Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Examiner thanks applicant for cancelling the erroneous subject matter which was duplicated in the previous submission. The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn herein.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant “maintains arguments set forth in the response dated January 21, 2026” and “claim 1 has been amended to incorporate each limitation of previously presented claim 19”. Examiner kindly and respectfully points out that the subject matter of previously presented claim 20 has been incorporated into independent claim 1, not claim 19 (still pending).
Applicant argues that Duescher does not cure the deficiencies of Adair because Duescher “does not disclose, teach, or suggest a grinding disc wherein the lower surface of the grinding disc is configured to be detachably adhered on the grinding disc mounting plate magnetically or by means of an adhesive underside of the carrier disk”.
Duescher teaches attaching the grinding disk element to the platen specifically using adhesive in [0232]; see also Figures 28A and 28B showing the abrasive disk and the platen 506. Duescher also describes using adhesive in several contexts between different elements, wherein [0240] describes that separation (i.e. detachment) between elements is possible when using a PSA tape. The teachings of Duescher also align with the disclosure of Adair describing replacement or removal of the grinding element from the grinder (see [0008] and [0014]). Examiner also respectfully points out that the claim language recites “magnetically or by means of an adhesive”, and thus the prior art does not need to teach the magnetic attachment means, as Examiner instead elected the option of an adhesive.
Applicant also argues that the combination of Adair in view of Duescher to incorporate the adhesive attachment means would “fundamentally alter the mode of attachment taught by Adair and would be inconsistent with its design principles” (pages 3-4, Arguments) because “Adair….uses mechanical fastening systems”. Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive.
Adair describes that the grinding wheel (34) is removably mounted, and intimates modifications to the mounting elements in paragraphs [0015-0016]. Examiner also notes that Duescher describes a prior art reference which uses a central mechanical fastener for mounting a grinding disk to a mandrel ([0052]), wherein this mounting configuration is similar to the mounting described by Adair, which Duescher notes can have the disadvantage of uneven distortions ([0054]), i.e. the mounting described by Duescher is an improvement. Furthermore, as previously noted in the motivation statement of cancelled claim 20 (and 19), using adhesive would result in a more stable mounting configuration, as the adhesive would be located on a greater surface area than just a central screw element, while still enabling detachment when desired. Thus, Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Adair in view of Duescher fails to teach or disclose the overall outer diameter D_g of the plurality of specimens extends radially inwardly beyond the inner diameter D_i permanently or temporarily.
As can be seen in Reference Drawing 1 (annotated Figure 12 of Adair), Adair discloses at least the labeled diameters and radial width of the grinding region.
Reference Drawing 1
As can be seen in Figures 3, 4, and 8, the specimen holder (46) also has a diameter. Adair also specifically describes element 46 as a specimen holder in [0043], i.e. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Adair “does not disclose any specimen, much less an overall diameter defined by a plurality of specimens”. However, Adair does not explicitly teach the claimed relationship of diameters. Applicant argues that Duescher also does not teach the claimed feature because Duscher has “a single workpiece” and not “a plurality of specimens”. Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s argument but respectfully points out that the rejection is made in view of Adair in view of Duescher, i.e. the combination teaches the claimed invention. Adair already provides the specimen holder (46) having a plurality of specimens which have an overall diameter. Duescher teaches the element (630) has a dimension such that the diameter of element (630) extends radially inwardly beyond the inner diameter of the annular grinding ring, see at least the inner radius 648 and outer radius 640. The combination of Duescher into the invention of Adair would thus result in the overall diameter of the specimen holder (46) extending radially inwardly of the inner diameter D_i of Adair. The combination still provides even wear of the abrasive tool as a result of the dimensions, which is advantageous.
For the above stated reasons, Examiner has not found Applicant’s arguments persuasive.
Independent claim 1 has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of previous dependent claim 20, which has been cancelled. Newly provided independent claim 21 recites the same subject matter verbatim as independent claim 1 without the additional of the subject matter of incorporated claim 20, i.e. claim 21 recites the same subject matter which was previously presented.
In accordance with MPEP 706.07(b), the claims are (A) identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the claims in the application prior to the entry of the RCE, and (B) would have been properly finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to the filing of the RCE under 37 CFR 1.114. This action is thus made final herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-10,12,14, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adair (US 2018/0136094) in view of Duescher (US 2005/0032469).
Regarding claim 1, Adair discloses a laboratory wheel grinder with a rotating grinding disc for plane grinding of a lower side of mounted specimens (see Figures 1, 4, and [0002-0003]), comprising:
a device housing with a grinding disc mounting plate and a drive motor, by means of which the grinding disc mounting plate is configured to be rotated during a grinding operation ([0017]: drive plate motor, see [0038]: grinder 10, base 12, head 14, platen 22, drive system 24, drive motor 26),
a grinding disc having an abrasive, wherein the lower surface of the grinding disc is configured to be detachably adhered on the grinding disc mounting plate (see grinding wheel 34, [0040]; see grinding wheel abrasives and the mounting of grinding wheel 34 onto platen 22, disclosed in [0006], [0008], [0014], [0039-0042], i.e. under broadest reasonable interpretation, the grinding wheel 34 is adhered, i.e. stuck on and/or jointed with, the platen 22 by using the fastening mechanisms disclosed in the cited portions),
a specimen holder adapted to insert a plurality of specimens and to press the plurality of specimens against the grinding disc (see Figures 1, 3, and 8, as well as [0043] disclosing specimen holder 46 holding specimens to contact grinding wheel 34),
wherein the grinding disc is divided into a peripheral annular first region and a central second region disposed within the peripheral annular first region (see Figure 12 regarding the structure of the grinding wheel including a peripheral annular first surface and central area),
wherein, during the grinding operation, both, the specimen holder with the plurality of specimens and the grinding disc rotate, wherein axes of rotation of the grinding disc and of the specimen holder extend in a parallel offset manner (wherein [0048-0049] discloses rotation of the specimen holder 46; wherein [0010], [0037], [0040] disclose rotation of the grinding wheel 34; see rotational axis A of the grinding wheel 34, and wherein the specimen holder 46 rotates about its central axis, and wherein the axes of rotation of grinding wheel 34 and specimen holder 46 are parallel and offset, see Figures 1, 4, and 8),
wherein the abrasive is formed by abrasive grit (see [0051] disclosing the abrasives),
wherein the abrasive is self-sharpening such that dull abrasive grit in an upper layer of the plurality of layers break out during the grinding operation and fresh abrasive grit emerge to a surface ([0051]: wherein dressing takes place during the grinding operation, and wherein fresh surfaces of abrasives are exposed),
wherein the grinding peripheral annular first region has an inner diameter D_i and an outer diameter D_a, and wherein half of a difference between the inner diameter D_i and the outer diameter D_a defines a radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular first region (see Reference Drawing 1 regarding annotated Figure 12 of Adair, please also refer to the combination statement as applied below).
However, Adair is silent regarding specific components of the grinding wheel, including a carrier disc and abrasive bonded with a bonding agent on an upper surface of the carrier disc, wherein the carrier disc of the grinding disc has an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein the lower surface of the grinding disc is detachably adhered on the grinding disc mounting plate magnetically or by means of an adhesive underside of the carrier disc, the grinding disc having a central second region disposed within the peripheral annular first region, and wherein the upper surface of the carrier disc is coated with the abrasive only in the peripheral annular first region to form a grinding peripheral annular first region and a passive central second region, and in the grinding peripheral annular first region, the abrasive grit is bonded with the bonding agent in a plurality of layers including 3 to 200 layers on the upper surface of the carrier disc, such that the fresh abrasive grit emerges from a lower layer of the plurality of layers, and wherein the plurality of specimens defines an overall outer diameter D_g, wherein the radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular region is selected such that the overall outer diameter D_g extends radially inwardly beyond the inner diameter D_i permanently or temporarily due to a radial displacement of the specimen holder during the grinding operation.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Duescher (US 20050032469) teaches of a grinding disc element having a carrier disc and abrasive bonded with a bonding agent on an upper surface of the carrier disc, wherein the carrier disc of the grinding disc has an upper surface and a lower surface (see at least Figures 28A and 28B), wherein the lower surface of the grinding disc is detachably adhered on the grinding disc mounting plate magnetically or by means of an adhesive underside of the carrier disc (see at least [0298] disclosing mounting the abrasive disk to the rotating platen using a PSA adhesive; see also [0240]: wherein PSA (pressure sensitive adhesive) tape can be applied such that the item is then separated therefrom; see also [0256] describing a temporary mounting configuration using an adhesive; see also [0232] teaching attaching the grinding disk element to the platen specifically using adhesive; see also Figures 28A and 28B showing the abrasive disk and the platen 506), the grinding disc having a central second region disposed within the peripheral annular first region, and wherein the upper surface of the carrier disc is coated with the abrasive only in the peripheral annular first region to form a grinding peripheral annular first region and a passive central second region (please refer to at least [0271-0274]; wherein the latter paragraphs teach of an annular ring flat abrasive disk, comprising a raised section of abrasive at the outer periphery such that the workpiece contact is at the abrasive section, wherein the abrasive particles are mixed with an adhesive binder; wherein [0274] teaches of an abrasive disk sheet 504, adhesive 502, abrasives comprising abrasive annular ring 500, and a central area which does not have abrasives, i.e. a passive central second surface, and wherein there is also a platen 506 for supporting the abrasive disc, i.e. analogous to the platen 22 of Adair; see also Figures 28A and 28B; [0273]: wherein the inner portion of the disk area is relatively low and not in contact with a workpiece part surface; see also [0003-0005]), and in the grinding peripheral annular first region, the abrasive grit is bonded with the bonding agent in a plurality of layers including 3 to 200 layers on the upper surface of the carrier disc, such that the fresh abrasive grit emerges from a lower layer of the plurality of layers (wherein [0272-0273] teaches of multiple layers of abrasive to be used to allow wearing off of the upper abrasive layers and exposing new sharp layers of abrasive; wherein the desired abrasive thickness is 0.013 to 0.25 mm, wherein one layer of abrasive is 6 micrometers, i.e. 13 to 250 micrometers thick, and thus at least three layers comprising 18 micrometers is within the contemplated layer range, see also [0414], [0256], [0268], [0274]), and wherein the plurality of specimens defines an overall outer diameter D_g, wherein the radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular first region is selected such that the overall outer diameter D_g extends radially inwardly beyond the inner diameter D_i permanently or temporarily due to a radial displacement of the specimen holder during the grinding operation (see at least the dimensions of the annular abrasive disk element shown in Figure 35, as well as the workpiece 630, i.e. the workpiece 630 extends radially inward within the central area, over the entirety of the radial width 652; see also [0305-0306]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Duescher regarding the abrasive disk element, including the dimensional relationship between the workpiece(s) and the annular abrasive surface, as well as the adhesive mounting, into the invention of modified Adair. While Adair provides a grinding wheel (34), Adair is silent regarding the construction and subcomponents of the grinding wheel. Adair intimates alternative mounting configurations, suggesting in [0015]: “the platen mounting elements can be, for example…”, emphasis added. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an adhesive mounting, as taught by Duescher, into the invention of Adair. Duescher describes using adhesive in several ways, including as a substitute for vacuum adsorption for holding a disk to a platen, mounting abrasives on the actual disk, or mounting additional components using the adhesive; see [0239], [0256], [0264], [0274], [0298].
One would be motivated to combine in the teachings of Duescher in order to provide a specific structure capable of performing the surface processing operations, while providing the benefits attributed to the teachings of Adair, including the ability to rotate at high speeds and wearing off of abrasives during use ([0272-0274]), thus reducing the frequency of independent dressing operations. By decreasing the frequency of dressing operations with a separate conditioning device, such as that described in [0051] of Adair, the lifespan of the abrasive disk increases, which is a benefit for long term costs and down time. One would be motivated to incorporate the adhesive mounting in order to permit a more stable mounting configuration, as the entirety of the grinding disk would be mated to the platen (22) in Adair, i.e. using the entire surface area for adhesively attaching, while still enabling detachment when desired. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. adhesive attachment mechanisms, to improve a similar grinding device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the modification directed towards the overall diameter of the plurality of specimens, one would be motivated to do so in order to ensure even wear across the full width of the abrasive surface, and to reduce/prevent undesirable grooves from being formed within the abrasive; see [0305-0306] of Duescher.
Reference Drawing 1 (Figure 12 of Adair)
Reference Drawing 2 (Figure 28A of Duescher)
Regarding claim 2, Adair in view of Duesher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein is, the abrasive grit in the grinding peripheral annular first region defines a common annular abrasive first surface of the grinding disc and the carrier disc of the grinding disc in the passive central second region forms a central non-abrasive second surface of the grinding disc (please refer to the combination statement as applied above, see Duescher: [0272-0274]; wherein Duescher provides an annular ring of abrasive configured to be in contact with a workpiece surface, and wherein the central area/inner portion of the disk is non in contact with the workpiece and does not have abrasives, see [0272-0274] and Figures 28A and 28B), and wherein,
in a fresh unused condition of the grinding disc, the common annular abrasive first surface of the grinding disc is higher than the central non-abrasive second surface of the grinding disc (Duescher: [0273]: wherein the inner portion of the disk area is relatively low and not in contact with a workpiece part surface; wherein the workpiece is in contact with the peripheral abrasive portion, see [0272-0273]).
Regarding claim 3, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein a difference in height between the common annular abrasive first surface and the central non- abrasive second surface ranges from 50 μm to 5 mm (Duescher: wherein the annular abrasive ring has a thickness of 0.013 to 0.25mm, wherein the range taught by Duescher renders the claimed range obvious, as Duescher overlaps the claimed range from 50 μm to 0.25 mm; wherein the central portion of the disk as shown in Figures 28A and 28B of Duescher does not have abrasive, and the thickness of the abrasive accounts for a difference in height; wherein the claimed range is viewed as obvious over the prior art).
Regarding claim 6, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein, in the grinding peripheral annular first region, the abrasive is printed with the bonding agent in a predefined pattern (Duescher: see [0272-0273], [0388-0390], [0407]).
Regarding claim 7, Adair in view of Duesher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein the grinding disc is round (see at least Figure 12 of Adair regarding grinding wheel 34 being round) and/or has an outer diameter of between 100 mm and 500 mm (Duescher: wherein [0006] teaches of abrasive sheets having a 6 inch diameter, 12 inch diameter, or 18 inch diameter; wherein 100mm to 500mm is approximately 3.94 inches to 19.68 inches).
Regarding claim 8, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Adair is silent regarding the specific dimension of B_r within the referenced embodiment of Duescher, and thus modified Adair does not explicitly teach the radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular first region is in a range of 125 mm +/- 50mm. Examiner notes herein that the claimed range, when converted to inches, is 2.95 to 6.89 inches.
However, previously mentioned Duescher does contemplate radial widths of abrasive surfaces in other embodiments, Duescher teaches of radial widths of annular abrasives, including those which are in a range of 125 mm +/- 50mm mm (Figure 19B; wherein abrasive disk 357 has a diameter D_a of 12 inches and an abrasive annular band 352 having a width 356 of 1.5 inches, see [0259]; see Figures 25A, wherein the disk 432 has an annular abrasive band comprising strips, wherein the width is 1.5 inches, see [0265]; see Figure 19A, wherein the width 514 can be from 1 to 8 inches, see [0280]; see Figure 35, wherein radial width 652 of the annular abrasive 654 is defined by the outer radius 650 and inner radius 648, see [0305], and wherein Figure 36 shows width 664, described as 1 to 3 inches in [0314]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the dimensional teachings of Duescher into the invention of modified Adair. Duescher provides a wide variety of disc sizes which are considered sufficient for performing the intended surfacing operations ([0006]), and further motivates one to select an appropriate radial width to provide sufficient overhang such that even wear across the entire radial width of the abrasive surface takes place (see [0305]). Thus, the radial width suggestions taught by Duescher 1) provide a size which modified Adair is silent on, 2) provide a size sufficient for performing the operations, and 3) include benefits of selecting an appropriate radial width to ensure even wear of the abrasive tool.
Regarding claim 9, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Adair is silent regarding the specific dimensions of D_i and D_a within the referenced embodiment of Duescher, and thus modified Adair does not explicitly teach wherein the inner diameter D_i is in a range of 50 mm +/- 30 mm, and the outer diameter D_a is between 100 mm and 500 mm. Examiner notes herein that the claimed range of D_i when converted to inches, is between 0.787 and 3.15 inches. The claimed range of D_a, when converted to inches, is between 3.94 and 19.69 inches.
However, previously mentioned Duescher does contemplate radial widths and dimensions of abrasive surfaces in other embodiments, including those where the inner diameter D_i is in a range of 50 mm +/- 30 mm, and the outer diameter D_a is between 100 mm and 500 mm (Figure 19B; wherein abrasive disk 357 has a diameter D_a of 12 inches and an abrasive annular band 352 having a width 356 of 1.5 inches, thus giving D_i a value of 9 inches, see [0259]; see Figures 25A, wherein the disk 432 has an annular abrasive band comprising strips, wherein the width is 1.5 inches, see [0265]; see Figure 19A, wherein the width 514 can be from 1 to 8 inches, see [0280]; see Figure 35, wherein radial width 652 of the annular abrasive 654 is defined by the outer radius 650 and inner radius 648, see [0305], and wherein Figure 36 shows width 664, described as 1 to 3 inches in [0314]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the dimensional teachings of Duescher into the invention of modified Adair. Duescher provides a wide variety of disc sizes which are considered sufficient for performing the intended surfacing operations ([0006]), and further motivates one to select an abrasive article having appropriate dimensions to provide sufficient overhang such that even wear across the entire radial width of the abrasive surface takes place (see [0305]). Thus, the radial width suggestions taught by Duescher 1) provide a size which modified Adair is silent on, 2) provide a size sufficient for performing the operations, and 3) include benefits of selecting an appropriate radial width to ensure even wear of the abrasive tool.
Regarding claim 10, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein the carrier disc comprises a metal sheet or a plastic sheet (Duescher: [0068], [0273-0274]), and/or wherein the abrasive consists of diamond particles (Duescher: see [0068]).
Regarding claim 12, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein the device housing comprises a collection tray for cooling liquid and grinding abrasion, with the grinding disc mounting plate rotating in the collection tray (Adair: wherein the bowl 32 within the base 12 serves as a collecting tray for the fluid dispensed by nozzles 74, shown in Figures 12 and 13, described in [0047], and wherein platen 22 rotates within the bowl area 32; see also [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein the laboratory wheel grinder comprises a device head with a piston for fastening a specimen holder (see head 14, specimen holder 46, height drive system for up and down movement of the specimen holder 46 disclosed in [0048]; see also Figures 8 and 9), with which one or more specimens inserted in the specimen holder are pressed onto the grinding disc with a predefined pressure force (see at least [0048], [0050]; wherein [0048-0049] discloses rotation of the specimen holder 46; wherein [0010], [0037], [0040] disclose rotation of the grinding wheel 34).
Regarding claim 19, Adair in view of Duescher teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Adair further teaches wherein the grinding disc includes adhesive means at an underside of the carrier disc, such that the grinding disc is adhered with the lower surface of the grinding disc on the grinding disc mounting plate such that the grinding disc is peelable off the grinding disc mounting plate (please see the combination statement as applied above, as well as Duescher: [0298] disclosing mounting the abrasive disk to the rotating platen using a PSA adhesive; see also [0240]: wherein PSA (pressure sensitive adhesive) tape can be applied such that the item is then separated therefrom; see also [0256], [0232]).
Regarding claim 21, Adair discloses a laboratory wheel grinder with a rotating grinding disc for plane grinding of a lower side of mounted specimens (see Figures 1, 4, and [0002-0003]), comprising:
a device housing with a grinding disc mounting plate and a drive motor, by means of which the grinding disc mounting plate is configured to be rotated during a grinding operation ([0017]: drive plate motor, see [0038]: grinder 10, base 12, head 14, platen 22, drive system 24, drive motor 26),
a grinding disc having an abrasive, wherein the lower surface of the grinding disc is configured to be detachably adhered on the grinding disc mounting plate (see grinding wheel 34, [0040]; see grinding wheel abrasives and the mounting of grinding wheel 34 onto platen 22, disclosed in [0006], [0008], [0014], [0039-0042], i.e. under broadest reasonable interpretation, the grinding wheel 34 is adhered, i.e. stuck on and/or jointed with, the platen 22 by using the fastening mechanisms disclosed in the cited portions),
a specimen holder adapted to insert a plurality of specimens and to press the plurality of specimens against the grinding disc (see Figures 1, 3, and 8, as well as [0043] disclosing specimen holder 46 holding specimens to contact grinding wheel 34),
wherein the grinding disc is divided into a peripheral annular first region and a central second region disposed within the peripheral annular first region (see Figure 12 regarding the structure of the grinding wheel including a peripheral annular first surface and central area),
wherein, during the grinding operation, both, the specimen holder with the plurality of specimens and the grinding disc rotate, wherein axes of rotation of the grinding disc and of the specimen holder extend in a parallel offset manner (wherein [0048-0049] discloses rotation of the specimen holder 46; wherein [0010], [0037], [0040] disclose rotation of the grinding wheel 34; see rotational axis A of the grinding wheel 34, and wherein the specimen holder 46 rotates about its central axis, and wherein the axes of rotation of grinding wheel 34 and specimen holder 46 are parallel and offset, see Figures 1, 4, and 8),
wherein the abrasive is formed by abrasive grit (see [0051] disclosing the abrasives),
wherein the abrasive is self-sharpening such that dull abrasive grit in an upper layer of the plurality of layers break out during the grinding operation and fresh abrasive grit emerge to a surface ([0051]: wherein dressing takes place during the grinding operation, and wherein fresh surfaces of abrasives are exposed),
wherein the grinding peripheral annular first region has an inner diameter D_i and an outer diameter D_a, and wherein half of a difference between the inner diameter D_i and the outer diameter D_a defines a radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular first region (see Reference Drawing 1 regarding annotated Figure 12 of Adair, please also refer to the combination statement as applied below).
However, Adair is silent regarding specific components of the grinding wheel, including a carrier disc and abrasive bonded with a bonding agent on an upper surface of the carrier disc, wherein the carrier disc of the grinding disc has an upper surface and a lower surface, having a central second region disposed within the peripheral annular first region, and wherein the upper surface of the carrier disc is coated with the abrasive only in the peripheral annular first region to form a grinding peripheral annular first region and a passive central second region, and in the grinding peripheral annular first region, the abrasive grit is bonded with the bonding agent in a plurality of layers including 3 to 200 layers on the upper surface of the carrier disc, such that the fresh abrasive grit emerges from a lower layer of the plurality of layers, and wherein the plurality of specimens defines an overall outer diameter D_g, wherein the radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular first region is selected such that the overall outer diameter D_g extends radially inwardly beyond the inner diameter D_i permanently or temporarily due to a radial displacement of the specimen holder during the grinding operation.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Duescher (US 20050032469) teaches of a grinding disc element having a carrier disc and abrasive bonded with a bonding agent on an upper surface of the carrier disc, wherein the carrier disc of the grinding disc has an upper surface and a lower surface, having a central second region disposed within the peripheral annular first region, and wherein the upper surface of the carrier disc is coated with the abrasive only in the peripheral annular first region to form a grinding peripheral annular first region and a passive central second region (please refer to at least [0271-0274]; wherein the latter paragraphs teach of an annular ring flat abrasive disk, comprising a raised section of abrasive at the outer periphery such that the workpiece contact is at the abrasive section, wherein the abrasive particles are mixed with an adhesive binder; wherein [0274] teaches of an abrasive disk sheet 504, adhesive 502, abrasives comprising abrasive annular ring 500, and a central area which does not have abrasives, i.e. a passive central second surface, and wherein there is also a platen 506 for supporting the abrasive disc, i.e. analogous to the platen 22 of Adair; see also Figures 28A and 28B; [0273]: wherein the inner portion of the disk area is relatively low and not in contact with a workpiece part surface; see also [0003-0005]), and in the grinding peripheral annular first region, the abrasive grit is bonded with the bonding agent in a plurality of layers including 3 to 200 layers on the upper surface of the carrier disc, such that the fresh abrasive grit emerges from a lower layer of the plurality of layers (wherein [0272-0273] teaches of multiple layers of abrasive to be used to allow wearing off of the upper abrasive layers and exposing new sharp layers of abrasive; wherein the desired abrasive thickness is 0.013 to 0.25 mm, wherein one layer of abrasive is 6 micrometers, i.e. 13 to 250 micrometers thick, and thus at least three layers comprising 18 micrometers is within the contemplated layer range, see also [0414], [0256], [0268], [0274]), and wherein the plurality of specimens defines an overall outer diameter D_g, wherein the radial width B_r of the grinding peripheral annular first region is selected such that the overall outer diameter D_g extends radially inwardly beyond the inner diameter D_i permanently or temporarily due to a radial displacement of the specimen holder during the grinding operation (see at least the dimensions of the annular abrasive disk element shown in Figure 35, as well as the workpiece 630, i.e. the workpiece 630 extends radially inward within the central area, over the entirety of the radial width 652; see also [0305-0306]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Duescher regarding the abrasive disk element, including the dimensional relationship between the workpiece(s) and the annular abrasive surface, into the invention of modified Adair. While Adair provides a grinding wheel (34), Adair is silent regarding the construction and subcomponents of the grinding wheel. One would be motivated to combine in the teachings of Adair in order to provide a specific structure capable of performing the surface processing operations, while providing the benefits attributed to the teachings of Adair, including the ability to rotate at high speeds and wearing off of abrasives during use ([0272-0274]), thus reducing the frequency of independent dressing operations. By decreasing the frequency of dressing operations with a separate conditioning device, such as that described in [0051] of Adair, the lifespan of the abrasive disk increases, which is a benefit for long term costs and down time. Regarding the modification directed towards the overall diameter of the plurality of specimens, one would be motivated to do so in order to ensure even wear across the full width of the abrasive surface, and to reduce/prevent undesirable grooves from being formed within the abrasive; see [0305-0306] of Duescher. Please also refer to the motivation statement as provided in the rejection of claim 1 as well as the response to arguments section.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723