Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received March 30, 2026:
Claim 1 has been amended, therefore Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action issued on November 28, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Suzuki et al. JP2017073195 in view of Ryu et al. (US 2019/0372083)
With respect to claim 1, Suzuki et al. discloses a gas venting device 11 comprising:
a first bracket 16 having a first through hole formed in a central portion of the first bracket 16 [Figure 5; Figure 8; 0020-0035];
a second bracket 15 in which a second through hole communicating with the first bracket 16 through hole is formed in a central portion thereof of the second bracket 15 and which is fastened to the first bracket 16; and
a venting disc 13/35 which is fastened between the first bracket 16 and the second bracket 15 to shield the first through hole and the second through hole and is configured to rupture when a predetermined pressure is applied [0028-0030],
wherein a gas discharge flow path is formed in the first through hole and the second through hole [Figure 5],
Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction.
Ryu et al. discloses a gas venting device [Figure 4] comprising:
wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 2, Suzuki et al. discloses a discharge guide member 18/13/14 which is inserted into the through holes of the first bracket 16 and the second bracket 15 and has a gas discharge flow path formed in a central portion of the discharge guide member. [Figure 5]
Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in the gas discharge direction.
Ryu et al. discloses a gas venting device [Figure 4] comprising:
wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 3, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the discharge guide member includes:
a first discharge guide member inserted into the first through hole formed in the first bracket 16; and
a second discharge guide member inserted into second the through hole formed in the second bracket 15. [Figures 3-6]
Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path formed by the first discharge guide member and the second discharge guide member is continuously or gradually reduced in the gas discharge direction.
Ryu et al. discloses wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path formed by the first discharge guide member and the second discharge guide member is continuously or gradually reduced in the gas discharge direction. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path formed by the first discharge guide member and the second discharge guide member is continuously or gradually reduced in the gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 4, Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein the gas discharge flow path has a truncated conical shape.
Ryu et al. discloses wherein the gas discharge flow path has a truncated conical shape. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 5, Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein the gas discharge flow path has a truncated conical shape in which an inclined surface formed on the first through hole and the second through hole is concavely or convexly curved, as the cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously reduced.
Ryu et al. discloses wherein the gas discharge flow path has a truncated conical shape in which an inclined surface formed on the first through hole and the second through hole is concavely or convexly curved, as the cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously reduced. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 6, Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein a straight flow path having a constant cross-sectional area is formed on an outlet side of the gas discharge flow path so as to follow the truncated conical-shaped flow path.
Ryu et al. discloses wherein a straight flow path having a constant cross-sectional area is formed on an outlet side of the gas discharge flow path so as to follow the truncated conical-shaped flow path. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 7, Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein, in the gas discharge flow path, a truncated conical-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface formed on the first through hole and the second through hole is concavely curved, and a truncated conical-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface is convexly curved, are consecutively formed, as the cross-sectional area thereof is continuously reduced.
Ryu et al. discloses wherein, in the gas discharge flow path, a truncated conical-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface formed on the first through hole and the second through hole is concavely curved, and a truncated conical-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface is convexly curved, are consecutively formed, as the cross-sectional area thereof is continuously reduced. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 8, Suzuki et al. does not disclose wherein, in the gas discharge flow path, a truncated cone-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface formed on the first through hole and the second through hole is convexly curved, and a truncated conical-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface is concavely curved, are consecutively formed, as the cross-sectional area thereof is continuously reduced.
Ryu et al. discloses wherein, in the gas discharge flow path, a truncated cone-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface formed on the first through hole and the second through hole is convexly curved, and a truncated conical-shaped flow path, in which an inclined surface is concavely curved, are consecutively formed, as the cross-sectional area thereof is continuously reduced. [Figure 4]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the gas venting device of Suzuki et al. to include wherein a cross-sectional area of the gas discharge flow path is continuously or gradually reduced in a gas discharge direction, as disclosed in Ryu et al., in order to allow a sealed cell stack.
With respect to claim 9, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein a protrusion having a screw thread, is formed on an inner wall of the gas discharge flow path. [Figure 4; Figure 5; Figure 6; 0020-0022]
With respect to claim 10, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein: a fastening portion for fastening the discharge guide member to the first bracket 16 and the second bracket 15 protrudes from an outer surface of the discharge guide member 18/13/14, and a fastening hole 21/22/23 for being bolt fastening with the first bracket 16 and the second bracket 15 is formed in the fastening portion. [Figure 5- 8; 0020-0035];
With respect to claim 11, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the first bracket 16 and the second bracket 15 are fastened to the discharge guide member 18/13/14 in a screw fastening manner. [Figure 5- 8; 0020-0035]
With respect to claim 12, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the venting disc 13/35 includes: a disc outer peripheral portion fastened to the first bracket 16 and the second bracket 15; and a disc inner peripheral portion 13 which is integrally formed with the disc outer peripheral portion as one body, shields the first through hole and the second through hole, and ruptures when the predetermined pressure is applied, wherein a notch 35 is formed in the disc inner peripheral portion so as to rupture when the predetermined pressure is applied. [Figure 5- 8; 0020-0035]
With respect to claim 13, Suzuki et al. discloses a battery module comprising: a plurality of secondary batteries 3 [Figure 2; 0014]; and
a module frame on which the secondary batteries are mounted,
wherein the gas venting device according to claim 1 is fastened to a first side of the module frame. [Figure 1; Figure 2]
With respect to claim 14, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the first side in contact with the first bracket 16 or the second bracket 15. [Figures 1-4]
With respect to claim 15, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the gas venting device is fastened to the module frame in a state in which the first bracket 16 is in contact with an inner surface of the module frame and the second bracket 15 is in contact with an outer surface of the module frame. [Figure 1- 8; 0020-0035]
With respect to claim 16, Suzuki et al. discloses further comprising a sealing member 18 configured to seal a gap between the module frame and an outer periphery of the gas venting device 11. [0012-0015; Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 3-5]
With respect to claim 17, Suzuki et al. discloses a battery pack 1 comprising:
at least one battery module 3 including a plurality of secondary batteries [0013-0014; Figures 1-5]; and
a battery pack case including a tray 4 on which the battery module 3 is mounted and a pack cover 5 that covers the battery module 3,
wherein the gas venting device according to claim 1 is fastened to a first side of the battery pack case. [Figure 1- 8; 0020-0035; 0014-0020]
With respect to claim 18, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the first side of the battery pack case is in contact with the second bracket 15. [Figure 1- 8; 0020-0035; 0014-0020]
With respect to claim 19, Suzuki et al. discloses wherein the gas venting device is fastened to the battery pack case in a state in which the first bracket 16 is in contact with an inner surface of the battery pack case 4/5 and the second bracket 15 is in contact with an outer surface of the battery pack case 4/5. [Figures 1-5]
With respect to claim 20, Suzuki et al. discloses further comprising a sealing member 18/17 configured to seal a gap between the battery pack case 4/5 and an outer periphery of the gas venting device. [Figures 1-5; 0020-0035]
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751