DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 10/08/2025.
3. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-20 are pending. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-20 are under examination on the merits. Claims 1, 10, 12, 16, 19 are amended. Claims 3, 8-9 are cancelled. Claim 2 is previously cancelled.
4. The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-7, 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statements submitted on 10/08/2025, and 10/08/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 16 has been amended to recite new limitations directed to “at room temperature”. No basis has been pointed to for this new limitation and none is apparent. A review of the specification, drawings, and claims of the application as originally filed does not show support for this limitation. Additionally, applicant’s remarks do not point to specific support for these limitations. In the absence of support, these claims and claims dependent thereon are deemed to constitute new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
10. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein the thermal interface material comprises between 85% and 90% heat conductive material by weight”, wherein applicant fails to articulate by sufficiently distinct functional language, if the recited amount of the heat conductive material is based on the total composition or based solely on the perfluoropolyether (PFPE) fluid or the surface treatment agent, thus claim 1 constitutes indefinite subject matter as per the metes and bounds of said phrase engenders indeterminacy in scope. Claims 4-7, 10-20 being depended on claim 1 are rejected as well.
Additionally, Claim 1 recites “the subscripts a1-d1 is not limited” wherein applicant fails to articulate by sufficiently distinct functional language, applicant regards as those which will facilitate “is not limited” requisite to identifying the integer of a1-d1 or matter claimed, thus claim 1 constitutes indefinite subject matter as per the metes and bounds of said phrase engenders indeterminacy in scope.
11. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites “the heat conductive particles are non-magnetic and have a thermal conductivity of at least 20 W/mK”, wherein applicant fails to articulate by sufficiently distinct functional language as how the thermal conductivity measurement is preformed (i.e., ASTM), since the thermal conductivity depends on its temperature. Thus, claim 16 constitutes indefinite subject matter as per the metes and bounds of said phrase engenders indeterminacy in scope.
12. Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “the subscripts a1-d1 is not limited” wherein applicant fails to articulate by sufficiently distinct functional language, applicant regards as those which will facilitate “is not limited” requisite to identifying the integer of a1-d1 or matter claimed, thus claim 19 constitutes indefinite subject matter as per the metes and bounds of said phrase engenders indeterminacy in scope. Claim 20 being depended on claim 19 is rejected as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14 Claims 1, 4-7, 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. (JP 2019-102654 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’654”) in view of Ishii et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0031828 A1, hereinafter “’828”) and Koshikawa et al. (JP 2017-190389 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’389”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘654 teaches a low outgas high temperature thermal interface material as a heat dissipation sheet (Page 6/16, [0004]; Page 7/16, [0011]) comprising: a heat conductive material (Page 8/16, [0021]), dispersed within a perfluoropolyether (PFPE) fluid (Page 7/16, [0013]), wherein the heat conductive material comprises a plurality of heat conductive particles, wherein the surface of the plurality of heat conductive particles is modified with a fluorine containing surface treatment agent (Page 8/16, [0021]), wherein the surface treatment agent is covalently bound to the surface of the heat conductive particles and wherein the surface treatment agent comprises a PFPE moiety (Page 8/16, [0021]), and wherein the thermal interface material comprises 73% heat conductive material by weight (Page 9/16, [0023]; Page 12/16, [0041], Example 3). ‘654 does not expressly teach i) the fluorine containing surface treatment agent is a compound selected from the group consisting of (A1), (A2), (B1), (B2), (C1), (C2), (D1), and (D2), and ii) the thermal interface material comprises between 85% and 90% heat conductive material by weight,
Referring to i), however ‘828 teaches a surface-treating agent containing (1) at least one perfluoro (poly)ether group containing silane compound of any of the formulae (A1), (A2), (B1), (B2), (C1), (C2), (D1) and (D2) as set forth below (Page 1, [0012]) with benefit of providing the surface treating agent comprising a perfluoro(poly)ether group containing silane compound which is able to form a layer having water-repellency, oil-repellency and antifouling property, waterproof property as well as high friction durability, high surface slip property and high transparency (Page 1, [0009]).
Referring to ii), ‘389 teaches a thermal conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition capable comprising (D)100 to 4000 parts by mass of a thermally conductive filler (i.e. the thermal interface material comprises between 83% heat conductive material by weight, Page 58/62, [0147], Table 1, Example 4), and (E) 0.01 to 300 parts by mass of a fluorine-containing organosilicon compound having one or more monovalent perfluoroalkyl groups or monovalent perfluorooxyalkyl groups in one molecule, further having one or more alkoxy groups directly bonded to a silicon atom, and not having an epoxy group and a hydrogen atom directly bonded to a silicon atom (SiH group) in the molecule (Page 3/62, Claim 1; Page 12/62, [0014]) with benefit of providing thermally conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition which can be highly filled with a thermally conductive filler, is excellent in oil resistance and thermal conductivity, and gives a cured product firmly adhering to various substrates such as metals and plastics, and an electric/electronic component using the same (Page 11/62, [0012]).
In an analogous art of the heat-conductive fluorinated curable composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fluorine containing surface treatment agent by ‘654, so as to include the fluorine containing surface treatment agent is a compound selected from the group consisting of (A1), (A2), (B1), (B2), (C1), (C2), (D1), and (D2) as set forth as taught by ‘828 and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing the surface treating agent comprising a perfluoro(poly)ether group containing silane compound which is able to form a layer having water-repellency, oil-repellency and antifouling property, waterproof property as well as high friction durability, high surface slip property and high transparency suggested by ‘828 (Pahe 1, [0009]).
In an analogous art of the heat-conductive fluorinated curable composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the amount of heat conductive particles by ‘469, so as to include the thermal interface material comprises between 85% and 90% heat conductive material by weight, preferably the thermal interface material comprises at least 85% heat conductive particles by weight as taught by ‘389 and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing thermally conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition which can be highly filled with a thermally conductive filler, is excellent in oil resistance and thermal conductivity, and gives a cured product firmly adhering to various substrates as suggested by ‘389 (Page 11/62, [0012]).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claim 4: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the thermal interface material comprises between 10% and 45% PFPE fluid by weight (Page 8/16, [0017]); Page 12/16, [0041], Example 3).
Regarding claim 5: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the thermal interface material loses less than about 1% of total mass during ASTM D972 or ASTM D2595 protocol testing (Page 11/16, [0036]).
Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 ( CCP A 197 5).
Regarding claim 6: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the thermal interface material outgasses less than 0.6% of total mass after 72 hours of exposure to a temperature of at least 200°C (Page 8/16, [0019]).
Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 ( CCP A 197 5).
Regarding claim 7: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the thermal interface material is a liquid (Page 6/16, [0006]; Page 7/11, [0011]-[0012]).
Regarding claim 10: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the surface treatment agent is covalently bound to the heat conductive particle (Page 9/16, [0025]; Page 12/16, [0041], Example 3) .
Regarding claim 11: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the PFPE fluid such as Fomblin M30 (Pages 11-12/16, [0039]) has a molecular weight between 16,000 g/mol.
Regarding claim 12: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the PFPE fluid has a viscosity of at least 50 cSt and the thermal interface material is a paste (Pages 9-10/16, [0026]).
Regarding claim 13: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the heat conductive particles are selected from the group consisting of SiC, BeO, Cu2O, AIN, BN, Si3N4, MgO, ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, Al2TiO5, CF, MgF2, AIF3, CuF2, and ZnF2 (Page 8/16, [0021]).
Regarding claim 14: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the heat conductive particles are non-magnetic (Page 8/16, [0021]).
Regarding claim 15: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the heat conductive particles are less than 100 µm in size (Page 9/16, [0023]; Page 12/16, [0041], Example 3) .
Regarding claim 16: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the heat conductive particles are non-magnetic and have a thermal conductivity of at least 20 W/mK (Page 8/16, [0021]).
Where ... the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical ... the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977) (citations and footnote omitted). The mere recitation of a property or characteristic not disclosed by the prior art does not necessarily confer patentability to a composition or a method of using that composition. See In re Skoner, 51 7 F .2d 94 7, 950 ( CCP A 197 5).
Regarding claim 17: ‘654 teaches the low outgas high temperature thermal interface material (Page 6/16, [0004]), wherein the thermal interface material is applied to a solid heat conductive film to form a thermal interface film (Page 6/16, [0007]).
Regarding claim 18: The disclosure of ‘654 in view of ‘828 or ‘389 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘389 teaches a method of making a thermal interface material as a thermal conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition (Page 2, Abstract) comprising the steps of: obtaining a plurality of non-magnetic heat conductive particles, wherein the heat conductive particles are less than 100 µm in size and are selected from the group consisting of Mg, MgO, Zn, and ZnO as D component (Pages 11-13/62, [0014]); obtaining a perfluoropolyether fluid, wherein the perfluoropolyether fluid has a molecular weight between about 1,500 and about 30,000 g/mol (Pages 11-13/62, [0014]); modifying the heat conductive particles by covalently bonding a surface treatment agent to the surface of the heat conductive particles wherein the surface treatment agent comprises a perfluoropolyether moiety (Page11/62, [0013]); and dispersing the modified heat conductive particles within the perfluoropolyether fluid to form a thermal interface material wherein the thermal interface material comprises at least 80% heat conductive particles by weight (Page 3/62, Claim 1; Page 12/62, [0014]) with benefit of providing thermally conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition which can be highly filled with a thermally conductive filler, is excellent in oil resistance and thermal conductivity, and gives a cured product firmly adhering to various substrates such as metals and plastics, and an electric/ electronic component using the same (Page 11/62, [0012]).
In an analogous art of the heat-conductive fluorinated curable composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of making a heat transfer composition by ‘654, so as to include a method of making a thermal conductive fluorine adhesive composition as taught by ‘389, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing thermally conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition which can be highly filled with a thermally conductive filler, is excellent in oil resistance and thermal conductivity, and gives a cured product firmly adhering to various substrates as suggested by ‘389 (Page 11/62, [0013]).
Regarding claims 19-20: The disclosure of ‘654 in view of ‘828 or ‘389 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘389 teaches a method of making a thermal interface material as a thermal conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition (Page 2, Abstract) comprising the steps of: obtaining a plurality of non-magnetic heat conductive particles (Pages 11-13/62, [0014]); obtaining a fluorine containing fluid (Pages 11-13/62, [0014]); obtaining a surface treatment agent comprising a fluorine containing group and a hydrolizable silane group (Page11/62, [0013]); blending the surface treatment agent with the fluorine containing fluid; adding the heat conductive particles to the blended fluorine containing fluid and surface treatment agent; modifying the heat conductive particles by covalently bonding the surface treatment agent to the surface of the heat conductive particles (Page11/62, [0013]); and dispersing the modified heat conductive particles within the fluorine containing fluid to form a thermal interface material, wherein the fluorine containing fluid is a PFPE fluid (Page 3/62, Claim 1; Page 12/62, [0014]) with benefit of providing thermally conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition which can be highly filled with a thermally conductive filler, is excellent in oil resistance and thermal conductivity, and gives a cured product firmly adhering to various substrates such as metals and plastics, and an electric/ electronic component using the same (Page 11/62, [0012]).
In an analogous art of the heat-conductive fluorinated curable composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of making a heat transfer composition by ‘654, so as to include a method of making a thermal conductive fluorine adhesive composition as taught by ‘389, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing thermally conductive fluorine-containing adhesive composition which can be highly filled with a thermally conductive filler, is excellent in oil resistance and thermal conductivity, and gives a cured product firmly adhering to various substrates as suggested by ‘389 (Page 11/62, [0013]).
Response to Arguments
15. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-7, 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
16. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
11/12/2025
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov