DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/16/2025 has been entered into the prosecution for the application. Currently claims 1-7 and 9 are pending examination.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2010/094113 of Natarajan et al in view of US 2011/0086280 of Roustaei.
As to claims 1-3 and 7, Natarajan teaches of an ammonia electrolysis system (Natarajan, Abstract), comprising:
a component chamber to which ammonia is supplied (Natarajan, [0023], [0053] – [0055], [0080] and Figs. 1 and 7);
an electrolytic cell that is in communication with the component chamber and is configured to receive the supplied ammonia and electrolyze the supplied ammonia into at least two different fluids (Natarajan, [0053] – [0056], and Figs. 1 and 7) ; and
a plurality of fluid separator that communicates with the electrolytic cell, each separator receives hydrogen or nitrogen generated by the electrolysis and separates a hydrogen or nitrogen from the fluid stream (Natarajan, [0053], [0076] and Figs. 1 and 8).
As seen in Figs. 1, 6 and 7, there is an electrolytic cell (12) that is in communication with an ammonia refill component (20/48) that supplies ammonia and other components to the electrolytic cell. The electrolytic cell is also in communication with anode and cathode gas processing systems that include gas/liquid separators to separate the generated hydrogen from liquid electrolyte or generated nitrogen from liquid electrolyte.
Natarajan additionally teaches that the system includes a temperature controller to control the temperature within the electrolytic cell (Natarajan, [0024] and [0077] – [0079]) and a pressure sensor to sense the pressure within the electrolytic cell and a controller to control the pressure of the electrolytic cell (Natarajan, [0076] – [0077]).
Natarajan does not teach that the mixing chamber includes a temperature controller or a pressure sensor with a controller.
Roustaei teaches of electrolytic systems to produce hydrogen (Roustaei, [0042]).
Roustaei additionally teaches that such systems utilize both temperature controls and pressure sensor in communication with controllers to control the pressure and temperature within an electrolyte reservoir and the electrolytic cell in order to provide essential function of the system and maintain and manage the desired temperature and pressure of the overall system in producing hydrogen (Roustaei, [0139] – [0149], [0320], [0334] – [0346]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natarajan as per Roustaei so as to utilize the desired components within the system in order to control and manage the pressure and temperature within the system in generating hydrogen.
As to claim 4, Natarajan additionally teaches the electrolytic cell includes an anode and a cathode spaced apart by a membrane member such that the membrane member is disposed between the anode and the cathode (Natarajan, [0016] – [0017], [0054], [0101] and Figs. 1 and 12).
As to claim 6, Natarajan additionally teaches a power supply and controller to control and supply power to the electrolytic cell (Natarajan, [0053], [0056], [0075], [0084], [0103] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 9, Natarajan teaches that the ammonia is in the liquid phase (Natarajan, [0025], [0055] and [0103]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natarajan in view of Roustaei as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0251903 of Xiang et al.
As to claim 5, Natarajan in view of Roustaei teaches to the system of claim 1.
Natarajan additionally teaches the mixer includes:
a mixing body (i.e. chamber) to accommodate the ammonia (Natarajan, [0076], [0080] and Figs. 6 and 7);
an additive supplier to allow an additive to be supplied to the mixing body (Natarajan, [0076], [0080] and Figs. 6 and 7).
As stated within Natarajan, excess ammonia is removed and introduced into module 48 such that the ammonia concentration can be maintained as desired by addition of anhydrous ammonia from tank (72) as well as addition of additives like KOH to the electrolyte within the module 48.
Natarajan does not teach a rotatable stirrer within the mixing body.
Xiang teaches of electrolytic cells (Xiang, [0004]).
Xiang additionally teaches that within reservoirs that contain an electrolyte that comprises components to utilize a rotatable stirrer so as to agitate the electrolyte, thus facilitating mixing of the components of the electrolyte (Xiang, [0043] – [0045]).
As Natarajan teaches of a mixing chamber, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Natarajan as per Xiang so as to utilize a stir bar within the mixing chamber to agitate the electrolyte in order to mix the components of the electrolyte with the chamber.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Natarajan fails to disclose the fluid separator communicates with the electrolytic cell and receives the two different fluids to separate ammonia present in the fluids.
It is noted that this is the intended use of the separators. Natarajan teaches that nitrogen gas and hydrogen gas (i.e. the two “different” fluids) are formed within an electrolytic cell. The gases are then separated from the liquid electrolyte solutions. In specific to the anode gas (i.e. nitrogen gas) the ammonia is shown to be separated. It is noted that the hydrogen gas is separated from any residual moisture, which would include any other liquid present. Any gaseous ammonia is further separated from the nitrogen (see rejection and cited areas, including but not limited to Fig. 1, 6 and 7).
Applicant additionally argues that the Natarajan does not teach the pressure sensors and controller mechanism. Natarajan teaches both pressure and temperature sensors within the electrolytic cell.
Applicant again argues the intended use of the pressure sensor. The pressure sensor senses the pressure in the mixer which is a chamber that holds a fluid including ammonia. Roustaei is pertinent to the same structure as per Applicant’s “mixer” in that an electrolyte reservoir contains a fluid to which the temperature and pressure are sensed, by sensors, and controls are performed based on those sensed conditions. ‘
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, applicant argues that Roustaei is not analogous art in that it does not use ammonia, however, as Natarajan also uses water as part of the electrolyte, the system functions in the same manner as that of Roustaei (i.e. both are electrolytic cells that generate gas).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the combination of structural components of electrolytic cells would be beneficial within Natarajan as per Roustaei in providing control and maintenance of the system at hand.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759