DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to applicants’ amendment and response received November 3, 2025. Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
All rejections set forth in the previous action are withdrawn in view of applicants’ amendment and response.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 15, 16, 18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto, US 2020/0241424.
Eto teaches a composition for removing resists from semiconductors, wherein the composition contains a basic compound having a nitrogen atom which may be either a quaternary ammonium hydroxide or hydroxylamine derivatives wherein the alkyl groups of the hydroxylamine may have 1 to 3 hydroxyl groups precisely as claimed and include bis(2,2-dihydroxyethyl)hydroxylamine, (¶25-31). These basic compounds may be used alone or in combination and in amounts as high as 20% (¶32-33). The composition may also contain an organic solvent which is a cyclic amide, also a basic compound (¶36). First, as the reference contemplates combinations of quaternary ammonium hydroxide and derivatized hydroxylamine, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use these components in roughly equal proportions and so satisfy the ratio claimed. Furthermore, as each of the cyclic amide, quaternary ammonium hydroxide, and derivatized hydroxylamine are basic compounds, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect these compositions to be extremely alkaline and so have a pH within the range claimed.
With respect to claim 18, the resist may be removed by an immersion or spray method (¶88).
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11, 15, 16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto, US 2020/0241424 in view of Kajikawa et al, US 2016/0272924.
Eto is relied upon as set forth above. Though Eto teaches semiconductor cleaners, the reference does not teach a CMP polish.
Kajikawa et al teach a post-CMP polish (¶39) comprising 0.021% diethylhydroxylamine derivative and water wherein the composition has a pH of 11 (¶154, examples 1-12). Additional alkali compounds of the invention include TMAH (¶116) in preferred amounts as high as 4%, and the hydroxylamine derivatives may be present in preferred amount as high as 5% (¶127). As the reference contemplates mixtures of hydroxylamine derivatives and TMAH, very similar to the composition contemplated by Eto, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the composition of Eto would also have efficacy as a CMP polish as a mixture of hydroxylamine derivative and TMAH is taught by Kajikawa as suitable for CMP polishes.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 11-13, and 15-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto, US 2020/0241424 in view of Kajikawa et al, US 2016/0272924 and further in view of Sakanishi et al, US 2009/0104778.
Kajikawa et al and Eto are relied upon as set forth above. Neither reference teaches a polyglycerol derivative for CMP polishing.
Sakanishi et al do, however, and teach a polyglycerol with a MW of 200 to 3000 precisely as claimed. It is not inventive to add well-known CMP polishing ingredients to a CMP polish and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a polyglycerol derivative to the references above with confidence of forming an effective CMP polish.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-11, 14-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eto, US 2020/0241424 in view of Kajikawa et al, US 2016/0272924 and further in view of Kato, US 2007/0069176.
Kajikawa et al and Eto are relied upon as set forth above. Neither reference teach a histidine chelant for CMP polishing.
Kato does, however, and teach a histidine chelant precisely as claimed. It is not inventive to add well-known CMP polishing ingredients to a CMP polish and so it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add histidine to the references above with confidence of forming an effective CMP polish.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES I BOYER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761