DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 3/12/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 12/12/2025. Claims 1, 5, 7, 10-11, 16, 18, and 43 have been amended. Claims 6, 9, and 15 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 10-13, 16-18, and 43 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/12/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment to the Claim have
overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Final Rejection mailed on 12/12/2025.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-12), filed on 3/12/2026, with respect to claims 1 have been
fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 9, for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Shaheen fails to teach that the USIM1 sends, to the target base station 605, information of the USIM2 causing the USIM2 to reside on the target base station 605.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. SHAHEEN (US 2022/0361058 Al) discloses USIM1 of UE 602 may indicate multiUSIM support of UE 602 (e.g., support USIM2) to target base station 605, Shaheen: [0115]-[0116]”, and “if source base station 604 determines that Quality of Service (QoS) for UE 602 is poor in System 1 based on the measurement report, source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, Shaheen: [0114]”.
Regarding remarks in page 9, for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Park only teaches that, the wireless device 2612 sends, to the second base station 2608, a message comprising assistance information, and the assistance information is used to indicate that the wireless device is a multi-SIM device (e.g., a dual-SIM device), instead of residing the second SIM on the second base station; the assistance information is used by the second base station 2608 to determine a communication gap, instead of residing the second SIM on the second base station. Therefore, Park fails to teach or suggest "wherein the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station" in amended claim 1.
Park et al. (US 2020/0351818 Al) states that “The wireless device may stop and/or refrain from transmitting/receiving one or more signals to/from the second cell (and/or other serving cells of the wireless device in/during the second PLMN) in the monitoring gap. The wireless device may stop and/or refrain from monitoring one or more channels in the second cell (and/or the other serving cells) in/during the communication gap. Park: [0217]”, “The wireless device may send information (e.g., assistance information), corresponding to the system information, to the second system. The second system may configure resources and/or resource gaps (e.g., monitoring gaps, communication gaps) for the wireless device to monitor and/or communicate with the first system, Park: [0181]”, and “The gaps may enable a wireless device to communicate with a base station/wireless network without dropping a connection (e.g., an RRC connection) with another base station/wireless network, thereby maintaining higher quality of service, Park: [0245]”. Park discloses “the wireless device 2612 may send, to the second base station 2608, a message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may indicate radio resources (e.g., at the first cell) via which the wireless device transmits/receives signals from the first wireless network (e.g., the first base station and/or the first cell). The assistance information may indicate that the wireless device is a multi-SIM device (e.g., a dual-SIM device). The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to the second base station and based on the signal information, a first message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network and/or radio resources configured by the wireless device at the first wireless network, Park: [0243], [0267]-[0269]”.
Regarding remarks in page 9-10, for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Zhu only teaches the base station receives identity information associated with UE from the first SIM and the second SIM and the UE identifies a serving cell associated with the second SIM, but fails to teach information of the second SIM includes both identification information and state information of the second SIM.
Zhu (WO 2018/141148 Al) states that “The identity information may be transmitted, in some examples, using at least one of an IE of a data packet, a RRC connection message, a dedicated RRC message, or a combination thereof, Zhu: [0090]”. Zhu discloses “network may compare the received identity information from the first SIM and the second SIM with an identity of UE. UE may identify a serving cell associated with the second SIM. the second SIM may be an idle mode. Zhu: [0088], [0101]”.
Regarding remarks in page 10, for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Shaheen (see paras. [0114]-[01151) teaches at most that the USIM1 of UE 602 receives a handover command from the source base station 604, rather than the target base station 605; and the handover command is sent by the source base station 604 in response to the decision on handover of the USIM1 to the target base station 605, rather than by the target base station 605 in response to information of the USIM2. The handover command of Shaheen includes information of the target base station 605 associated with the USIM2, so that the USIM1 is switched to the target base station 605, rather than instructing the USIM2 to reside on the target base station 605.
Shaheen states that “the residence indication comprises an indication that a communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from a base station Source AMF 606 and target AMF 607 may be updated as a result of the handover process between source base station 604 and target base station 605 of System 1. Shaheen: [0115]”, and “HSS 608 may also send an HSS LAU response or an HSS RAU response to USIM1 of UE 602 via target AMF 607 and target base station 605, Shaheen: [0120]”. Shaheen discloses “source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, After UE receives the handover command, UE may synchronize with and begin data transmission with target-BS associated with USIM1 of UE. Shaheen: [0114]-[0115], [0160]-[0161]”.
Regarding remarks in page 11, for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that the cited paragraphs only teach the RRC connection setup complete message sent by the second SIM 415 to the second base station 105-c indicates that a communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from its camped base station to the second base station 105-c. However, the second base station 105-c is a base station on which the first SIM 410 resides, rather than the claimed second base station to which the first SIM switches. Therefore, Zhu neither teach that the first SIM 410 receives the RRC connection setup complete message sent by the second base station 105-c in response to the information of the second SIM 415, nor that a communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from its camped base station to the claimed second base station to which the first SIM switches.
Zhu discloses “determining that a serving cell of the first subscription is different from a serving cell of the second subscription; triggering cell reselection to the serving cell of the first subscription for the second subscription based at least in part on the determining; and initiating an RRC connection for the second subscription based at least in part on triggering the cell reselection. UE communication manager may identify a second serving cell of the second subscription of the second SIM based on the multi-subscription coordination capability. UE communication manager may identify that a different base station (not shown) is a serving cell of the second SIM of UE. UE may determine that the identified serving cell of the second SIM is different from the base station 105-c. the RRC connection setup complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection establishment, Zhu: [0014], [0083]-[0085], [0101] - [0103]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 10-11, 13, 16-18, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
ZHU et al. (WO 2018/141148 Al, hereinafter “Zhu”) in view of SHAHEEN (US 2022/0361058 Al, hereinafter “Shaheen”) and in further view of Park et al. (US 2020/0351818 Al, hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses:
A method for base station switching, performed by a terminal (switch a connection to base station 105-c from a different camped cell, Zhu: [0103])
the information of the second SIM comprises: identification information and state information of the second SIM (network may compare the received identity information from the first SIM and the second SIM with an identity of UE. UE may identify a serving cell associated with the second SIM. the second SIM may be an idle mode. Zhu: [0088], [0101]); and
and the residence indication comprises an indication that a communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from the base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (determining that a serving cell of the first subscription is different from a serving cell of the second subscription; triggering cell reselection to the serving cell of the first subscription for the second subscription based at least in part on the determining; and initiating an RRC connection for the second subscription based at least in part on triggering the cell reselection. UE communication manager may identify a second serving cell of the second subscription of the second SIM based on the multi-subscription coordination capability. UE communication manager may identify that a different base station (not shown) is a serving cell of the second SIM of UE. UE may determine that the identified serving cell of the second SIM is different from the base station 105-c. the RRC connection setup complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection establishment, Zhu: [0014], [0083]-[0085], [0101] - [0103]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
comprising a first subscriber identity module (SIM) in a connected state and a second SIM in an inactive state, the method comprising:
in response to the terminal switching the first SIM from a first base station to a second base station, sending, by the first SIM, information of the second SIM to the second base station,
so that a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal,
receiving, by the first SIM, a residence indication sent by the second base station in response to the information of the second SIM, wherein the residence indication is configured to instruct the second SIM to reside on the second base station,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shaheen teaches:
comprising a first subscriber identity module (SIM) in a connected state and a second SIM in an inactive state, the method comprising (when USIM1 of UE 602 is active data communication with source base station 604, USIM2 of UE 602 may be in an RRC Inactive state or an RRC Idle state, Shaheen: [0112]-[0113]):
in response to the terminal switching the first SIM from a first base station to a second base station, sending, by the first SIM, information of the second SIM to the second base station (USIM1 of UE 602 may indicate multiUSIM support of UE 602 (e.g., support USIM2) to target base station 605, Shaheen: [0115]-[0116]),
so that a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal (if source base station 604 determines that Quality of Service (QoS) for UE 602 is poor in System 1 based on the measurement report, source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, Shaheen: [0114]),
receiving, by the first SIM, a residence indication sent by the second base station in response to the information of the second SIM, wherein the residence indication is configured to instruct the second SIM to reside on the second base station (source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, After UE receives the handover command, UE may synchronize with and begin data transmission with target-BS associated with USIM1 of UE. Shaheen: [0114]-[0115], [0160]-[0161]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Shaheen in order to further modify comprising a first subscriber identity module (SIM) in a connected state and a second SIM in an inactive state, and sending information of the second SIM to the second base station, and a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal and receiving a residence indication sent by the second base station in response to the information of the second SIM, from the teachings of Shaheen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide the ongoing data session between source bastion station is handover to target base station without interruption (Shaheen: [0118]).
Yet, Zhu in view of Shaheen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station (the wireless device 2612 may send, to the second base station 2608, a message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may indicate radio resources (e.g., at the first cell) via which the wireless device transmits/receives signals from the first wireless network (e.g., the first base station and/or the first cell). The assistance information may indicate that the wireless device is a multi-SIM device (e.g., a dual-SIM device). The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to the second base station and based on the signal information, a first message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network and/or radio resources configured by the wireless device at the first wireless network, Park: [0243], [0267]-[0269]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Shaheen in view of Park in order to further modify the information of the second SIM that is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide advantages such as reduced interference, increased reliability, reduced latency, and/or improved interoperability for the wireless device to use different networks, devices, services (Park: [0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the residence indication sent by the second base station in response to the information of the second SIM comprises at least one of:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) signaling carrying the residence indication sent by the second base station (UE may receive and assign a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) to the second SIM. RNTI may associate the second SIM with the base station, Zhu: [0101]);
Zhu in view of Shaheen does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling carrying the residence indication sent by the second base station; and
receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling carrying the residence indication sent by the second base station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
receiving a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling carrying the residence indication sent by the second base station (system information message may be transmitted via physical layer messaging, MAC layer messaging, Park: [0248], [0269], [0278]); and
receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling carrying the residence indication sent by the second base station (message may comprise at least one of an RRC message, a MAC CE, a PDCCH signal, Park: [0292]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Shaheen in view of Park in order to further modify receiving a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide advantages such as reduced interference, increased reliability, reduced latency, and/or improved interoperability for the wireless device to use different networks, devices, services (Park: [0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the base station where the second SIM currently resides comprises: the first base station (second SIM may receive an RRC connection reconfiguration message from base station. the RRC connection reconfiguration message may be command to modify an RRC connection for the second SIM, e.g., switch a connection to base station from a different camped cell, Zhu: [0103]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein sending the information of the second SIM to the second base station comprises:
sending, by the first SIM, an RRC reconfiguration complete signaling carrying the information of the second SIM to the second base station (second SIM may transmit an RRC connection setup complete message to base station. the RRC connection setup complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection establishment, Zhu: [0102] - [0103]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhu discloses:
A method for base station switching, performed by a second base station, the method comprising (switch a connection to base station from a different camped cell, Zhu: [0103]):
the information of the second SIM comprises: identification information and state information of the second SIM (network may compare the received identity information from the first SIM and the second SIM with an identity of UE. UE may identify a serving cell associated with the second SIM. the second SIM may be an idle mode. Zhu: [0088], [0101])
determining, based on the information of the second SIM, to switch the second SIM in the inactive state from a base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (determining availability of resources based on indications from parent nodes, Zhu: Fig. 15, [0083], [0124]).
sending a residence indication to the first SIM, wherein the residence indication is configured to instruct the second SIM to reside on the second base station (UE may identify a serving cell associated with the second SIM and determine that the identified serving cell of the second SIM is different from the base station, Zhu: [0100] - [0103]),
and the residence indication comprises an indication that a communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from the base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (determining that a serving cell of the first subscription is different from a serving cell of the second subscription; triggering cell reselection to the serving cell of the first subscription for the second subscription based at least in part on the determining; and initiating an RRC connection for the second subscription based at least in part on triggering the cell reselection. UE communication manager may identify a second serving cell of the second subscription of the second SIM based on the multi-subscription coordination capability. UE communication manager may identify that a different base station (not shown) is a serving cell of the second SIM of UE. UE may determine that the identified serving cell of the second SIM is different from the base station 105-c. the RRC connection setup complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection establishment, Zhu: [0014], [0083]-[0085], [0101] - [0103]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
receiving information of a second subscriber identity module (SIM) in an inactive state sent by a terminal, wherein the information of the second SIM is sent in response to a first SIM in a connected state of the terminal switching from a first base station to the second base station,
So that a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shaheen teaches:
receiving information of a second subscriber identity module (SIM) in an inactive state sent by a terminal, wherein the information of the second SIM is sent in response to a first SIM in a connected state of the terminal switching from a first base station to the second base station (when USIM1 of UE 602 is active data communication with source base station 604, USIM2 of UE 602 may be in an RRC Inactive state or an RRC Idle state. handover command contains information of the target base station associated with a first universal subscriber identity module (USIM) of the UE, and information of at least one candidate target base station associated with a second USIM of the UE, Shaheen: [0009], [0112]-[0113]),
So that a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal (if source base station 604 determines that Quality of Service (QoS) for UE 602 is poor in System 1 based on the measurement report, source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, Shaheen: [0114]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Shaheen in order to further modify receiving information of a second subscriber identity module (SIM) in an inactive state sent by a terminal, wherein the information of the second SIM is sent in response to a first SIM in a connected state of the terminal switching from a first base station to the second base station, and a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal from the teachings of Shaheen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide the ongoing data session between source bastion station is handover to target base station without interruption (Shaheen: [0118]).
Yet, Zhu in view of Shaheen does not explicitly disclose:
and the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station;
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
and the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station (the wireless device 2612 may send, to the second base station 2608, a message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may indicate that the wireless device is a multi-SIM device (e.g., a dual-SIM device). The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to the second base station and based on the signal information, a first message comprising the assistance information, Park: [0243], [0267]-[0269]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Shaheen in view of Park in order to further modify the information of the second SIM that is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station e from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide advantages such as reduced interference, increased reliability, reduced latency, and/or improved interoperability for the wireless device to use different networks, devices, services (Park: [0004]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Zhu further discloses:
obtaining, based on the information of the second SIM, context information of the second SIM from the base station where the second SIM currently resides (transmitter may transmit a SIM association between a first SIM and a second SIM to a first serving cell, and may transmit the SIM association via a new RRC connection setup complete message, Zhu: [0113]);
in response to successfully obtaining the context information of the second SIM and determining that the core network switches the communication path of the second SIM to the second base station (transmitter may transmit a SIM association between a first SIM and a second SIM to a first serving cell, and may transmit the SIM association via a new RRC connection setup complete message, Zhu: [0113]),
switching a resident base station of the second SIM in the inactive state from the base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (cell reselection may include the second SIM initialing an RRC connection setup message between the second SIM and the base station. second SIM may receive an RRC connection setup message from base station and may be an idle mode, Zhu: [0106] - [0107]).
Zhu in view of Shaheen does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 10, wherein determining, based on the information of the second SIM, to switch the second SIM in the inactive state from a base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station comprises at least one of:
requesting a core network to switch the communication path of the second SIM to the second base station; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein determining, based on the information of the second SIM, to switch the second SIM in the inactive state from a base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station comprises at least one of (wireless device may be in an RRC connected state at the first wireless network of the first base station. the wireless device may be in an inactive state or idle state with respect to the other base station, Park: [0205], [0213], [0233]):
requesting a core network to switch the communication path of the second SIM to the second base station (base station may send a path switch request for a wireless device to a core network entity after or in response to requesting and/or receiving a context, Park: [0166] - [0167]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Shaheen in view of Park in order to further modify requesting a core network to switch a communication path of the second SIM to the second base station from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide advantages such as reduced interference, increased reliability, reduced latency, and/or improved interoperability for the wireless device to use different networks, devices, services (Park: [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein requesting the core network to switch the communication path of the second SIM to the second base station comprises:
sending, based on the received context information sent by the base station where the second SIM currently resides, a path handover request to the core network, wherein the path handover request is configured to request the core network to switch the communication path between the core network and the second SIM from the base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (network may validate device identity by forwarding the reporting from UE to a core network for validation. core network may forward the identity to RAN, e.g. in Initial Context Setup message, UE context modification message, or Handover Request message, Zhu: [0088], [0091]- [0092]);
determining that the core network switches the communication path of the second SIM to the second base station comprises (core network may validate the base station reported device identity by comparing it with the identity from home subscriber server, Zhu: [0088], [0091]- [0092]):
receiving a path handover success indication sent by the core network in response to the path handover request (base station may receive from a first SIM and a second SIM identity information associated with UE. base station may compare the identity information received and validate the identity information based on the comparison, Zhu: [0088], [0091]- [0092]); and
determining, based on the path handover success indication, the communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from the base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (determining that the first subscription of the at least two SIMs is in a RRC connected state and the second subscription of the at least two SIMs is in a RRC idle state, Zhu: Fig. 15, [0083], [0124]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein sending the residence indication to the first SIM comprises at least one of:
sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling carrying the residence indication to the first SIM (UE may receive and assign a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) to the second SIM. RNTI may associate the second SIM with the base station, Zhu: [0101]);
Zhu in view of Shaheen does not explicitly disclose:
sending a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling carrying the residence indication to the first SIM;
sending a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling carrying the residence indication to the first SIM.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
sending a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling carrying the residence indication to the first SIM (system information message may be transmitted via physical layer messaging, MAC layer messaging, Park: [0248], [0269], [0278]);
sending a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling carrying the residence indication to the first SIM (message may comprise at least one of an RRC message, a MAC CE, a PDCCH signal, Park: [0292]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Shaheen in view of Park in order to further modify sending a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) signaling and a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide advantages such as reduced interference, increased reliability, reduced latency, and/or improved interoperability for the wireless device to use different networks, devices, services (Park: [0004]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein receiving the information of the second SIM sent by the terminal comprises:
receiving an RRC reconfiguration complete signaling carrying the information of the second SIM that is sent by the first SIM to the second base station (second SIM may transmit an RRC connection setup complete message to base station. the RRC connection setup complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection establishment, Zhu: [0101] - [0103]);
Regarding claim 18, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 10, wherein the base station where the second SIM currently resides comprises: the first base station (second SIM may receive an RRC connection reconfiguration message from base station. the RRC connection reconfiguration message may be command to modify an RRC connection for the second SIM, e.g., switch a connection to base station from a different camped cell, Zhu: [0103]).
Regarding claim 43, Zhu discloses:
A communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory, and an executable program stored on the memory and capable of being run by the processor, wherein when the executable program is run by the processor, the processor is configured to (including processor, memory, transceiver. processor may be configured to execute computer readable instructions stored in a memory to perform various functions, Zhu: [0129] - [0130]):
the information of the second SIM comprises: identification information and state information of the second SIM (network may compare the received identity information from the first SIM and the second SIM with an identity of UE. UE may identify a serving cell associated with the second SIM. the second SIM may be an idle mode. Zhu: [0088], [0101]); and
and the residence indication comprises an indication that a communication path of the second SIM is successfully switched from the base station where the second SIM currently resides to the second base station (determining that a serving cell of the first subscription is different from a serving cell of the second subscription; triggering cell reselection to the serving cell of the first subscription for the second subscription based at least in part on the determining; and initiating an RRC connection for the second subscription based at least in part on triggering the cell reselection. UE communication manager may identify a second serving cell of the second subscription of the second SIM based on the multi-subscription coordination capability. UE communication manager may identify that a different base station (not shown) is a serving cell of the second SIM of UE. UE may determine that the identified serving cell of the second SIM is different from the base station 105-c. the RRC connection setup complete message is used to confirm successful completion of an RRC connection establishment, Zhu: [0014], [0083]-[0085], [0101] - [0103]).
Zhu does not explicitly disclose:
in response to a terminal switching a first subscriber identity module (SIM) in a connected state from a first base station to a second base station, send information of a second SIM in an inactive state to the second base station,
so that a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal,
receive a residence indication sent by the second base station via the first SIM in response to the information of the second SIM, wherein the residence indication is configured to instruct the second SIM to reside on the second base station,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shaheen teaches:
in response to a terminal switching a first subscriber identity module (SIM) in a connected state from a first base station to a second base station, send information of a second SIM in an inactive state to the second base station (when USIM1 of UE 602 is active data communication with source base station 604, USIM2 of UE 602 may be in an RRC Inactive state or an RRC Idle state. USIM1 of UE 602 may indicate multiUSIM support of UE 602 (e.g., support USIM2) to target base station 605, Shaheen: [0112]-[0113], [0115]-[0116]),
so that a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal (if source base station 604 determines that Quality of Service (QoS) for UE 602 is poor in System 1 based on the measurement report, source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, Shaheen: [0114]),
receive a residence indication sent by the second base station via the first SIM in response to the information of the second SIM, wherein the residence indication is configured to instruct the second SIM to reside on the second base station (source base station 604 may perform a handover process to target base station 605. The handover process may include USIM1 of UE 602 receiving a handover command, which contains information of target base station 605 and at least one candidate target base station (e.g., target base station 603) associated with USIM2 of UE 602, Shaheen: [0114]-[0115]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu in view of Shaheen in order to further modify sending information of the second SIM to the second base station, and a base station where the second SIM currently resides is changed according to a change of base station signals or a movement of the terminal ,and receiving a residence indication sent by the second base station in response to the information of the second SIM from the teachings of Shaheen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide the ongoing data session between source bastion station is handover to target base station without interruption (Shaheen: [0118]).
Yet, Zhu in view of Shaheen does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the information of the second SIM is configured to reside the second SIM on the second base station (the wireless device 2612 may send, to the second base station 2608, a message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may indicate radio resources (e.g., at the first cell) via which the wireless device transmits/receives signals from the first wireless network (e.g., the first base station and/or the first cell). The assistance information may indicate that the wireless device is a multi-SIM device (e.g., a dual-SIM device). The wireless device may send (e.g., transmit), to the second base station and based on the signal information, a first message comprising the assistance information. The assistance information may comprise indication of radio resources that are to be avoided, by the wireless base station, for communicating with the second wireless network and/or radio resources configured by the wireless device at the first wireless network, Park: [0243], [0267]-[0269]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu and Shaheen in view of Park in order to further modify configuring the information of the second SIM to reside the second SIM in an inactive state on the second base station, and the first SIM in a connected state from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may provide advantages such as reduced interference, increased reliability, reduced latency, and/or improved interoperability for the wireless device to use different networks, devices, services (Park: [0004]).
Claims 3-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu-Shaheen-Park
and in further view of YANG et al. (US 2016/0057683 Al, hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhu-Shaheen-Park does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
residing the second SIM on the second base station in response to receiving the residence indication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
residing the second SIM on the second base station in response to receiving the residence indication (serving base station of a second SIM is determined for a cell reselection procedure from among the neighboring base stations and the serving base station of the second SIM. serving base station of the second SIM is added to the list of neighboring base stations of the first SIM, Yang: Fig. 5, [0055] - [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu-Shaheen-Park in view of Yang in order to further modify residing the second SIM on the second base station in response to receiving the residence indication from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would determine a final target base station for a cell reselection procedure and/or cell change order procedure from among the neighboring base stations and the serving base station of the second SIM (Yang: [0010]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu-Shaheen-Park-Yang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 3, wherein residing the second SIM on the second base station in response to receiving the residence indication comprises:
residing the second SIM on the second base station in response to the first SIM forwarding the received residence indication to the second SIM (UE may reselect the RRC idle state SIM to the same cell as the RRC connected state SIM. UE may indicate SIM association to the base station, Zhu: Zhu: [0101]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu-Shaheen-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Zhu further discloses:
The method of claim 11, wherein obtaining, based on the information of the second SIM, the context information of the second SIM from the base station where the second SIM currently resides comprises (transmitter may transmit a SIM association between a first SIM and a second SIM to a first serving cell, and may transmit the SIM association via a new RRC connection setup complete message, Zhu: [0113]):
sending, based on the information of the second SIM, a context information request to the base station where the second SIM currently resides, wherein the context information request is configured to request the context information of the second SIM (UE may identify a serving cell associated with the second SIM and determine that the identified serving cell of the second SIM is different from the base station. If the camped cell of the second SIM is not same as for the first SIM, the second SIM may trigger cell reselection. the first SIM may report an association with the second SIM to base station by RRC signaling, Zhu: [0101] - [0102]); and
Zhu-Shaheen-Park does not explicitly disclose:
receiving the context information of the second SIM sent by the base station where the second SIM currently resides in response to the context information request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches:
receiving the context information of the second SIM sent by the base station where the second SIM currently resides in response to the context information request (serving base station of a second SIM is determined for a cell reselection procedure from among the neighboring base stations and the serving base station of the second SIM. serving base station of the second SIM is added to the list of neighboring base stations of the first SIM, Yang: Fig. 5, [0055] - [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu-Shaheen-Park in view of Yang in order to further modify receiving the context information of the second SIM sent by the base station where the second SIM currently resides in response to the context information request from the teachings of Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would improve the performance of existing wideband protocols (Yang: [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 April 17, 2026