DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to amendment
3. This is a Non-Final Office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 08/27/2026.
4. Status of the claims:
• Claims 1, 12-16, 21, 23, and 25 have been amended.
• Claims 27-29 have been added.
• Claims 1-9, 12-21, 23, 25, and 27-29 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks and arguments
5. Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 08/27/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Upon further search and consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. (US 20180091267 A1), BAE et al. (US 20240073887 A1), and Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 20230309032 A1).
6. In response to applicant’s remarks, the examiner acknowledges that the cited reference does not appear to explicitly teach applicant’s argued limitations. However, the combined system of Kim et al. (US 20180091267 A1), BAE et al. (US 20240073887 A1) and Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 20230309032 A1). cures this deficiency.
Please see the rejection below.
Claim Objections
7. Claim 21 is still objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 21 is directed to "an apparatus", should be amended to delete “by a base station” to avoid any confusion who is performing the step of “generate, by the base station, configuration information…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 1, 12-21, 23, 25, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 20180376510 A1), Kim et al. (US 20180091267 A1), BAE et al. (US 20240073887 A1) in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 20230309032 A1) and further in view of Lindoff et al. (US 20090135748 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SUN discloses a method for wireless communications (FIGS. 9A-E), comprising: establishing, by a base station, communication with a user equipment (UE) (SUN, para. [0004]: A wireless communication network may include a number of base stations (BSs) that can support communication for a number of user equipment (UEs), see also FIG. 9A, steps 902, 908); generating, by the base station, configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication (SUN. para. [0110]: FIG. 9E is an example of generating a random access radio network temporary identifier including a carrier frequency offset index. As shown in FIG. 9E, and by reference number 930, the BS 110 may generate a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) for the UE 120) by allocating (i) at least an anchor carrier for at least one of downlink communication or uplink communication, and (ii) a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier for the uplink communications (SUN, para. 24: A UE, such as a UE using a NR radio access technology (RAT), may use a supplementary uplink (SUL) configuration. In a SUL configuration, the UE may connect to a primary uplink carrier at a first frequency band, and may connect to a supplementary uplink carrier at a second frequency band different from the first frequency band [the first frequency band and/or the second frequency band may be associated with respective downlink carriers]), wherein the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier are in at least one of a time division duplex (TDD) band or a frequency division duplex (FDD) band (SUN, para. 24: In some aspects, the first frequency band may be a time division duplexing (TDD) frequency band or a frequency division duplexing (FDD) frequency band. In some aspects, the second frequency band may be a TDD frequency band, may be an FDD frequency band, or may be an uplink-only frequency band); and transmitting, by the base station, the configuration information to the UE for the bidirectional communication (SUN, FIG. 9A, para. 92, Step 902, 24: the base station (BS) transmits RACH configuration information for all uplink carriers to the UE on a downlink carrier of a high band), wherein the UE switches between uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information (SUN, para. 83: This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)).
SUN does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information, wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP, wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information (Kim, Fig. 31A, para. [0169]: The surplus time period occurring due to symbol misalignment may be used as a guard period during DL-UL switching or UL-DL switching in the dynamic TDD operation. FIG. 31A illustrates an example in which the mini-slot of 60 kHz subcarrier spacing is composed of 5 symbols for a downlink, a surplus time period used as a guard period for DL-UL switching, and one symbol for an uplink).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN with the teaching of Kim to include the above features such as generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient communication environment (Kim, para. [0244]).
The combination of SUN and Kim does not teach wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, BAE teaches wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP (BAE, para. [0312]: in order to determine the size or length of the time and/or frequency domain of the reference resource region used in the UL CI, the smallest SCS among these SCSs may be selected. In detail, a smaller value of the SCS configured through FrequencyInfoUL-SIB IE and SCSs of a PDCCH on which the UL CI is received may be used to assume a processing time of the UL CI… The delta offset d may be provided to the UE through RRC signaling of the BS. T.sub.proc,2 may correspond to PUSCH processing capability 2 assuming d.sub.2,1=0 with u being the smallest SCS configuration among SCSs provided by the FrequencyInfoUL-SIB and a SCS of an active DL BWP for monitoring a PDCCH for UL CI detection for a serving cell by the UE is assumed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN and Kim with the teaching of BAE to include the above features such as the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP as taught by BAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to select the smallest possible SCS, and thus the UE may ensure a sufficient UL CI processing time, thereby lowering UE implementation difficulty (BAE, para. [0314]).
The references do not appear to teach wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Ghanbarinejad teaches wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0124][0125]: … with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and of all configured DL BWPs for the corresponding downlink carriers. For μ=0, the UE assumes N.sub.1,0=14 [38.214]. Slot n and N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG. N.sub.TA,max is determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and for all configured initial UL BWPs provided by initialUplinkBWP).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, and BAE with the teachings of Ghanbarinejad to include the above features such as the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP as taught by Ghanbarinejad. The motivation for doing so would have been to assume a same absolute timing advance command value before and after the active UL BWP change (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0125]).
The references do not teach wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lindoff teaches wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer (Lindoff, para. [0026]: FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of part of a half-duplex mobile terminal 400 according to some embodiments of the present invention, including a radio transceiver 410, an application processor 450, and control processor 460. As pictured, the radio transceiver 460 is only capable of half-duplex operation, in that receiver 430 and transmitter 440 are connected to the antenna through a duplexing switch 420, rather than through a duplexing filter. The duplexing switch is controlled by a control processor 460, which selects between a transmit mode and a receive mode at appropriate times. Thus, receiver 430 and transmitter 440 cannot operate simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, BAE, and Ghanbarinejad with the teaching of LINDOFF to include the above features such as the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer as taught by LINDOFF. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable and disable transmitter and receiver circuitry at the appropriate times, to eliminate self-interference and to reduce power consumption (Lindoff, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, however, Ghanbarinejad further teaches wherein the guard period of Nu symbols for the downlink-to-uplink (DL-to-UL) switch is determined based on a function of the minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and the active uplink BWP (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0124][0125]: … with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and of all configured DL BWPs for the corresponding downlink carriers. For μ=0, the UE assumes N.sub.1,0=14 [38.214]. Slot n and N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG. N.sub.TA,max is determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and for all configured initial UL BWPs provided by initialUplinkBWP), and wherein the guard period for the uplink-to-downlink (UL-to-DL) switch is a value that is Nu symbols less a delta (A) value, wherein the delta (A) value is greater than zero and less than the Nu symbols (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0124]: the corresponding adjustment of the uplink transmission timing applies from the beginning of uplink slot n+k+1 where k=┌N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ.Math.(N.sub.T,1+N.sub.T,2+N.sub.T,max+0.5)/T.sub.sf┐, N.sub.T,1 is a time duration in msec of N.sub.1 symbols corresponding to a PDSCH processing time for UE processing capability 1 when additional PDSCH DM-RS is configured, N.sub.T,2 is a time duration in msec of N.sub.2 symbols corresponding to a PUSCH preparation time for UE processing capability 1 [38.214], N.sub.TA_max is the maximum timing advance value in msec that can be provided by a TA command field of 12 bits, N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μis the number of slots per subframe, and T.sub.sf is the subframe duration of 1 msec. N.sub.1 and N.sub.2 are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and of all configured DL BWPs for the corresponding downlink carriers. For μ=0, the UE assumes N.sub.1,0=14 [38.214]. Slot n and N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG. N.sub.TA,max is determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and for all configured initial UL BWPs provided by initialUplinkBWP).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, BAE and LINDOFF with the teachings of Ghanbarinejad to include the above features such as the guard period of Nu symbols for the downlink-to-uplink (DL-to-UL) switch is determined based on a function of the minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of the active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and the active uplink BWP, and wherein the guard period for the uplink-to-downlink (UL-to-DL) switch is a value that is Nu symbols less a delta (A) value, wherein the delta (A) value is greater than zero and less than the Nu symbols as taught by Ghanbarinejad. The motivation for doing so would have been to assume a same absolute timing advance command value before and after the active UL BWP change (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0125]).
Regarding claim 13, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication further comprises determining a guard location for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)), and wherein determining the guard location for when the UE switches comprises:
configuring the guard location on an uplink carrier of the TDD band when the UE is to perform the downlink-to-uplink (DL-to-UL) switch (SUN, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: In a SUL configuration, the UE may connect to a primary uplink carrier at a first frequency band, and may connect to a supplementary uplink carrier at a second frequency band different from the first frequency band. In some aspects, the first frequency band may be a time division duplexing (TDD) frequency band or a frequency division duplexing (FDD) frequency band. In some aspects, the second frequency band may be a TDD frequency band, may be an FDD frequency band, or may be an uplink-only frequency band. SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)).).
Regarding claim 14, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication further comprises determining a guard location for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)), and wherein determining the guard location for when the UE switches comprises:
configuring the guard location on either a downlink or an uplink carrier when the uplink communication is on the FDD band when the UE performs the downlink-to-uplink (DL-to-UL) switching (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein. [0083]: In a SUL configuration, the UE may connect to a primary uplink carrier at a first frequency band, and may connect to a supplementary uplink carrier at a second frequency band different from the first frequency band. In some aspects, the first frequency band may be a time division duplexing (TDD) frequency band or a frequency division duplexing (FDD) frequency band. In some aspects, the second frequency band may be a TDD frequency band, may be an FDD frequency band, or may be an uplink-only frequency band).
Regarding claim 15, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication further comprises determining a guard location for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)), and wherein determining the guard location for when the UE switches comprises:
configuring the guard location on a downlink carrier when the downlink communication is on the TDD band when the UE performs the UL-to-DL switching (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein).
Regarding claim 16, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication further comprises determining a guard location for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)), and wherein determining the guard location for when the UE switches comprises:
configuring the guard location on either a downlink carrier or an uplink carrier when the downlink communication is on the FDD band when the UE performs the UL-to-DL switching (SUN, Fig. 7, para. [0024], [0063], [0083]: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein).
Regarding claim 17, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, at the base station, a repetition transmissions from the UE over a plurality of slots (SUN, para. [0051], [0024], [0083]: The transmission timeline for each of the downlink and uplink may be partitioned into units of radio frames. Each radio frame may have a predetermined duration (e.g., 10 milliseconds (ms)) and may be partitioned into 10 subframes with indices of 0 through 9. Each subframe may include two slots), wherein the repetition transmissions are in one or both of a normal uplink (NUL) carrier or the SUL carrier (SUN, para. [0051], [0024], [0083]: The transmission timeline for each of the downlink and uplink may be partitioned into units of radio frames. Each radio frame may have a predetermined duration (e.g., 10 milliseconds (ms)) and may be partitioned into 10 subframes with indices of 0 through 9. Each subframe may include two slots. Each radio frame may thus include 20 slots with indices of 0 through 19. Each slot may include L symbol periods, e.g., seven symbol periods for a normal cyclic prefix (as shown in FIG. 3) or six symbol periods for an extended cyclic prefix).
Regarding claim 18, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising: detecting an interruption of the repetition transmission from the UE (SUN, Fig. 7, para. 24, 83: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE))); and receiving on a new component carrier the repetition transmissions from the UE that are restarted (SUN, Fig. 7, para. 24, 83: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE))).
Regarding claim 19, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising: detecting an interruption of the repetition transmission from the UE (SUN, Fig. 7, para. 24, 83: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein); and receiving on a new component carrier a portion of the repetition transmissions from the UE that had been interrupted (SUN, Fig. 7, para. 24, 83: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein).
Regarding claim 20, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 17, further comprising: detecting an interruption of the repetition transmission from the UE (SUN, Fig. 7, para. 24, 83: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein), wherein the UE abandons transmissions of remaining portion of the repetition transmission that was interrupted (SUN, Fig. 7, para. 24, 83: As illustrated in FIG. 7, the end of the DL data portion 704 may be separated in time from the beginning of the UL short burst portion 706. This time separation may sometimes be referred to as a gap, a guard period, a guard interval, and/or various other suitable terms. This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)). The foregoing is merely one example of a DL-centric wireless communication structure, and alternative structures having similar features may exist without necessarily deviating from the aspects described herein).
Regarding claim 21, SUN discloses an apparatus (FIGS. 1-2: base station) for wireless communications, comprising: a memory configured to store instructions (Fig. 2: Memory 282); a processor communicatively coupled with the memory (Fig. 2: Processor 280 coupled to Memory 282), the processor configured to execute the instructions to: establish communication with a user equipment (UE) (SUN, para. 4: A wireless communication network may include a number of base stations (BSs) that can support communication for a number of user equipment (UEs), see also FIG. 9A, steps 902, 908); generate, by the base station, configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication (SUN. para. [0110]: FIG. 9E is an example of generating a random access radio network temporary identifier including a carrier frequency offset index. As shown in FIG. 9E, and by reference number 930, the BS 110 may generate a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) for the UE 120) by allocating (i) at least an anchor carrier for at least one of downlink communication or uplink communication and (ii) a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier for the uplink communications (SUN, para. 24: A UE, such as a UE using a NR radio access technology (RAT), may use a supplementary uplink (SUL) configuration. In a SUL configuration, the UE may connect to a primary uplink carrier at a first frequency band, and may connect to a supplementary uplink carrier at a second frequency band different from the first frequency band [the first frequency band and/or the second frequency band may be associated with respective downlink carriers), wherein the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier are in at least one of a time division duplex (TDD) band or a frequency division duplex (FDD) band (SUN, para. [0024]: In some aspects, the first frequency band may be a time division duplexing (TDD) frequency band or a frequency division duplexing (FDD) frequency band. In some aspects, the second frequency band may be a TDD frequency band, may be an FDD frequency band, or may be an uplink-only frequency band); and transmit the configuration information to the UE for the bidirectional communication (SUN, FIG. 9A, para. 92, Step 902: the base station (BS) transmits RACH configuration information for all uplink carriers to the UE on a downlink carrier of a high band), wherein the UE switches between uplink and downlink communications in one or both of anchor carrier and SUL carrier based on the configuration information (SUN, para. 83: This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)).
SUN does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein generate the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information, wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP, wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein generate the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information (Kim, Fig. 31A, para. [0169]: The surplus time period occurring due to symbol misalignment may be used as a guard period during DL-UL switching or UL-DL switching in the dynamic TDD operation. FIG. 31A illustrates an example in which the mini-slot of 60 kHz subcarrier spacing is composed of 5 symbols for a downlink, a surplus time period used as a guard period for DL-UL switching, and one symbol for an uplink).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN with the teaching of Kim to include the above features such as generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient communication environment (Kim, para. [0244]).
The combination of SUN and Kim does not teach wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, BAE teaches wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP (BAE, para. [0312]: in order to determine the size or length of the time and/or frequency domain of the reference resource region used in the UL CI, the smallest SCS among these SCSs may be selected. In detail, a smaller value of the SCS configured through FrequencyInfoUL-SIB IE and SCSs of a PDCCH on which the UL CI is received may be used to assume a processing time of the UL CI… The delta offset d may be provided to the UE through RRC signaling of the BS. T.sub.proc,2 may correspond to PUSCH processing capability 2 assuming d.sub.2,1=0 with u being the smallest SCS configuration among SCSs provided by the FrequencyInfoUL-SIB and a SCS of an active DL BWP for monitoring a PDCCH for UL CI detection for a serving cell by the UE is assumed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN and Kim with the teaching of BAE to include the above features such as the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP as taught by BAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to select the smallest possible SCS, and thus the UE may ensure a sufficient UL CI processing time, thereby lowering UE implementation difficulty (BAE, para. [0314]).
The references do not appear to teach wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Ghanbarinejad teaches wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0124][0125]: … with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and of all configured DL BWPs for the corresponding downlink carriers. For μ=0, the UE assumes N.sub.1,0=14 [38.214]. Slot n and N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG. N.sub.TA,max is determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and for all configured initial UL BWPs provided by initialUplinkBWP).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, and BAE with the teachings of Ghanbarinejad to include the above features such as the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP as taught by Ghanbarinejad. The motivation for doing so would have been to assume a same absolute timing advance command value before and after the active UL BWP change (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0125]).
The references do not teach wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lindoff teaches wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer (Lindoff, para. [0026]: FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of part of a half-duplex mobile terminal 400 according to some embodiments of the present invention, including a radio transceiver 410, an application processor 450, and control processor 460. As pictured, the radio transceiver 460 is only capable of half-duplex operation, in that receiver 430 and transmitter 440 are connected to the antenna through a duplexing switch 420, rather than through a duplexing filter. The duplexing switch is controlled by a control processor 460, which selects between a transmit mode and a receive mode at appropriate times. Thus, receiver 430 and transmitter 440 cannot operate simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, BAE, and Ghanbarinejad with the teaching of LINDOFF to include the above features such as the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer as taught by LINDOFF. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable and disable transmitter and receiver circuitry at the appropriate times, to eliminate self-interference and to reduce power consumption (Lindoff, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 23, SUN discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions (FIGS. 1-2: Network Controller 130), executable by a processor, for wireless communications, comprising instructions for: establishing, by a base station, communication with a user equipment (UE) (SUN, para. 4: A wireless communication network may include a number of base stations (BSs) that can support communication for a number of user equipment (UEs), see also FIG. 9A, steps 902, 908); generating, by the base station, configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication (SUN. para. [0110]: FIG. 9E is an example of generating a random access radio network temporary identifier including a carrier frequency offset index. As shown in FIG. 9E, and by reference number 930, the BS 110 may generate a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) for the UE 120) by allocating (i) at least an anchor carrier for at least one of downlink communication or uplink communication and (ii) a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier for the uplink communication (SUN, para. 24: A UE, such as a UE using a NR radio access technology (RAT), may use a supplementary uplink (SUL) configuration. In a SUL configuration, the UE may connect to a primary uplink carrier at a first frequency band, and may connect to a supplementary uplink carrier at a second frequency band different from the first frequency band [the first frequency band and/or the second frequency band may be associated with respective downlink carriers]), wherein the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier are in at least one of a time division duplex (TDD) band or a frequency division duplex (FDD) band (SUN, para. 24: In some aspects, the first frequency band may be a time division duplexing (TDD) frequency band or a frequency division duplexing (FDD) frequency band. In some aspects, the second frequency band may be a TDD frequency band, may be an FDD frequency band, or may be an uplink-only frequency band); and transmitting, by the base station, the configuration information to the UE for the bidirectional communication (SUN, FIG. 9A, para. 92, Step 902, 24: the base station (BS) transmits RACH configuration information for all uplink carriers to the UE on a downlink carrier of a high band), wherein the UE switches between uplink and downlink communications in one or both of anchor carrier and SUL carrier based on the configuration information (SUN, para. 83: This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)).
SUN does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information, wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP, wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information (Kim, Fig. 31A, para. [0169]: The surplus time period occurring due to symbol misalignment may be used as a guard period during DL-UL switching or UL-DL switching in the dynamic TDD operation. FIG. 31A illustrates an example in which the mini-slot of 60 kHz subcarrier spacing is composed of 5 symbols for a downlink, a surplus time period used as a guard period for DL-UL switching, and one symbol for an uplink).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN with the teaching of Kim to include the above features such as generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient communication environment (Kim, para. [0244]).
The combination of SUN and Kim does not teach wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, BAE teaches wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP (BAE, para. [0312]: in order to determine the size or length of the time and/or frequency domain of the reference resource region used in the UL CI, the smallest SCS among these SCSs may be selected. In detail, a smaller value of the SCS configured through FrequencyInfoUL-SIB IE and SCSs of a PDCCH on which the UL CI is received may be used to assume a processing time of the UL CI… The delta offset d may be provided to the UE through RRC signaling of the BS. T.sub.proc,2 may correspond to PUSCH processing capability 2 assuming d.sub.2,1=0 with u being the smallest SCS configuration among SCSs provided by the FrequencyInfoUL-SIB and a SCS of an active DL BWP for monitoring a PDCCH for UL CI detection for a serving cell by the UE is assumed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN and Kim with the teaching of BAE to include the above features such as the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP as taught by BAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to select the smallest possible SCS, and thus the UE may ensure a sufficient UL CI processing time, thereby lowering UE implementation difficulty (BAE, para. [0314]).
The references do not appear to teach wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Ghanbarinejad teaches wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0124][0125]: … with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and of all configured DL BWPs for the corresponding downlink carriers. For μ=0, the UE assumes N.sub.1,0=14 [38.214]. Slot n and N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG. N.sub.TA,max is determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and for all configured initial UL BWPs provided by initialUplinkBWP).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, and BAE with the teachings of Ghanbarinejad to include the above features such as the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP as taught by Ghanbarinejad. The motivation for doing so would have been to assume a same absolute timing advance command value before and after the active UL BWP change (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0125]).
The references do not teach wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lindoff teaches wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer (Lindoff, para. [0026]: FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of part of a half-duplex mobile terminal 400 according to some embodiments of the present invention, including a radio transceiver 410, an application processor 450, and control processor 460. As pictured, the radio transceiver 460 is only capable of half-duplex operation, in that receiver 430 and transmitter 440 are connected to the antenna through a duplexing switch 420, rather than through a duplexing filter. The duplexing switch is controlled by a control processor 460, which selects between a transmit mode and a receive mode at appropriate times. Thus, receiver 430 and transmitter 440 cannot operate simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, BAE, and Ghanbarinejad with the teaching of LINDOFF to include the above features such as the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer as taught by LINDOFF. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable and disable transmitter and receiver circuitry at the appropriate times, to eliminate self-interference and to reduce power consumption (Lindoff, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 25, SUN discloses an apparatus (FIGS. 1-2: base station 130) for wireless communications, comprising: means for establishing, by the apparatus, communication with a user equipment (UE) (SUN, para. 4: A wireless communication network may include a number of base stations (BSs) that can support communication for a number of user equipment (UEs), see also FIG. 9A, steps 902, 908); means for generating, by the apparatus, configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication (SUN. para. [0110]: FIG. 9E is an example of generating a random access radio network temporary identifier including a carrier frequency offset index. As shown in FIG. 9E, and by reference number 930, the BS 110 may generate a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) for the UE 120) by allocating at least an anchor carrier for allocating (i) at least an anchor carrier for at least one of downlink communication or uplink communication and (ii) a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier for the uplink communication and a supplementary uplink (SUL) carrier for uplink communications (SUN, para. 24: A UE, such as a UE using a NR radio access technology (RAT), may use a supplementary uplink (SUL) configuration. In a SUL configuration, the UE may connect to a primary uplink carrier at a first frequency band, and may connect to a supplementary uplink carrier at a second frequency band different from the first frequency band [the first frequency band and/or the second frequency band may be associated with respective downlink carriers]), wherein the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier are in at least one of a time division duplex (TDD) band or a frequency division duplex (FDD) band (SUN, para. 24: In some aspects, the first frequency band may be a time division duplexing (TDD) frequency band or a frequency division duplexing (FDD) frequency band. In some aspects, the second frequency band may be a TDD frequency band, may be an FDD frequency band, or may be an uplink-only frequency band); and means for transmitting, by the apparatus, the configuration information to the UE for the bidirectional communication (SUN, FIG. 9A, para. 92, Step 902, 24: the base station (BS) transmits RACH configuration information for all uplink carriers to the UE on a downlink carrier of a high band), wherein the UE switches between uplink and downlink communications in one or both of anchor carrier and SUL carrier based on the configuration information (SUN, para. 83: This separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)).
SUN does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information, wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP, wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information (Kim, Fig. 31A, para. [0169]: The surplus time period occurring due to symbol misalignment may be used as a guard period during DL-UL switching or UL-DL switching in the dynamic TDD operation. FIG. 31A illustrates an example in which the mini-slot of 60 kHz subcarrier spacing is composed of 5 symbols for a downlink, a surplus time period used as a guard period for DL-UL switching, and one symbol for an uplink).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN with the teaching of Kim to include the above features such as generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication comprises determining a guard period for when the UE switches between the uplink and downlink communications in one or both of the anchor carrier and the SUL carrier based on the configuration information as taught by Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an efficient communication environment (Kim, para. [0244]).
The combination of SUN and Kim does not teach wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, BAE teaches wherein the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP (BAE, para. [0312]: in order to determine the size or length of the time and/or frequency domain of the reference resource region used in the UL CI, the smallest SCS among these SCSs may be selected. In detail, a smaller value of the SCS configured through FrequencyInfoUL-SIB IE and SCSs of a PDCCH on which the UL CI is received may be used to assume a processing time of the UL CI… The delta offset d may be provided to the UE through RRC signaling of the BS. T.sub.proc,2 may correspond to PUSCH processing capability 2 assuming d.sub.2,1=0 with u being the smallest SCS configuration among SCSs provided by the FrequencyInfoUL-SIB and a SCS of an active DL BWP for monitoring a PDCCH for UL CI detection for a serving cell by the UE is assumed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN and Kim with the teaching of BAE to include the above features such as the guard period of one or more symbols for at least one of a downlink-to-uplink (UL-to-DL) switch or an uplink-to-downlink (DL-to-UP) switch is determined based on a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) of an active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and an active uplink BWP as taught by BAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to select the smallest possible SCS, and thus the UE may ensure a sufficient UL CI processing time, thereby lowering UE implementation difficulty (BAE, para. [0314]).
The references do not appear to teach wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP.
In the same field of endeavor, Ghanbarinejad teaches wherein the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0124][0125]: … with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and of all configured DL BWPs for the corresponding downlink carriers. For μ=0, the UE assumes N.sub.1,0=14 [38.214]. Slot n and N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ are determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG. N.sub.TA,max is determined with respect to the minimum SCS among the SCSs of all configured UL BWPs for all uplink carriers in the TAG and for all configured initial UL BWPs provided by initialUplinkBWP).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, and BAE with the teachings of Ghanbarinejad to include the above features such as the minimum SCS is a lesser of an SCS of the active uplink BWP and SCS of the active downlink BWP as taught by Ghanbarinejad. The motivation for doing so would have been to assume a same absolute timing advance command value before and after the active UL BWP change (Ghanbarinejad, para. [0125]).
The references do not teach wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lindoff teaches wherein the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer (Lindoff, para. [0026]: FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of part of a half-duplex mobile terminal 400 according to some embodiments of the present invention, including a radio transceiver 410, an application processor 450, and control processor 460. As pictured, the radio transceiver 460 is only capable of half-duplex operation, in that receiver 430 and transmitter 440 are connected to the antenna through a duplexing switch 420, rather than through a duplexing filter. The duplexing switch is controlled by a control processor 460, which selects between a transmit mode and a receive mode at appropriate times. Thus, receiver 430 and transmitter 440 cannot operate simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, BAE, and Ghanbarinejad with the teaching of LINDOFF to include the above features such as the UE is a half-duplex device that lacks a duplexer as taught by LINDOFF. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable and disable transmitter and receiver circuitry at the appropriate times, to eliminate self-interference and to reduce power consumption (Lindoff, para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 27, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is one of a reduced capability (RedCap) device or an internet of things (IoT) device that includes a switch, in place of a duplexer, that enables the UE to switch between the uplink and downlink communications and between a normal uplink (NUL) carrier and the SUL carrier (SUN, para. [0038][0083][0088]: two or more subordinate entities (e.g., UEs) may communicate with each other using sidelink signals. Real-world applications of such sidelink communications may include public safety, proximity services, UE-to-network relaying, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications, Internet of Everything (IoE) communications, IoT communications. SUN further teaches this separation provides time for the switch-over from DL communication (e.g., reception operation by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)) to UL communication (e.g., transmission by the subordinate entity (e.g., UE)).
Regarding claim 28, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 12, BAE further teaches wherein a value of the Nµ symbols is indicated to the UE in a system information block (SIB) (BAE, para. [0311]-[0313]: The delta offset d may be provided to the UE through RRC signaling of the BS. T.sub.proc,2 may correspond to PUSCH processing capability 2 assuming d.sub.2,1=0 with u being the smallest SCS configuration among SCSs provided by the FrequencyInfoUL-SIB and a SCS of an active DL BWP for monitoring a PDCCH for UL CI detection for a serving cell by the UE is assumed).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of SUN, Kim, Ghanbarinejad, and Lindoff with the teaching of BAE to include the above features such as a value of the Nµ symbols is indicated to the UE in a system information block (SIB) as taught by BAE. The motivation for doing so would have been to select the smallest possible SCS, and thus the UE may ensure a sufficient UL CI processing time, thereby lowering UE implementation difficulty (BAE, para. [0314]).
Regarding claim 29, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising receiving, at the base station,
capability signaling from the UE reporting one or both of the Nµ symbols and the delta value (SUN, Fig. 9, para. [0045][0094]: the UE 120 may transmit RACH procedure uplink traffic (e.g., the first message and/or the third message of the RACH procedure) using the second set of carriers (e.g., the supplementary uplink carrier). In this way, the UE 120 may perform the RACH procedure using the second set of carriers, which improves uplink performance of the RACH procedure and which improves versatility of the UE 120).
13. Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (US 20180376510 A1), Kim et al. (US 20180091267 A1), BAE et al. (US 20240073887 A1), Ghanbarinejad et al. (US 20230309032 A1), Lindoff et al. (US 20090135748 A1) and further in view of Byun et al. (US 20200260324 A1).
Regarding claim 2, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum; and configuring uplink transmission on the SUL carrier or the TDD of FR1.
In the same field of endeavor, Byun discloses wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, para. 72, Table 2: Table 2 shows FR1 may include a frequency band of 410 MHz to 7125 MHz); and configuring uplink transmission on the SUL carrier or the TDD of FR1 (Byun, para. 138: In conjunction with a UL/DL carrier pair (frequency division duplex (FDD) band) or a bidirectional carrier (time division duplex (TDD) band), a UE may be configured with additional, supplementary uplink (SUL). SUL differs from the aggregated uplink in that the UE may be scheduled to transmit either on the supplementary uplink or on the uplink of the carrier being supplemented).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features into the system of SUN such as configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the FDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum. However, Byun teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the FDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, para. 72, Table 2: Table 2 shows FR1 may include a frequency band of 410 MHz to 7125 MHz); and configuring uplink transmission on the SUL carrier in the FDD band of FR1 (Byun, para. 138: In conjunction with a UL/DL carrier pair (frequency division duplex (FDD) band) or a bidirectional carrier (time division duplex (TDD) band), a UE may be configured with additional, supplementary uplink (SUL). SUL differs from the aggregated uplink in that the UE may be scheduled to transmit either on the supplementary uplink or on the uplink of the carrier being supplemented).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features into the system of SUN such as configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the FDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 4, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2), wherein the FR2 includes a frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum. However, Byun teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2), wherein the FR2 includes a frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, Table 2, para. 72: TABLE 2 shows FR2 includes Frequency Corresponding Subcarrier Range designation frequency range Spacing FR2 24250 MHz-52600 MHz) and configuring uplink transmission on the SUL carrier of FR1 or the TDD band of the FR2 (Byun, para. 138: In conjunction with a UL/DL carrier pair (frequency division duplex (FDD) band) or a bidirectional carrier (time division duplex (TDD) band), a UE may be configured with additional, supplementary uplink (SUL). SUL differs from the aggregated uplink in that the UE may be scheduled to transmit either on the supplementary uplink or on the uplink of the carrier being supplemented).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features such as configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2), wherein the FR2 includes a frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2), wherein the FR2 includes a frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum. However, Byun teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2), wherein the FR2 includes a frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, Table 2, para. 72: TABLE 2 shows FR2 includes Frequency Corresponding Subcarrier Range designation frequency range Spacing FR2 24250 MHz-52600 MHz); and configuring uplink transmission on the FDD band or the TDD band of the FR2 (Byun, para. 138: In conjunction with a UL/DL carrier pair (frequency division duplex (FDD) band) or a bidirectional carrier (time division duplex (TDD) band), a UE may be configured with additional, supplementary uplink (SUL). SUL differs from the aggregated uplink in that the UE may be scheduled to transmit either on the supplementary uplink or on the uplink of the carrier being supplemented).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features such as configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2), wherein the FR2 includes a frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 6, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2) or the TDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum. and configuring uplink transmission on the TDD band the FR1 or the FR2. However, Byun teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2) or the TDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, para. 72: TABLE 2 shows Frequency Corresponding Subcarrier Range designation frequency range Spacing FR1 410 MHz-7125 MHz and FR2 24250 MHz-52600 MHz); and configuring uplink transmission on the TDD band the FR1 or the FR2 (Byun, para. 138: In conjunction with a UL/DL carrier pair (frequency division duplex (FDD) band) or a bidirectional carrier (time division duplex (TDD) band), a UE may be configured with additional, supplementary uplink (SUL). SUL differs from the aggregated uplink in that the UE may be scheduled to transmit either on the supplementary uplink or on the uplink of the carrier being supplemented).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features such as configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the TDD band of frequency range 2 (FR2) or the TDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 7, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the FDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum, and configuring uplink transmission on either an uplink carrier of the FDD band in FR1 or the SUL carrier in FR1. However, Byun teaches teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the FDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, para. 72, Table 2: Table 2 shows FR1 may include a frequency band of 410 MHz to 7125 MHz); and configuring uplink transmission on either an uplink carrier of the FDD band in FR1 or the SUL carrier in FR1 (Byun, para. 138: In conjunction with a UL/DL carrier pair (frequency division duplex (FDD) band) or a bidirectional carrier (time division duplex (TDD) band), a UE may be configured with additional, supplementary uplink (SUL). SUL differs from the aggregated uplink in that the UE may be scheduled to transmit either on the supplementary uplink or on the uplink of the carrier being supplemented).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features such as configuring downlink transmission from the base station to the UE on the anchor carrier in the FDD band of frequency range 1 (FR1), wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) based on downlink control information (DCI) that is transmitted on a downlink carrier of either the TDD band in one of frequency range 1 (FR1) or frequency range 2 (FR2) or the FDD band in the FR1, wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum. However, Byun teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) based on downlink control information (DCI) that is transmitted on a downlink carrier of either the TDD band in one of frequency range 1 (FR1) or frequency range 2 (FR2) or the FDD band in the FR1, wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, para. 72: TABLE 2 shows Frequency Corresponding Subcarrier Range designation frequency range Spacing FR1 410 MHz-7125 MHz and FR2 24250 MHz-52600 MHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features such as configuring an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) based on downlink control information (DCI) that is transmitted on a downlink carrier of either the TDD band in one of frequency range 1 (FR1) or frequency range 2 (FR2) or the FDD band in the FR1, wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF disclose the method of claim 1, the references fail to teach wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) using radio resource control (RRC) signaling on the downlink carrier, wherein the RRC is either dedicated for the UE or for a group of UEs, and wherein the RRC signaling is transmitted in the TDD band in one of frequency range 1 (FR1) or frequency range 2 (FR2) or the FDD band in the FR1, wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum. However, Byun teaches wherein generating the configuration information for the UE for bidirectional communication, comprises: configuring an uplink bandwidth part (BWP) using radio resource control (RRC) signaling on the downlink carrier, wherein the RRC is either dedicated for the UE or for a group of UEs (Byun, para. 120: RRC messages are transferred over F1-C. The gNB-CU is responsible for the encoding of the dedicated RRC message with assistance information provided by gNB-DU. This function also allows gNB-DU to report to gNB-CU if the downlink RRC message has been successfully delivered to UE), and wherein the RRC signaling is transmitted in the TDD band in one of frequency range 1 (FR1) or frequency range 2 (FR2) or the FDD band in the FR1, wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum (Byun, para. 72: TABLE 2 shows Frequency Corresponding Subcarrier Range designation frequency range Spacing FR1 410 MHz-7125 MHz and FR2 24250 MHz-52600 MHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teaching of SUN, Kim, BAE, Ghanbarinejad, and LINDOFF with the teaching of Byun to include the above features such as the RRC signaling is transmitted in the TDD band in one of frequency range 1 (FR1) or frequency range 2 (FR2) or the FDD band in the FR1, wherein the FR1 includes a frequency range of 410 MHz — 7.125 GHz and the FR2 includes the frequency range of 24.25 GHz — 52.6 GHz of an electromagnetic spectrum as taught by Byun. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve service quality, and expand and improve coverage and system capacity (Byun, [0003]).
Conclusion
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417