DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claim(s) 24-26 and 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heisey et al. (US Patent Number 8876208).
Regarding claim 24, Heisey discloses a child carrier comprising a first carrier frame (16) and a carrycot detachably installed on the first carrier frame, wherein the carrycot comprises: a carrycot body (at least interior portions of 12) including a bottom wall and two opposite lateral walls extending in a longitudinal direction and facing each other (see at least Figure 2); a mounting bracket (including 20) on an outer surface of the carrycot body, the mounting bracket having a lateral portion (at least at a lower portion of 20) on one of the lateral walls of the carrycot body and extending in the longitudinal direction of the carrycot; a first connecting assembly (at 31 and/or 32) on one of the carrycot body and the mounting bracket, the first connecting assembly being configured for detachably connecting the carrycot to the first carrier frame; and a second connecting assembly (at 21 and/or 22) on the mounting bracket, the second connecting assembly being configured for detachably connecting the carrycot to a second carrier frame (14) different from the first carrier frame, wherein the first connecting assembly comprises at least one engaging slot structure (the structure at 31 forms a slot; see Figures 6 and 7 for instance), an entirety of the at least one engaging slot structure being formed by an inward recession from an outer-facing surface of the lateral portion of the mounting bracket (see figures including those annotated below showing the entire slot structure inwardly recessed from a lateral portion of 20), the at least one engaging slot structure includes a first (lower) portion, a second (upper) portion connected to the first portion, and an engaging portion (hook portion of 31) the engaging portion is on the second portion (i.e. the hook is on the upper portion) and configured to engage with a portion of a cooperating component of the first carrier frame (i.e. the hook of 31 engages with at least a portion of 38 for instance), a width of the first portion is greater than a width of the second portion (see annotated figures below), and the first portion has an uncovered opening on the outer-facing surface of the lateral portion, the uncovered opening being exposed in a transverse direction of the carrycot body which is perpendicular to the longitudinal direction of the carrycot body (see again the annotated figures showing the first portion uncovered an opening laterally/transversely).
Regarding claim 25, Heisey further discloses the carrycot is detachably installed on the carrier frame by a cooperation of the first connecting assembly and the cooperating component (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claim 26, Heisey further discloses the carrier frame is a stroller frame or a crib frame (see Figure 1).
Regarding claims 41-43, Heisey further discloses the width of the first portion of the at least one engaging slot structure gradually decreases toward the second portion to guide the portion of the cooperating component of the first carrier frame to move toward the second portion and to allow the portion of the cooperating component of the first carrier frame to enter into and directly engage with the engaging portion (the portions are sized in this manner and capable of functioning as claimed; see figures), wherein a maximum width of the first portion of the at least one engaging slot structure is at least two times of the width of the second portion of the at least one engaging slot structure (see for instance annotated Figure 7 of Heisey), and wherein the engaging portion includes a slot recessed laterally from an outermost surface of the one of the lateral walls of the carrycot body (the hook portion forms such a slot recessed from the outermost sidewall).
Figure 1: Annotated figures from Heisey
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heisey. Heisey discloses a child carrier as explained above and would appear to disclose a plurality of ribs at an edge of the mounting bracket, the plurality of ribs protruding from an inner surface of the mounting bracket toward the carrycot body (see at least rib structure at the headrest as seen in Figure 3 and/or the backrest as seen in Figure 7) but description of such structure may not be explicit. Changes in arrangement and duplication of components, as well as changes in size and shape require only routine skill in the art, and moreover ribs as claimed are old and well-known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide ribs as claimed based on normal variation and/or Heisey’s pictured structure to improve safety and comfort for various users.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Von Wimmersperg (US Patent Number 3833946).
Regarding claim 27, Von Wimmersperg discloses a carrycot comprising: a carrycot body (at least 16) made of foam material (see the paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3), the carrycot body comprising a bottom portion (at a bottom), a first wall (a side wall for instance) extending from and bent relative to the bottom portion, and a second wall (an end wall for instance), extending from and bent relative to the bottom portion, the first wall extending along a longitudinal direction of the carrycot body and the second wall extending along a transverse direction of the carrycot body, wherein a thickness of an entirety of the first wall is greater than a thickness of an entirety of the second wall (see Figure 1 apparently showing the thickness of the entirety of the first wall greater than the entirety of the second wall); and a mounting bracket (12 and/or 14) made of hard material and on an outer surface of the carrycot body (see figures), the mounting bracket covering the bottom portion of the carrycot body (see figures), the mounting bracket and the carrycot body cooperatively forming an integral structure (this is the general arrangement). While Von Wimmersperg is thus viewed as meeting the limitations as set forth, verbal description of the wall thicknesses may not be explicit. Even if the walls were not shaped as apparently shown however, as changes in size and shape require only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide walls as claimed based on normal variation to improve safety, security, and comfort for various users.
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Wimmersperg. Wimmersperg discloses and/or renders obvious a carrycot as explained above, but does not clearly disclose a weight ratio. Changes in size and shape require only routine skill in the art, and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide weight ratio as claimed based on normal variation to ensure proper operation or improve function and security for various users.
Claim(s) 28-33, 35, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Wimmersperg in view of Pormente (WO 2018007243 as provided by Applicant; machine translation previously provided).
Regarding claims 28-31, Von Wimmersperg discloses and/or renders obvious a carrycot as explained above, but does not clearly disclose details of the mounting bracket. Pormente, discloses a related device including a mounting bracket (1) partially embedded into a carrycot body (2), wherein an upper edge of the mounting bracket is embedded into the carrycot body, wherein the carrycot body covers an upper edge of the mounting bracket, and wherein at least one rib protrudes from a surface of the mounting bracket cooperating with the carrycot body, and the at least one rib is embedded into the carrycot body (the bracket is generally embedded in the body including upper edges embedded in and covered by the body; see for instance rib 120b arranged in groove 223 meeting these limitations). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a mounting bracket arrangement as taught by Pormente in Von Wimmersperg’s device because this could improve safety and comfort for various users.
Regarding claims 32 and 33, Von Wimmersperg discloses and/or renders obvious a carrycot as explained above, but does not clearly disclose materials. Material selection is a routine design choice and Pormente discloses a related device including a mounting bracket (1) made of Polypropylene (see section 5.1.1 disclosing the use of polypropylene) and a carrycot body (2) made of Expanded Polystyrene, Expanded Polypropylene, Expanded Polyolefin, or Expanded Polyethylene (see section 5.1.2 disclosing the use of (expanded polypropylene or polystyrene). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide materials as taught by Pormente in Von Wimmersperg’s device because this could improve safety and comfort for various users.
Regarding claims 35 and 36, Von Wimmersperg discloses and/or renders obvious a carrycot as explained above, but does not disclose through holes. Pormente discloses a related device including at least one through hole (at 212 for instance) on carrycot body, wherein the at least one through hole is located on a first, second, or bottom wall of the carrycot body (see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide carrycot through holes as taught by Pormente in Von Wimmersperg’s device because this could improve convenience and comfort for various users.
Claim(s) 37-39, 44-46, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Wimmersperg in view of Heisey.
Regarding claims 37-39, Von Wimmersperg discloses and/or renders obvious a carrycot as explained above but does not disclose specifics of connection assemblies. Heisey discloses a related device including a first connecting assembly (at 31 and/or 32) on a mounting bracket and configured for detachably connecting a carrycot to a first carrier frame (16); and a second connecting assembly (at 21 and/or 22) on the mounting bracket and configured for detachably connecting the carrycot to a second carrier frame (14) different from the first carrier frame, wherein the second connecting assembly comprises a plurality of fixing blocks (on either side of the slot receiving 33 for instance; see Figure 5) and a plurality of engaging components (at least hook/anchors 21, 22), the plurality of fixing blocks protrude from the mounting bracket, each of the plurality of engaging components is between corresponding two of the plurality of fixing blocks and for detachably engaging with the second carrier frame, and each of the plurality of fixing blocks is configured for guiding the corresponding engaging component to detachably engage with the second carrier frame (see again Figure 5; the blocks protrude from the rails to guide the engaging component to engage), and wherein each of the plurality of engaging components is a rod-shaped structure (it is viewed as such at least in part). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide connection assemblies as taught by Heisey in Von Wimmersperg’s device because this could improve user safety and convenience. Note that even if the combination did not clearly provide the claimed engaging component direction, as rearrangement of components requires only routine skill in the art, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the members arranged as claimed based on normal variation to improve function or security for various users.
Regarding claims 44-46, Von Wimmersperg, modified as described, discloses an arrangement as explained above but may not disclose details of the connecting assemblies. Heisey further discloses the first connecting assembly comprises at least one engaging slot structure (the structure at 31 forms a slot; see Figures 6 and 7 for instance), an entirety of the at least one engaging slot structure being formed by an inward recession from a lateral portion of the mounting bracket (see figures including those annotated below showing the entire slot structure inwardly recessed from a lateral portion of 20), the at least one engaging slot structure includes a first (lower) portion, a second (upper) portion connected to the first portion, and an engaging portion (hook portion of 31) the engaging portion is on the second portion (i.e. the hook is on the upper portion) and configured to engage with a portion of a cooperating component of the first carrier frame (i.e. the hook of 31 engages with at least a portion of 38 for instance), a width of the first portion is greater than a width of the second portion (see annotated figures below), and the width of the first portion of the at least one engaging slot structure gradually decreases toward the second portion to guide the portion of the cooperating component of the first carrier frame to move toward the second portion and to allow the portion of the cooperating component of the first carrier frame to enter into and directly engage with the engaging portion (the portions are sized in this manner and capable of functioning as claimed; see figures), wherein a maximum width of the first portion of the at least one engaging slot structure is at least two times of the width of the second portion of the at least one engaging slot structure (see for instance annotated Figure 7 of Heisey), and wherein the engaging portion includes a slot recessed laterally from an outermost sidewall of the carrycot body (the hook portion forms such a slot recessed from the outermost sidewall). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide connection assemblies as taught by Heisey in Von Wimmersperg’s device because this could improve user safety and convenience.
Regarding claim 48, Von Wimmersperg, modified as described, discloses an arrangement as explained above but may not disclose ribs. Heisey discloses a related device and would appear to disclose a plurality of ribs at an edge of a mounting bracket, the plurality of ribs protruding from an inner surface of the mounting bracket toward the carrycot body (see at least rib structure at the headrest as seen in Figure 3 and/or the backrest as seen in Figure 7) but description of such structure may not be explicit. Changes in arrangement and duplication of components, as well as changes in size and shape require only routine skill in the art, and moreover ribs as claimed are old and well-known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide ribs as claimed based on normal variation and/or as taught by Heisey in Von Wimmersperg’s device because this could improve safety and comfort for various users.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues that Heisey does not disclose the engaging slot structure formed by an inward recession, that Heisey does not disclose an uncovered opening as claimed, that the invention provides benefits not provided by Heisey, and that Von Wimmersperg does not disclose the claimed wall thicknesses and/or it would not have been obvious to provide them.
Regarding the forming of the engaging slot structure, Applicant is again directed to the annotated figures where the slot structure at 31 can be seen as inwardly recessed from an outer-facing surface of the lateral portion.
Regarding the uncovered opening, Applicant is directed to the additional annotated figure below. While Heisey’s structure at 31 may include a box structure, it further provides the uncovered opening therebelow much as in the invention.
Regarding the purported benefits of the invention (related to interference, mounting, safety, alignment, etc.), while it would seem that Heisey’s design would provide similar benefits, this is not material to an anticipation rejection.
Regarding Von Wimmersberg, it is maintained that the structure appears to disclose the thicknesses as in the amended claims. Even if this were not clear however, the claimed thicknesses would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as set forth above. Applicant’s suggestion that no motivation has been provided for such a modification is not persuasive as providing “improved safety, security, and comfort” is well understood by those in the art as desirable goals. Whether or not Applicant’s motivation for providing the claimed features is the same or not does not impact the rejection as set forth.
Figure 2: Further annotated Figure 2 of Heisey.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP F GABLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636