DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments to the claims filed on July 17, 2026 have been received and entered. Claims 1-9, 15-16 have been amended, while claims 10-14, 16-18, 20, 24-3032-34, 41-45, 47-59, 61 and 62 have been canceled. Claims 1-9, 15, 19, 21-23, 31, 35, 40, 46 and 60 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9, 15 and 21 (group I) in the reply filed on December 23, 2025 was acknowledged.
Claims 21-23, 31, 35, 40, 46 and 60 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 23, 2025.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2021/032480 filed on 05/14/2021, which claims priority from US provisional application no 63/109,420 filed on 11/04/2020and application no 63/025,039 filed on 05/14/2020
Claims 1-9, 15 and 21 are under consideration.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brough (USPGPUB 20160102320, dated 04/14/2016 or 9951351, dated 04/24/2018). In view of Applicants’ amendment of base claims introducing the limitation “AAV ”, the previous rejection is rendered moot and hereby withdrawn. Applicants’ arguments with respect to the withdrawn rejections are thereby rendered moot. The claims are however subject to new rejections over the prior art of record
New-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102- necessitated by amendments
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Edge et al (US20190203210, dated 7/4/2019, EFD).
Claims are directed to an AAV vector comprising a high expression supporting cell-specific promoter operably linked to a polynucleotide encoding atonal BHLH transcription factor 1 (Atoh1). Dependent claim limits the Atoh1 polypeptide having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 10. Claim interpretation: (i) The term "supporting cell" is interpreted as specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells.
(ii) Recitation of term optionally in claim 2 make the subsequent limitation optional and therefore terms following optionally are not given any patentable weight and not considered as part of nucleic acid vector.
(iii) The term comprises promoter has the sequence ID NO is interpreted to include or contain additional nucleotide as term “has” is synonymous with comprises or have is open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.
Claim interpretation: (i) The term "supporting cell" is interpreted as specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells.
(ii) Recitation of term optionally in claim 2 make the subsequent limitation optional and therefore terms following optionally are not given any patentable weight and not considered as part of nucleic acid vector.
(iii) The term comprises promoter has the sequence ID NO is interpreted to include additional nucleotide as term “has” is synonymous with comprises or have is open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.
With respect to claims 1 and 9, Edge teaches AAV vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a human atonal homolog-1 (Atoh) protein operably linked to a human glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP) promoter (see para. 15, 55. 59, 89, 92-93), wherein the GFAP expression n is primarily restricted to the supporting cells of the sensory organs (see para. 89).
It is relevant to note that the Edge teaches nucleic acid encodes encoding Atoh1 protein as set forth in NCBI accession no NM 005172.1 and NP_005163.1 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 10 (see para. 50 see sequence alignment above) (limitation of claim 9)
With respect to claim 15, Edge teaches a host cell comprising the AAV vector AAV vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a human atonal homolog-1 (Atoh) protein operably linked to a human glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP) promoter (see para. 15, 55. 59, 89, 92-93), wherein the GFAP expression n is primarily restricted to the supporting cells of the sensory organs (see para. 89).
Accordingly, Edge anticipates claims 1, 9, 15.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8 and 21 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough (USPGPUB 20160102320, dated 04/14/2016 or 9951351, dated 04/24/2018), Griffin et al (Gene Therapy (2019) 26:198–210) and Sena-Estevens (US20180311290, dated 11/1/2018)/Lee et al (Glia. 2008;56:481–93, abstract). In view of Applicants’ amendment of base claims introducing the limitation “AAV ”, the previous rejection is rendered moot and hereby withdrawn. Applicants’ arguments with respect to the withdrawn rejections are thereby rendered moot. The claims are however subject to new rejections over the prior art of record
New--Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- necessitated by amendments
Claims 1-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough (USPGPUB 20160102320, dated 04/14/2016 or 9951351, dated 04/24/2018) and Brough (US 20140005257, dated 01/02/2014) and Stone (Molecular Therapy, 2005, 843-848).
Claim interpretation: (i) The term "supporting cell" is interpreted as specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells.
(ii) Recitation of term optionally in claim 2 make the subsequent limitation optional and therefore terms following optionally are not given any patentable weight and not considered as part of nucleic acid vector.
(iii) The term comprises promoter has the sequence ID NO is interpreted to include or contain additional nucleotide as term “has” is synonymous with comprises or have is open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.
Claim interpretation: (i) The term "supporting cell" is interpreted as specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells.
(ii) Recitation of term optionally in claim 2 make the subsequent limitation optional and therefore terms following optionally are not given any patentable weight and not considered as part of nucleic acid vector.
(iii) The term comprises promoter has the sequence ID NO is interpreted to include additional nucleotide as term “has” is synonymous with comprises or have is open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. (see MPEP 2111.03).
With respect to claim 1, Brough teaches vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a human atonal homolog-1 (Hath1) protein operably linked to a human glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP) promoter (abstract), wherein the GFAP expression n is primarily restricted to the supporting cells of the sensory organs (see para. 34) and wherein the vector is an adenoviral vector (claims in ‘320).
With respect to claim 2, Brough teaches GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 having the sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 1, 2 and 3 (see claim 8 of ‘320 and page 29(.
Regarding claim 3, Brough teaches the vector comprising GFAP promoter comprises nucleotide 1114 to 1367 of SEQ ID NO: 2 that has 100% sequence identity to nucleotide 1-254 of B (SEQ ID NO: 2) (see below the sequence homology).
With respect to claim 4, Brough teaches the vector comprising GFAP promoter comprises nucleotide 230-483 of SEQ ID NO: 2 (B) that is present as nucleotide 1343 to 1595 of SEQ ID NO: 2 (see below the sequence homology).
Regarding claim 5, Brough teaches the vector comprising GFAP promoter comprises nucleotides 459-711 of SEQ ID NO: 2 (B) that is present as nucleotide 1572 to 1824 of SEQ ID NO: 2 (see below the sequence homology).
Regarding claim 6, Brough teaches the vector comprising GFAP promoter comprises nucleotide 687-917 of SEQ ID NO: 2 (B) that is present as nucleotide 1800 to 2030 of SEQ ID NO: 2 (see below the sequence homology).
Regarding claim 7, Brough teaches the vector, wherein the high expression supporting cell specific GFAP promoter comprises SEQ ID NO 2 that has 100% sequence identity to all of B as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 2 (see below the sequence homology).
Regarding claim 8, Brough teaches the vector, wherein the high expression supporting cell specific GFAP promoter comprises has sequence of SEQ ID NO 2 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:8 (see below the sequence homology).
With respect to claim 9, Brough teaches a cell comprising the nucleic acid vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a human atonal homolog-1 protein operably linked to a human glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP) promoter (para.42, 63) (see para. 34).Regarding claim 15, Brough teaches host cell comprising the nucleic acid construct (see para.30, 34).
Brough differs from claimed invention by not disclosing nucleic acid encoding Atoh1 incorporated in an AAV vector.
Brough (‘257) teaches administering to the inner ear an expression vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding an atonal-associated factor, wherein the nucleic acid sequence is expressed to produce the atonal-associated factor resulting in generation of sensory hair cells that allow perception of stimuli in the inner ear, wherein the expression vector is an adenoviral vector or an AAV (see claim 1, 6-7). It is disclosed that 0ne of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that any of a number of expression vectors known in the art are suitable for introducing the nucleic acid sequence to the inner ear, wherein suitable expression vectors include adenoviral or AAV (see para 20). Stone teaches significant drawback to using adenovirus as a gene therapy vector as it introduces viral genes into the host cells that can stimulate an immune response, thus resulting in the ultimate destruction of the transduced cells and limited duration of transgene expression. In contrast, adeno-associated virus (AAV) has several characteristics that make it attractive as a gene delivery system It is a nonpathogenic human parvovirus with a broad host range, capable of infecting most cell types, including postmitotic cells. Recombinant AAV has demonstrated transduction and long-term gene expression in inner ear hair cells (see page 843, col. 1, para. 1 to col. 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art by modifying the substituting adenoviral vector disclosed in Brough with an AAV vector as suggested in Brough (‘257) in view of Stone, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant invention. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as prior art recognized advantage of using AAV over adenoviral vector (see Stone). Absent evidence of any unexpected and/or superior results, one of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in using AAV to express Atoh1 transgene expression because prior art successfully reported expressing gene of interest in hair and support cells (see Stone abstract) . It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf.June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www.uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Claims 1, 8 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brough (Brough (USPGPUB 20160102320, dated 04/14/2016 or 9951351, dated 04/24/2018), Brough (US 20140005257, dated 01/02/2014) and Stone (Molecular Therapy, 2005, 843-848) as applied above and Griffin et al (Gene Therapy (2019) 26:198–210), Sena-Estevens (US20180311290, dated 11/1/2018)/Lee et al (Glia. 2008;56:481–93, abstract).
Claim interpretation: (i) The term "supporting cell" is interpreted as specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells.
(ii) the term “supporting cell-specific promoter” is interpreted as defined in the specification as promoter that leads to GFP immunolabeling above background in at least 50% of supporting cells (see page 10, lines 18-20) .
(iii) the term “a high expression promoter” is interpreted as defined in the specification as a promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells transformed with a vector encoding such promoter operably linked to the transgene at a level that is at least 0.25 log fold change higher than expression of the transgene in supporting cells transformed with the same amount (e.g., titer) of an equivalent vector encoding the long GFAP promoter operably linked to the transgene (see page 10, lines 11-15) .
The teaching of Brough, Brough and Stone has been described above and relied in same manner here. Briefly, Brough teaches AAV vector comprising a nucleic acid sequence encoding a human atonal homolog-1 (Hath1) protein operably linked to a human glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP) promoter (abstract), wherein the GFAP expression n is primarily restricted to the supporting cells of the sensory organs (see para. 34).
Brough teaches supporting cell-specific long GFAP promoter, however, differs from claimed invention by not disclosing (i) a high expression promoter operably linked to Atoh1, wherein said promoter consist of nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8.
However, before the effective filing date of instant application, Griffin teaches ~4.7 kb packaging limitation of AAV that severely imposes sequence length restriction on the therapeutic genes that could be cloned into the expression cassette. It is disclosed that long GFAP promoter effectively mediates transgene expression but its relatively larger promoter size occupies almost half of the packaging capacity (See Griffin page 207, col. 2, last para.). The art teaches a shorter GFAP promoter (of 681 bp GFAP as summarized by Lee) that showed greater transduction efficiency and transgene expression as compared to long GFAP promoter (see page 208, col. 1, para. 1 of Griffin).
Sena-Estevens provided requisite guidance regarding a short GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 14 that has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 8 (see above and sequence search results).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of prior art by modifying the AAV vector disclosed in Brough, Brough(‘257) by substituting long GFAP promoter with a truncated 681bp GFAP promoter as suggested in Griffin and disclosed in Sena-Estevens/Lee, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of instant invention. Said modification amounting to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so as prior art recognized (i) using a truncated GFAP promoter instead of longer GFAP promoter that would occupies almost half of the packaging capacity of AAV and (ii) 681 bp truncated GFAP promoter is more efficient in transduction and gene expression as compared to longer GFAP promoter. Absent evidence of any unexpected and/or superior results, one of skill in the art would have been expected to have a reasonable expectation of success in substituting one long GFAP promoter with shorter GFAP promoter because the art successfully reported shorter GFAP promoter exhibits higher hair cell and support cell specific transduction expression as compared to long GFAP promoter (see above) . It should be noted that the KSR case forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness See the recent Board decision Ex parte Smith, --USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf.June 25, 2007) (citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396) (available at http: www.uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/bpai/prec/fd071925.pdf).
Response to arguments
To the extent that Applicants’ arguments are pertinent to the new rejections, they are addressed as follows:
Applicants disagree with the rejection arguing that prior to Applicant's discovery, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that lower Atoh1 expression to be preferable. Applicant in part rely on Praetorius et al (Acta Oto-Laryngologica (2010) 130(2):215-222). Praetorius evaluated Atoh1 delivery using adenoviral vectors comprising promoters that produced different levels of expression. Praetorius reported that the "long" GFAP promoter yielded very low expression compared with constitutively active promoters hCMV, cBA, and Ub (see Figure 4). Nevertheless, Praetorius found that: The GFAP promoter driving atoh1 provided the highest level of hair cell recovery (Figure 8), despite being the weakest promoter of the group that we tested (Figure 4) and producing the lowest level of atoh1 mRNA use of a supporting cell-specific promoter expressed at a low level provided a significantly improved hair cell regeneration rate and also produced cells that appear morphologically more normal than a high strength promoter such as the cBA promoter (Figure 7D VS Figure 7C). Praetorius, page 222 (emphasis added). As described above, Praetorius teaches that Atoh1 expression as driven by a low strength promoter result in superior hair cell regeneration to a high strength promoter. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In response, it should be noted that the rationale to combine the reference is not solely to enhance gene expression as agued by the applicant. The art of record explicitly provide motivation to use AAV over using adenoviral vector as disclosed in Brough. The art teaches adeno-associated virus (AAV) has several characteristics that make it attractive as a gene delivery system including better safety profile with a broad host range, capable of infecting most cell types, including postmitotic cells. Recombinant AAV has demonstrated transduction and long-term gene expression in inner ear hair cells (see Brough)., Griffin teaches ~4.7 kb packaging limitation of AAV that severely imposes sequence length restriction on the therapeutic genes that could be cloned into the expression cassette. It is disclosed that long GFAP promoter effectively mediates transgene expression but its relatively larger promoter size occupies almost half of the packaging capacity (See Griffin page 207, col. 2, last para.). The art teaches a shorter GFAP promoter (of 681 bp GFAP as summarized by Lee) shows greater transduction efficiency and transgene expression as compared to long GFAP promoter (see page 208, col. 1, para. 1 of Griffin). In view of foregoing, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the AAV vector disclosed in Brough, Brough(‘257) by substituting long GFAP promoter with a truncated 681bp GFAP promoter as suggested in Griffin and disclosed in Sena-Estevens/Lee, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, in view of the fact patterns of the instant case, and the ground of rejection outlined by the examiner, applicants' arguments are not compelling and do not overcome the rejection of record.
Withdrawn-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 15 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant’s argument that instant specification defines the term “high expression promoter” is found persuasive, therefore, previous rejection of claims are hereby withdrawn.
Maintained-Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112-written description
Claims 1-9, 15, 21 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims embrace a genus of high expression promoter or a high expression supporting cell-specific promoter. The specification defines the term “ high expression promoter” as a promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells transformed with a vector encoding such promoter operably linked to the transgene at a level that is at least 0.25 log fold change higher than expression of the transgene in supporting cells transformed with the same amount (e.g., titer) of an equivalent vector encoding the long GFAP promoter operably linked to the transgene (see page 10, lines 11-15 of the specification) . The term support cells refer specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells. Supporting cells maintain the structural integrity of the sensory organs during sound stimulation and head movements and help to maintain an environment in the epithelium that allows hair cells to function (see page 12 of the specification).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991), clearly states that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d at 1117. The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19USPQ2d at 1116.
The DNA sequences of all high expression promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells (specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system), other than the truncated GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8 that is at least 0.25 log fold change higher than expression of the transgene in supporting cells transformed with the same amount of an equivalent vector encoding the long GFAP promoter, encompassed within the genus of high expression promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells have not been disclosed. Based upon the prior art there is expected to be sequence variation among the species of DNA sequences of high expression supporting cells specific promoter . The specification has provided the sequences of the truncated GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8. The specification however has not disclosed the sequences of any of the other high expression supporting cell promoter embraced by the claims. There is no evidence on the record of a relationship between the structures of the DNA molecules of any of the embraced high expression supporting cells specific promoter sequences that would provide any reliable information about the structure of DNA molecules within the genus. There is no evidence on the record that embraced high expression supporting cells specific promoter had known structural relationships to each other; the art indicated that there is variation between DNA sequences of various high expression supporting cells specific promoter. The claimed invention as a whole is not adequately described if the claims require essential or critical elements which are not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art as of applicants effective filing date. Possession may be shown by actual reduction to practice, clear depiction of the invention in a detailed drawing, or by describing the invention with sufficient relevant identifying characteristics such that a person skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Pfaff v. Wells Electronics, Inc., 48 USPQ2d 1641, 1646 (1998).
In the instant case, the claimed embodiments of high expression supporting cells specific promoter, other than the truncated GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8 encompassed within the genus of high expression supporting cells specific promoter lack a written description. The specification fails to describe what DNA molecules fall into this genus. The skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed high expression supporting cells specific promoter that show contemplated level of expression in support cells as compared to long GFAP promoter , and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991).
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
In view of the above considerations, one of skill in the art would not recognize that applicant was in possession of the necessary common features or attributes possessed by member of the genus of high expression supporting cells specific promoter showing contemplated level of expression in support cells that specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells , other than the truncated GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8. Moreover, the art has recognized that there would be variation among the species of the genus of DNA sequences of high expression supporting cells specific promoter showing contemplated level of expression in support cells specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells. Therefore, Applicant was not in possession of the genus of high expression supporting cells specific promoter as encompassed by the claims. University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404, 1405 held that to fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention."
Response to arguments
Applicant disagree with the rejection arguing that the specification provides a representative species (e.g., a promoter having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 8) falling within the claimed genus and demonstrates experimentally that this promoter exhibits high supporting cell expression. In particular, the specification shows that the promoter of SEQ ID NO: 8 drives higher transgene expression than the long GFAP promoter and promotes increased supporting-cell-to-hair- cell conversion and hair-cell regeneration (see, e.g., Examples 3-5). Moreover, the disclosure encompasses a family of related GFAP promoters sharing a common A-B- - C structure, including embodiments in which all or portions of region B are present or absent and specific embodiments comprising SEQ ID NOs: 4-7. These embodiments share common structural features that characterize a promoter family of the disclosure, providing multiple related promoter embodiments within the scope of the invention. In addition to the disclosed promoter sequences, and as discussed above, the specification defines the claimed genus through an objective functional criterion. A promoter is classified as a "high expression promoter" when it drives Atoh1 expression in supporting cells at least 0.25 log fold higher than the long GFAP promoter. The specification further explains how promoter activity is assessed by culturing adult mouse utricle explants, transducing the explants with equal amounts of AAV vectors encoding Atoh1 under the control of candidate promoters and a reference vector containing the long GFAP promoter, isolating supporting cells, and measuring transgene expression by single-cell RNA sequencing (specification as filed, pages 32-33). This approach allows for identification of the relevant functional characteristic common to members of the claimed genus and provides objective criteria for determining whether a given promoter falls within the claimed scope. Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered, but are not found persuasive.
In response, it is noted that independent claims require a genus of a high expression supporting cell-specific promoter (claim 1) or a “high expression promoter” (claim 21). The specification defines the term “ high expression promoter” as a promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells transformed with a vector encoding such promoter operably linked to the transgene at a level that is at least 0.25 log fold change higher than expression of the transgene in supporting cells transformed with the same amount (e.g., titer) of an equivalent vector encoding the long GFAP promoter operably linked to the transgene (see page 10, lines 11-15 of the specification) . The term support cells refer specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system of the inner ear that reside between hair cells. (see page 12 of the specification). In the instant case, the DNA sequences of all high expression promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells (specialized epithelial cells in the cochlea and vestibur system), other than the truncated GFAP promoter as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8 that is at least 0.25 log fold change higher than expression of the transgene in supporting cells transformed with the same amount of an equivalent vector encoding the long GFAP promoter, encompassed within the genus of high expression promoter that drives transgene expression in supporting cells have not been disclosed. It is relevant to note that none of the claims are limited to specific short GFAP promoter set forth in SEQ ID NO: 8. In fact, none of the claim require a promoter consisting of SEQ ID NO: 8 as argued by the applicant. The specification is silent on any other DNA sequence of a promoter showing contemplated biological effect. Based upon the prior art there is expected to be sequence variation among the species of DNA sequences of high expression supporting cells specific promoter. The specification has not disclosed the sequences of any of the other high expression supporting cell promoter embraced by the claims and there is no evidence on the record of a relationship between the structures of the DNA molecules of any of the embraced high expression supporting cells specific promoter sequences that would provide any reliable information about the structure of DNA molecules within the claimed genus. The native GFAP promoter comprises SEQ ID NOs 1, 2 and 3, and is therefore considered to fall under the definition "having the sequence of formula A-B-C". The specification teaches short GFAP promoter induced higher levels of transgene expression than a GFAP promoter having the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 9 ("long GFAP" promoter; positions -2163 to +47 relative to the transcriptional start site of the human GFAP gene) in U87 cells. U87 suggesting only the short GFAP promoter consisting of SEQ ID NO: 8 shows the contemplated biological activity. In view of foregoing, it is apparent that Applicant was not in possession of the genus of high expression supporting cells specific promoter other than SEQ ID NO: 8 as encompassed by the claims.
Therefore, in view of the fact patterns of the instant case, and the ground of rejection outlined by the examiner, applicants' arguments are not compelling and do not overcome the rejection of record.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Peter Paras can be reached at (571)272-4517. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANOOP K SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632