DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending and being examined on the merits in this office action.
Specification
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
The abstract is objected to.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc.
The abstract should further be revised to recite complete sentences. The current abstract is a run-on sentence. The term “Cyclosporine” should be in lower case, cyclosporine.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 2 should be amended to recite “cyclosporine
Claims 2 and 3 should be amended to recite “preservative-free ophthalmic pharmaceutical composition” for consistency with the other claims. Insert a hyphen in the claim term “preservative-free”.
Claim 3 should be amended to recite “according to claim 1, further comprising adequate amounts of a tonicity agent, an oily material, an emulsifying agent, an [[on]] emulsion stabilizing agent, and an acid or a base
Claim 4 should be amended to recite “type A, and the pH adjuster”.
Claim 5 should be amended to recite “glycerine is from 1.5% to 2.5% and the amount of carbomer”.
Claim 6 should be amended to recite “in a range of”.
Claim 7 should be amended to recite “according to claim 1,” for claim consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the quantity". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “adequate amounts” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “adequate amounts” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear from the claim and specification as to what constitutes “an adequate amount” of a tonicity agent, an “oily material”, etc with respect to the claimed preservative-free ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion. The skilled artisan is not apprised of the metes and bounds of an amount of the each recited component, that could be construed as “adequate”, as opposed to an amount that falls outside of the claimed boundaries rendering a given amount “inadequate” for inclusion in the claimed compositions.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the pH adjuster ". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the amount" four times in the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the pH". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the form". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the phrase “wherein it is packed”. The phrase is indefinite because it is not clear what is meant by the word “it”.
The term “integral bacterial protection system” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “integral bacterial protection system” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Further regarding claim 8, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus (or composition) must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
It is further noted that the metes and bounds of the term “multi-use container equipped with an integral bacterial protection system” is deemed to be indefinite. The skilled artisan would recognize the term “multi-use container”. As noted above the term “integral bacterial protection system” is indefinite. It is further unclear from the claimant specification as to how exactly a claimed multiuse container would be “equipped” with an “integral bacterial protection system”. The claim lacks clarity as to as to how the claimed elements structurally and physically interact with each other to render the multi-use container “equipped”. The specification does not fully define what is meant by “equipped with”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Karavas et al (U.S. 20220378698 (earliest effective filing date 7/12/2019; Appl. No 17/626625 in ODP rejection).
The applied reference has a common applicant and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Karavas et al teach a stable preservative-free cyclosporine emulsion in the form of eye drops and a process for the manufacturing thereof, packed in a container that ensures stability of the product (e.g., abstract; paras. [0017], [0031]-[0041], examples). Accordingly the limitations of instant claim 1 are satisfied. Regarding claim 2, Table 1 teaches and emulsion composition comprising 0.05% cyclosporine. Regarding claims 3 and 4, Karavas et al teach a preservative-free pharmaceutical emulsion is provided comprising Cyclosporine as active ingredient, a tonicity agent [glycerin], an emulsifying agent [Polysorbate 80], a viscosity modifying agent [carbomer copolymer type A], an oily component [castor oil], and one or more pH adjusting agents [sodium hydroxide] (e.g., paras. [0015], [0035]-[0040], examples). Regarding claim 5, Karavas et al teach that castor oil is in an amount of 1%-2% (w/v), most preferably 1.25% w/v. Polysorbate 80 in an amount of 0.25%-2% (w/v), most preferably 0.50%-1% w/v. Glycerin in an amount of 1.5%-2.5% (w/v), most preferably 2.20% w/v. Carbomer copolymer type A is present in an amount of 0.03%-1% (w/v), most preferably 0.05% w/v. See paras. [0036]-[0039]. Table 1 teaches and emulsion composition comprising castor oil at 1.25%, polysorbate 80 at 1%, glycerin and2.2%, and carbomer copolymer type A at 0.05%. Regarding claim 6, Karavas et al teach that the pH of the range of 6.5 to about 8 (paras. [0040], Tables 1 and 10, claim 9). Regarding claim 7, the composition is in the form of eyedrops ((abstract, paras. [0025], [0028]-[0030]). Regarding claim 8, Karavas et al teach that the composition is packed in a multi-use container equipped with an integral bacterial protection system (e.g., claim 11; paras. [0013], [0027]-[0030]).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (U.S. Pat. No 5474979).
Ding et al teach preservative free ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion comprising a therapeutically effective amount of cyclosporine (title, abstract, Examples 1-4, claims 1-8). The ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion formulations presented in examples 1-4 do not include a preservative, and are therefore preservative free. Accordingly, the limitations of claim 1 are satisfied. Regarding claim 2, Ding et al teach that the compositions comprise 0.05% and about 0.40% cyclosporine (Examples 1-4, claims 7-8). Regarding claims 3 and 4, Ding et al teach ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsions comprising a tonicity agent [glycerin], an emulsifying agent [Polysorbate 80], a viscosity modifying agent [carbomer copolymer type A- also known as Pemulen], an oily component [castor oil], and one or more pH adjusting agents [sodium hydroxide] (e.g., col. 4, Examples 1-4, claims 6-8). Regarding claim 5, Ding et al teach an ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion comprising castor oil at 0.625-5.0%, polysorbate 80 at about 1%, glycerin and about 2.2%, and carbomer copolymer type A/Pemulen at about 0.05% (Examples 1-4, claims 6-8). Regarding claim 6, the pH of the emulsions can be adjusted with sodium hydroxide to a neurophysiological pH (col 4; claim 8). Examples 1-4 teach formulations having a pH of 7.2-7.6.
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acheampong et al (U.S. 20050059583).
Acheampong et al teach preservative free ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion comprising a therapeutically effective amount of cyclosporine [inclusion of a preservative is optional] (e.g., abstract, paras. [0028]-[0029]; claims 1, 21-25, Example 1). Accordingly, the limitations of claim 1 are satisfied. Regarding claim 2, Acheampong et al teach that the compositions comprise 0.05% or 0.1 % cyclosporine (Example 1). Regarding claims 3-5, Acheampong et al teach ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion formulations comprising cyclosporine at0.05% or 0.1 %; castor oil at 1.25% (oily material); polysorbate 80 at 1% (emulsifying agent); glycerin at 2.2% (tonicity agent); and carbomer copolymer type A/Pemulen at about 0.05% (emulsion stabilizing agent). The pH adjuster is sodium hydroxide (Example 1, paras.[0099]-[0110], claims 21-36). Regarding claim 6, the pH of the emulsions can be adjusted with sodium hydroxide to a pH of 7-8 (e.g., para. [0093]; Ex 1;claims 35 and 36). Example 1 teach formulations having a pH of 7.2-7.6. Regarding claim 7, Acheampong et al teach that the ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion comprising cyclosporine can be in the form of eyedrops (e.g., paras. [0029], [0091]). Regarding claim 8, Acheampong teach that the ophthalmic pharmaceutical emulsion can be sterilized and maintained in a sterile condition prior to use, e.g. a sealed package. The composition can be administered, repeated daily basis, reads on multi-use container and integral bacterial protection system of (e.g., paras. [0032], [0048]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9-15of copending Application No. 17/626625 (hereinafter “the ‘625 application”; US PBPUB 2022/0378698). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, claims 1-6 and 10 of the ‘625 application are drawn to a process for the manufacture of an ophthalmic composition of Cyclosporine as the active pharmaceutical ingredient, comprising: a. preparation of an emulsion by mixing an aqueous phase with an oil phase and sterilization thereof, wherein the aqueous phase comprises polysorbate 80, and the oil phase comprises Cyclosporine, glycerin, and castor oil; b. preparation of a separate aqueous phase comprising a viscosity modifying agent and sterilization thereof; c. mixing the emulsion of (a) with the aqueous phase of (b) to obtain the composition and aseptically filling an appropriate ophthalmic container, wherein the polysorbate 80 is present in the composition at a concentration of 0.25% - 0.5% (w/v), the Cyclosporine is present at a concentration of 0.05% - 0.25% (w/v), the glycerin is present at a concentration of 1.5% - 2.5% (w/v), and the castor oil is present at a concentration of 1% - 2% (w/v). Claim 10 of the ‘625 application recites that the process yields a preservative-free ophthalmic composition of Cyclosporine.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, claims 1 , 9, and 15 of the ‘625 application teach a process of preparing a preservative-free ophthalmic composition comprises glycerin, castor oil, polysorbate 80, carbomer copolymer type A, and sodium hydroxide to adjust the pH.
Regarding claim 5, claims 1 and 15 of the ‘625 application teach a process of preparing a preservative-free ophthalmic composition glycerin (1.5-2.5% w/v), castor oil (1-2% w/v), polysorbate 80 (0.5-0.25% w/v), carbomer copolymer type A (0.03-1% w/v).
Regarding claim 6, claim 9 of the ‘365 application teaches that the pH is adjusted to 6.5-8.
Regarding claim 7, claims 13 and 14 of the ‘625 application recite wherein the ophthalmic composition of Cyclosporine has an average drop volume from the appropriate ophthalmic container in the range of 22 µL -39 µL; 24 µL -34 µL [reads on eyedrops].
Regarding claim 8, claim 11 of the ‘625 application recites wherein the ophthalmic composition of Cyclosporine is packed in a multi-use container equipped with an integral bacterial protection system.
Accordingly, instant claims 1-8 are rendered obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Claims 1-8 are pending and are rejected.
/KRISTINA M HELLMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1654