DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending and under examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Figure 6a (Figure 6 does not have part a). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15, 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the recitation of “the immunogenic composition of any one of claim 1” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which immunogenic composition the claim is referring.
Dependent claims 18 and 19 are rejected for same reason because it depends on claim 15 and does not remedy the indefiniteness of the claim.
Claim 20 is a “use” claim that fails to recite any steps. It is unclear what the claim encompasses for the “use.” Moreover, the recitation of “any one of claim 1” also renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what “any one” in claim 1 it is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “use of the immunogenic composition” without any steps does not fall within any of the statutory category: process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horwitz (WO2018026729), in view of He et al. (CN111303297).
Horwitz teaches vaccines that is a recombinant live vaccine strain (LVS) comprising a recombinant attenuated Francisella tularensis subspecies holarctica having a deleted capB gene, and expressing an antigen presented in F. tularensis, B. anthracis, Y. pestis, as well as those identified by diseases/pathogens and/or those identified by the center for disease control as USDA Federal select agents and toxins (page 22, lines 3-8, page 3, 5-11). Horwitz teaches the vaccine can elicit an immune response in a mammalian host when the immunogenic composition is administered orally, intradermally (i.d.), subcutaneously (s.q.), intramuscularly (i.m.) or intranasally (i.n.) (page 22, lines 16-20). Horwitz teaches the multiantigen vectors are introduced into recombinant F. tularensis holarctica (page 64 and 68, Table 2 and 3).
However, Horwitz does not teach the antigenic polypeptide epitope is from SARS-CoV-2.
He et al. teach SARS-CoV-2 belongs to coronaviruses family and causes viral pneumonia/pulmonary infection (page 1, 3rd paragraph). He et al. teaches a double antigen sandwich method for detecting recombinant protein of viral antibody, wherein the recombinant protein is a fusion protein of multiple dominant epitopes of SARS-CoV-2 (page 1, last paragraph). He et al. teaches the predominant epitopes of the new coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 N protein, S protein and M protein are screened by calculation and prediction, and they are connected together by flexible polypeptides (GGGS) to form the SARS-CoV-2 virus multi-dominant epitope fusion protein as shown in SEQ ID NO: 1 (page 7, lines 2-6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the LVS vaccine platform taught by Horwitz may be used to generate immunogenic compositions expressing a wide variety of antigenic epitopes based on the teaching from Horwitz. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to express multiple dominant epitopes from SARS-CoV-2 because this infectious virus causes life threatening conditions at the time of filing. The ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to use the multiple dominant epitopes fusion from SARS-CoV-2 encoded by SEQ ID NO: 1 to generate immunogenic response responding to multiple antigens from S, N and M, which are known at the time to have antibody response as demonstrated by He et al. Substituting one antigenic polypeptide from the teaching of Horwitz with another prior art known antigenic polypeptide taught by He et al. would have been within the capability of an ordinary skilled in the art. Therefore, the claimed invention of claim 1, 8 and 15 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Regarding claims 2-3, 9 and 10, He et al. teaches a peptide epitope fusion present in SARS-CoV-2 S, M and N, SEQ ID NO:1. Claim 3 and claim 10 recite “LVS expresses a fusion protein comprising at least one peptide epitope present in SARS-CoV-2 M and at least one peptide epitope present in SARS-CoV-2 N phosphoprotein,” which does not exclude additional epitopes. Therefore, SEQ ID NO: 1 from He also meets this claim limitation.
Regarding claim 4 and claim 12, SEQ ID NO: 1 taught by He et al. is at least 50, 100, 200 nucleotides in length (page 7, 3rd paragraph).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, since the claim does not specify what excipient is adapted for either oral and intranasal administration, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that any prior art known excipient routinely used for oral or intranasal administration as taught by Horwitz meets this claim limitation.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Horwitz teaches administering the immunogenic composition in a primary and a subsequent homologous booster vaccination (page 24, lines 22-25).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Horwitz teaches the immunogenic composition may be administered orally or intranasally (page 3, line 18).
Regarding claim 20, since the claim does not set forth any steps of how to use the immunogenic composition, the use of immunogenic composition taught by Horwitz (such as generating immunogenic response) meets the claim limitation.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horwitz and He, as applied to claims 1, 2 and 8 above, and further in view of Vilalta (US 2007/0105193, IDS).
The teaching from Horwitz and He has been discussed above.
However, neither reference teaches codon optimization of the antigenic polypeptide.
Vilatlta teaches an immunogenic composition that raises immune response in a vertebrate comprising polynucleotide that encodes a coding region from SARS-CoV, or a fragment of codon optimized coding region (paragraph [0015]). Vilatlta teaches codon optimization is for the purpose of confer optimal expression and safety in the subject it is intended to deliver to (paragraph [0082]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art that the immunogenic composition expressing antigenic polypeptide encoding the SARS-CoV-2 antigen rendered obvious by combined teaching from Horwitz and He may be codon optimized for safety and optimal expression based on teaching from Vilatlta. As demonstrated by Vilatlta, codon optimization to a specific organism for optimal expression was routinely practiced at the time the application was filed. Therefore, the claimed invention of claims 6 and 13 would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art at the time the application was filed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/CELINE X QIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637