DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-10 are pending, of which claims 3, 9 were previously withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stich (US3068155A) in view of KERSTING (US 3274075) (newly cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Stich teaches the following:
a. A quantity of yeast-containing mass is at rest in a tank 1 (col 2, line 7-8)(a fermentation system comprising a fermentation vessel)
b. An external loop (10, 10', 13, 12, 14, and 4 in Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the fermentation vessel (Fig. 1, below)
c. The external loop comprises one or more inlet ports, one or more pumps (9) in fluid communication with the one or more inlet ports to pump fermentation broth from the fermentation vessel and one or more outlet ports to reintroduce the fermentation broth into the fermentation vessel, one or more outlet ports to reintroduce the fermentation broth into the fermentation vessel, a cooler 13 (cooling apparatus) and an aerator 4 in fluid communication with the cooling apparatus wherein the fermentation broth flows through the cooling apparatus and the aeration apparatus (see annotated Fig. 1). The fermentation broth is pushed through the external loop as seen in Figure 1, above, moving from the fermentation vessel to the pump, through the cooling apparatus, through area 14, through the aerator and back to the fermentation vessel at the outlet (near 11). Note: the area below plate 15 in Fig. 1 of Stich is what is being interpreted as the fermentation vessel.
Stich teaches the fermentation system with external loop as discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the external loop one or more inlet ports are in fluid communication with an upper portion of the vessel and the one or more outlet ports to reintroduce the broth into a lower portion of the vessel, wherein the one or more inlet ports of the loop are located above the one or more outlet ports.
However, Kersting discloses a device for aerating fermenting liquids comprising a container 2 (fermentation vessel) with a container element 2a for the circulation of the processed fluid (external loop) which is connected to the container 2 (external loop in fluid communication with the fermentation vessel) at the top by the pipe or passageway 19 (one or more inlet ports in fluid communication with an upper portion of the fermentation vessel); and the liquid returns through the bottom pipe 20 (one or more outlet ports to reintroduce the fermentation broth into a lower portion of the vessel); wherein the passageway 19 (one or more inlet ports) is located above the bottom pipe 20 (one or more outlet ports) (see Fig 1, below and Col 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stich with the external loop inlets and outlets arranged as taught by Kersting. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would have allowed for the advantage of the fermenting liquor travelling in a continuous (closed) circuit that utilizes the flow energy of the falling liquid to provide a driving means for other systems, which provides the advantage of lower production costs (Col. 3, lines 42-67).
Regarding claim 2, Stich teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 (see above). Stich further
teaches the aeration apparatus to be upstream from the cooling apparatus 13 and pump 9 (see Fig. 1, above).
Regarding Claim 4, Stich teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 (see above). Stich further
teaches the diaphragm (part of the aerator) is supplied with gas or air which enters through the pores of the diaphragm into the passing mash (col 2, lines 16-19) (the aeration apparatus is configured to introduce an oxygen-containing gas into the fermentation broth, wherein the oxygen-containing gas comprises purified oxygen, air, or mixtures of oxygen with other gases).
Regarding Claim 7, Stich teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 (see above). Stich further
teaches the inlet of the cooling apparatus is in fluid communication with the outlet of the pump (see Fig. 1, below) and the cooling apparatus comprises one or more tubes (as seen in Fig. 1, below) through which fermentation broth can flow and the cooler is for regulating the temperature of the mash (col 2, lines 43-44) (heat exchanger in thermal communication with one or more tubes).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stich (US3068155A) in view of KERSTING (US 3274075) as applied above, further in view of Nakao (US10596528).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Stich teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 (see above). Stich does not explicitly teach the aeration apparatus to be a jet aerator, a surface aerator, or a fine bubble aerator.
Nakao teaches a nanobubble producing apparatus (fine bubble aerator) for use in liquid vats (col
6, lines 15-20). Nakao further teaches the nanobubbles have a median particle diameter to be equal to about 100 nm or less (col 4, lines 27-28) and the nano bubble producing apparatus can produce bubbles containing gasses such as oxygen (col 6, lines 63-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Stich with the nanobubble producing apparatus as taught by Nakao. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would have provided effective aeration of the fermentation system of Stich with uniform diameter bubbles that allow for reproducible oxidation reactions (col 2, lines 7-20).
Claim(s) 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stich (US3068155A) in view of KERSTING (US 3274075) as applied above, further in view of Mothes (WO2008092575).
Regarding Claim 8, Stich teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 (see above). Stich does not
explicitly teach the heat exchanger to comprise one or more heat pipes, wherein a proximal end of at least one heat pipe is in thermal communication with the one or more tubes, and wherein a distal end of the at least one heat pipe is in thermal communication with a coolant.
Mothes teaches alcoholic fermentation using columns (vessels)(page 4). Mothes further teaches a reinforcement section 31b (designed as a heat exchanger) to have a proximal end [bottom of 31b] in thermal communication with the tube of mash and a distal section [top of 31b] in thermal communication with the coolant in the cooling device 33 and the heat exchanger is in the form of heat pipes (page 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the heat exchanger of Stich with the heat exchanger as taught by Mothes. One would have been motivated to make this modification as the energy input to the heating device is greatly reduced (page 8).
Regarding Claim 10, Stich in view of Mothes teaches all of the limitations of Claim 8 (see above).
Mothes further teaches the cooling fluid to be cooling water (chilled water)(page 7) and a cooling device 33 connected to the refining section 31b (heat exchanger)(page 8)(the coolant is in thermal communication with a chiller to maintain a temperature of the coolant below the temperature of the broth).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the attached PTO 892 also disclose a fermenter with an external loop having its inlets and outlets arranged in the manner newly amended into the claims.
/DANIELLE B HENKEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/William H. Beisner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799