Status of the Application
2. Claims 1—20 have been examined in this application. Claims 21—94 have been canceled. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to Applicant’s “Amendments/Remarks” filed 11/17/2025. The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/25/2025 & 12/10/2025 has been acknowledged by the Office.
Claim Objections
3. The objection made in the Non-Final to Claim(s) 4 has been withdrawn in light of this claim’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—3, 5—8, 11—13 and 15—18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2002/0088052 A1 to Vilsmeier (Vilsmeier hereafter).
As per claim 1, Vilsmeier teaches
A furniture item (1—Fig.1; para [0028]) comprising:
a vertical wall structure (4—Fig.1; para [0028]); a horizontal structure (2—Fig.1; para [0028]) cantilevered off of the vertical wall structure (2—Fig.1; para [0028]) and
adapted to vertically translate along the vertical wall structure (para [0028]); and a pivot point (annotated 2—Fig.1)
at least one support structure attached to the horizontal structure (9—Fig.3; para [0028-29]: support structure attached to horizontal structure) a dedicated support motor connected to the at least one support structure and adapted to extend and retract the at least one support structure (18—Fig.3; para [0055]), wherein loss of power to the dedicated support motor causes extension of the at least one support structure to an extended position (para [0058]: in a case of power failure drive belt can manually move bedframe);
about which the furniture item is configured to pivot upon application of a sufficient normal force to the horizontal structure (S—Fig.4 para [0066] pivot point in which a sufficient normal force causes bed to pivot),
wherein a center of gravity of the furniture item is disposed in a location such that a normal force applied to the horizontal structure upon vertical translation of the horizontal structure under a normal operating condition is less than the sufficient normal force (para [0046]: sum of normal forces less than the sufficient forces need to produce a pivot point of the bed).
As per claim 2, Vilsmeier teaches
The furniture item of claim 1, wherein the vertical wall structure houses a translating structure (4, 5 &9 —Fig.1; para [0028]) adapted to vertically translate the horizontal structure along the vertical wall structure (para [0028]).
As per claim 3, Vilsmeier teaches
The furniture item of claim 2, wherein the translating structure comprises a motor configured to drive a pulley or a cable (10—Fig.1; para [0028]).
As per claim 3, Vilsmeier teaches:
The furniture item of claim 3, wherein the normal operating condition comprises a weight on the horizontal structure being below a predetermined maximum weight (para [0046]: sum of normal forces less than the sufficient forces need to produce a pivot point of the bed).
As per claim 6, Vilsmeier teaches:
The furniture item of claim 3, wherein the motor is adapted to backdrive (para [0046]:motor may backdrive i.e. lower the bed frame) when the normal force applied to the horizontal structure exceeds the sufficient normal force (para [0046]: external force on bed frame 2 greater than sufficient normal force acting on element 12), such that the horizontal structure translates vertically without the furniture item pivoting about the pivot point (para [0046]: downward movement of the bed occurs rather than the furniture item pivoting about the pivot point).
As per claim 7, Vilsmeier teaches
The furniture item of claim 1, wherein the horizontal structure comprises a bed (3—Fig.1; para [0028]).
As per claim 8, Vilsmeier teaches
The furniture item of claim 1, further comprising a counterweight disposed adjacent to the vertical wall structure (12—Fig.1; para [0055])
As per claim 11, Vilsmeier teaches:
A method of operating a furniture item (1—Fig.1; para [0028]), the method comprising: obtaining a furniture item comprising: a vertical wall structure (4—Fig.1; para [0028]); a horizontal structure cantilevered off of the vertical wall structure (2—Fig.1; para [0028]); at least one support structure attached to the horizontal structure
(9—Fig.3; para [0028-29]: support structure attached to horizontal structure)a dedicated support motor connected to the at least one support structure and adapted to extend and retract the at least one support structure (18—Fig.3; para [0055]), wherein loss of power to the dedicated support motor causes extension of the at least one support structure to an extended position(para [0058]: in a case of power failure drive belt can manually move bedframe); and a pivot point (annotated 2—Fig.1 above) about which the furniture item is configured to pivot upon application of a sufficient normal force to the horizontal structure (S—Fig.4 para [0066] pivot point in which a sufficient normal force causes bed to pivot); and vertically translating the horizontal structure along the vertical wall structure (2—Fig.1; para [0028]) such that a normal force is applied to the horizontal structure, wherein a center of gravity of the furniture item is disposed in a location such that the normal force is less than the sufficient normal force (para [0046]: sum of normal forces less than the sufficient forces need to produce a pivot point of the bed).
As per claim 12, Vilsmeier teaches
The method of claim 11, wherein the vertical wall structure houses a translating structure (4, 5 &9 —Fig.1; para [0028]) adapted to vertically translate the horizontal structure along the vertical wall structure (para [0028]).
As per claim 13, Vilsmeier teaches:
The method of claim 12, wherein the translating structure comprises a motor configured to drive a pulley or a cable (9 & 10—Fig.1; para [0028]) and wherein vertically translating the horizontal structure along the vertical wall structure further comprises: vertically translating the horizontal structure along the vertical wall structure under a normal operating condition (9 & 10—Fig.1; para [0028]).
As per claim 15, Vilsmeier teaches
The method of claim 13, wherein the normal operating condition comprises a weight on the horizontal structure being below a predetermined maximum weight (para [0046]: sum of normal forces less than the sufficient forces need to produce a pivot point of the bed).
As per claim 16, Vilsmeier teaches
The method of claim 13, wherein the motor is adapted to backdrive (para [0046]:motor may backdrive i.e. lower the bed frame) when the normal force applied to the horizontal structure exceeds the sufficient normal force (para [0046]: external force on bed frame 2 greater than sufficient normal force acting on element 12), such that the horizontal structure translates vertically without the furniture item pivoting about the pivot point (para [0046]: downward movement of the bed occurs rather than the furniture item pivoting about the pivot point).
As per claim 17, Vilsmeier teaches
The method of claim 11, wherein the horizontal structure comprises a bed (3—Fig.1; para [0028]).
As per claim 18, Vilsmeier teaches
The method of claim 11, further comprising a counterweight disposed adjacent to the vertical wall structure (12—Fig.1; para [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2002/0088052 A1 to Vilsmeier in view of EP 0418415 B1 to Wuenschmann (Wuenschmann here).
As per claim 4, Vilsmeier teaches The furniture item of claim 3.
Vilsmeier does not teach, wherein the normal operating condition comprises a motor speed below a predetermined maximum motor speed and a motor acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or declaration.
Wuenschmann teaches , wherein the normal operating condition comprises a motor speed below a predetermined maximum motor speed (pg.4 para [0005]: motor speed decreases as increasing forces is applied) and a motor acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or declaration (pg.4 para [0005] higher motor reduces its speed decreases as increasing force load is applied)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Vilsmeier (directed to a furniture item secure to a vertical structure adapted to vertically translate along the vertical wall structure) and Wuenschmann (directed to a furniture items configured to move vertically via a motor including a motor capable of acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or declaration) and arrived at a furniture items configured to move vertically via a motor including a motor capable of acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or declaration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to ensure the furniture item lowers synchronously via a motor capable of decreasing speed due to increased loads of force as taught in Wuenschmann (pg.4 para [0005]).
As per claim 14, Vilsmeier teaches The method of claim 13.
Vilsmeier does not teach, wherein the normal operating condition comprises a motor speed below a predetermined maximum motor speed and a motor acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or deceleration.
Wuenschmann teaches , wherein the normal operating condition comprises a motor speed below a predetermined maximum motor speed (pg.4 para [0005]: motor speed decreases as increasing forces is applied) and a motor acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or deceleration (pg.4 para [0005] higher motor reduces its speed decreases as increasing force load is applied)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Vilsmeier (directed to a furniture item secure to a vertical structure adapted to vertically translate along the vertical wall structure) and Wuenschmann (directed to a furniture items configured to move vertically via a motor including a motor capable of acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or declaration) and arrived at a furniture item secure to a vertical structure adapted to vertically translate along the vertical wall structure via a motor including a motor capable of acceleration or deceleration below a predetermined maximum motor acceleration or declaration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to ensure the furniture item lowers synchronously via a motor capable of decreasing speed due to increased loads of force as taught in Wuenschmann (pg.4 para [0005]).
Claim(s) 9, 10 & 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application 2002/0088052 A1 to Vilsmeier in U.S Patent Application 20140159410 A1 to Rasmussen (Rasmussen hereafter).
As per claim 9, Vilsmeier teaches The furniture item of claim 1.
Vilsmeier does not teach, further comprising at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure.
Rasmussen , further comprising at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure (60b—Fig.46: deck adjacent vertical structure adjacent horizontal structure).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Vilsmeier (directed to a furniture item secure to a vertical structure adapted to vertically translate along the vertical wall structure) and Rasmussen (directed to at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure) and arrived at a furniture items configured to move vertically at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide an accessible bed for an addition users in a stowed position as taught in Rasmussen (pg.4 para [0005]).
As per claim 10, Vilsmeier teaches:
The furniture item of claim 9, wherein the pivot point is located at a point on at least one of the couch and the bedside table furthest from the vertical structure (annotated 2—Fig.1 above).
As per claim 19, Vilsmeier teaches The method of claim 11.
Vilsmeier does not teach, further comprising at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure.
Rasmussen teaches, further comprising at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure (60b—Fig.46: deck adjacent vertical structure adjacent horizontal structure).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Vilsmeier (directed to a furniture item secure to a vertical structure adapted to vertically translate along the vertical wall structure) and Rasmussen (directed to at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure) and arrived at a furniture items configured to move vertically at least one of a couch, a bedside table, and a desk disposed adjacent to the vertical structure and beneath the horizontal structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide an accessible bed for an addition users in a stowed position as taught in Rasmussen (pg.4 para [0005]).
As per claim 20, Vilsmeier (as modified) teaches:
The method of claim 19, wherein the pivot point is located at a point on at least one of the couch and the bedside table furthest from the vertical structure (annotated 2—Fig.1 above pivot point located furthest from vertical structure).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S Patent Application 2002/0088052 A1 to Vilsmeier
Applicant’s Arguments:
Regarding the Non-Final Rejection filed on 11/17/2025, the Applicant argues,
Regarding independent claims 1 & 11, Without acceding to the rejections, independent claims 1 and 11 are amended herein. Independent claim 1, as amended, recites "at least one support structure attached to the horizontal structure" and "a dedicated support motor connected to the at least one support structure and adapted to extend and retract the at least one support structure, wherein loss of power to the dedicated support motor causes extension of the at least one support structure to an extended position," which Applicant respectfully submits is not described, taught, or suggested by Vilsmeier.
Vilsmeier appears to be directed to a "lift bed with a bed frame carried on at least two carriages, whereby each carriage is supported movably on a guide rail arranged vertically for moving the bed frame in the vertical direction."1 More specifically, Vilsmeier describes "a lift bed 1 according to the invention with a bed frame 2, a mattress 3 indicated as an example as well as a guide device 4" and "[t]he guide device 4 includes a vertical guide rail 5 to which a carriage 6, that is rigidly joined to the bed frame 2, can move vertically up and down."2 However, Vilsmeier is silent regarding at least "at least one support structure attached to the horizontal structure" and "a dedicated support motor connected to the at least one support structure and adapted to extend and retract the at least one support structure" as presently recited in amended claim 1. Further, by failing to describe at least the "at least one support structure" and "dedicated support motor," Vilsmeier necessarily also fails to describe, teach, or suggest "wherein loss of power to the dedicated support motor causes extension of the at least one support structure to an extended position" as presently recited in amended claim 1.
Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Vilsmeier does not teach or suggest all of the limitations of amended independent claim 1. Independent claim 11 has been amended to include limitations similar to independent claim 1 and is therefore also patentable over Vilsmeier for at least the same reasons. Claims 2-3, 5-8, 12-13, and 15-18 depend, directly or indirectly, from independent claims 1 or 11 and are also patentable over Vilsmeier for at least the same reasons set forth above. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections to claims 1-3, 5-8, 11-13, and 15-18 is respectfully requested.
Examiner's Response to Arguments:
The examiner respectfully disagrees to the Applicant’s Arguments for the following reasons
1) Regarding independent claims 1 & 11, the examiner maintains that Vilsmeier teaches "at least one support structure attached to the horizontal structure" because element (9—Fig.3) of Vilsmeier may be considered a vertical structure because it supports the horizontal structure (para [0028-29]). The examiner further submits that Vilsmeier teaches "a dedicated support motor connected to the at least one support structure and adapted to extend and retract the at least one support structure" because the motor element allows the support structure to extend or retract in a vertical direction. Further it may be appreciated that Vilsmeier teaches "wherein loss of power to the dedicated support motor causes extension of the at least one support structure to an extended position" because under a loss of power in a case of power failure drive belt can manually move bedframe.
2)
3)
Conclusion
20. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application 2004/0262949 A1 discloses a structure is described which includes a system having a support member and a toothed wheel which cooperate with each other to vertically move a bed.
U.S Patent Application 2004/0143901 A1 discloses a retractable bed is disclosed which can be automatically raised and lowered in a vertical fashion. The retractable bed includes a frame for holding a mattress; and means for raising and lowering said bed through vertical displacement, such as one or more motors.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.T.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3673 01/14/2026
/JUSTIN C MIKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3673