Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For claims 1,17,21, and 22 applicant argues “determining a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on ... a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP” is not taught based on the combination of references Kim, He, and Cirik. The examiner respectfully disagrees in paragraphs 0055-0070 of He reference discloses, in part, “In a same BWP configuration, Each group includes three CORESET information. A first group may be CORESET1, CORESET2, CORESET3; a second group may be CORESET1a, CORESET2a, CORESET3a; and a third group may be CORESET1b, CORESET2b, CORESET3b. The CORESET information in the three groups may be switched. The CORESET information of different groups in the embodiment may be valid in different first time-domain resources. The first time-domain resource may be a time point.” and “A relationship among the different groups may be a displacement relationship in the frequency-domain. However, other relationships may be available. For example, the relationship may be a change in both the time-domain resources and the frequency-domain resources.” As shown in Fig. 2 and the corresponding description of He, the frequency locations of the CORESETs are determined based on a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET in the times T1, T2, and T3. Therefore, the combination of Kim and He and the combination of Kim, He, and Cirik disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of claims 1, 17, 21, and 22.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5,6,9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1., in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1.
Regarding claim 1 Kim discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) ([0020] A method performed by a user equipment), the method comprising:
receiving an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET(FIG. 4[0085-0086], [0090] The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. A monitoring periodicity for the search space, monitoring occasion of symbol units in the slot for the search space, a search space type. The search space is a set of downlink control channel candidates including CCEs.);
and performing blind decoding of downlink control channel candidates based at least in part on the frequency location of the CORESET at the downlink control channel monitoring occasion([0085],[0086], [0090] In which a UE bandwidth part 410 is configured on a frequency domain and two control resource sets (control resource set #1 401 and control resource set #2 402) are configured in one slot 420 on a time domain. A search space representing a set of CCEs may be used for blind decoding. The search space is a set of downlink control channel candidates including CCEs. Configuring the control resource set to the UE may mean providing information such as a control resource set identity, a frequency position of the control resource set.).
Kim does not disclose determining a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP;
However, He does disclose determining a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP (Fig. 2, [0055]-[0070] [0080] [0086] In a same BWP configuration, Each group includes three CORESET information. A first group may be CORESET1, CORESET2, CORESET3; a second group may be CORESET1a, CORESET2a, CORESET3a; and a third group may be CORESET1b, CORESET2b, CORESET3b. The CORESET information in the three groups may be switched. The CORESET information of different groups in the embodiment may be valid in different first time-domain resources. The first time-domain resource may be a time point. A relationship among the different groups may be a displacement relationship in the frequency-domain. However, other relationships may be available. For example, the relationship may be a change in both the time-domain resources and the frequency-domain resources. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP, and different CORESET information may be valid on different first time-domain resources. The terminal operating with the narrowband may be adapted, and frequency hopping of the PDCCH in various frequency-domain narrow bands may be supported. At least one first CORESET information and at least one second CORESET information may belong to the same search space. The network device may further configure only one CORESET information for each BWP. A location of a physical resource block (PRB) of the CORESET information is a relative frequency-domain location within one frequency-domain subband. As shown in Fig. 2 of He, the frequency locations of the CORESETs are determined based on a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET in the times T1, T2, and T3.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with determining a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP as taught by He. The motivation for doing so would be improve the reception performance of the PDCCH may be achieved. (He, [0046])
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the method wherein the frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET comprises at least one frequency offset value (FIG. 4 [0085], [0165], [0206] PUCCH format, number of PUCCH resources, time and frequency resource allocation information of PUCCH, frequency hopping, etc. M candidate groups of parameter values for the duration 803, the periodicity 804, time offset, etc. The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403.)
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the method wherein the periodicity of the frequency hopping pattern is a multiple of a downlink control channel monitoring periodicity ([0163], [0171] time and frequency resource allocation information, transmission periodicity, frequency hopping, DMRS configuration, MCS, resource block group (RBG) size. PDCCH monitoring periodicity, number of PDCCH candidates, time and frequency resources of control resource set, etc.).
Regarding claim 5 Kim discloses the method further comprising: determining a downlink subband within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the downlink subband is associated with the frequency location of the CORESET ([0085],[0090] The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. The search space is a set of downlink control channel candidates including CCEs.); and receiving at least one of a downlink signal or a downlink channel within the downlink subband ([0029],[0090] At least one of performing physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring or receiving physical downlink shared channel semi-persistent scheduling (SPS PDSCH) may be performed in the active mode. The UE has to detect a signal in a state in which the UE does not know information about the downlink control channel.).
Regarding claim 6 Kim discloses the method wherein the downlink subband includes at least the frequency location of the CORESET ([0085], [0088] FIG.5 The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. When the downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504.).
Regarding claim 9 Kim discloses the method further comprising: determining an uplink subband of an uplink active BWP, wherein the uplink subband is associated with the frequency location of the CORESET (FIG. 4,6 [0085], [0132], [0183] A frequency diversity effect, an uplink control channel with a long transmission interval is configured at a distant location as in 608 and 609. The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. Uplink slot pattern, downlink slot pattern, and time offset, etc.);
and transmitting at least one of an uplink signal or an uplink channel within the uplink subband (FIG. 6 [0132] A frequency diversity effect, an uplink control channel with a long transmission interval is configured at a distant location as in 608 and 609.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim does disclose the method wherein the UE is a reduced capability UE ([0062] The power consumption of the UE may be reduced.).
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1., in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1., in further view of Islam et al, US 20200037396 A1.
Regarding claim 2, Kim and He does disclose the method further comprising receiving the frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET,
However, Samsung does disclose the method further comprising receiving the frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET (Pg.1 Section 1 par.5: This contribution considers CORESET frequency hopping and retuning aspects to support scheduling over a wider BW.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with the method further comprising receiving the frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET as taught by Samsung. The motivation for doing so would be the UE has been configured to operate with limited Tx/Rx BW capability for power savings. (Samsung, Pg. 2 Section 2 par.4).
Kim, He, and Samsung do not disclose wherein the frequency location of the CORESET repeats within the single active downlink BWP based at least in part on the periodicity of the frequency hopping pattern.
However, Islam does disclose wherein the frequency location of the CORESET repeats within the single active downlink BWP based at least in part on the periodicity of the frequency hopping pattern ([0214] wherein, if the WUS is detected by the UE, UE shall enter the “network access mode” (NAM), e.g., MAC entity switching to “Active Time”, during the associated drx-onDuration period in which the PDCCH monitoring is carried out. Wherein a resource set configured for WUS occasion comprises a set of Y basic WUS sequences allocated in continuous time and/or frequency domain. wherein each WUS candidate can be comprised of one or several basic WUS sequence depending on the repetition level of the WUS candidate.Wherein the momentary/active WURESET configuration can be defined in the current active BWP. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with determine a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP as taught by Islam. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce overall UE power consumption. (Islam, [0023])
Regarding claim 18, Kim and He does disclose the UE further comprising receiving the frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET, wherein the frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET comprises at least one frequency offset value (FIG. 4 [0080], [0085], [0165], [0206] the UE may transmit and receive data at a specific frequency position within the system bandwidth. PUCCH format, number of PUCCH resources, time and frequency resource allocation information of PUCCH, frequency hopping, etc. M candidate groups of parameter values for the duration 803, the periodicity 804, time offset, etc. The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403.),
Kim and He do not disclose and wherein the frequency location of the CORESET repeats within the single active downlink BWP based at least in part on the periodicity of the frequency hopping pattern.
However, Islam does disclose and wherein the frequency location of the CORESET repeats within the single active downlink BWP based at least in part on the periodicity of the frequency hopping pattern([0214] wherein, if the WUS is detected by the UE, UE shall enter the “network access mode” (NAM), e.g., MAC entity switching to “Active Time”, during the associated drx-onDuration period in which the PDCCH monitoring is carried out. Wherein a resource set configured for WUS occasion comprises a set of Y basic WUS sequences allocated in continuous time and/or frequency domain. wherein each WUS candidate can be comprised of one or several basic WUS sequence depending on the repetition level of the WUS candidate. Wherein the momentary/active WURESET configuration can be defined in the current active BWP. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with determine a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP as taught by Islam. The motivation for doing so would be to reduce overall UE power consumption. (Islam, [0023]).
Claims 17, 19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1., in view of Cirik et al, US 20220159733 A1., in further view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1.
Regarding claim 17, Kim does disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising: at least one memory (FIG. 10 a memory 1002);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable to cause the UE to ([0224] FIG. 10 the transceiver 1001, the memory 1002, and the processor 1003 of the UE may be implemented in the form of a single chip.):
and perform blind decoding of downlink control channel candidates based at least in part on the frequency location of the CORESET at the downlink control channel monitoring occasion(FIG. 4 [0085-0086], [0090] A search space representing a set of CCEs may be used for blind decoding. The search space is a set of downlink control channel candidates including CCEs. Configuring the control resource set to the UE may mean providing information such as a control resource set identity, a frequency position of the control resource set. The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain.).
Kim does not disclose receive an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET;
However, Cirik does disclose receive an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET ([0199][0246] The UE may determine a time-frequency resource for a CORESET based on RRC messages. The UE may determine a number (e.g., at most 10) of search space sets configured on the CORESET based on the RRC messages. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. The (activated) one or more activated TCI states may be applicable to PDCCH reception (in the one or more coresets) in an active downlink BWP of the cell.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with receive an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) a search space set associated with the CORESET as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the likelihood of the packet being received and, at the receiver, remove any duplicate packets. (Cirik, [0069])
Kim and Cirik do not disclose determine a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP;
However, He does disclose determine a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP (FIG. 2 [0050-0070] [0080] [0086] In a same BWP configuration, Each group includes three CORESET information. A first group may be CORESET1, CORESET2, CORESET3; a second group may be CORESET1a, CORESET2a, CORESET3a; and a third group may be CORESET1b, CORESET2b, CORESET3b. The CORESET information in the three groups may be switched. The CORESET information of different groups in the embodiment may be valid in different first time-domain resources. The first time-domain resource may be a time point. A relationship among the different groups may be a displacement relationship in the frequency-domain. However, other relationships may be available. For example, the relationship may be a change in both the time-domain resources and the frequency-domain resources. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP, and different CORESET information may be valid on different first time-domain resources. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP, and different CORESET information may be valid on different first time-domain resources. The terminal operating with the narrowband may be adapted, and frequency hopping of the PDCCH in various frequency-domain narrow bands may be supported. At least one first CORESET information and at least one second CORESET information may belong to the same search space. The network device may further configure only one CORESET information for each BWP. As shown in Fig. 2 of He, the frequency locations of the CORESETs are determined based on a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET in the times T1, T2, and T3.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Cirik with determine a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP as taught by He. The motivation for doing so would be improve the reception performance of the PDCCH may be achieved. (He, [0046])
Regarding claim 19, Kim does disclose the UE wherein the at least one processor is further operable to cause the UE to: wherein the downlink subband is associated with the frequency location of the CORESET ([0085], [0088], FIG.5 The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. 402 is configured with a control resource set duration of one symbol. When the downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504.);
and receive at least one of a downlink signal or a downlink channel within the downlink subband ([0035], [0088], FIG.5 402 is configured with a control resource set duration of one symbol. When the downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504. Transceiver and configured to receive.).
Kim and Cirik do not disclose determine a downlink subband within the single active downlink BWP,
However, He does disclose determine a downlink subband within the single active downlink BWP ([0050] [0054] [0059] The plurality of first CORESET information included in each BWP configuration may be configured to configure positions of the plurality of first CORESET information within the frequency-domain of the BWP. The at least one first CORESET information may be in a valid state or an active state at various time points. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP. The terminal may determine the at least one second CORESET information corresponding to the time-domain resource based on the at least one first CORESET information and the first time-domain resource. Therefore, the terminal operating with the narrowband may be adapted, and frequency hopping of the PDCCH in various frequency-domain narrow bands may be supported.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Cirik with determine a downlink subband within the single active downlink bandwidth part BWP as taught by He. The motivation for doing so would be improve the reception performance of the PDCCH may be achieved. (He, [0046])
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses a method performed by a network equipment (NE), the method comprising: and transmitting downlink signaling based at least in part on the frequency location of the CORESET at the downlink control channel monitoring occasion ([0085], [0088], FIG.5 The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. 402 is configured with a control resource set duration of one symbol. When the downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504.).
Kim does not disclose transmitting an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET,
However, Cirik does disclose transmitting an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET ([0199][0246] The UE may determine a time-frequency resource for a CORESET based on RRC messages. The UE may determine a number (e.g., at most 10) of search space sets configured on the CORESET based on the RRC messages. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. The (activated) one or more activated TCI states may be applicable to PDCCH reception (in the one or more coresets) in an active downlink BWP of the cell.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with transmitting an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the likelihood of the packet being received and, at the receiver, remove any duplicate packets. (Cirik, [0069])
Kim and Cirik do not disclose wherein a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set is based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, and wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP;
However, He does disclose wherein a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set is based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, and wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP (FIG. 2 [0050-0070] [0080] In a same BWP configuration, Each group includes three CORESET information. A first group may be CORESET1, CORESET2, CORESET3; a second group may be CORESET1a, CORESET2a, CORESET3a; and a third group may be CORESET1b, CORESET2b, CORESET3b. The CORESET information in the three groups may be switched. The CORESET information of different groups in the embodiment may be valid in different first time-domain resources. The first time-domain resource may be a time point. A relationship among the different groups may be a displacement relationship in the frequency-domain. However, other relationships may be available. For example, the relationship may be a change in both the time-domain resources and the frequency-domain resources. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP, and different CORESET information may be valid on different first time-domain resources. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP, and different CORESET information may be valid on different first time-domain resources. The terminal operating with the narrowband may be adapted, and frequency hopping of the PDCCH in various frequency-domain narrow bands may be supported. At least one first CORESET information and at least one second CORESET information may belong to the same search space. The network device may further configure only one CORESET information for each BWP. A location of a physical resource block (PRB) of the CORESET information is a relative frequency-domain location within one frequency-domain subband. As shown in Fig. 2 of He, the frequency locations of the CORESETs are determined based on a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET in the times T1, T2, and T3.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Cirik with wherein a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set is based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP, and wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP as taught by He. The motivation for doing so would be improve the reception performance of the PDCCH may be achieved. (He, [0046])
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses A network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory (FIG. 10 a memory 1002);
and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable to cause the NE to ([0224] FIG. 10 the transceiver 1001, the memory 1002, and the processor 1003 of the UE may be implemented in the form of a single chip.):
and transmit downlink signaling based at least in part on the frequency location of the CORESET at the downlink control channel monitoring occasion ([0085], [0088], FIG.5 The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. 402 is configured with a control resource set duration of one symbol. When the downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504.).
Kim does not disclose transmit an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET,
However, Cirik does disclose transmit an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET, and wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP ([0199][0246] The UE may determine a time-frequency resource for a CORESET based on RRC messages. The UE may determine a number (e.g., at most 10) of search space sets configured on the CORESET based on the RRC messages. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. The (activated) one or more activated TCI states may be applicable to PDCCH reception (in the one or more coresets) in an active downlink BWP of the cell.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with transmit an indication of a frequency domain resource of a control resource set (CORESET) of a single active downlink bandwidth part (BWP) and a search space set associated with the CORESET, and wherein the frequency location is within the single active downlink BWP as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the likelihood of the packet being received and, at the receiver, remove any duplicate packets. (Cirik, [0069])
Kim and Cirik do not disclose wherein a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set is based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP,
However, He does disclose wherein a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set is based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP ([0050-0070] [0199][0246] In a same BWP configuration, Each group includes three CORESET information. A first group may be CORESET1, CORESET2, CORESET3; a second group may be CORESET1a, CORESET2a, CORESET3a; and a third group may be CORESET1b, CORESET2b, CORESET3b. The CORESET information in the three groups may be switched. The CORESET information of different groups in the embodiment may be valid in different first time-domain resources. The first time-domain resource may be a time point. A relationship among the different groups may be a displacement relationship in the frequency-domain. However, other relationships may be available. For example, the relationship may be a change in both the time-domain resources and the frequency-domain resources. A plurality of CORESET information may be configured on the same BWP, and different CORESET information may be valid on different first time-domain resources. The UE may determine a time-frequency resource for a CORESET based on RRC messages. The UE may determine a number (e.g., at most 10) of search space sets configured on the CORESET based on the RRC messages. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. The (activated) one or more activated TCI states may be applicable to PDCCH reception (in the one or more coresets) in an active downlink BWP of the cell. As shown in Fig. 2 of He, the frequency locations of the CORESETs are determined based on a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET in the times T1, T2, and T3.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Cirik with wherein a frequency location of the CORESET at a downlink control channel monitoring occasion of the search space set is based at least in part on the indication of the frequency domain resource and a periodicity of a frequency hopping pattern of the CORESET within the single active downlink BWP as taught by He. The motivation for doing so would be improve the reception performance of the PDCCH may be achieved. (He, [0046])
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1, in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1., in view of Cirik et al, US 20220159733 A1., in further view of Samsung et al, "Bandwidth Part Hopping for CORESETS", R1- 1713621, for 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #90, Prague, Czech Republic, August 21 - 25, 2017.
Regarding claim 12 Kim and He do not disclose the method wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of CORESETs and a plurality of subbands within the single active downlink BWP, wherein each subband of the plurality of subbands is associated with a respective CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs,
However, Cirik does disclose the method wherein the UE is configured with a plurality of CORESETs and a plurality of subbands within the single active downlink BWP, wherein each subband of the plurality of subbands is associated with a respective CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs ([0246] The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. The (activated) one or more activated TCI states may be applicable to PDCCH reception (in the one or more coresets) in an active downlink BWP of the cell.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim with the method wherein the user equipment UB is configured with a plurality of CORESETs and a plurality of subbands within the single active downlink bandwidth part BWP, wherein each subband of the plurality of subbands is associated with a respective CORESET of the plurality of CORESETs as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the likelihood of the packet being received and, at the receiver, remove any duplicate packets. (Cirik, [0069])
Kim, He, and Cirik do not disclose and wherein the method further comprises performing subband switching among the plurality of subbands based at least in part on a subband switching pattern.
However, Samsung does disclose and wherein the method further comprises performing subband switching among the plurality of subbands based at least in part on a subband switching pattern (Pg.2 2.2 PUCCH BW Switching for SRS Transmissions: SRS fast switching needs to apply to BW parts in order to enable frequency selective UL scheduling (and DL scheduling in TDD). A hopping pattern in BW parts of a system BW for PUCCH frequency resources.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, He, and Cirik with and wherein the method further comprises performing subband switching among the plurality of subbands based at least in part on a subband switching pattern as taught by Samsung. The motivation for doing so would be the UE has been configured to operate with limited Tx/Rx BW capability for power savings. (Samsung, Pg. 2 Section 2 par.4).
Claims 15 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1., in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1., in view of Cirik et al, US 20220159733
Regarding claim 15 Kim and He do not disclose the method further comprising monitoring a downlink control channel in the CORESET of the single active downlink BWP to receive a corresponding downlink shared channel that is within a first downlink subband of a first downlink bandwidth,
However, Cirik does disclose the method further comprising monitoring a downlink control channel in the CORESET of the single active downlink BWP to receive a corresponding downlink shared channel that is within a first downlink subband of a first downlink bandwidth ([0246] The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set. The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs. The (activated) one or more activated TCI states may be applicable to PDCCH reception (in the one or more coresets) in an active downlink BWP of the cell.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with the method further comprising monitoring a downlink control channel in the CORESET of the single active downlink BWP to receive a corresponding downlink shared channel that is within a first downlink subband of a first downlink bandwidth as taught by Cirik. The motivation for doing so would be to improve the likelihood of the packet being received and, at the receiver, remove any duplicate packets. (Cirik, [0069])
Kim, He, and Cirik do not disclose wherein the first downlink subband includes the CORESET, and wherein the first downlink bandwidth is narrower than a bandwidth of the single active downlink BWP and is greater than a bandwidth of the CORESET based at least in part on a time duration between an ending time of the downlink control channel scheduling the corresponding downlink shared channel and a start time of downlink shared channel reception being less than a first downlink delay value.
However, Zhou does disclose wherein the first downlink subband includes the CORESET, and wherein the first downlink bandwidth is narrower than a bandwidth of the single active downlink BWP and is greater than a bandwidth of the CORESET based at least in part on a time duration between an ending time of the downlink control channel scheduling the corresponding downlink shared channel and a start time of downlink shared channel reception being less than a first downlink delay value ([0090] [0092] if an offset between a SS/PBCH block indicated in the PBCH and the CORESETO is less than or equal to the preset threshold; and a fourth receiving sub-circuitry 215 which is adapted to receive the PDSCH based on the scheduling information for obtaining the narrowband SiB1.) An offset between a SS/PBCH block indicated in the PBCH and the CORESETO is less than or equal to the preset threshold, the determining circuitry 21 is also adapted to receive the TypeOB-PDCCH, wherein the Type0OB-PDCCH is a PDCCH used for scheduling a PDSCH carrying the narrowband SIB1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, He, and Cirik with wherein the first downlink subband includes the CORESET, and wherein the first downlink bandwidth is narrower than a bandwidth of the single active downlink BWP and is greater than a bandwidth of the CORESET based at least in part on a time duration between an ending time of the downlink control channel scheduling the corresponding downlink shared channel and a start time of physical downlink shared channel reception being less than a first downlink delay value as taught by Zhou. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a solution for obtaining and configuring a narrowband CORESETO and/or a narrowband initial active downlink BWP. (Zhou, [0012])
Regarding claim 16, Kim, He, and Cirik does not disclose the method further comprising receiving the corresponding downlink shared channel either within the first downlink subband of the first downlink bandwidth or in a second downlink subband of a second downlink bandwidth based at least in part on downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink control channel.
However, Zhou does disclose the method further comprising receiving the corresponding downlink shared channel either within the first downlink subband of the first downlink bandwidth or in a second downlink subband of a second downlink bandwidth based at least in part on downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink control channel ([0090-0091] Receive a Type00-PDCCH for obtaining a scheduling information of a PDSCH based on the TypeO-PDCCH. receive a TypeOB-PDCCH in the CORESETO, the Type0OB-PDCCH is a PDCCH used for scheduling a PDSCH carrying the narrowband SIB1; obtain a scheduling information of the PDSCH carrying the narrowband SIB1 based on the TypeOBPDCCH),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, He, and Cirik with the method further comprising receiving the corresponding downlink shared channel either within the first downlink subband of the first downlink bandwidth or in a second downlink subband of a second downlink bandwidth based at least in part on downlink control information (DCI) in the downlink control channel as taught by Zhou. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a solution for obtaining and configuring a narrowband CORESETO and/or a narrowband initial active downlink BWP. (Zhou, [0012])
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1., in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1., and in further in view of Li et al., US 20200195410 A1.
Regarding claim 7 Kim discloses the method further comprising: retuning a receiver bandwidth from a first bandwidth to a second bandwidth, wherein the second bandwidth is wider than the downlink subband and the first bandwidth ([0077] FIG.3 A UE bandwidth 300 is configured as two bandwidth parts, that is, bandwidth part #1 (BWP #1) 301 and bandwidth part #2 (BWP #2) 302.);
The combination of Kim and He do not disclose receiving scheduling information of at least one of a wideband signal or a wideband channel, wherein the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel is outside of the downlink subband and within the single active downlink BWP;
However, Li does disclose receiving scheduling information of at least one of a wideband signal or a wideband channel, wherein the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel is outside of the downlink subband and within the single active downlink BWP([0093], [0108] the UE may switch to BWP2, with a wideband 100 MHz bandwidth and where the UE periodically monitors the PDCCH with a first predetermined period. CDRX timer status triggers to switch active BWPs and/or monitoring schedules.);
receiving the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel according to the scheduling information ([0093], [0108] The UE may switch to BWP2, with a wideband 100 MHz bandwidth and where the UE periodically monitors the PDCCH with a first predetermined period. CDRX timer status triggers to switch active BWPs and/or monitoring schedules.);
and activating a wideband operation timer at each occasion associated with each reception of the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel ([0088], [0093] The UE may switch to BWP2, with a wideband 100 MHz bandwidth and where the UE periodically monitors the PDCCH with a first predetermined period. Expiration of the inactivity timer, may switch/retune the UE from the BWP2 to using BWP3 with a narrow bandwidth, with similar or different PDCCH monitoring periodicity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with receiving scheduling information of at least one of a wideband signal or a wideband channel, wherein the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel is not within outside of the downlink subband and within the single active downlink bandwidth part BWP; receiving the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel according to the scheduling information; and activating a wideband operation timer at each occasion associated with each reception of the at least one of the wideband signal or the wideband channel as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to take advantage of the flexibility in BWP allocation in order to further power savings opportunities. (Li, [0005])
Regarding claim 8 Kim and He does not disclose the method further comprising retuning the receiver bandwidth from the second bandwidth to the first bandwidth upon expiry of the wideband operation timer.
However, Li does disclose the method further comprising retuning the receiver bandwidth from the second bandwidth to the first bandwidth upon expiry of the wideband operation timer ([0088] Expiration of the inactivity timer, may switch/retune the UE from the BWP2 to using BWP3 with a narrow bandwidth, with similar or different PDCCH monitoring periodicity.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with the method further comprising retuning the receiver bandwidth from the second bandwidth to the first bandwidth upon expiry of the wideband operation timer as taught by Li. The motivation for doing so would be to take advantage of the flexibility in BWP allocation in order to further power savings opportunities. (Li, [0005])
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1., in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1., in view of Jeon et al, US 20190132862 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ang et al, US 20220360417 A1.
Regarding claim 10 Kim discloses the method further comprising receiving an indication of a with a first downlink bandwidth and an indication for operation second downlink bandwith, wherein the second downlink bandwidth is wider than the first downlink bandwidth ([0085], [0088] FIG.5 The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. When the downlink control resource set is configured, the downlink control resource set may include a plurality of CCEs 504.),
The combination of Kim, Cirik, and He do not disclose first downlink scheduling offset value KOmin. Second downlink scheduling offset value KOmin
However, Jeon discloses first downlink scheduling offset value KOmin ([0109,0112] A common DMRS structure may be used for downlink and uplink, such as for CP-OFDM.K repetitions. The parameters that may not be RRC configured and/or required to be updated (e.gg., an offset value with respect to a timing reference). Second downlink scheduling offset value KOmin ([0109,0112] [0150],[0154]. A common DMRS structure may be used for downlink and uplink, such as for CP-OFDM.K repetitions. An offset of the first PRB for DL and/or UL in the number of contiguous PRBs relative to the first PRB by a higher layer. If the DL BWP index field is configured in a DCI format scheduling PDSCH reception to a wireless device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Cirik, and Xia with first downlink scheduling offset value KOmin. Second downlink scheduling offset value KOmin as taught by Jeon. The motivation for doing so would be reducing delays in switching bandwidth parts and providing a higher level of service. (Jeon, [0005])
The combination of Kim, Cirik, He, and Jeon do not disclose and wherein the second downlink scheduling offset value is larger than the first downlink scheduling offset value.
However, Ang does disclose and wherein the second downlink scheduling offset value is larger than the first downlink scheduling offset value (Fig. 8A, Fig. 8C. [0079] and [0081], Receiving kO=2 for BWPO and k0=6 for BWP1, BWP1 has a wider band (30kHz) than BWPO (15kHz), the kO for BWP1 is larger that the kO for BWPO.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Cirik, He, and Jeon with and wherein the second downlink scheduling offset value is larger than the first downlink scheduling offset value as taught by Ang. The motivation for doing so would be to better support mobile broadband Internet access by improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, improving services, making use of new spectrum. (Ang, [0004]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al., US 20220159568 A1, in view of He et al, US 20220416980 A1., and in further view of Jeon et al, US 20190132862 A1.
Regarding claim 11 Kim disclose the method further comprising receiving an indication of a first uplink scheduling offset value K2min for operation with a first uplink bandwidth and an indication of a second uplink scheduling offset value K2min for operation with a second uplink bandwidth (FIG. 4 [0085], [0132], [0183] A frequency diversity effect, an uplink control channel with a long transmission interval is configured at a distant location as in 608 and 609. The control resource sets 401 and 402 may be configured to a specific frequency resource 403 within the entire UE bandwidth part 410 on the frequency domain. Uplink slot pattern, downlink slot pattern, and time offset, etc.),
The combination of Kim and He do not disclose wherein the second uplink bandwidth is wider than the first uplink bandwidth, and wherein the second uplink scheduling offset value is larger than the first uplink scheduling offset value.
However, Jeon does disclose wherein the second uplink bandwidth is wider than the first uplink bandwidth, and wherein the second uplink scheduling offset value is larger than the first uplink scheduling offset value ([0109,0112] A common DMRS structure may be used for downlink and uplink, such as for CP-OFDM.K repetitions. The parameters that may not be RRC configured and/or required to be updated (e.g., an offset value with respect to a timing reference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and He with wherein the second uplink bandwidth is wider than the first uplink bandwidth, and wherein the second uplink scheduling offset value is larger than the first uplink scheduling offset value as taught by Jeon. The motivation for doing so would be reducing delays in switching bandwidth parts and providing a higher level of service. (Jeon, [0005]).
Conclusion
/RYA TEON NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409