DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application, filed 10 November, 2022, is a national stage application of PCT/JP2021/017368, filed 6 May, 2021, which claims foreign benefit of Application JP2020-083163, filed 11 May, 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
Four information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10 November, 2022; 22 May, 2024; 3 June, 2024; and 25 July, 2024 are acknowledged and have been considered.
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s claimed invention, filed 10 November, 2022, in the matter of Application N° 17/924,447. Said documents have been entered on the record.
Claims 1-27 are canceled. Claims 28-50 are new. No new matter was introduced.
Thus, Claims 28-50 represent all claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-32 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 29 and 41 recite “wherein the compound or salt thereof comprises cilostazol.” This language is improper because a compound cannot “comprise” another compound.
While independent Claim 28 recites administering a second dose of a compound to a subject previously administered with a first dose and is understood under its broadest reasonable interpretation, dependent Claims 30-32 introduce ambiguity by reciting a total dose including both the first and second doses, even though Claim 28 does not require administering the first dose. Accordingly, it is unclear how the total dose limitation is satisfied by the claimed method.
Claims 38 and 46 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims recite “the subject is not diagnosed with intermittent claudication or stroke.” However, the specification does not reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventors had possession of methods excluding subjects diagnosed with intermittent claudication or stroke.
To the contrary, the specification describes administration of the compound in subjects having intermittent claudication or stroke, including preferred embodiments directed to use in subjects with undiagnosed intermittent claudication or stroke, or in a subject whose stroke is complicated by MCI (instant Specification, Pg. 12, Para 0045.) Thus, the specification affirmatively teaches use of the compound in subjects having intermittent claudication or stroke, rather than exclusion of such subjects.
The specification does not identify intermittent claudication or stroke as conditions to be excluded from treatment or detection, nor does it provide any rationale or guidance suggesting that subjects diagnosed with intermittent claudication or stroke should be excluded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 39-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claims recite a method comprising detecting a compound and metabolites in a biological sample from a patient and optionally calculating an abundance ratio of a metabolite based on detected amounts. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims are directed to observing and analyzing naturally occurring biological information, namely the presence and relative amounts of a drug and its metabolites in a biological sample from a patent. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because detecting compounds or metabolites in a biological sample and calculating a ratio based on detected amounts represent routine and conventional techniques for analyzing biological samples.
Additionally, Claims 47-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the same reasons set forth with respect to Claim 39 above. Claim 47, and Claims 48-50 which rely upon it, incorporate the detecting method of Claim 39 and further recite administering the compound to the patient after the detecting step. However, the additional step of administering the compound does not meaningfully limit the judicial exception identified in Claim 39. The claim does not require that the results of the detecting step be used to determine, modify, or otherwise affect the administration of the compound. Thus, the administering step merely follows the detecting step and does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims therefore encompass methods in which the detecting step is performed and the compound is administered without regard to the results of the detecting step, such that the detecting step does not meaningfully limit the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong (US Patent 7,825,130, published 2 November, 2010 and cited in IDS as WO 2004/075897 A1.)
Regarding Claims 28-32, Hong teaches a method of treating a patient with an Alzheimer’s disease comprising administration of cilostazol and at a daily dosage of 100-400 mg, which may be administered in divided doses (‘130, Abstract, Col 3, Para 2-6.)
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, each administration of a divided daily dose constitutes a dose, and subsequent administrations correspond to a second dose administered to a subject previously administered a first dose.
As such, Claims 28-32 are anticipated by Hong.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-37, 39-45 and 47-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US Patent 7,825,130, published 2 November, 2010 and cited in IDS as WO 2004/075897 A1) as applied to Claims 28-32 above, and further in view of Fu et al. (Journal of Chromatography B, 728: 251-262. 1999, cited in IDS), hereinafter Fu.
The teachings of Hong (2010) are set forth in the above 35 U.S.C. 102 Rejections and
are incorporated herein. Hong teaches a method of treating a patient with an Alzheimer’s disease comprising administration of cilostazol and at a daily dosage of 100-400 mg, which may be administered in divided doses.
Hong fails to explicitly teach the step of detecting the metabolites of cilostazol.
However, Fu teaches the quantitative determination of cilostazol and its metabolites in human plasma. Fu finds that cilostazol is extensively metabolized and that several metabolites are pharmacologically active, specifying OPC-13015 (also known as “3,4-dehydro Cilostazol”) and OPC-1321 (also known as “4’-trans-hydroxy Cilostazol”) as the analytes of interest as they are the major circulating metabolites in human plasma after oral administration of cilostazol (Fu, Abstract, Pg. 258-260, Table 4.)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the detection methods of Fu to subjects treated according to Hong in order to monitor the presence and levels of cilostazol and its metabolites. Such monitoring represents routine practice in the art for evaluating drug exposure, metabolism, and pharmacokinetics, and for assessing patient response to treatment.
Fu’s quantitative determination inherently provides measured amounts of the compound and metabolites, from which relative amounts and ratios can be readily calculated using routine mathematical operations. Additionally, it would have been obvious to employ mass spectrometry, including liquid chromatography-mass spectrometry, as the analytical technique for such detection and quantification, as mass spectrometry was a well-established and routinely used method for sensitive and selective analysis of drugs and their metabolites in biological samples such as plasma.
The combination of Hong and Fu therefore represents the application of known analytical techniques to a known treatment method for their established purpose, yielding predictable results, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,633.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims teach methods of treating dementia, which encompass Alzheimer’s disease, by administering a composition comprising cilostazol, whereas the instant claims recite treating Alzheimer’s disease by administering cilostazol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a subset of dementia patients, such as those having Alzheimer’s disease, using cilostazol, including as a single agent rather than in combination, as such modifications represent routine variations in the administration of known therapeutic agents.
Claims 28-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,737,524.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims teach methods of treating mild cognitive impairment (MCI) using cilostazol. MCI represents an earlier stage of cognitive decline on the continuum that includes Alzheimer’s disease. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the same treatment to patients with more advanced cognitive impairment, such as Alzheimer’s disease, as a matter of routine extension of therapy across related disease states.
Claims 28-32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,409.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims teach administration of cilostazol to patients with mild cognitive impairment to improve interstitial flow, demonstrating that cilostazol was known to affect physiological processes relevant to cognitive disorders. This further supports that use of cilostazol in related conditions such as Alzheimer’s disease would have been obvious.
Communication
/D.M.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/SARAH PIHONAK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627