DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 21, 24, 29-31, 34 and 39-40 have been amended. Claims 21-40 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 25-26, 28, 30-34, 35-36, 38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20230308918 A1) in view of Shih et al. (US 20210321307 A1) and further in view of Kweon et al. (US 20220394668 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Jung teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (UE of Fig. 1N)) comprising:
a processor (controller 1n-40) and memory (storage 1n-30), the processor and memory configured to:
register with a public land mobile network (PLMN) (RRC-connected, step 1g-05; the terminal establishes an RRC connection with a base station through a public network to receive a normal service. Specifically, the UE may determine that regular access to a suitable cell is possible when… A cell is a part of a registered PLMN, [0114]-[0116]) and camp on a cell of the PLMN (UE 1e-01 may receive/obtain at least one MIB and SIB1 and perform the cell selection process to camp-on to a suitable cell for the corresponding PLMN, [0127]);
determine configuration information (e.g. SIB2, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, SIB6, [0134]) for searching for cells of a non-public network (On each carrier, the UE 1g-01 may search for at least a cell with the strongest signal and report, to the NAS layer, one or more SNPN identifiers by reading system information from the cell, [0191]).
However, Jung does not clearly teach wherein the configuration information indicates one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network when the WTRU is in idle mode and camped on a cell of the PLMN; determine that at least one of the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network has occurred while the WTRU is in idle mode and search for the cells of the non-public network based on the determination that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred.
In an analogous art, Shih teaches wherein the configuration information indicates one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network when the WTRU is in idle mode and camped on a cell of the PLMN (If no acceptable cell is found, the UE in SNPN Access Mode may continue to search for an acceptable cell of any SNPN in the any cell selection state…For a UE in non-SNPN Access Mode, if no acceptable cell is found, SNPN Access Mode change may be triggered and the UE in non-SNPN Access Mode may transition to SNPN Access Mode, [0124]);
determine that at least one of the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network has occurred while the WTRU is in idle mode and search for the cells of the non-public network based on the determination that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred (Once the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) finds/camps on an acceptable cell, the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) may transition to RRC_IDLE (if the UE was in RRC_INACTIVE) and enter the camped on any cell state (e.g., the camped on any cell state 116 in FIG. 1B). Once the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) finds/camps on an acceptable cell, the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) may stay in RRC_INACTIVE (if the UE was in RRC_INACTIVE) and enter the camped on any cell state. Once the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode finds/camps on an acceptable cell, the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) may stay in RRC_IDLE state (if the UE was in RRC_IDLE) and enter the camped on any cell state. [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung with the trigger of Shih to provide a methods and a system for performing cell (re)selection in the next generation wireless communication network by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility as suggested, Shih [0003].
However, Jung and Shih do not teach establish a user plane connection in the PLMN, wherein the user plane connection is a second connection with a non-public network; based on a loss of a first connection with the non-public network, receive downlink data from the non-public network via the user plane connection in the PLMN.
In an analogous art, Kweon teaches establish a user plane connection in the PLMN (UE may register to the PLMN through a generated PDU session, [0074]), wherein the user plane connection is a second connection with a non-public network (first registration to SNPN, step 401 and second registration with PLMN step 403 of Fig. 4); based on a loss of a first connection with the non-public network (due to transition of the UE to a CM-IDLE state in the PLMN, a UP of a PDU session of the SNPN may be deactivated, [0092]), receive downlink data from the non-public network via the user plane connection in the PLMN (the UE receiving the paging message may perform a service request procedure to receive data. The UE receiving the service accept message may perform the service request procedure with respect to the PLMN, in order to receive data from the PLMN ID, [0101]; In operation 419, the UE may receive the data from the PLMN, [0102]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung and Shih with the PDU of Kweon to provide a method of reporting the occurrence of DL data to a UE accessing a PLMN through an SNPN as suggested, Kweon [0052].
Regarding claim 22, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor and memory are configured to prioritize searching for the cells of the non-public network upon determining that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred (when a shared cell permits an access to both the normal UE and the CAG UE, it may be assumed that a CAG access is prioritized, Table 15, Jung [0217]).
Regarding claim 23, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 22, wherein the processor and memory are configured to refrain from searching cells of the PLMN when prioritizing searching for the cells of the non-public network (For the CAG also UE, when a shared cell permits an access to both the normal UE and the CAG UE, it may be assumed that a CAG access is prioritized. That is, this may mean an operation of selecting a PLMN existing in an NPN list. (The motivation of CAG also UE would be to prioritize the CAG access if the shared cell provides both normal access and CAG access (i.e., select PLMN in NPN list when both lists contains selected PLMN), Table 15, Jung [0217]).
Regarding claim 24, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 22. Shih further teaches wherein the processor and memory are configured to: determine that a suitable non-public network cell was not found in a period of time after initiation of the search for the cells of the non-public network (the UE may determine that the next highest-ranked cell is a non-suitable cell when the next highest-ranked cell does not belong to the selected PLMN or the registered PLMN (or equivalent PLMN) of the UE as determined in action 408. In one implementation, the UE may prohibit the next highest-ranked cell from being selected as the new suitable cell for a period of time Tb when the next highest-ranked cell is determined as a non-suitable cell, [0064]; PLMN(s) may be public PLMN(s) and/or private PLMN(s), [0034]); and initiate a search for cells of the PLMN based on a determination that a suitable non- public network cells was not found (UE may search for the new suitable cell on a second carrier frequency, [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung with the cell specific timer of Shih to provide a methods and a system to better perform PLMN selection and cell (re)selection as suggested, Shih [0004].
Regarding claim 25, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the non-public network is a standalone non-public network (FIG. 1G is a diagram for describing a procedure, performed by a UE in an RRC inactive mode (RRC_INACTIVE) or an RRC idle mode (RRC_IDLE), of establishing an RRC connection by accessing a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) cell in an SNPN, Jung [0179]).
Regarding claim 26, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network occurs upon the elapse of a determined time period (When there is no data transmission or reception for a certain reason or for a certain time, the base station 1g-02 may transmit an RRC connection release message (RRCRelease) to the UE 1g-01 (operation 1g-10)…and when the suspend configuration information is not included, the UE 1g-01 may transition to an RRC idle mode (operation 1g-15). The UE 1g-01 that has transitioned to the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode set to an SNPN access mode may select an SNPN, Jung [0190]-[0191])
Regarding claim 28, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 21. Shih further teaches wherein the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network occurs if a cell receive power level drops below a threshold level or if a cell quality level drops below a threshold level (For example, once the signal quality of the selected suitable cell is getting worse and deteriorates below a predetermined threshold, the cell reselection criterion may be fulfilled and trigger the UE to perform a cell reselection procedure to find a new suitable cell, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung with the cell specific timer of Shih to provide a methods and a system to better perform PLMN selection and cell (re)selection as suggested, Shih [0004].
Regarding claim 30, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 21, wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: select non-public network from the one or more non- public networks (The UE that is set in the SNPN access mode (a UE that is set to operate in SNPN access mode) may regard a cell as a suitable cell when the following conditions are satisfied. [0181] Condition 1: When a cell belongs to an SNPN selected or registered by a UE, Jung [0180]-[0181]) ; and register the WTRU with the selected non-public network (the cell is part of either the selected SNPN or the registered SNPN of the UE, [0181]).
Regarding claim 31, Jung teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (method of Fig. 1g), the method comprising:
registering with a public land mobile network (PLMN) (RRC-connected, step 1g-05; the terminal establishes an RRC connection with a base station through a public network to receive a normal service. Specifically, the UE may determine that regular access to a suitable cell is possible when… A cell is a part of a registered PLMN, [0115]-[0116]) and camp on a cell of the PLMN (UE 1e-01 may receive/obtain at least one MIB and SIB1 and perform the cell selection process to camp-on to a suitable cell for the corresponding PLMN, [0127]);
determining configuration information for searching for cells of a non-public network (On each carrier, the UE 1g-01 may search for at least a cell with the strongest signal and report, to the NAS layer, one or more SNPN identifiers by reading system information from the cell, [0191]).
However, Jung does not clearly teach wherein the configuration information indicating one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network when the WTRU is in idle mode and camped on a cell of the PLMN; determining that at least one of the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network has occurred while the WTRU is in idle mode; and searching for the cells of the non-public network based on the determination that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred based on the determination that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred.
In an analogous art, Shih teaches wherein the configuration information indicates one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network when the WTRU is in idle mode and camped on a cell of the PLMN (If no acceptable cell is found, the UE in SNPN Access Mode may continue to search for an acceptable cell of any SNPN in the any cell selection state…For a UE in non-SNPN Access Mode, if no acceptable cell is found, SNPN Access Mode change may be triggered and the UE in non-SNPN Access Mode may transition to SNPN Access Mode, [0124]);
determining that at least one of the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network has occurred while the WTRU is in idle mode and search for the cells of the non-public network based on the determination that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred (Once the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) finds/camps on an acceptable cell, the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) may transition to RRC_IDLE (if the UE was in RRC_INACTIVE) and enter the camped on any cell state (e.g., the camped on any cell state 116 in FIG. 1B). Once the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) finds/camps on an acceptable cell, the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) may stay in RRC_INACTIVE (if the UE was in RRC_INACTIVE) and enter the camped on any cell state. Once the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode finds/camps on an acceptable cell, the UE (e.g., the UE in SNPN Access Mode) may stay in RRC_IDLE state (if the UE was in RRC_IDLE) and enter the camped on any cell state., [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung with the trigger of Shih to provide a methods and a system for performing cell (re)selection in the next generation wireless communication network by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility as suggested, Shih [0003].
However, Jung and Shih do not teach establish a user plane connection in the PLMN, wherein the user plane connection is a second connection with a non-public network; based on a loss of a first connection with the non-public network, receive downlink data from the non-public network via the user plane connection in the PLMN.
In an analogous art, Kweon teaches establish a user plane connection in the PLMN (UE may register to the PLMN through a generated PDU session, [0074]), wherein the user plane connection is a second connection with a non-public network (first registration to SNPN, step 401 and second registration with PLMN step 403 of Fig. 4);based on a loss of a first connection with the non-public network (due to transition of the UE to a CM-IDLE state in the PLMN, a UP of a PDU session of the SNPN may be deactivated, [0092]), receive downlink data from the non-public network via the user plane connection in the PLMN (the UE receiving the paging message may perform a service request procedure to receive data. The UE receiving the service accept message may perform the service request procedure with respect to the PLMN, in order to receive data from the PLMN ID, [0101]; In operation 419, the UE may receive the data from the PLMN, [0102]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung and Shih with the PDU of Kweon to provide a method of reporting the occurrence of DL data to a UE accessing a PLMN through an SNPN as suggested, Kweon [0052].
Regarding claim 32, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 31, the method comprising searching for the cells of the non-public network upon determining that the at least one of the one or more triggers has occurred (when a shared cell permits an access to both the normal UE and the CAG UE, it may be assumed that a CAG access is prioritized, Table 15, Jung [0217]).
Regarding claim 33, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 32, the method comprising refraining from searching cells of the PLMN when prioritizing searching for the cells of the non-public network (For the CAG also UE, when a shared cell permits an access to both the normal UE and the CAG UE, it may be assumed that a CAG access is prioritized. That is, this may mean an operation of selecting a PLMN existing in an NPN list. (The motivation of CAG also UE would be to prioritize the CAG access if the shared cell provides both normal access and CAG access (i.e., select PLMN in NPN list when both lists contains selected PLMN), Table 15, Jung [0217]).
Regarding claim 34, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 32. Shih further teaches determining that a suitable non-public network cell was not found in a period of time after initiation of the search for the cells of the non-public network (the UE may determine that the next highest-ranked cell is a non-suitable cell when the next highest-ranked cell does not belong to the selected PLMN or the registered PLMN (or equivalent PLMN) of the UE as determined in action 408. In one implementation, the UE may prohibit the next highest-ranked cell from being selected as the new suitable cell for a period of time Tb when the next highest-ranked cell is determined as a non-suitable cell, [0064]; PLMN(s) may be public PLMN(s) and/or private PLMN(s), [0034]); and initiating a search for cells of the PLMN based on a determination that a suitable non- public network cells was not found (UE may search for the new suitable cell on a second carrier frequency, [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung with the cell specific timer of Shih to provide a methods and a system to better perform PLMN selection and cell (re)selection as suggested, Shih [0004].
Regarding claim 35, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the non-public network is a standalone non-public network (FIG. 1G is a diagram for describing a procedure, performed by a UE in an RRC inactive mode (RRC_-INACTIVE) or an RRC idle mode (RRC_IDLE), of establishing an RRC connection by accessing a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) cell in an SNPN, Jung [0179]).
Regarding claim 36, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network occurs upon the elapse of a determined time period (When there is no data transmission or reception for a certain reason or for a certain time, the base station 1g-02 may transmit an RRC connection release message (RRCRelease) to the UE 1g-01 (operation 1g-10)…and when the suspend configuration information is not included, the UE 1g-01 may transition to an RRC idle mode (operation 1g-15). The UE 1g-01 that has transitioned to the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode set to an SNPN access mode may select an SNPN, Jung [0190]-[0191]).
Regarding claim 38, Jung as modified by Shih teaches and Kweon the method of claim 31. Shih further teaches wherein the one or more triggers for searching for the cells of the non-public network occurs if a cell receive power level drops below a threshold level or if a cell quality level drops below a threshold level (For example, once the signal quality of the selected suitable cell is getting worse and deteriorates below a predetermined threshold, the cell reselection criterion may be fulfilled and trigger the UE to perform a cell reselection procedure to find a new suitable cell, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung with the cell specific timer of Shih to provide a methods and a system to better perform PLMN selection and cell (re)selection as suggested, Shih [0004].
Regarding claim 40, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 31, comprising: selecting the non-public network from the one or more non- public networks (The UE that is set in the SNPN access mode (a UE that is set to operate in SNPN access mode) may regard a cell as a suitable cell when the following conditions are satisfied. [0181] Condition 1: When a cell belongs to an SNPN selected or registered by a UE, [0180]-[0181]); and registering the WTRU with the selected non-public network (the cell is part of either the selected SNPN or the registered SNPN of the UE, Jung [0181]).
Claims 29 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20230308918 A1) in view of Shih and further in view of Kweon and Chun et al. (US 20200245235 A1).
Regarding claim 29, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 21.
However, Jung, Shih and Kweon do not teach wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: present the one or more detected non-public network to a user; and wait for the user to select a non-public network from the one or more non-public networks.
In an analogous art, Chun teaches present the one or more detected non-public network to a user (UE shall be able to indicate those PLMNs to the user, and the UE shall support network selection among those PLMNs, as in non-shared networks, [0410]); and wait for the user to select a non-public network from the one or more non-public networks (UE shall be able to indicate those PLMNs to the user, and the UE shall support network selection among those PLMNs, as in non-shared networks, [0410] and The UE shall contain display functions by which Available PLMNs and the Selected PLMN can be indicated, [0488]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung, Shih and Kweon with the displaying information of Chun to provide a methods and a system to allow the user to indicate a preference for network selection as suggested, Chun [0495].
Regarding claim 39, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 31.
However, Jung, Shih and Kweon does not teach wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: presenting the one or more detected non-public network to a user; and waiting for the user to select a non-public network from the one or more non-public networks.
In an analogous art, Chun teaches wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: presenting the one or more detected non-public network to a user UE shall be able to indicate those PLMNs to the user, and the UE shall support network selection among those PLMNs, as in non-shared networks, [0410]); and waiting for the user to select a non-public network from the one or more non-public networks (UE shall be able to indicate those PLMNs to the user, and the UE shall support network selection among those PLMNs, as in non-shared networks, [0410] and The UE shall contain display functions by which Available PLMNs and the Selected PLMN can be indicated, [0488]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung, Shih and Kweon with the displaying information of Chun to provide a methods and a system to allow the user to indicate a preference for network selection as suggested, Chun [0495].
Claims 27 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 20230308918 A1) in view of Shih and further in view of Kweon and Niemi et al. (US 20190159095 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the WTRU of claim 26.
However, Jung, Shih and Kweon do not teach wherein the determined time period is associated with a location update or a registration update that is configured for the PLMN.
In an analogous art, Niemi teaches wherein the determined time period is associated with a location update or a registration update that is configured for the PLMN (As the UE performs an intersystem change from 5GS to EPS, the UE may camp on a cell of PLMN B in EPS. Due to the back-off timer running for PLMN B, the UE cannot start registration (e.g., tracking area update (TAU) and/or attach) but the UE may start a timer T3346 for EPS with the remaining value of the non-3GPP access 5GMM back-off timer for PLMN B (e.g., 10 minutes), [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung, Shih and Kweon with the network timer of Niemi to provide a methods and a system wherein UE performs an intersystem change from the first type of wireless network to a second type of wireless network different from the first type by utilizing the timer as suggested, Niemi Abstract.
Regarding claim 37, Jung as modified by Shih and Kweon teaches the method of claim 36.
However, Jung, Shih and Kweon do not teach wherein the determined time period is associated with a location update or a registration update that is configured for the PLMN (As the UE performs an intersystem change from 5GS to EPS, the UE may camp on a cell of PLMN B in EPS. Due to the back-off timer running for PLMN B, the UE cannot start registration.
In an analogous art, Niemi teaches wherein the determined time period is associated with a location update or a registration update that is configured for the PLMN (e.g., tracking area update (TAU) and/or attach) but the UE may start a timer T3346 for EPS with the remaining value of the non-3GPP access 5GMM back-off timer for PLMN B (e.g., 10 minutes), [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the NPN selection of Jung, Shih and Kweon with the network timer of Niemi to provide a methods and a system wherein UE performs an intersystem change from the first type of wireless network to a second type of wireless network different from the first type by utilizing the timer as suggested, Niemi Abstract.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Salkintzis et al. (US 20230078563 A1): Apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for determining a RAT for an untrusted access network. One apparatus includes a processor and a transceiver that communicates with a first access network. The processor obtains ANI about the first access network, the AM including an access technology type for the first access network. The processor determines to register with a mobile communication network (e.g., a 5GC) via the first access network using an untrusted registration procedure and sends a first request (e.g., an IKE_AUTH Request) to establish a secure connection with a N3IWF in the mobile communication network.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641 /CHARLES N APPIAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641