DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 09/29/2025 for application no. 17924856. Claims 1,6,7,11, 16,17 and 20 have been currently amended. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are pending examination.
Response to arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot. Applicants’ amendment pertaining to new subject matter necessitated new grounds of rejection.
In the previously presented claims filed on 02/07/2025, the subject matter relating to the structure of the data packet was recited in dependent claims 6 and 7. Claim 6 recited “sending a data packet that carries the first request to the second electronic device, the data packet comprises an identifier of the permission item restricted for use”. Claim 7 recited “the data packet comprises one or a combination of the following fields”.
The amended claims filed 09/29/2025 now require, “the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field”. This amendment changes the scope by requiring all four fields to present rather than reciting “one or a combination of” the listed fields as in the previously presented claims where only one field was evaluated in the previous office action mailed 07/10/2025. In contrast, the amended independent claim 1 now recites that “the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field”. The amended language now requires that all four fields be present in combination. This changes the scope of the claim and defines more data that were not previously required. Accordingly, a new reference, Ivanov et al (US 20160198022 A1) has been introduced to teach “the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-15, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 20150128202 A), hereinafter referred to as Yoon, in view of Mohan et al. (US 20180054852 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mohan in further view of Ivanov et al. (US 20160198022 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ivanov.
As per claim 1, Yoon discloses a permission negotiation method during communication, applied to a first electronic device, wherein the method comprises:
displaying, by the first electronic device, an interface of a currently running communication application; (Display 250 of the first device is coupled with the second device to display a stored file or application, Yoon, page 6).
sending a data packet that carries a first request to the second electronic device, wherein the first request comprises the permission item restricted for use, and (Content of the request consists of attributes and at operation 516 device performs security processing on the content of the request based on the attributes, Yoon, page 13)
receiving confirmation information of the second electronic device for the permission item restricted for use; (Receiving notification information from an external device, such as the second electronic device 104 to perform security processing for the content based on the user access, Yoon, page 9 para 2). [Notification is interpreted as a means to confirm the transfer of content between the two devices]
restricting, based on the confirmation information, a locally installed application on applying for the permission item restricted for use; and (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed by the device if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, page 8, para 6).
after communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device ends, restoring settings of the permission item of the locally installed application to settings that precede the communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (The restoration-related event is a predetermined period of time from when the connection between the first electronic device 101 and second electronic device is released or disconnected when the secure processed content is received, and files are de-configured and attributes are changed, Yoon, Page 11, para 2).
However, Yoon does not explicitly disclose the limitations:
after detecting a first operation on the first electronic device that comprises enabling a secure communication mode by a user, obtaining, in response to the first operation, a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the permission item restricted for use comprises at least one of disabling audio recording or disabling video recording;
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field;
Mohan discloses:
after detecting a first operation on the first electronic device that comprises enabling a secure communication mode by a user, obtaining, in response to the first operation, a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the permission item restricted for use comprises at least one of disabling audio recording or disabling video recording; (The audio I/O is disabled during communication between two devices and further the device may be isolated to prevent mixing of audio in the communication channel, Mohan, para [0017], [0035], [0038] and [0039]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon with Mohan to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon and Mohan in order to ensure privacy protection of the communication data between devices (See Mohan, para [0017]).
Yoon in view of Mohan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field;
Ivanov discloses:
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, (Network protocol layer message having a plurality of network protocol layer fields, a first subset of the plurality of network protocol fields being non-encrypted and a second subset of the plurality of network protocol fields being encrypted, Ivanov, para [0005]. Fields inherently include a header region (network protocol layers such as TCP or IP all include header fields). This aligns with data packet header field) a type field indicating a data service type, (The first subset of the network protocol layer field is non-encrypted and inserting the device data into at least one of the first subset of the network protocol layer fields. The deice data may identify the type of device, its network service or application information, Ivanov, para [0005] and Table 1) a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and (The device data can include operational status information, functional metrics of the device, para [0071]. This indicates what the device should do and aligns to a type/subtype field) an information embedding field; (Inserting the device data into at least one of the first subset of the plurality of the network protocol layer fields, Ivanov, para [0005])
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) with provision of device data to a server (Ivanov). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov in order to efficiently identify device data associated with the device (See Ivanov, para [0005]).
As per claim 2, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
the restricting, based on the confirmation information, a locally installed application on applying for the permission item restricted for use comprises: (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed by the device if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, para 6, page 8)
obtaining, based on the confirmation information, a permission item confirmed by the second electronic device in the permission items restricted for use; and (The first electronic device 101 may perform user authentication to release security processing for the content sent to the second electronic device 104. the second electronic device 104 requests security processes of the content to the first electronic device 101 based on user access, Yoon, para 8, page 6) [Authentication being performed by second device is interpreted to be confirmed by the second device]
restricting the locally installed application on applying for the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, para 6, page 8, where setting of the attribute is done via second electronic device, para 9, page 8).
As per claim 3, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein,
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
after the receiving confirmation information of the second electronic device for the permission item restricted for use, the method further comprises: (Receiving notification information from an external device, such as the second electronic device 104 to perform security processing for the content based on the user access, Yoon, page 9 para 2). [notification is interpreted as a means to confirm the transfer of content between the two devices]
establishing a call connection to the second electronic device, wherein the call connection comprises a video call connection or a voice call connection (Communication module 1120 responsible the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, consists of cellular module 1121 which provides services such as voice Call, video call, text or other internet services, Yoon, para 6,7, page 20).
As per claim 4, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein,
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
after the displaying, by a first electronic device, an interface of a currently running communication application, and before the detecting a first operation of a user, the method further comprises: (Display 250 of the first device is coupled with the second device to display a stored file or application, page 6. Processor receives a command which consists of an operation to be executed, page 7, performs a security process based on the operation when the first device sends a request to the second device for communication, Yoon, page 23) [security process is interpreted as permission item that restricts usage when applied])
sending a call request to the second electronic device; and (At S510 request to establish a connection is sent, para 4, page 13, where the second electronic device 104 communicates with the first electronic device 101 using a phone call service, Yoon, para 4, page 6)
establishing a call connection to the second electronic device based on the call request, wherein the call connection comprises a video call connection or a voice call connection (The second electronic device 104 communicates with the first electronic device 101 using a phone call service, para 4, page 6, based on the request sent at S510, Yoon, para 4, page 13. Communication module 1120 responsible the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, consists of cellular module 1121 which provides services such as voice Call, video call, text or other internet services, Yoon, para 6,7, page 20)
As per claim 5, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein,
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
after the establishing a call connection to the second electronic device, the method further comprises: (Communication module 1120 responsible the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, consists of cellular module 1121 which provides services such as voice Call, video call, text or other internet services, Yoon, para 6,7, page 20).
if the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device comprises all of permission items in the permission items restricted for use, displaying prompt information indicating that the call connection is a secure call connection; or if the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device is empty, or the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device comprises some of permission items in the permission items restricted for use, displaying prompt information indicating that the call connection is a non-secure call connection (The first electronic device 101 may perform user authentication to release security processing for the content sent to the second electronic device 104. the second electronic device 104 requests security processes of the content to the first electronic device 101 based on user access, Yoon, page 6 para 8) [Authentication being performed by second device is interpreted to be confirmed by the second device]. The user interface 831 of the first device may include information associated with the contact to make a call, Yoon, para 8 and 9, page 17 and the first representation corresponding to a state in which the security processing is released, Yoon, para 12, page 19) [Security process being released is interpreted as the call connection being secure]
As per claim 9, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
the obtaining a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device comprises: (Processor receives a command which consists of an operation to be executed, page 7, performs a security process based on the operation when the first device sends a request to the second device for communication, Yoon, page 23) [security process is interpreted as permission item that restricts usage when applied]
obtaining, based on a security protection level set by the user, a permission item restricted for use that corresponds to the security protection level; or obtaining a permission item restricted for use that is set by the user (Security processing may be performed depending on the attribute of the content based on the user account, Yoon, para 6, page 8).
As per claim 11, Yoon discloses a first electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors, a non-transitory memory, a plurality of applications, and one or more computer programs, wherein the one or more computer programs are stored in the memory, the one or more computer programs comprise instructions, and when the instructions are executed by the first electronic device, the first electronic device is enabled to perform the following operations:
displaying an interface of a currently running communication application; (Display 250 of the first device is coupled with the second device to display a stored file or application, Yoon, page 6).
sending a data packet that carries a first request to the second electronic device, wherein the first request comprises the permission item restricted for use, and (Content of the request consists of attributes and at operation 516 device performs security processing on the content of the request based on the attributes, Yoon, page 13)
receiving confirmation information of the second electronic device for the permission item restricted for use; (Receiving notification information from an external device, such as the second electronic device 104 to perform security processing for the content based on the user access, Yoon, page 9 para 2). [Notification is interpreted as a means to confirm the transfer of content between the two devices]
restricting, based on the confirmation information, a locally installed application on applying for the permission item restricted for use; and (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed by the device if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, page 8, para 6).
after communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device ends, restoring settings of the permission item of the locally installed application to settings that precede the communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (The restoration-related event is a predetermined period of time from when the connection between the first electronic device 101 and second electronic device is released or disconnected when the secure processed content is received, and files are de-configured and attributes are changed, Yoon, Page 11, para 2).
However, Yoon does not explicitly disclose the limitations:
after detecting a first operation on the first electronic device that comprises enabling a secure communication mode by a user, obtaining, in response to the first operation, a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the permission item restricted for use comprises at least one of disabling audio recording or disabling video recording;
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field;
Mohan discloses:
after detecting a first operation on the first electronic device that comprises enabling a secure communication mode by a user, obtaining, in response to the first operation, a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the permission item restricted for use comprises at least one of disabling audio recording or disabling video recording; (The audio I/O is disabled during communication between two devices and further the device may be isolated to prevent mixing of audio in the communication channel, Mohan, para [0017], [0035], [0038] and [0039]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon with Mohan to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon and Mohan in order to ensure privacy protection of the communication data between devices (See Mohan, para [0017]).
Yoon in view of Mohan does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field;
Ivanov discloses:
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, (Network protocol layer message having a plurality of network protocol layer fields, a first subset of the plurality of network protocol fields being non-encrypted and a second subset of the plurality of network protocol fields being encrypted, Ivanov, para [0005]. Fields inherently include a header region (network protocol layers such as TCP or IP all include header fields). This aligns with data packet header field) a type field indicating a data service type, (The first subset of the network protocol layer field is non-encrypted and inserting the device data into at least one of the first subset of the network protocol layer fields. The deice data may identify the type of device, its network service or application information, Ivanov, para [0005] and Table 1) a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and (The device data can include operational status information, functional metrics of the device, para [0071]. This indicates what the device should do and aligns to a type/subtype field) an information embedding field; (Inserting the device data into at least one of the first subset of the plurality of the network protocol layer fields, Ivanov, para [0005])
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) with provision of device data to a server (Ivanov). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov in order to efficiently identify device data associated with the device (See Ivanov, para [0005]).
As per claim 12, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 11, wherein
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
the operation of restricting, based on the confirmation information, the locally installed application on applying for the permission item restricted for use comprises: (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed by the device if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, para 6, page 8)
obtaining, based on the confirmation information, a permission item confirmed by the second electronic device in the permission items restricted for use; and (The first electronic device 101 may perform user authentication to release security processing for the content sent to the second electronic device 104. the second electronic device 104 requests security processes of the content to the first electronic device 101 based on user access, Yoon, para 8, page 6) [Authentication being performed by second device is interpreted to be confirmed by the second device]
restricting the locally installed application on applying for the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, para 6, page 8, where setting of the attribute is done via second electronic device, para 9, page 8)
As per claim 13, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, wherein,
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
after performing the operation of receiving the confirmation information of the second electronic device for the permission item restricted for use, the first electronic device is enabled to further perform the following operation: (Receiving notification information from an external device, such as the second electronic device 104 to perform security processing for the content based on the user access, Yoon, page 9 para 2). [notification is interpreted as a means to confirm the transfer of content between the two devices]
establishing a call connection to the second electronic device, wherein the call connection comprises a video call connection or a voice call connection (Communication module 1120 responsible the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, consists of cellular module 1121 which provides services such as voice Call, video call, text or other internet services, Yoon, para 6,7, page 20).
As per claim 14, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 12, wherein,
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
after performing the operation of displaying the interface of the currently running communication application, and before performing the operation of detecting the first operation of the user, the first electronic device is enabled to further perform the following operations: (Display 250 of the first device is coupled with the second device to display a stored file or application, page 6. Processor receives a command which consists of an operation to be executed, page 7, performs a security process based on the operation when the first device sends a request to the second device for communication, Yoon, page 23) [security process is interpreted as permission item that restricts usage when applied])
sending a call request to the second electronic device; and (At S510 request to establish a connection is sent, para 4, page 13, where the second electronic device 104 communicates with the first electronic device 101 using a phone call service, Yoon, para 4, page 6)
establishing a call connection to the second electronic device based on the call request, wherein the call connection comprises a video call connection or a voice call connection (The second electronic device 104 communicates with the first electronic device 101 using a phone call service, para 4, page 6, based on the request sent at S510, Yoon, para 4, page 13. Communication module 1120 responsible the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, consists of cellular module 1121 which provides services such as voice Call, video call, text or other internet services, Yoon, para 6,7, page 20)
As per claim 15, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 13, wherein,
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
after performing the operation of establishing the call connection to the second electronic device, the first electronic device is enabled to further perform the following operations: (Communication module 1120 responsible the connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, consists of cellular module 1121 which provides services such as voice call, video call, text or other internet services, Yoon, para 6,7, page 20)
if the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device comprises all of permission items in the permission items restricted for use, displaying prompt information indicating that the call connection is a secure call connection; or if the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device is empty, or the permission item confirmed by the second electronic device comprises some of permission items in the permission items restricted for use, displaying prompt information indicating that the call connection is a non-secure call connection (The first electronic device 101 may perform user authentication to release security processing for the content sent to the second electronic device 104. the second electronic device 104 requests security processes of the content to the first electronic device 101 based on user access, Yoon, page 6 para 8) [Authentication being performed by second device is interpreted to be confirmed by the second device]. The user interface 831 of the first device may include information associated with the contact to make a call, Yoon, para 8 and 9, page 17 and the first representation corresponding to a state in which the security processing is released, Yoon, para 12, page 19) [Security process being released is interpreted as the call connection being secure]
As per claim 19, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 11, wherein
Furthermore, Yoon discloses:
the operation of obtaining the permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device comprises: (Processor receives a command which consists of an operation to be executed, page 7, performs a security process based on the operation when the first device sends a request to the second device for communication, Yoon, page 23) [security process is interpreted as permission item that restricts usage when applied]
obtaining, based on a security protection level set by the user, a permission item restricted for use that corresponds to the security protection level; or (Security processing is performed based on the attribute of the content, which is a criterion for determining whether or not to perform security processing, the attribute set by the user may be "public" or "private", Yoon, para 6, page 8). [Public or private is interpreted to be the level of security protection to determine whether the security processing is being performed or not]
obtaining a permission item restricted for use that is set by the user (Security processing may be performed depending on the attribute of the content based on the user account, Yoon, para 6, page 8).
As per claim 20, Yoon discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and when the computer program is run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform operations comprising:
displaying, by a first electronic device, an interface of a currently running communication application; (Display 250 of the first device is coupled with the second device to display a stored file or application, Yoon, page 6).
sending a data packet that carries a first request to the second electronic device, wherein the first request comprises the permission item restricted for use, and (Content of the request consists of attributes and at operation 516 device performs security processing on the content of the request based on the attributes, Yoon, page 13)
receiving confirmation information of the second electronic device for the permission item restricted for use; (Receiving notification information from an external device, such as the second electronic device 104 to perform security processing for the content based on the user access, Yoon, page 9 para 2). [Notification is interpreted as a means to confirm the transfer of content between the two devices]
restricting, based on the confirmation information, a locally installed application on applying for the permission item restricted for use; and (The security processing module 320 determines whether to perform security processing based on the attribute of the content. security processing is not performed by the device if attribute is set to not perform security processing. Attributes of the content are checked based on a notification received for user access, Yoon, page 8, para 6).
after communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device ends, restoring settings of the permission item of the locally installed application to settings that precede the communication between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (The restoration-related event is a predetermined period of time from when the connection between the first electronic device 101 and second electronic device is released or disconnected when the secure processed content is received, and files are de-configured and attributes are changed, Yoon, Page 11, para 2).
However, Yoon does not explicitly disclose the limitations:
after detecting a first operation on the first electronic device that comprises enabling a secure communication mode by a user, obtaining, in response to the first operation, a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the permission item restricted for use comprises at least one of disabling audio recording or disabling video recording;
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field;
Mohan discloses:
after detecting a first operation on the first electronic device that comprises enabling a secure communication mode by a user, obtaining, in response to the first operation, a permission item restricted for use during communication between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the permission item restricted for use comprises at least one of disabling audio recording or disabling video recording; (The audio I/O is disabled during communication between two devices and further the device may be isolated to prevent mixing of audio in the communication channel, Mohan, para [0017], [0035], [0038] and [0039]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon with Mohan to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon and Mohan in order to ensure privacy protection of the communication data between devices (See Mohan, para [0017]).
Yoon in view of Mohan does not explicitly disclose the limitation:
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, a type field indicating a data service type, a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and an information embedding field;
Ivanov discloses:
wherein the data packet comprises a data packet header field, (Network protocol layer message having a plurality of network protocol layer fields, a first subset of the plurality of network protocol fields being non-encrypted and a second subset of the plurality of network protocol fields being encrypted, Ivanov, para [0005]. Fields inherently include a header region (network protocol layers such as TCP or IP all include header fields). This aligns with data packet header field) a type field indicating a data service type, (The first subset of the network protocol layer field is non-encrypted and inserting the device data into at least one of the first subset of the network protocol layer fields. The deice data may identify the type of device, its network service or application information, Ivanov, para [0005] and Table 1) a subtype field indicating a functional action of the data service type, and (The device data can include operational status information, functional metrics of the device, para [0071]. This indicates what the device should do and aligns to a type/subtype field) an information embedding field; (Inserting the device data into at least one of the first subset of the plurality of the network protocol layer fields, Ivanov, para [0005])
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) with provision of device data to a server (Ivanov). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov in order to efficiently identify device data associated with the device (See Ivanov, para [0005]).
Claims 6, 8, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 20150128202 A), hereinafter referred to as Yoon, in view of Mohan et al. (US 20180054852 A1) hereinafter referred to as Mohan in further view of Ivanov et al. (US 20160198022 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ivanov in further view of Sun et al. (US 9626359 B1), hereinafter referred to as Sun.
As per claim 6, Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov, discloses the method according to claim 1,
However, Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov does not disclose:
wherein the data packet comprises an identifier of the permission item restricted for use
Sun discloses:
wherein the data packet comprises an identifier of the permission item restricted for use (Data packet 1220 comprises a token 1218 and encrypted request 1226, Col 26 lines 38-40. Encrypted request 1226 comprises a request containing data that is sent to the server device, Sun, Col 26 lines 64-67. Token 1218 contains information that is used to restrict or allow access to a device, Sun, Col 26, lines 17-23).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) and provision of device data to a server (Ivanov) with data encapsulating systems (Sun). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov with Sun in order to establish secure connection amongst devices (See Sun, col 26, lines 17-23)
As per claim 8, Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein the sending a data packet that carries the first request to the second electronic device comprises:
However, Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov does not explicitly disclose:
adding a random number to the data carried in the information embedding field; encrypting, by using a key in a trusted execution environment, data obtained after the random number is added; encapsulating the encrypted data in the data packet; and sending the data packet to the second electronic device.
Sun discloses:
adding a random number to the data carried in the information embedding field; (Information that has been encapsulated has identifiers added to it. These identifiers could be values, Sun, Col 17, lines 15-17)
encrypting, by using a key in a trusted execution environment, data obtained after the random number is added; (The information associated with the selected encryption decryption module 535a includes executable software instructions for encrypting and decryption data using the encryption/decryption algorithms corresponding to the selected encryption decryption module 535a, and one or more keys for encryption and/or decryption data using such an encryption/decryption algorithms, Sun, Col 117 lines 4-14).
encapsulating the encrypted data in the data packet; and sending the data packet to the second electronic device (Data encapsulation proxy 705 encapsulates data acts as a gateway for server device 710 against any traffic and communications between server device 710 and any client devices wishing to communicate with server device 710, such as client device 715. Proxy 705 is communicatively coupled with client device 715, which desires to exchange data with server device 710, Sun, col 14, lines 14-21, Fig 12 shows data packets exchanged between proxy and client).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) and provision of device data to a server (Ivanov) with data encapsulating systems (Sun). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov with Sun in order to establish secure connection amongst devices (See Sun, col 26, lines 17-23)
As per claim 16, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 11,
However, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the data packet comprises an identifier of the permission item restricted for use
Sun discloses:
wherein the data packet comprises an identifier of the permission item restricted for use (Data packet 1220 comprises a token 1218 and encrypted request 1226, Col 26 lines 38-40. Encrypted request 1226 comprises a request containing data that is sent to the server device, Sun, Col 26 lines 64-67. Token 1218 contains information that is used to restrict or allow access to a device, Sun, Col 26, lines 17-23).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) and provision of device data to a server (Ivanov) with data encapsulating systems (Sun). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov with Sun in order to establish secure connection amongst devices (See Sun, col 26, lines 17-23)
As per claim 18, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov disclose the first electronic device according to claim 17, wherein the operation of sending the data packet that carries the first request to the second electronic device comprises:
However, Yoon, Mohan and Ivanov does not explicitly disclose:
adding a random number to the data carried in the information embedding field; encrypting, by using a key in a trusted execution environment, data obtained after the random number is added; encapsulating the encrypted data in the data packet; and sending the data packet to the second electronic device.
Sun discloses:
adding a random number to the data carried in the information embedding field; (Information that has been encapsulated has identifiers added to it. These identifiers could be values, Sun, Col 17, lines 15-17)
encrypting, by using a key in a trusted execution environment, data obtained after the random number is added; (The information associated with the selected encryption decryption module 535a includes executable software instructions for encrypting and decryption data using the encryption/decryption algorithms corresponding to the selected encryption decryption module 535a, and one or more keys for encryption and/or decryption data using such an encryption/decryption algorithms, Sun, Col 117 lines 4-14).
encapsulating the encrypted data in the data packet; and sending the data packet to the second electronic device (Data encapsulation proxy 705 encapsulates data acts as a gateway for server device 710 against any traffic and communications between server device 710 and any client devices wishing to communicate with server device 710, such as client device 715. Proxy 705 is communicatively coupled with client device 715, which desires to exchange data with server device 710, Sun, col 14, lines 14-21, Fig 12 shows data packets exchanged between proxy and client).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) and provision of device data to a server (Ivanov) with data encapsulating systems (Sun). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov with Sun in order to establish secure connection amongst devices (See Sun, col 26, lines 17-23)
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (KR 20150128202 A), hereinafter referred to as Yoon, in view of Mohan et al. (US 20180054852 A1) in further view of Ivanov et al. (US 20160198022 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ivanov in further view of Sun et al. (US 9626359 B1), hereinafter referred to as Sun in further view of Goode et al (US 7801172 B2), hereinafter referred to as Goode.
As per claim 7, Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov, Sun discloses the method according to claim [[6]]1,
wherein, when a value of the type field is a first preset value, and a value of the subtype field is a second preset value, (The header 110 provides packet type information 200 to identify the type of packet which will be used to determine how the bytes in the packet should be interpreted. The payload portion then carries the digital video or IP data. The private data holds application-specific information used when the packet type indicates such a stream, Goode, col 3, lines 28-56. When the packet type sub field is 0x10 or 0x12 (this aligns with the value of type field being a first preset value). The framework allows different type sub-field values to distinguish payload classes (this aligns with the value of subtype field being a second preset value). The payload/digital video/IP data is the information embedding field that carries data/request corresponding to the indicated type/subtype)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) and provision of device data to a server (Ivanov) and data encapsulating systems (Sun) with data packet information distribution (Goode). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov, Sun with Goode in order to efficiently propagate a payload through a multi-user system (See Goode, col 3, lines 28-56)
As per claim 17, Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov, Sun disclose the first electronic device according to claim [[16]]11,(The header 110 provides packet type information 200 to identify the type of packet which will be used to determine how the bytes in the packet should be interpreted. The payload portion then carries the digital video or IP data. The private data holds application-specific information used when the packet type indicates such a stream, Goode, col 3, lines 28-56. When the packet type sub field is 0x10 or 0x12 (this aligns with the value of type field being a first preset value). The framework allows different type sub-field values to distinguish payload classes (this aligns with the value of subtype field being a second preset value). The payload/digital video/IP data is the information embedding field that carries data/request corresponding to the indicated type/subtype)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Yoon and Mohan with Ivanov to provide effective communication amongst devices (Yoon) while restricting communication by disabling audio (Mohan) and provision of device data to a server (Ivanov) and data encapsulating systems (Sun) with data packet information distribution (Goode). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yoon, Mohan, Ivanov, Sun with Goode in order to efficiently propagate a payload through a multi-user system (See Goode, col 3, lines 28-56)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Respectfully Submitted,
/RAGHAVENDER NMN CHOLLETI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492
/RUPAL DHARIA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492