DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-14 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/03/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claim 15-19 in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that examination would not result in a serious search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because search/examination burden is not a requirement under Unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 recites “The azimuth actuator system of claim 18…” The dependency of claim 18 is unclear from the claims. This renders the claims indefinite.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to reference a claim previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel US20200091863A1 in view of Kang KR20100114797A (examiner references the English language translation provided with this office action).
Regarding claim 15, Angel US20200091863A1 discloses an azimuth actuator system for a heliostat comprising:
a support connected to (Fig. 22), a circular track (310), wherein a plurality of support members extends from the support to at least three hubs that are operably engaged with the circular track (seen in Fig. 22 and Fig. 23, hubs 408 one of which is motorized ¶157).
Angel lacks the azimuth actuator having a plurality of rollers are arranged in a circular pattern, and the azimuth actuator rotates the plurality of rollers about a center axis of the circular pattern, wherein axes of rotation of the rollers of the plurality of rollers and the center axis are oriented in a direction substantially perpendicular to a central axis of a cross section of the circular track, and
a plurality of teeth extending from the circular track, wherein each tooth has a first side and a second side descending from a distal tip of the tooth, and each of the first side and the second side have a flat portion, and
wherein the plurality of rollers is biased against the plurality of teeth such that at least one roller of the plurality of rollers is engaged to the flat portions of adjacent teeth to prevent backlash between the plurality of rollers and the plurality of teeth
Kang KR20100114797A discloses an azimuth actuator system for a heliostat (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), comprising:
a support connected to a circular track (Fig. 2, track 64);
an azimuth actuator (62) positioned proximate to one of the at least three hubs, the azimuth actuator having a plurality of rollers are arranged in a circular pattern (fig. 11, roller 62a), and the azimuth actuator rotates the plurality of rollers about a center axis of the circular pattern (seen in Fig. 11), wherein axes of rotation of the rollers of the plurality of rollers and the center axis are oriented in a direction substantially perpendicular to a central axis of a cross section of the circular track (Fig. 2, and Fig. 11); and
a plurality of teeth extending from the circular track (Fig. 11, 63), wherein each tooth has a first side and a second side descending from a distal tip of the tooth, and each of the first side and the second side have a flat portion (Fig. 11), and
wherein the plurality of rollers is biased against the plurality of teeth such that at least one roller of the plurality of rollers is engaged to the flat portions of adjacent teeth to prevent backlash between the plurality of rollers and the plurality of teeth (seen in Fig. 11).
Kang teaches that such a drive configuration improves driving force and reduces noise (page 4, ¶3 of the provided translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prior art device with an azimuth drive actuator and toothed ring, as taught by Kang since doing so amounts to a known technique for improving heliostats with the known predictable result of improving driving force and reducing noise.
Regarding claim 18, the previously combined references teach the azimuth actuator system of claim 18, further comprising:
a first structural support extending from the driven hub to a first idler hub that is one of the at least three hubs (Angel, Fig. 22); and
a second structural support extending from the driven hub to a second idler hub that is one of the at least three hubs, wherein the driven hub, the first idler hub, and the second idler hub are equally spaced around the circular track (Angel, Fig. 22, Fig. 23, ¶157).
Regarding claim 19, the previously combined references teach the azimuth actuator system of claim 15, wherein the plurality of teeth and an additional plurality of teeth are cut from a common material, wherein the pluralities of teeth are arranged on the common material in an interleaving manner to reduce waste. Kang, Fig. 11 teaches a plurality of teeth. The limitation is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. MPEP 2113. In the present case the prior art teaches a plurality of teeth and there is nothing in the current record establishing how one of ordinary skill in the art would distinguish teeth made by the claimed process from the teeth of the prior art.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel US20200091863A1 in view of Kang KR20100114797A in view of Gerwing WO2007109901
Regarding claim 17, the previously combined references teach the azimuth actuator system of claim 15, further comprising: a driven hub that is one of the at least three hubs that are operably engaged with the circular track (Angel, Fig. 2),
The previously combined references do not expressly disclose the driven hub has two contact elements that engage the outer surface of the circular track, wherein the two contact elements are arranged on opposing sides of the circular track in one direction to secure the driven hub to the circular track in that direction.
Gerwing WO2007109901 teaches a heliostat with azimuth tracking and a rotating support ring (Fig. 1, ring 107, page 10 Ln. 10-24) wherein a support member is provided with two contact elements that engage the outer surface of the circular track, wherein the two contact elements are arranged on opposing sides of the circular track in one direction to secure the circular track in that direction (Fig. 14A, support ring 209, bearings 213, 215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the prior art device with contact members that engage the outer surface of the circular track, wherein the two contact elements are arranged on opposing sides of the circular track, as taught by Gerwing, since doing so amounts to a known technique for assembling tracking rings in the field of heliostats with the known predictable result of providing a rotatable connection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or make obvious the additional features of claim 16. While various support arms are taught by the prior art one of ordinary skill would lack sufficient teaching suggestion or motivation to provide the particular combination of features including the arrangement of the arm, slidable housing, and bias member.
The limitation “bias member” is interpreted in light of instant specification ¶50, inter alia.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dominguez US4429952 teaches a heliostat comprising connected supports (Fig. 1), an azimuth actuator (drive motor 72, Fig. 9), a circular track Ring 30 having teeth (Fig. 9, teeth 78), a driven hub (Fig. 9, drive gear 76, corresponding to drive motor 72) and idle hubs (Fig. 8, roller 32 and 34).
However, Dominguez’s drive motor does not rotates a plurality of rollers about a center axis of the circular pattern, wherein axes of rotation of the rollers of the plurality of rollers and the center axis are oriented in a direction substantially perpendicular to a central axis of a cross section of the circular track wherein the plurality of rollers is biased against the plurality of teeth such that at least one roller of the plurality of rollers is engaged to the flat portions of adjacent teeth to prevent backlash between the plurality of rollers and the plurality of teeth (see Fig. 8 and Fig. 9).
Kattke WO2015009507 teaches a solar tracking system comprising
a support connected to a circular track (rods 114, 138 connected to track 106 Fig. 3), wherein a plurality of support members extends from the support to at least three hubs that are operably engaged with the circular track (Fig. 3, Fig. 5b, Fig. 6);
an azimuth actuator positioned proximate to one of the at least three hubs (motor 128, Fig. 6),
a plurality of teeth extending from the circular track (19).
Kattke lacks the azimuth actuator having a plurality of rollers are arranged in a circular pattern, and the azimuth actuator rotates the plurality of rollers about a center axis of the circular pattern, wherein axes of rotation of the rollers of the plurality of rollers and the center axis are oriented in a direction substantially perpendicular to a central axis of a cross section of the circular track; and
a plurality of teeth extending from the circular track, wherein each tooth has a first side and a second side descending from a distal tip of the tooth, and each of the first side and the second side have a flat portion, and
wherein the plurality of rollers is biased against the plurality of teeth such that at least one roller of the plurality of rollers is engaged to the flat portions of adjacent teeth to prevent backlash between the plurality of rollers and the plurality of teeth.
/DEEPAK A DEEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762