DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS is on file as of 5/11/2026.
Claim Status
Claims 1-23, filed 6/12/2023, are pending. Claims 1-23 are under examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities. claims 1, 3, 4, and 6 recite polypeptide sequences that require SEQ ID NOs but do not have SEQ ID NOs listed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because they include reference characters which are not enclosed within parentheses.
Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description of the drawings and used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
In this case, the SEQ ID NOs are not enclosed in parentheses.
Claims 12-23 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 3 recites “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-, Pro-Arg-Gly-Gln-Hyp-Gly- Val-Met-Gly-Phe-Hyp-Gly-, and -Pro-Lys-Gly-His-Arg-Gly-Phe-Ser-Gly-Leu-Hyp-Gly-.”
This claim is interpreted to refer to the groups of amino acids not “an amino acid residue” based on the specification para. [0006], where these peptide groups are assigned SEQ ID NOs and are clearly meant to be referred to as groups. Furthermore, Applicant’s own example sequences appear to use this meaning as well.
Claim 4 recites the case wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Pro-Arg-Gly- or -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-.
This claim is interpreted to refer to the groups of amino acids not “an amino acid residue” based on the specification para. [0006], where these peptide groups are assigned SEQ ID NOs and are clearly meant to be referred to as groups. Furthermore, Applicant’s own example sequences appear to use this meaning as well.
Claim 5 recites the case wherein the R' and R2 are each independently a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue of two or more Cys (cysteine) residues.
This claim is interpreted to refer to the groups of amino acids not “an amino acid residue” based on the specification para. [0006], where these peptide groups are assigned SEQ ID NOs and are clearly meant to be referred to as groups. Furthermore, Applicant’s own example sequences appear to use this meaning as well.
Claim 7 is interpreted to that SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, and 3 are each present in the composition of claim 1 in the form of P1, P2, and P3. Support for this interpretation is found in specification para. [0029], where using three different peptides in different ratios to obtain different properties is discussed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “The composition according to claim 1, wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-, Pro-Arg-Gly-Gln-Hyp-Gly- Val-Met-Gly-Phe-Hyp-Gly-, and -Pro-Lys-Gly-His-Arg-Gly-Phe-Ser-Gly-Leu-Hyp-Gly-.”
It is not clear if “an amino residue” refers to a single amino acid residue or if it is intended to refer to the groups of residues. The claim is currently interpreted to refer to the groups of residues as described above.
Consequently, claim 3 is rejected.
Claim 4 recites the case wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Pro-Arg-Gly- or -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-.
It is not clear if “an amino residue” refers to a single amino acid residue or if it is intended to refer to the groups of residues. The claim is currently interpreted to refer to the groups of residues as described above.
Consequently, claim 4 is rejected.
Claim 5 recites the case wherein the R' and R2 are each independently a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue of two or more Cys (cysteine) residues.
It is not clear if “an amino residue” refers to a single amino acid residue or if it is intended to refer to the groups of residues. The claim is currently interpreted to refer to the groups of residues as described above.
Consequently, claim 5 is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koide et al. (US 20180319867, published 11/8/2018).
Regarding claim 1, Koide discloses a composition with two or more polymerized peptides: “The gel according to claim 6, comprising a gelling agent prepared by combining at least two kinds of triple-chain peptides with the triple-chain peptide as set forth in claim 1 being a polymerization unit.” (Koide et al., Claim 7).
Koide discloses a three-stranded polymerization unit that may be the same or different:
“That is, this polymerized peptide is the aforementioned polymerized peptide having an oxidatively cross-linked structural unit of a trimer peptide that is formed of three peptide chains and is represented by the following formula (I).
[Chemical formula 1]-(A1,A2,A3)- (I)
In the formula (I), A1, A2 and A3 may be identical to or different from one another, and independently represent peptide chains expressed by the following formula (II). A1, A2 and A3 form a trimer having a triple-helical structure, and may be cross-linked through disulfide bonds established between the cysteine (Cys) residues contained in each peptide chain.” (Koide et al., para. [0021]).
As noted above, these polymerization units may be cross-linked through cysteine residues.
Regarding Formula (II), Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 1 below:
Qy 1 CCCPXGPXGPXGPXGPXGPRGPXGPXGPXGPXGCCC 36
|||| || || || || ||||| || || || ||||
Db 1 CCCPPGPPGPPGPPGPPGPRGPPGPPGPPGPPGCCC 36
The “X” residues are hydroxyproline.
With respect to Formula (II), R1 here is three cysteines, m=5, X is PRG repeated once, n=4 and R2 is also three cysteines.
Consequently, claim 1 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 2 further recites the case wherein P1, P2, and P3 are the same peptide. As described above, Koide discloses that the peptides may be the same or different.
Consequently, claim 2 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 3 further recites the case wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-, Pro-Arg-Gly-Gln-Hyp-Gly- Val-Met-Gly-Phe-Hyp-Gly-, and -Pro-Lys-Gly-His-Arg-Gly-Phe-Ser-Gly-Leu-Hyp-Gly-.
Koide et al. discloses SEQ ID NO: 11:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGFHypGERGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGCCC, wherein X is FHypGERG.
Consequently, claim 3 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 4 further recites the case wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Pro-Arg-Gly- or -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-.
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC.
Here, X is PRG.
Consequently, claim 4 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 5 further recites the case wherein the R' and R2 are each independently a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue of two or more Cys (cysteine) residues.
As described above, SEQ ID NO: 10 of Koide has groups of three cysteines, which reads on two more.
Consequently, claim 5 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 6 further recites the case wherein the peptide chain represented by formula (II) is selected from Rl- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) m-Pro-Arg-Gly- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) n-R2 (i) and R1- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) m-Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) n-R2 (ii).
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC.
Here, R1 is 3 cysteines, m=5, X is PRG, n=4, and R2 is 3 cysteines.
Consequently, claim 6 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 7, claim 1 is anticipated as described above. Claim 7 further recites the case wherein the peptide chain represented by formula (II) is indicated by the following SEQ ID NOs. H-Cys-Cys-Cys-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)5-Pro-Arg-Gly-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)4-Cys-Cys-Cys-OH SEQ ID NO: 1 H-Cys-Cys-(Pro-Hyp-Gly) 5-Pro-Arg-Gly-(Pro-Hyp-Gly) 4-Cys-Cys-OH SEQ ID NO: 2 H-Cys-Cys-Cys-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)4-Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)4-Cys-Cys- Cys-OH SEQ ID NO: 3.
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 1 below:
Qy 1 CCCPXGPXGPXGPXGPXGPRGPXGPXGPXGPXGCCC 36
|||| || || || || ||||| || || || ||||
Db 1 CCCPPGPPGPPGPPGPPGPRGPPGPPGPPGPPGCCC 36
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 23:
CCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 2 below:
Qy 1 CCPXGPXGPXGPXGPXGPRGPXGPXGPXGPXGCC 34
||| || || || || ||||| || || || |||
Db 1 CCPPGPPGPPGPPGPPGPRGPPGPPGPPGPPGCC 34
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 11: CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGFHypGERGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGCCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 3 below:
Qy 1 CCCPXGPXGPXGPXGFXGERGPXGPXGPXGPXGCCC 36
|||| || || || || ||||| || || || ||||
Db 1 CCCPPGPPGPPGPPGFPGERGPPGPPGPPGPPGCCC 36
In each case, X is Hyp.
Koide discloses that these may all be present in the polymerized peptide: “In the invention of the above polymerized peptide, the aforementioned peptide chains may be selected from the peptides having the amino acid sequences selected from the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, 5 to 7, 10 to 18, and 23.” (Koide et al., para. [0036]).
Consequently, claim 7 is anticipated by Koide et al. and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koide et al. (US 20180319867, published 11/8/2018) in view of Kaur et al. (Kaur, et al. Bioactive natural products in drug discovery : 517-545 (2020)) and Hemamalini et al. (Hemamalini, et al. International journal of biological macromolecules 106: 712-718 (2018).
Regarding claim 8, claims 1-7 are anticipated as described above. Koide contemplates the usage of the disclosed peptide in a hydrogel and usage for drug delivery and wound dressings: “The material containing the present polymerized peptide can be used after being processed into a hydrogel or a sheet. Further, by incorporating a functional amino acid sequence present on a biopolymer such as an integrin-binding sequence, it is possible to endow the material with specific physiological functions such as cell adhesiveness. Furthermore, the present invention provides a method for producing a hydrogel and a sheet-shaped processed product, and uses as a composition of cell cultures, wound dressings, regenerative medical materials, research materials and the like using them.” (Koide et al., para. [0011]).
Koide does not explicitly disclose an aqueous filler as described by the current specification.
However, Kaur discloses that starch is used as an inert filler in the pharmaceutical industry: “Native starch is frequently employed in the pharmaceutical industry in the manufacturing of tablets where it acts as an inert filler, binder, glidant, lubricant, and disintegrating agent. Starch is also used in capsules as inert filler and in topical formulations to impart a thick consistency.” (Kaur et al., page 525, para. 4).
Kaur also discloses that “Starch fibers, nanoparticles, microparticles, and hydrogels are also being evaluated as scaffolds for tissue engineering, drug delivery, and wound dressings.” (Kaur et al., page 526, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the starch filler of Kaur with the peptide of Koide to arrive at the claimed invention.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to used starch because it is common: “Among all the polysaccharides, starch is the second abundant compound available in the green plants next to cellulose.” (Hemamalini et al., page 713, col. 2, para. 1). Furthermore, starch, and polysaccharides in general have many desirable properties as fillers:
(Hemamalini et al., page 714, Fig. 2)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Hememalini discloses that starches are used in hydrogels:
(Hemamalini et al., page 714, Fig. 3)
Consequently, claim 8 is obvious over Koide et al. in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 9, claim 8 is obvious as described above. Claim 9 further recites the case wherein the aqueous filler is a sugar. Starch is sugar: “Starch is α(1 → 4)- and α(1 → 6)-linked D-glucose units resulting in formation of two components: amylose and amylopectin.” (Kaur et al., page 524, para. 2).
Consequently, claim 9 is obvious over Koide et al. in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 10, claim 9 is obvious as described above. Claim 10 further recites the case wherein the sugar is one or more of glucose, lactose, sucrose, mannitol, trehalose, and sorbitol. Starch is glucose: “Starch is α(1 → 4)- and α(1 → 6)-linked D-glucose units resulting in formation of two components: amylose and amylopectin.” (Kaur et al., page 524, para. 2).
Consequently, claim 10 is obvious over Koide et al. in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 11, claim 10 is obvious as described above. Claim 11 further recites the case wherein the sugar is glucose. Starch is glucose: “Starch is α(1 → 4)- and α(1 → 6)-linked D-glucose units resulting in formation of two components: amylose and amylopectin.” (Kaur et al., page 524, para. 2).
Consequently, claim 11 is obvious over Koide et al. in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,851,152 in view of Koide et al. US 20180319867, published 11/8/2018.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘152 patent discloses: “A gelling agent comprising at least one kind of a polymerized peptide that has, as a polymerization unit, a triple-chain peptide having a triple-helical structure, and is polymerized by oxidative cross-linking, wherein peptide chains composing the triple-chain peptide are identical to or different from one another, and each peptide chain has:
one or more triple helix forming peptidyl groups each having a repeating structure in which -(Xaa-Yaa-Gly)- as a basic unit is repeated at least 5 times; and
one or more cross-link forming peptidyl groups each comprising at least two cysteine (Cys) residues within 6 residues from each of an amino-terminus and a carboxy-terminus, and wherein
each of Xaa and Yaa is independently selected from a proline (Pro or P) residue, a hydroxyproline (Hyp or O) residue, an arginine (Arg or R) residue, a lysine (Lys or K) residue, a valine (Val or V) residue, a leucine (Leu or L) residue, an isoleucine (Ile or I) residue, a serine (Ser or S) residue, a threonine (Thr or T) residue, an alanine (Ala or A) residue, a glycine (Gly or G) residue, an N-isobutyl glycine residue, a phenylalanine (Phe or F) residue, a methionine (Met or M) residue, a glutamate (Glu or E) residue, an aspartate (Asp or D) residue, an asparagine (Asn or N) residue, a glutamine (Gln or Q) residue, a histidine (His or H) residue, a tryptophan (Trp or W) residue or a tyrosine (Tyr or Y) residue, the proline residue may be modified by an amino group or fluorine atom.”
This claim is broader than Applicant claim 1. However, Koide et al. discloses that the polymerized peptide may be one of a finite number of sequences: “In the invention of the above polymerized peptide, the aforementioned peptide chains may be selected from the peptides having the amino acid sequences selected from the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, 5 to 7, 10 to 18, and 23.”
Specifically, Koide et al. discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 1 below:
Qy 1 CCCPXGPXGPXGPXGPXGPRGPXGPXGPXGPXGCCC 36
|||| || || || || ||||| || || || ||||
Db 1 CCCPPGPPGPPGPPGPPGPRGPPGPPGPPGPPGCCC 36
The “X” residues are hydroxyproline.
With respect to Formula (II), R1 here is three cysteines, m=5, X is PRG repeated once, n=4 and R2 is also three cysteines.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the specific sequence disclosed by Koide et al. in the gelling agent of the ‘152 patent to arrive at the claimed invention.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use this sequence because the sequences recited by Koide et al. meet the limitations of the ‘152 patent and Koide et al. discloses a finite number of exemplary peptides to choose from: SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, 5 to 7, 10 to 18, and 23.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because the sequences recited by Koide et al. meet the limitations of the ‘152 patent.
Consequently, claim 1 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 2, claim 1 is obvious as described above. Claim 2 further recites the case wherein P1, P2, and P3 are the same peptide. As described above, Koide discloses that the peptides may be the same or different.
Consequently, claim 2 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 3, claim 1 is obvious as described above. Claim 3 further recites the case wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-, Pro-Arg-Gly-Gln-Hyp-Gly- Val-Met-Gly-Phe-Hyp-Gly-, and -Pro-Lys-Gly-His-Arg-Gly-Phe-Ser-Gly-Leu-Hyp-Gly-.
Koide et al. discloses SEQ ID NO: 11:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGFHypGERGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGCCC, wherein X is FHypGERG.
Consequently, claim 3 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 4, claim 1 is obvious as described above. Claim 4 further recites the case wherein the X is a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue selected from -Pro-Arg-Gly- or -Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-.
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC.
Here, X is PRG.
Consequently, claim 4 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 5, claim 1 is obvious as described above. Claim 5 further recites the case wherein the R' and R2 are each independently a peptide group consisting of an amino acid residue of two or more Cys (cysteine) residues.
As described above, SEQ ID NO: 10 of Koide has groups of three cysteines, which reads on two more.
Consequently, claim 5 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 is obvious as described above. Claim 6 further recites the case wherein the peptide chain represented by formula (II) is selected from Rl- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) m-Pro-Arg-Gly- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) n-R2 (i) and R1- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) m-Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly- (Pro-Hyp-Gly) n-R2 (ii).
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC.
Here, R1 is 3 cysteines, m=5, X is PRG, n=4, and R2 is 3 cysteines.
Consequently, claim 6 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 7, claim 1 is obvious as described above. Claim 7 further recites the case wherein the peptide chain represented by formula (II) is indicated by the following SEQ ID NOs. H-Cys-Cys-Cys-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)5-Pro-Arg-Gly-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)4-Cys-Cys-Cys-OH SEQ ID NO: 1 H-Cys-Cys-(Pro-Hyp-Gly) 5-Pro-Arg-Gly-(Pro-Hyp-Gly) 4-Cys-Cys-OH SEQ ID NO: 2 H-Cys-Cys-Cys-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)4-Phe-Hyp-Gly-Glu-Arg-Gly-(Pro-Hyp-Gly)4-Cys-Cys- Cys-OH SEQ ID NO: 3.
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 10:
CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGHypPGPHypGCCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 1 below:
Qy 1 CCCPXGPXGPXGPXGPXGPRGPXGPXGPXGPXGCCC 36
|||| || || || || ||||| || || || ||||
Db 1 CCCPPGPPGPPGPPGPPGPRGPPGPPGPPGPPGCCC 36
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 23:
CCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGPRGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 2 below:
Qy 1 CCPXGPXGPXGPXGPXGPRGPXGPXGPXGPXGCC 34
||| || || || || ||||| || || || |||
Db 1 CCPPGPPGPPGPPGPPGPRGPPGPPGPPGPPGCC 34
Koide discloses SEQ ID NO: 11: CCCPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGFHypGERGPHypGPHypGPHypGPHypGCCC, aligned against Applicant SEQ ID NO: 3 below:
Qy 1 CCCPXGPXGPXGPXGFXGERGPXGPXGPXGPXGCCC 36
|||| || || || || ||||| || || || ||||
Db 1 CCCPPGPPGPPGPPGFPGERGPPGPPGPPGPPGCCC 36
In each case, X is Hyp.
Koide discloses that these may all be present in the polymerized peptide: “In the invention of the above polymerized peptide, the aforementioned peptide chains may be selected from the peptides having the amino acid sequences selected from the SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, 5 to 7, 10 to 18, and 23.” (Koide et al., para. [0036]).
Consequently, claim 7 is obvious over the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. and rejected.
Claims 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,851,152 in view of Koide et al. US 20180319867, published 11/8/2018 as applied to claims 1-7 above, further in view of in view of Kaur et al. (Kaur, et al. Bioactive natural products in drug discovery : 517-545 (2020)) and Hemamalini et al. (Hemamalini, et al. International journal of biological macromolecules 106: 712-718 (2018).
Regarding claim 8, claims 1-7 are obvious as described above. Koide contemplates the usage of the disclosed peptide in a hydrogel and usage for drug delivery and wound dressings: “The material containing the present polymerized peptide can be used after being processed into a hydrogel or a sheet. Further, by incorporating a functional amino acid sequence present on a biopolymer such as an integrin-binding sequence, it is possible to endow the material with specific physiological functions such as cell adhesiveness. Furthermore, the present invention provides a method for producing a hydrogel and a sheet-shaped processed product, and uses as a composition of cell cultures, wound dressings, regenerative medical materials, research materials and the like using them.” (Koide et al., para. [0011]).
The ‘152 patent and Koide do not explicitly disclose an aqueous filler as described by the current specification.
However, Kaur discloses that starch is used as an inert filler in the pharmaceutical industry: “Native starch is frequently employed in the pharmaceutical industry in the manufacturing of tablets where it acts as an inert filler, binder, glidant, lubricant, and disintegrating agent. Starch is also used in capsules as inert filler and in topical formulations to impart a thick consistency.” (Kaur et al., page 525, para. 4).
Kaur also discloses that “Starch fibers, nanoparticles, microparticles, and hydrogels are also being evaluated as scaffolds for tissue engineering, drug delivery, and wound dressings.” (Kaur et al., page 526, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the starch filler of Kaur with the peptide of Koide to arrive at the claimed invention.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to used starch because it is common: “Among all the polysaccharides, starch is the second abundant compound available in the green plants next to cellulose.” (Hemamalini et al., page 713, col. 2, para. 1). Furthermore, starch, and polysaccharides in general have many desirable properties as fillers:
(Hemamalini et al., page 714, Fig. 2)
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Hememalini discloses that starches are used in hydrogels:
(Hemamalini et al., page 714, Fig. 3)
Consequently, claim 8 is obvious the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. as applied to claims 1-7 above, further in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 9, claim 8 is obvious as described above. Claim 9 further recites the case wherein the aqueous filler is a sugar. Starch is sugar: “Starch is α(1 → 4)- and α(1 → 6)-linked D-glucose units resulting in formation of two components: amylose and amylopectin.” (Kaur et al., page 524, para. 2).
Consequently, claim 9 is obvious the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. as applied to claims 1-7 above, further in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 10, claim 9 is obvious as described above. Claim 10 further recites the case wherein the sugar is one or more of glucose, lactose, sucrose, mannitol, trehalose, and sorbitol. Starch is glucose: “Starch is α(1 → 4)- and α(1 → 6)-linked D-glucose units resulting in formation of two components: amylose and amylopectin.” (Kaur et al., page 524, para. 2).
Consequently, claim 10 is obvious the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. as applied to claims 1-7 above, further in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Regarding claim 11, claim 10 is obvious as described above. Claim 11 further recites the case wherein the sugar is glucose. Starch is glucose: “Starch is α(1 → 4)- and α(1 → 6)-linked D-glucose units resulting in formation of two components: amylose and amylopectin.” (Kaur et al., page 524, para. 2).
Consequently, claim 11 is obvious the ‘152 patent in view of Koide et al. as applied to claims 1-7 above, further in view of Kaur et al. and Hemamalini et al. and rejected.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, and 12-23 are objected to.
Claims 1-11 are rejected.
/DAVID PAUL BOWLES/ Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654