DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species C in the reply filed on 07/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 3-7 and 10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/14/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2016/0028056, as provided in the IDS filed 11/11/2022).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery pack (Fig. 3, [0048]) including a battery module (300; Fig. 2, [0048]) and a battery pack frame (110, 120, 130, and 140 taken together; Fig. 3, [0049]) on which the battery module (300) is mounted (see Fig. 3), the battery module (300) comprising:
a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells (500) are stacked (Figs. 3 and 8; [0055]);
a module frame accommodating the battery cell stack (360; Figs. 2-3 [0058]);
end plates covering (at least partially) a front side and rear side of the battery cell stack respectively (portion of 360 on front and rear that possess elements 365 and 362, unlabeled on rear portion; Fig. 1) or alternatively, when viewing the exposed main planar portion the battery cell stack of Fig. 3 as “front side” with the “rear side” being the unexposed opposite surface contacting the battery pack frame (510; Figs. 6-8); and
a fastening member (150; Fig. 3) coupling the module frame to the battery pack frame (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the end plate (either of the two interpretations from the rejection of claim 1) does not comprise a mounting hole for coupling the end plate to the battery pack frame (see Figs. 1 and 3 which do not disclose mounting holes for such claimed purpose).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2016/0028056, as provided in the IDS filed 11/11/2022), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 2018/0029493).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Lee further discloses the fastening member (150) comprises at least one strap ([0052]) that surrounds an outer side of the module frame (see Fig. 3) and at least one fastener (screw, 205, with through hole, 115; [0053]) that fastens an end of the at least one strap to the battery pack frame (at, e.g. 110 by way of 115; see Fig. 3).
While Lee does not explicitly disclose that the fastener is at least one welding point, because welds are well-known fastening techniques used alongside and/or instead of screws, bolts, etc., it would have been, obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have routinely substituted or combined known fastening techniques, including welding, in order to arrive at the claimed “at least one welding point” with a reasonable expectation that such would provide a successful fastening of an end of the at least one strap to the battery pack frame.
Additionally, Kobayashi teaches in battery packs (Figs. 4 and 7) welding as an appropriate means of fastening bolts in order to provide appropriate fastening between bolts and a receiving through-hole (e.g. nut, 214 with bolt, 216; [0077-0089]).
Thus, it would have further been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have welded a nut to the frame (e.g. 110), thus having at least one welding point, so to appropriately receive a bolt in order to fasten the at least one strap to the battery pack frame of Lee, as taught by Kobayashi, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, modified Lee discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Modified Lee further discloses the at least one strap comprises a first strap that surrounds a side surface and an upper surface of the module frame (Lee: any one of the 150, Fig. 3) and a second strap (Lee: any other of the 150, Fig. 3) that intersects a length direction of the battery module (see Fig. 3) and surrounds the upper surface of the module frame (see Fig. 3) and the end plate (see at least the alternative interpretation from the rejection of claim 1; 510).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/16/2026