal layer on the opposite side to the case ([0049], figs. 5(a), 5(b)), for being welded to a conductive member (outer conductive member (44) [0049]),
As to claim 22,the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated, Muroya discloses the second metal layer includes a cover portion protruding from a boundary surface between the second metal layer and the first metal layer, the boundary surface spreading in a direction orthogonal to the penetrating direction (annotated fig. 5(a)), the cover portion protruding in the penetrating direction along an outer periphery of the first metal layer (annotated fig. 7(b) as exemplified in fig. 6 (4112c) of the instant specification).
(Muroya annotated figs. 5(a) and 7(b)
As to claim 23, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated, Muroya does not explicitly disclose, the flange portion includes a through hole through which the shaft portion is inserted, and wherein the shaft portion includes a swaged portion spreading along a surface of the flange portion opposite to the case and locating a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion.
In the same field of endeavor Yamada discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches, the flange portion (Plate 9) includes a through hole (Through-hole 9a) through which the shaft portion (Connecting part 8c) is inserted, wherein the shaft portion includes: a swaged portion (8d) spreading along a surface of the flange portion opposite to the case and locating a peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion ([0053] annotated fig. 3), and wherein the second metal layer includes a concave part recessed in the penetrating direction (Annotated fig. 3)
(Yamada annotated fig. 3)
Yamada further teaches In the prismatic secondary battery according to an aspect of the present invention, preferably, a through-hole side surface of the external conduction member of the first protruding part is an inclined surface or a curved surface. This can prevent a gap from being generated between the swaged part of the second connecting part and a range in the vicinity of the first protruding part in the external conduction member, which can prevent cracks and voids from being generated in the welded part. [0030])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modified Muroya with the structure of Yamada to prevent cracks and voids being generated in the welded part and thereby improve reliability.
As to claim 24, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated, modified Muroya does not explicitly disclose shaft portion includes an enlarged diameter portion formed between the flange portion and the outer surface of the case and spreading along the outer surface of the case; wherein the swaged portion sandwiches the peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion between the swaged portion and the enlarged diameter portion.
Yamada discloses the shaft portion includes: an enlarged diameter portion (8a) formed between the flange portion and the outer surface of the case and spreading along the outer surface of the case (fig. 3). the swaged portion (8d) sandwiches the peripheral edge portion of the through hole in the flange portion (9a) between the swaged portion and the enlarged diameter portion (fig. 3).
As to claim 25, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated, modified Muroya the conductive member (external conductive member 44 [Abstract]) is a bus bar (Bus bar 116, which is a kind of external conductive member [0058]) connecting a plurality of energy storage devices (fig. 8).
Claim(s) 2, 14, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muroya et al. (JP2016-192322A), in view of Yamada et al. (US2014/0242440A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsunaki et al. (US2016/0254517A1).
As to claim 2, Muroya discloses the flange portion (Flange portion 80 includes a first region 90 and second region 92 are laminated. [0042]), wherein metal layers adjacent to each other in the plurality of metal layers are made of different kinds of metals (First region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal [0042]),
Muroya does not explicitly disclose the flange portion is formed of a clad material. However in the same field of endeavor Tsunaki discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches the negative electrode external terminal 105 is formed of a flat clad material in which an aluminum alloy portion 105a (first alloy portion) and a copper alloy portion 105b (second alloy portion) [0053], and further teaches the connection resistance may be reduced by terminal made of clad materials [0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Muroya with the clad materials of Tsunaki to reduce the connection resistance of the terminal.
The product-by-limitations of claim 2, “clad material”, are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product (In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324). Claim 1 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art.
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, Muroya discloses the flange portion (Flange portion 80 includes a first region 90 and second region 92 are laminated. [0042]), wherein metal layers adjacent to each other in the plurality of metal layers are made of different kinds of metals (First region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal [0042]), and covers a peripheral end surface of a remaining metal layer among the plurality of metal layers (Second region (92) 101 fig. 7(b)).
Muroya does not explicitly disclose the flange portion is formed of a clad material. However in the same field of endeavor Tsunaki discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches the negative electrode external terminal 105 is formed of a flat clad material in which an aluminum alloy portion 105a (first alloy portion) and a copper alloy portion 105b (second alloy portion) [0053], and further teaches the connection resistance may be reduced by terminal made of clad materials [0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Muroya with the clad materials of Tsunaki to reduce the connection resistance of the terminal.
The product-by-limitations of claim 2, “clad material”, are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product (In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324). Claim 1 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art.
As to claim 21, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated, Muroya discloses the flange portion (Flange portion 80 includes a first region 90 and second region 92 are laminated. [0042]), wherein metal layers adjacent to each other in the plurality of metal layers are made of different kinds of metals (First region 90 composed of a copper-based metal, and a second region 92 comprised of aluminum metal [0042]), and second metal layer covers a peripheral end surface of a remaining metal layer among the plurality of metal layers ( (92) fig. 7(b)).
Muroya does not explicitly disclose the flange portion is formed of a clad material. However in the same field of endeavor Tsunaki discloses a battery [Abstract] and teaches the negative electrode external terminal 105 is formed of a flat clad material in which an aluminum alloy portion 105a (first alloy portion) and a copper alloy portion 105b (second alloy portion) [0053], and further teaches the connection resistance may be reduced by terminal made of clad materials [0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Muroya with the clad materials of Tsunaki to reduce the connection resistance of the terminal.
The product-by-limitations of claim 2, “clad material”, are not given patentable weight since the courts have held that patentability is based on a product itself, even if the prior art product is made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 1985). Moreover, a product-by-process limitation is held to be obvious if the product is similar to a prior art product (In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685, and In re Fessman, 180 USPQ 324). Claim 1 as written does not distinguish the product of the instant application from the product of the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, page 10, based on an interview dated September 18, 2025, “…the Examiner conceded that the cited art, even in combination, does not teach or suggest at least the swaged portion.”
The office respectfully disagrees as the interview agenda dated 09/29/2025, compares the primary reference Muroya to the proposed amendments to claim 1, and as stated in the interview summary dated September 18, 2025, “Discussed applicant's agenda and of the proposed amendments of Option 2) and Option 3) would overcome the rejection of record by virtue of the “swaged portion." This was thought to be in reference to applicant’s agenda comparing Muroya to the “swaged portions,” and as Muroya does not provide “swaging” the comparison was obvious. This did not preclude Tsunaki and particularly Yamada who provides swaged elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakamura et al. (US2002/0039283A1) External terminal of clad material.
Hattori et al. (US2013/0224536A1) Battery with terminal with flange and shaft portion.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728