DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 and 7-14 in the reply filed on 07/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-6, 7-14 are examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claims 1, 7, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barden et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (1994), 37(20), 3205-11, PTO-1449).
Barden et al. discloses compound 11 of structure below which is same as instant compound of formula as in instant claim 1, wherein R is C9H19. See Table 1, compound 11. Composition comprising compound in an excipient is taught. See page 3206, right hand column, under Biology. Agar dilution method using Muller-Hinton II agar is taught. See page 3206, right hand column, under Biology.
Barden et al. anticipates instant claims.
2)Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lisanti et al. (WO 2020131696, PTO-892).
Lisanti et al. discloses instant compounds as in instant claims 1-6, and composition comprising instant compounds. See claim 6. Lisanti et al. teaches that the compounds therein may be used in the form of pharmaceutical composition prepared using diluents or excipients. See para [0060].
Lisanti et al. anticipates instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3)Claim(s) 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisanti et al. (WO 2020131696, PTO-892) as applied to claims 1-5, 7-11, 13, 14 above, and further in view of Legendre et al. (CrystEngComm. 2012, 14 (7): 2532–2540, PTO-892).
Lisanti et al. is applied as discussed above.
Lisanti et al. does not teach wherein the salt is one of monohydrate and hyclate.
Legendre et al. teaches that tetracycline compound doxycycline (DOX) is used against a wide variety of microbial pathogens. It is taught that different solid forms of a compound (e.g., polymorphs and solvates) may exhibit distinct properties like compressibility, density, solubility and dissolution rate. These differences can affect the drug bioavailability and are essential to ensure a reproducible behaviour of the drug in the organism, as well as its safety. Legendre et al. teaches that doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate are known; and Legendre et al. teaches the solid state behaviour of monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate such as melting temperature, equilibrium solubility and dissolution rate were determined and correlated to structural features of both DOX crystal forms. See abstract; page 2533, left hand column; page 2539, left hand column, under Conclusion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 because Legendre et al. teaches that monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate salts of tetracycline compound DOX are known; DOX and instant compounds are structurally similar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 which are structurally similar to DOX with the expectation of success of determining the bioavailability, solubility of said salts.
4)Claim(s) 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barden et al. (Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (1994), 37(20), 3205-11, PTO-1449) as applied to claims 1, 7, 13 above, in view of Legendre et al. (CrystEngComm. 2012, 14 (7): 2532–2540, PTO-892).
Barden et al. is applied as discussed above.
Barden et al. does not teach wherein the salt is one of monohydrate and hyclate.
Legendre et al. teaches that tetracycline compound doxycycline (DOX) is used against a wide variety of microbial pathogens. It is taught that different solid forms of a compound (e.g., polymorphs and solvates) may exhibit distinct properties like compressibility, density, solubility and dissolution rate. These differences can affect the drug bioavailability and are essential to ensure a reproducible behaviour of the drug in the organism, as well as its safety. Legendre et al. teaches that doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate are known; and Legendre et al. teaches the solid state behaviour of monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate such as melting temperature, equilibrium solubility and dissolution rate were determined and correlated to structural features of both DOX crystal forms. See abstract; page 2533, left hand column; page 2539, left hand column, under Conclusion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 because Legendre et al. teaches that monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate salts of tetracycline compound DOX are known; DOX and instant compounds are structurally similar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 which are structurally similar to DOX with the expectation of success of determining the bioavailability, solubility of said salts.
Double Patenting
1)Claims 1-5, 6 7-11, 12, 13-14 rare ejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,672,810, and further in view of Legendre et al. (CrystEngComm. 2012, 14 (7): 2532–2540, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a compound having formula as in instant claims 1-5 or a salt thereof; and a composition comprising a compound of formula as in instant claims 7-11.
Claims of ‘810 teach mitochondrial biogenesis inhibitor wherein the inhibitor comprises a compound having formula which is same as general formula as in instant claim 1. The compounds therein are used for treating endocrine therapy resistance cancer.
It would have been obvious to obtain instant compounds as in instant claims 1-2 because ‘810 teaches instant compounds of formula as in instant claim 1.
It would have been obvious to obtain instant compounds as in instant claims 3-5 because ‘810 teaches instant compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 which encompass instant compounds with particular R group as in instant claims 3-5.
Further, if would have been obvious to obtain a composition comprising instant compounds because ‘810 teaches instant compounds of formula as in instant claim 1; ‘810 teaches that the compounds therein are used for treating endocrine therapy resistance cancer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to obtain a composition comprising instant compounds in an excipient or a carrier with reasonable expectation of success of using the composition for treating endocrine therapy resistance cancer.
‘810 does not teach wherein the salt is one of monohydrate and hyclate.
Legendre et al. teaches that tetracycline compound doxycycline (DOX) is used against a wide variety of microbial pathogens. It is taught that different solid forms of a compound (e.g., polymorphs and solvates) may exhibit distinct properties like compressibility, density, solubility and dissolution rate. These differences can affect the drug bioavailability and are essential to ensure a reproducible behaviour of the drug in the organism, as well as its safety. Legendre et al. teaches that doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate are known; and Legendre et al. teaches the solid state behaviour of monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate such as melting temperature, equilibrium solubility and dissolution rate were determined and correlated to structural features of both DOX crystal forms. See abstract; page 2533, left hand column; page 2539, left hand column, under Conclusion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 because Legendre et al. teaches that monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate salts of tetracycline compound DOX are known; DOX and instant compounds are structurally similar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 which are structurally similar to DOX with the expectation of success of determining the bioavailability, solubility of said salts.
2)Claims 1-5, 6 7-11, 12, 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6, 9, 11-17 of copending Application No. 17/414,842 (reference application), and further in view of Legendre et al. (CrystEngComm. 2012, 14 (7): 2532–2540, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a compound having formula as in instant claims 1-5 or a salt thereof; and a composition comprising a compound of formula as in instant claims 7-11.
Claims of ‘842 are drawn to a composition comprising a combination of a first therapeutic agent that inhibits mitochondrial biogenesis and targets the large mitochondrial ribosome, a second therapeutic agent that inhibits mitochondrial biogenesis and targets the small mitochondrial ribosome, and a third therapeutic agent that induces mitochondrial oxidative stress; wherein: (a) the first therapeutic agent is a member of the erythromycin family or a conjugate of a member of the erythromycin family and a first fatty acid; (b) the second therapeutic agent is a member of the tetracycline family or a conjugate of a member of the tetracycline family and a second fatty acid; and (c) the third therapeutic agent is at least one of Vitamin C, ascorbyl palmitate; wherein the second therapeutic agent comprises one compound of structures as in claim 6 which are same as instant compounds as in instant claims 1-5; wherein the first therapeutic agent, the second therapeutic agent, and the third therapeutic agent are encapsulated in a liposomal drug delivery system.
It would have been obvious to obtain instant compounds and composition comprising instant compounds because ‘842 teaches instant compounds and teaches a composition comprising one compound of structures as in claim 6 therein which are same as instant compounds as in instant claims 1-5.
‘842 does not teach wherein the salt is one of monohydrate and hyclate.
Legendre et al. teaches that tetracycline compound doxycycline (DOX) is used against a wide variety of microbial pathogens. It is taught that different solid forms of a compound (e.g., polymorphs and solvates) may exhibit distinct properties like compressibility, density, solubility and dissolution rate. These differences can affect the drug bioavailability and are essential to ensure a reproducible behaviour of the drug in the organism, as well as its safety. Legendre et al. teaches that doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate are known; and Legendre et al. teaches the solid state behaviour of monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate such as melting temperature, equilibrium solubility and dissolution rate were determined and correlated to structural features of both DOX crystal forms. See abstract; page 2533, left hand column; page 2539, left hand column, under Conclusion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 because Legendre et al. teaches that monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate salts of tetracycline compound DOX are known; DOX and instant compounds are structurally similar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 which are structurally similar to DOX with the expectation of success of determining the bioavailability, solubility of said salts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
3)Claims 1-5, 6 7-11, 12, 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6, 9-17, 19-27, 46-48 of copending Application No. 18/425,427 (reference application), and further in view of Legendre et al. (CrystEngComm. 2012, 14 (7): 2532–2540, PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a compound having formula as in instant claims 1-5 or a salt thereof; and a composition comprising a compound of formula as in instant claims 7-11.
Claims of ‘427 are drawn to a composition comprising :a combination of a first therapeutic agent that inhibits mitochondrial biogenesis and targets the large mitochondrial ribosome, a second therapeutic agent that inhibits mitochondrial biogenesis and targets the small mitochondrial ribosome, and a third therapeutic agent that induces mitochondrial oxidative stress; wherein the second therapeutic agent comprises one compound of structures as in claim 6 which are same as instant compounds as in instant claims 1-5; wherein the first therapeutic agent, the second therapeutic agent, and the third therapeutic agent are encapsulated in a liposomal drug delivery system.
It would have been obvious to obtain instant compounds and composition comprising instant compounds because ‘427 teaches instant compounds and teaches a composition comprising one compound of structures as in claim 6 therein which are same as instant compounds as in instant claims 1-5.
‘427 does not teach wherein the salt is one of monohydrate and hyclate.
Legendre et al. teaches that tetracycline compound doxycycline (DOX) is used against a wide variety of microbial pathogens. It is taught that different solid forms of a compound (e.g., polymorphs and solvates) may exhibit distinct properties like compressibility, density, solubility and dissolution rate. These differences can affect the drug bioavailability and are essential to ensure a reproducible behaviour of the drug in the organism, as well as its safety. Legendre et al. teaches that doxycycline monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate are known; and Legendre et al. teaches the solid state behaviour of monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate such as melting temperature, equilibrium solubility and dissolution rate were determined and correlated to structural features of both DOX crystal forms. See abstract; page 2533, left hand column; page 2539, left hand column, under Conclusion.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 because Legendre et al. teaches that monohydrate and doxycycline hyclate salts of tetracycline compound DOX are known; DOX and instant compounds are structurally similar. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain monohydrate salt or to obtain hyclate salt of instant tetracycline compounds of formula as in instant claim 1 which are structurally similar to DOX with the expectation of success of determining the bioavailability, solubility of said salts.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art made of Record:
WO01/74761;
US 6165999;
WO 2018193114;
Wo 2018193113.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SHOBHA KANTAMNENI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627