DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Withdrawal of Objections and Rejections
2. Applicant's response, filed 09/02/2026, has been fully considered.
In view of the amendment and remarks, the objection to the claims and the rejection of the following claims are withdrawn:
claims 10-11 and 15-17 under 35 USC § 112(b);
claim 16 under 35 USC § 101;
claims 1-17, 19 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
The following rejections and/or objections are either maintained or newly applied for claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22. They constitute the complete set applied to the instant application. Herein, "the previous Office action" refers to the Non-Final Rejection of 04/06/2026.
Status of the Claims
3. Claims 1-15, 17, 19 and 21-22 are pending.
Claims 16, 18, 20, and 23 are cancelled.
Claims 1-15, 17, 19 and 21-22 are rejected.
Priority
4. This US Application 17/924,948 (11/11/2022) is a 371 of PCT/US2021/031957 (05/12/2021), which claims benefit of 63/025,498 (05/15/2020), as reflected in the filing receipt mailed on 03/14/2023. The claims to the benefit of priority are acknowledged; and the effective filing date of claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22 is 05/15/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2026 was considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to one or more Judicial Exceptions (JEs) without significantly more. Regarding JEs, "Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas..., natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection" (MPEP 2106.04 §I). Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts and procedures for evaluating, analyzing or organizing information, which are a type of mental process (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
101 background
MPEP 2106 organizes JE analysis into Steps 1, 2A (Prong One & Prong Two), and 2B as analyzed below. MPEP 2106 and the following USPTO website provide further explanation and case law citations: uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/examination-guidance-and-training-materials.
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
Analysis of instant claims
Step 1: Are the claims directed to a 101 process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (MPEP 2106.03)?
The instant claims are directed to a method (claims 1-12, 19, and 21-22) and a CRM (claims 13-15, 17); each of which falls within one of the categories of statutory subject matter.
[Step 1: claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22: Yes]
Step 2A, Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicially recognized exception, i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a-c))?
Background
With respect to Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite judicial exceptions in the form of abstract ideas. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2) further explains that abstract ideas are defined as:
• mathematical concepts (mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical relationships
and mathematical calculations) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I));
• certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)); and/or
• mental processes (concepts practically performed in the human mind, including observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions) (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Analysis of instant claims
With respect to the instant claims, under the Step 2A, Prong One evaluation, the claims are found to recite abstract ideas that fall into the grouping of mental processes (in particular procedures for observing, analyzing and organizing information) and mathematical concepts (in particular mathematical relationships and formulas) are as follows:
"mapping/map … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences, wherein the one or more reference sequences are representative of the input genome" (independent claims 1, 13, and 21);
• "identifying/identify … from a data structure, the at least one edit based on one or more reference edit patterns matching a pattern associated with the at least one edit, wherein the one or more reference edit patterns are defined by segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences, wherein the pattern associated with the at least one edit is defined by at least one location and/or at least one orientation of the segments of the multiple sequence reads mapped onto the one or more reference sequences, relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences" (independent claims 1, 13, and 21);
• "reporting/report, by the computing device, the identified at least one edit in response to the request"; (independent claims 1, 13, and 21);
• "searching, by the computing device, in the data structure, for the one or more reference edit patterns, in order to identify the at least one edit" (claim 9);
• "discarding one or more of the multiple sequence reads, prior to mapping the multiple sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences, based on the one or more of the multiple sequence reads being located apart from one or more target sites of the one or more reference sequences and/or the output genome; and wherein mapping the multiple sequence reads includes mapping the non-discarded one or more of the multiple sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences" (claim 10);
• "selecting the output genome based on the identified at least one edit" (claim 12);
• "keeping one or more of the multiple sequence reads having the segments mapped onto at least one of the one or more reference sequences or onto two locations in opposite orientations of one of the one or more reference sequences" (claim 15);
• "map only non-discarded sequence reads of the multiple sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences" (claim 17);
• "discard one or more of the multiple sequence reads, prior to mapping the sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences, based on the one or more of the multiple sequence reads being located apart from one or more target sites of the one or more reference sequences and/or the output genome” (claim 17); and
• "identifying … the one or more edits in the output genome based on at least one reference pattern identified by mapping multiple sequence reads of the output genome onto a reference sequence of an unedited version of the genome" (claim 19).
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-11, 14, 22 and 16 recite further steps that limit the judicial exceptions in independent claims 1 and 13 and, as such, also are directed to those abstract ideas. For example, claims 2, 11, 14 and 22 further limit the one or more reference edit patterns identified; claim 3 further limits the one or more reference sequences mapped; claims 4-8 further limit the at least one edit identified; and claim 10 further limits the mapping step.
The abstract ideas recited in the claims are evaluated under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind and/or by mathematical operation. Without further detail as to the methodology involved in "identifying and mapping genome edits", under the BRI, one may simply, for example, use pen and paper to perform the recited identifying, mapping searching, selecting and discarding steps using sequence reads and reference reads data. The amended wherein clause recites how the patterns are defined in identifying step.
[Step 2A Prong One: claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22: Yes ]
Step 2A, Prong Two: If the claims recite a judicial exception under Prong One, then is the judicial exception integrated into a practical application by an additional element (MPEP 2106.04(d))?
Background
MPEP 2106.04(d).I lists the following example considerations for evaluating whether a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application:
An improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or another technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a);
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2);
Implementing a judicial exception with, or using a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(b);
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c); and
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(e).
Analysis of instant claims
Instant claims 1, 9, 12-13, 19, and 21 recite additional elements that are not abstract ideas:
• "computing device" (claims 1, 9, 19, and 21);
• "processor" (claims 13, 15, and 17);
• "receiving/receive, by a computing device, a request to identify at least one edit in an output genome, the output genome based on an input genome and one or more edits to the input genome" (independent claims 1, 13, and 21); and
• "planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space" (claim 12).
Considerations under Step 2A, Prong Two
The recited limitations in claims 1, 9, 13, 15, 17, 19, and 21 are interpreted as requiring the use of a computer. Hence, the claims explicitly recite steps executed by computers and therefore can be described as computer functions or instructions to implement on a generic computer. Further steps directed to additional non-abstract elements of a computing device/computer do not describe any specific computational steps by which the "computer parts" perform or carry out the judicial exceptions, nor do they provide any details of how specific structures of the computer are used to implement these functions. The claims state nothing more than a generic computer which performs the functions that constitute the judicial exceptions.
Claims directed to "receiving" data (claims 1, 13, and 21) read on receiving data over a network -Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321 - MPEP 2106.05(a) pertains; which constitutes just necessary data gathering and therefore correspond to insignificant extra-solution activity. The recited claims read on data gathering activities; not amounting to a practical application. The type of data doesn’t change that it is mere data gathering or conventional computer receiving means
The recited "planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space" (claim 12) read on a generic "apply it" step because the claim recites an idea of a solution or outcome without any indication of how the judicial exception impacts or influences this step. There are no additional limitations to indicate details of exactly how the judicial exception is being integrated into the recited step of "planting." There are no additional limitations to indicate that the claimed computer, processor, or computer readable medium require anything other than generic computer components in order to carry out the recited abstract idea in the claims. Claims that amount to instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 573 U.S. at 224, 110 USPQ2d at 1984. MPEP 2106.05(b).
Hence, these are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity and therefore the claims do not integrate that abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; 2106.05(f); and 2106.05(g)). None of the dependent claims recite any additional non-abstract elements; they are all directed to further aspects of the information being analyzed, the manner in which that analysis is performed, or the mathematical operations performed on the information.
In Step 2A, Prong One above, claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more judicial exceptions (JEs).
In this Step 2A, Prong Two immediately above claim steps and/or elements were identified as part of one or more additional elements. Additional elements are further discussed in Step 2B below.
Here in Step 2A, Prong Two, no additional step or element clearly demonstrates integration of the JE(s) into a practical application.
[Step 2A Prong Two: claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22: No]
Step 2B: Do the claims recite a non-conventional arrangement of elements in addition to any identified judicial exception(s) (MPEP 2106.05)?
According to analysis so far, the additional elements described above do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. A determination of whether additional elements provide significantly more also rests on whether the additional elements or a combination of elements represents other than what is well-understood, routine, and conventional. Conventionality is a question of fact and may be evidenced as: a citation to an express statement in the specification or to a statement made by an applicant during examination that demonstrates a well-understood, routine or conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to one or more of the court decisions as discussed in MPEP 2106(d)(II) as noting the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s); and/or a statement that the examiner is taking official notice with respect to the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s).
Claims 1, 9, 13, 15, 17, 19, and 21 recite a computer or computer functions, interpreted as instructions to apply the abstract idea using a computer, where the computer does not impose meaningful limitations on the judicial exceptions; which can be performed without the use of a computer (MPEP 2106.04(d) § I; and MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the courts have found that receiving data well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of a computer when claimed in a generic manner or as insignificant extra-solution activity (see Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information), buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network), Versa ta Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015), and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(d)(Il)(i)).
When the claims are considered as a whole, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application; they do not confine the use of the abstract idea to a particular technology; they do not solve a problem rooted in or arising from the use of a particular technology; they do not improve a technology by allowing the technology to perform a function that it previously was not capable of performing; and they do not provide any limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a broad technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(a) and 2106.05(h).
With respect to the instant claims, the prior art review to Songstad ("Genome editing of plants." Critical Reviews in Plant Sciences 36(1):1-23 (2017)) discloses genome editing of plants to screen through mutant populations to identify specific genes of interest is routine, well-understood and conventional in the art. Said portions of the prior art are, for example, pg. 6 col. 2 para. 4; wherein studies performed were able to conclude effects such as early flowering and shorter roots following the use of mutant genes identified by genome editing steps (i.e. reading on planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space) (pg. 6 col.1 para. 2).
The instant claims constitute insignificant extra solution activity, and when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Hence, these elements, when considered individually, are insufficient to constitute inventive concepts that would render the claims significantly more than an abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Step 2B: claims 1-15, 17,19 and 21-22: No]
Conclusion: Instant claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter
For the reasons above, the claims in this instant application, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are directed to an abstract idea and lack an inventive concept not clearly anything significantly more.
Response to applicant's remarks in regard to Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. ~ 101
7. The Remarks of 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below:
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 9 para. 4:
A. Step 2A Prong 1 The Specification explains that genome edits are detected through pattern recognition at genome junctions, where sequence reads are mapped onto reference sequences, split into segments, and compared against reference edit patterns defined by the locations and orientations of the mapped segments. (Specification, para. [0005] and [0034]-[0036].) Different patterns correspond to different genome-editing events, including inversions, deletions, HFT edits, TFT edits, and combinations thereof. (Id.) Further, the recited process requires analysis of large collections of sequence reads and, in Claims 1 and 13, evaluation of positional and/or orientational relationships between mapped read segments and target sites. Such operations are not practicably performable in the human mind. Accordingly, Claims 1, 13, 19, and 21 are directed to a specific technological technique for detecting and characterizing genome-editing outcomes using mapped sequence-read patterns and do not recite a mental process that can practically be performed in the human mind.
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because the claims include limitations which encompass purely mental actions as set forth in the above rejections. In MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), section III(A), examples that cannot practically be performed in the mind are provided, and include a method for calculating an absolute position of a GPS receiver and an absolute time of reception of satellite signals, detecting suspicious activity by using network monitors and analyzing network packets, specific data encryption method for computer communication involving a several-step manipulation of data, a method for rendering a halftone image of a digital image where the method required the manipulation of computer data structures and the output of a modified computer data structure. In contrast, the MPEP notes that the limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. The MPEP therefore makes clear that limitations which cannot practically be performed in the mind are those in which the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations. The term practical is not meant to indicate that as a matter of practicality, one would perform a method preferentially on a computer rather than mentally. The fact that the performance of such a task would be cumbersome or take a large amount of time because of the scale of the data to be analyzed is not changed by the fact that the human mind is capable of performing the task. Further, the use of a physical aid, such as a computer, does not negate the mental and mathematical nature of said limitations at Step 2A, Prong 1 (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). In this instant case, under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) and determined to each cover performance either in the mind and/or by mathematical operation. Without further detail as to the methodology involved in "identifying and mapping genome edits", under the BRI, one may simply, for example, use pen and paper to perform the recited identifying, mapping searching, selecting and discarding steps using sequence reads and reference reads data. The amended wherein clause recites how the patterns are defined in identifying step.
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 10 para. 3:
B. Step 2A Prong 2 … These limitations reflect a particular technological solution to a problem arising in the field of genome editing. The Specification describes that genome editing technologies such as CRISPR can introduce complex genomic alterations, including inversions, deletions, insertions, and translocations, which are difficult to detect and characterize using conventional techniques. (Id., para. [0005].) The Specification further explains that conventional approaches often struggle to identify complex edits, particularly edits that span regions larger than typical sequence reads. (Id., para. [0034].) Claims 1 and 13 address this technical problem by analyzing mapped sequence-read segments and identifying patterns defined by the locations and orientations of those segments relative to target sites. The resulting patterns are compared to reference edit patterns to detect and characterize specific genome-editing outcomes. The Specification expressly describes this as a pattern-recognition technique for detecting edits at genome junctions and explains that different patterns correspond to different edit types. (Id., para. [0035].) Importantly, the Specification explains that the described approach provides substantial improvements over conventional edit-detection techniques because it permits detection of complex genome edits based on observed sequence-read patterns rather than requiring preconstructed expected outputs. (Id.) The Specification further describes that the claims provide a flexible mechanism for detecting edits and characterizing complex editing events that conventional techniques are unable to reliably identify. (Id., para. [0106].) Therefore, the claims improve a technological process for detecting and characterizing genome-editing outcomes, rather than merely analyzing information
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because the analysis at Step 2A, Prong 2, considers the claims as a whole, i.e., the additional elements in combination with the judicial exceptions (see MPEP 2106.05(a)), although the integration or improvement provided in the claim must flow from the additional elements and not the judicial exceptions to be considered persuasive. The identified additional elements in this instant application are: "computing device" (claims 1, 9, 19, and 21); "processor" (claims 13, 15, and 17); "receiving/receive, by a computing device, a request to identify at least one edit in an output genome, the output genome based on an input genome and one or more edits to the input genome" (independent claims 1, 13, and 21); and "planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space" (claim 12). Said additional elements do not provide the integration of the identified judicial exceptions into a practical application as described in detail in the Claims Rejections above. The argued improvement above flows from said identified judicial exceptions and not from said additional elements. The limitations pointed to be Applicant are considered to recite judicial exceptions and the argued improvement above flows from said identified judicial exceptions and are therefore not sufficient to provide a practical application at Step 2A Prong 2.
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 11 para. 3:
Claims 1, 13, and 21 recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the alleged judicial exception. The recited arrangement as a whole is not well-understood, routine, or conventional. The claims do not merely recite generic data processing. Rather, the claims require identifying edits using one or more reference edit patterns, where the reference edit patterns are defined by segments of mapped sequence reads and where the pattern associated with the edit is defined by locations and/or orientations of the mapped segments relative to target sites. Claim 19 similarly requires identifying edits based on at least one reference pattern identified from mapped sequence reads. The Office has not identified evidence demonstrating that it was well-understood or routine to identify genome edits using reference edit patterns defined by mapped sequence-read segments and target-site-relative location and orientation information. Nor has the Office shown that the recited combination of mapping sequence reads, defining edit-associated patterns from mapped read segments, and identifying edits through reference edit-pattern matching is conventional. Instead, the rejection relies on characterizing individual claim elements at a high level of abstraction while failing to address the recited ordered combination. Here, the Office has not established that the recited ordered combination was well-understood, routine, and conventional. Accordingly, Claims 1, 13, 19, and 21 contain an inventive concept and therefore, recite significantly more than the alleged abstract idea
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because Step 2B instructs that an inventive concept cannot be provided the by judicial exception. An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966)). The identified additional elements in this instant application are: "computing device" (claims 1, 9, 19, and 21); "processor" (claims 13, 15, and 17); "receiving/receive, by a computing device, a request to identify at least one edit in an output genome, the output genome based on an input genome and one or more edits to the input genome" (independent claims 1, 13, and 21); and "planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space" (claim 12). Said additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself as described in detail in the Claims Rejections above. The limitations pointed to be Applicant are considered to recite a judicial exception as described above and are therefore not considered at Step 2B..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 1-10, 13-15, 17, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim ("GRIM-Filter: Fast seed location filtering in DNA read mapping using processing-in-memory technologies." BMC genomics 19(2):89 (2018) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892) in view of Bingmann ("COBS: a compact bit-sliced signature index." International Symposium on String Processing and Information Retrieval. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2019) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892) in view of Boel ("BATCH-GE: Batch analysis of Next-Generation Sequencing data for genome editing assessment." Scientific reports 6(1)30330 (2016) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892) in view of Pinello ("Analyzing CRISPR genome-editing experiments with CRISPResso." Nature biotechnology 34.7:695-697 (2016) -newly cited). This is a newly recited prior art rejection and necessitated by claim amendment.
Claims 1 and 13 recite:
mapping/map, by the computing device, multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences, wherein the one or more reference sequences are representative of the input genome;
identifying/identify, by the computing device, from a data structure, the at least one edit based on one or more reference edit patterns matching a pattern associated with the at least one edit, wherein the one or more reference edit patterns are defined by segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences
Claim 13 recites:
non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions for identifying edits in output genomes, which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the steps recited in claim 1
• Kim teaches a method for 1) cutting the genome into many short reads, 2) identifying the DNA sequence of each read, and 3) mapping each read against the reference genome to analyze the variations in the sequenced genome (pg. 24 col. 1para. 1); wherein a seed location filter exploits the high memory bandwidth and processing-in-memory capabilities of 3D-stacked dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (i.e. computing device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions) to improve the performance of DNA read mappers (pg. 24 col. 2 para. 5); wherein billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. identifying edits) (pg. 23 para. 1); wherein the mapper indexes a data structure (i.e. identifying data structures) with each seed to obtain a list of possible locations within the reference genome that could result in a match (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the mapper aligns the read sequence to the reference sequence (i.e. reference sequences are representative of the input genome defined by segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences) (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein an verification sequence alignment algorithm to determine the similarity between the read sequence and the reference sequence (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2).
• Kim does not teach the identification of edit patterns. However, Bingmann teaches an algorithm namely COmpact Bit-sliced Signature index to generate DNA data structure from sequencing experiments (pg. 1 para. 2); wherein the creation of k-mers for DNA string allows pattern matching (pg. 5 para. 2); wherein each filter is represented bit arrays with possibly different parameters to perform approximate matching for a pattern of DNA (pg. 5 para. 4).
Claims 1 and 13 recite:
wherein the pattern associated with the at least one edit is defined by at least one location and/or at least one orientation of the segments of the multiple sequence reads mapped onto the one or more reference sequences, relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Pinello teaches a suite of computational tools to qualitatively and quantitatively evaluate the outcomes of genome-editing experiments in which target loci are subject to deep sequencing (pg. 695 col. 2 para. 2); wherein the automation steps includes aligning the reads to a reference amplicon (i.e. identification of genome editing outcomes relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences); determining the proportion of frameshift and in-frame mutations (i.e. identifying edit patterns) as well as detecting potential splice-site mutations (i.e. patterns associated with locations) (pg. 3 para. 1); wherein said outcomes include insertions, deletions, nucleotide substitutions and recombination of extrachromosomal donor sequences (i.e. identifying edit patterns) (pg. 695 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the method includes mapping of mutation position to reference amplicon of reads (pg. 695 Fig. 1).
Claims 1 and 13 recite:
receiving/receive, by a computing device, a request to identify at least one edit in an output genome, the output genome based on an input genome and one or more edits to the input genome;
reporting/report, by the computing device, the identified at least one edit in response to the request wherein the pattern associated with the at least one edit is defined by at least one location and/or at least one orientation of the segments of the multiple sequence reads mapped onto the one or more reference sequences, relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences
Claim 13 recites:
non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions for identifying edits in output genomes, which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the steps recited in claim 1
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Boel teaches a method that detects and reports indel mutations and other precise genome editing events (pg. 1 para. 1) by mapping reads against complete genomic sequence of the organism of interest (i.e. multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences) (pg. 7 Table 3); wherein input files define the genomic coordinates for the user-defined region of interest (i.e. receiving a request to identify at least one edit in an output genome) (pg. 2 para. 2); wherein a list of variants is generated (i.e. reporting the identified at least one edit in response to the request) (pg. 7 Table 3); wherein the tool is implemented as a freely available Perl script and can be run on any Linux-based server or personal computer (i.e. computing device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions).
Claim 2 recites:
wherein the one or more reference edit patterns are further defined by locations and/or orientations of the segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Bingmann teaches an “ensemble” of encoding techniques for compressing the occurrence maps of k-mers in the document set (i.e. locations of the segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped), in which the occurrence maps are grouped depending on their density and encoding into disjoint buckets (pg. 4 para. 2).
Claim 3 recites:
wherein each of the one or more reference sequences is representative of an input wild type genome
• Kim does not teach an input wild type genome. However, Boel teaches the incorporation of a control sample (e.g. non-injected zebrafish embryos from the same clutch – wild type control) in the genomic analysis to identify these polymorphisms, or to examine the reads (pg. 4 para. 2).
Claim 4 recites:
wherein the at least one edit includes: a deletion edit, an inversion edit, a homolog fragment targeting (HFT) edit, and/or a trans-fragment targeting TFT edit; and wherein the one or more reference edit patterns include one or a combination of simple edits including: a deletion edit, an inversion edit, a homolog fragment targeting (HFT) edit, and/or a trans-fragment targeting TFT edit
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Bingmann teaches a method for pattern matching including searching within the stored datasets to find important genes or mutations, or combinations of mutations (i.e. DNA deletion and DNA inversion edits) (pg. 2 para. 2).
Claim 5 recites:
determining whether the at least one edit is associated with only one target site of the output genome; and wherein the at least one edit includes a simple edit in response to the at least one edit being associated with the only one target site
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Boel teaches a system applied in a range of organisms to achieve either gene knock-out or knock-in (i.e. gene edit comprising a simple edit) including the combined use of a customizable target-specific single-guide RNA (sgRNA) (i.e. edit associated with only one target site of the output genome) (pg. 2 para. 1); wherein for each gene, a sgRNA target sequence was selected (i.e. simple edit in response to the at least one edit being associated with the only one target site), guided by a number of criteria, which are based on current knowledge on optimal sgRNA design (pg. 7 para. 5).
Claim 6 recites:
wherein the target site is defined by guide RNA (gRNA)
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Boel teaches a system applied in a range of organisms to achieve either gene knock-out or knock-in (i.e. gene edit) including the combined use of a customizable target-specific single-guide RNA pg. 2 para. 1).
Claim 7 recites:
determining whether the at least one edit is associated with more than one target site of the output genome; and determining whether the at least one edit is associated with only one gene or locus; wherein the at least one edit includes multiple edits selected from simple edits, inversion edits, and/or HFT edits, but not TFT edits, in response to the at least one edit being associated with more than one target site and being associated with only one gene or locus
Claim 8 recites:
determining whether the at least one edit is associated with more than one gene or locus; and wherein the one or more edit includes multiple edits selected from simple edits, inversion edits, HFT edits, and TFT edits, in response to the at least one edit being associated with more than one target site and being associated with more than one gene or locus
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Boel teaches that specific base pair alterations in the repair template can be marked, allowing the simultaneous detection of single and multiple intended base pair substitutions (i.e. reading on at least one edit includes multiple edits selected from simple edits – wherein substitutions are simple edits but not TFT edits) (pg. 7 para. 1); sequence reads (indicated by a tick) are screened for insertions and deletions (i.e. reading on claims 7-8) initiated within the same user-defined region of interest (pg. 3 Fig. 1); wherein for each entry in the experiment file, a folder with four output files is generated, containing genome editing data for every sample analysed for the user-defined region of interest, where Fig. 2 shows multiple entries related to multiple regions of interest (i.e. reading on claims 7-8) (pg. 2 para. 3 and pg. 5 Fig. 2).
Claim 9 recites:
searching, by the computing device, in the data structure, for the one or more reference edit patterns, in order to identify the at least one edit
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Bingmann teaches an algorithm namely COmpact Bit-sliced Signature index to generate DNA data structure from sequencing experiments (pg. 1 para. 2); wherein the creation of k-mers for DNA string allows pattern matching (pg. 5 para. 2); wherein each Bloom filters bit arrays with possibly different parameters to perform approximate matching for a pattern (pg. 5 para. 4); wherein search queries can be expressed in terms of exact or approximate matching of strings (pg. 2 para. 2).
Claim 10 recites:
discarding one or more of the multiple sequence reads, prior to mapping the multiple sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences, based on the one or more of the multiple sequence reads being located apart from one or more target sites of the one or more reference sequences and/or the output genome; and
wherein mapping the multiple sequence reads includes mapping the non-discarded one or more of the multiple sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences
• Kim teaches billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. reading on identifying edits) (pg. 23 para. 1); wherein an optimized seed location filter executed before alignment (i.e. reading on discarding prior to mapping the non-discarded ones of the sequence reads) during DNA read mapping, discarding seed locations that alignment would deem a poor match (reading on discarding sequence reads being located apart from one or more target sites) (pg. 1 para. 1).
Claim 14 recites:
wherein the one or more reference edit patterns are further defined by locations and/or orientations of the segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Bingmann teaches an “ensemble” of encoding techniques for compressing the occurrence maps of k-mers in the document set (i.e. locations of the segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped as in claims 14 and 21), in which the occurrence maps are grouped depending on their density and encoding into disjoint buckets (pg. 4 para. 2).
Claim 15 recites:
wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to, after mapping the multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto the one or more reference sequences and before identifying the at least one edit, keeping one or more of the multiple sequence reads having the segments mapped onto at least one of the one or more reference sequences or onto two locations in opposite orientations of one of the one or more reference sequences
• Kim teaches a seed location filter exploits the high memory bandwidth and processing-in-memory capabilities of 3D-stacked dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (i.e. computing device) to improve the performance of DNA read mappers (pg. 24 col. 2 para. 5); wherein billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. reading on keeping ones of the sequence reads having segments mapped onto different ones of the one or more reference sequences) (pg. 23 para. 1).
Claim 17 recites:
wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to discard one or more of the multiple sequence reads, prior to mapping the sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences, based on the one or more of the multiple sequence reads being located apart from one or more target sites of the one or more reference sequences and/or the output genome; and
wherein the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, in order to map the multiple sequence reads, cause the at least one processor to map only non-discarded sequence reads of the multiple sequence reads onto the one or more reference sequences
• Kim teaches billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. reading on identifying edits) (pg. 23 para. 1); wherein an optimized seed location filter executed before alignment (i.e. reading on discarding prior to mapping the non-discarded ones of the sequence reads) during DNA read mapping, discarding seed locations that alignment would deem a poor match (reading on discarding sequence reads being located apart from one or more target sites) (pg. 1 para. 1).
Claim 21 recites:
receiving, by a computing device, a request to identify at least one edit in an edited genome, the edited genome based on an input wild type genome and one or more edits to the input wild type genome, wherein one or more reference sequences are representative of the input wild type genome;
mapping, by the computing device, sequence reads from the edited genome to the one or more reference sequences;
identifying, by the computing device, from a data structure, the at least one edit of the one or more edits, based on one or more reference edit patterns matching a pattern associated with the at least one edit; and
reporting, by the computing device, the identified at least one edit in response to the request
• Kim teaches a method for 1) cutting the genome into many short reads, 2) identifying the DNA sequence of each read, and 3)mapping each read against the reference genome to analyze the variations in the sequenced genome (pg. 24 col. 1para. 1); wherein a seed location filter exploits the high memory bandwidth and processing-in-memory capabilities of 3D-stacked dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (i.e. computing device and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including executable instructions) to improve the performance of DNA read mappers (pg. 24 col. 2 para. 5); wherein billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. identifying edits) (pg. 23 para. 1); wherein the mapper indexes a data structure (i.e. identifying data structures) with each seed to obtain a list of possible locations within the reference genome that could result in a match (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the mapper aligns the read sequence to the reference sequence (i.e. reference sequences are representative of the input genome defined by segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences) (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein an verification sequence alignment algorithm to determine the similarity between the read sequence and the reference sequence (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2).
• Kim does not teach the identification of edit patterns. However, Bingmann teaches an algorithm namely COmpact Bit-sliced Signature index to generate DNA data structure from sequencing experiments (pg. 1 para. 2); wherein the creation of k-mers for DNA string allows pattern matching (pg. 5 para. 2); wherein each filter is represented bit arrays with possibly different parameters to perform approximate matching for a pattern of DNA (pg. 5 para. 4).
• Kim does not teach an input wild type genome. However, Boel teaches the incorporation of a control sample (e.g. non-injected zebrafish embryos from the same clutch – wild type control) in the genomic analysis to identify these polymorphisms, or to examine the reads (pg. 4 para. 2).
Claim 22 recites:
wherein the one or more reference edit patterns are defined by locations and/or orientations of the segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences
• Kim does not teach the recitation above. However, Bingmann teaches an “ensemble” of encoding techniques for compressing the occurrence maps of k-mers in the document set (i.e. locations of the segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped as in claims 14 and 21), in which the occurrence maps are grouped depending on their density and encoding into disjoint buckets (pg. 4 para. 2).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claims 1-10, 13-15, 17, and 21-22, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Kim in view of Bingmann, Boel and Pinello because all references disclose methods for the identification of genome edits. The motivation would have been to:
• enable the index to be applied to corpora with highly varying document sizes when investigating DNA samples (pg. 2 para. 4 Bingmann) and to incorporate an indexing method to enable approximate pattern matching due to its simple data structure (pg. 16 para. 2 Bingmann);
• incorporate a faster, more informative and flexible analysis of multiple genome editing experiments for any organism of interest (pg. 7 para. 4 Boel);
• enable accurate quantification and visualization of genomic outcomes, as well as comprehensive evaluation of effects on coding sequences, non-coding elements and selected off-target sites (pg. 695 col. 2 para. 1 Pinello).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the identification of genome edits method of Kim to the methods by Bingmann, Boel and Pinello because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the identification of genome edits.
9. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, Bingmann, Boel and Pinello as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Frizzi ("Small RNA profiles from virus-infected fresh market vegetables." Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 62(49)12067-12074 (2014) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892).
Claim 11 recites:
wherein the one or more reference edit patterns defined by the segments of the multiple sequence reads mapped onto the one or more reference sequences includes:
one of the segments of a first one of the multiple sequence reads spaced apart from a second one of the segments of the first one of the multiple sequence reads, and oriented in an opposite direction relative to the second one of the segments of the first one of the multiple sequence reads
• Kim teaches billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. reading on identifying edits) (pg. 23 para. 1); wherein an optimized seed location filter executed before alignment during DNA read mapping, discarding seed locations which alignment would deem a poor match (identifying sequence reads spaced apart from a second one of the segments of the first one of the sequence reads) (pg. 1 para. 1).
• Neither Kim, Bingmann, Boel or Pinello teach "oriented in an opposite direction relative to the second one of the segments of the first one of the sequence reads". However, Frizzi teaches segment reads matched in the tomato sample (Figure 3A), and the small reads in both the sense and antisense orientations come predominantly from the regions corresponding to the nonstructural and nucleocapsid protein coding sequences (pg. 12069 col.2 para. 2).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 11, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Kim, Bingmann, Boel and Pinello in view of Frizzi because all references disclose methods for the identification of genome edits. The motivation would have been to incorporated studies of genetically engineered crops (pg. 12067 para. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the identification of genome edits method of Kim, Bingmann, Boel and Pinello to the methods by Frizzi because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the identification of genome edits.
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim, Bingmann, Boel and Pinello as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Songstad ("Genome editing of plants." Critical Reviews in Plant Sciences 36(1):1-23 (2017) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892).
Claim 12 recites:
selecting the output genome based on the identified at least one edit; and planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space
• Neither Kim, Bingmann, Boel or Pinello teach the recitation above. However, Songstad teaches genome editing of plants to screen through mutant populations to identify specific genes of interest (pg. 6 col. 2 para. 4); wherein studies performed were able to conclude effects such as early flowering and shorter roots following the use of mutant genes identified by genome editing steps (i.e. reading on planting an organism consistent with the selected output genome in a growing space) (pg. 6 col.1 para. 2).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 12, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Kim, Bingmann, Boel and Pinello in view of Songstad because all references disclose methods for the identification of genome edits. The motivation would have been to incorporate the application of genome editing technology to plant genetic modification. (pg. 1 col. 1 para. 2 Songstad).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute identification of genome edits method of Kim, Bingmann, Boel and Pinello to the methods by Songstad because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for identification of genome edits.
11. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kim ("GRIM-Filter: Fast seed location filtering in DNA read mapping using processing-in-memory technologies." BMC genomics 19(2):89 (2018) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892) in view of Bingmann ("COBS: a compact bit-sliced signature index." International Symposium on String Processing and Information Retrieval. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2019) - as cited on the 04/06/2026 Form PTO-892).
Claim 19 recites:
identifying, by a computing device, the one or more edits in the output genome based on at least one reference pattern identified by mapping multiple sequence reads of the output genome onto a reference sequence of an unedited version of the genome
• Kim teaches a method for 1) cutting the genome into many short reads, 2) identifying the DNA sequence of each read, and 3)mapping each read against the reference genome to analyze the variations in the sequenced genome (pg. 24 col. 1para. 1); wherein a seed location filter exploits the high memory bandwidth and processing-in-memory capabilities of 3D-stacked dynamic random access memory (DRAM) (i.e. computing device) to improve the performance of DNA read mappers (pg. 24 col. 2 para. 5); wherein billions of DNA fragments (reads) sampled from a donor are mapped (i.e. mapping … multiple sequence reads from the output genome onto one or more reference sequences) onto a reference human genome to identify genomic variants of the donor (i.e. reading on identifying edits) (pg. 23 para. 1); wherein the mapper indexes a data structure (i.e. identifying data structures) with each seed to obtain a list of possible locations within the reference genome that could result in a match (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein the mapper aligns the read sequence to the reference sequence (i.e. reference sequences are representative of the input genome defined by segments of the multiple sequence reads of the output genome mapped onto the one or more reference sequences) (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein an verification sequence alignment algorithm to determine the similarity between the read sequence and the reference sequence (pg. 24 col. 1 para. 2); wherein a series of analyses on the fundamental characteristics of the human reference genome to determine a range for the filter parameters to process the output (i.e. reading on reference sequence of an unedited version of the genome) (pg. 9 col. 2 para. 6).
• Kim does not teach the identification of sequence reads patterns. However, Bingmann teaches an algorithm namely COmpact Bit-sliced Signature index to generate DNA data structure from sequencing experiments (pg. 1 para. 2); wherein the creation of k-mers for DNA string allows pattern matching (pg. 5 para. 2); wherein each filter is represented bit arrays with possibly different parameters to perform approximate matching for a pattern of DNA (pg. 5 para. 4).
Rationale for combining (MPEP §2142-2143)
Regarding claim 19, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine, in the course of routine experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success, the methods of Kim in view of Bingmann because all references disclose methods for the identification of genome edits. The motivation would have been to enable the index to be applied to corpora with highly varying document sizes when investigating DNA samples (pg. 2 para. 4 Bingmann) and to incorporate an indexing method to enable approximate pattern matching due to its simple data structure (pg. 16 para. 2 Bingmann).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the identification of genome edits method of Kim to the methods by Bingmann because such a substitution is no more than the simple substitution of one known element for another. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to motivated to combine the teachings in these references with a reasonable expectation of success since the described teachings pertain to methods for the identification of genome edits.
Response to applicant's remarks in regard to Claim Rejection 35 U.S.C. ~ 103
12. The Remarks of 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below:
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 13 para. 2:
1. Reference edit pattern - The cited references fail to describe at least the recited reference edit patterns. Claims 1, 13, and 21 recite "one or more reference edit patterns". The Office relies on Bingmann's k-mer indexing and pattern-matching techniques to satisfy this limitation. (OA, p. 17 .) However, Bingmann merely describes searching sequence data using q-grams, k-mers, Bloom filters, and approximate sequence matching. (Bingmann, Abstract.) Bingmann's patterns are used for information retrieval. Bingmann does not describe reference edit patterns used to identify genome editing outcomes. Likewise, Kim's GRIM-Filter is a pre-alignment filtering technique that identifies candidate mapping locations and improves read-mapping efficiency. (Kim, Abstract.) Kim does not describe reference edit patterns, nor does Kim describe identifying edits by comparison to reference edit patterns. Accordingly, the suggested combination fails to describe the recited "reference edit patterns
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because the detailed explanation of subject matter suggested by a prior art reference is entirely acceptable when establishing a rationale for obviousness: "to support the conclusion that the claimed invention is directed to obvious subject matter, either the references must expressly or impliedly suggest the claimed invention or the examiner must present a convincing line of reasoning as to why the artisan would have found the claimed invention to have been obvious in light of the teachings of the references" (Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 at 973 (BPAI 1985)); "Office personnel may also take into account 'the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ' (KSR v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1396 (SC 2007))" (MPEP 2141 § 11.C); "the rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 may rely on logic and sound scientific principle" (MPEP 2144.02). For this instantly argued claim element, Bingmann teaches an algorithm namely COmpact Bit-sliced Signature index to generate DNA data structure from sequencing experiments (pg. 1 para. 2); wherein the creation of k-mers for DNA string allows pattern matching (pg. 5 para. 2); wherein each filter is represented bit arrays with possibly different parameters to perform approximate matching for a pattern of DNA (pg. 5 para. 4); wherein the matching for a pattern is performed by testing each of the query’s q-grams on all documents to determine the q-gram distance of a pattern P to all documents (pg. 5 para. 5). Here, the testing of each document to a reference query pattern to determine the pattern P distance reads on “identifying from a data structure, the at least one edit based on one or more reference edit patterns matching a pattern associated with the at least one edit.” The examiner's explanation of how the combination of teachings read over the claimed invention presents a convincing line of reasoning, takes into account and explains the inferences and creative steps by a person of ordinary skill in the art, and relies on logic and sound scientific principle.
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 13 para. 3:
2. Edit pattern defined by location and/or orientation relative to target sites The cited references fail to describe the recited feature of edit pattern defined by location and/or orientation relative to target sites. Amended Claims 1 and 13 recite that: "the pattern associated with the at least one edit is defined by at least one location and/or at least one orientation of the segments of the multiple sequence reads mapped onto the one or more reference sequences, relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences." The Office relies primarily on Kim's disclosure of mapping reads to candidate genomic locations. (OA, p. 16.) However, Kim merely identifies potential alignment locations and performs read mapping. (Kim, p. 26, para. 3.) A generic mapping location is not the recited edit pattern. The claims recite that the pattern is defined by the location and/or orientation of mapped read segments relative to target sites. Kim fails to teach or suggest using mapped-read orientation or mapped read position relative to a target site to define an edit pattern for edit identification. Kim also does not describe identifying genome-editing events based upon such relationships. Bingmann fails to remedy this deficiency. Bingmann's occurrence maps and k-mer indexing structures merely record sequence occurrences within indexed datasets. (Bingmann, Introduction.) They do not describe mapped-read orientations, target sites, or edit patterns defined relative to target sites. Accordingly, the cited references fail to describe the recited pattern associated with the at least one edit
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because the arguments above are related to canceled claim 16 and thus said arguments are moot. Regarding the newly amended claim element in claims 1 and 13, new art necessitated by claim amendment considering the scope of claims 1 and 13 changed due to the amended claim element. Pinello teaches a suite of computational tools to qualitatively and quantitatively evaluate the outcomes of genome-editing experiments in which target loci are subject to deep sequencing (pg. 695 col. 2 para. 2); wherein the automation steps includes aligning the reads to a reference amplicon (i.e. identification of genome editing outcomes relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences); determining the proportion of frameshift and in-frame mutations (i.e. identifying edit patterns) as well as detecting potential splice-site mutations (i.e. patterns associated with locations) (pg. 3 para. 1); wherein said outcomes include insertions, deletions, nucleotide substitutions and recombination of extrachromosomal donor sequences (i.e. identifying edit patterns) (pg. 695 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the method includes mapping of mutation position to reference amplicon of reads (pg. 695 Fig. 1). Due to the described reasons above, it is interpreted that the claims do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the teachings found in the prior art.
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 14 para. 3:
3. Target-site relationship - The cited references fail to describe the recited target-site relationship. Amended Claims 1 and 13 recite that the location and/or orientation information be defined "relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences." The cited references do not describe an edit pattern that is defined relative to target sites. Boel, at most, describes genome-editing experiments involving sgRNA target sequences and identifies editing outcomes near known target regions. (Boel, p. 2, para. 4.) However, Boel does not describe using target sites as positional reference points for defining edit patterns from mapped read segments. Nor does Boel describe identifying edits based upon segment locations and/or segment orientations relative to target sites. Therefore, the suggested combination does not account for the recited relationship between the mapped-read segments and the target sites
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because the arguments above are related to canceled claim 16 and thus said arguments are moot. Regarding the newly amended claim element in claims 1 and 13, new art necessitated by claim amendment considering the scope of claims 1 and 13 changed due to the amended claim element. Pinello teaches a suite of computational tools to qualitatively and quantitatively evaluate the outcomes of genome-editing experiments in which target loci are subject to deep sequencing (pg. 695 col. 2 para. 2); wherein the automation steps includes aligning the reads to a reference amplicon (i.e. identification of genome editing outcomes relative to target sites on the one or more reference sequences); determining the proportion of frameshift and in-frame mutations (i.e. identifying edit patterns) as well as detecting potential splice-site mutations (i.e. patterns associated with locations) (pg. 3 para. 1); wherein said outcomes include insertions, deletions, nucleotide substitutions and recombination of extrachromosomal donor sequences (i.e. identifying edit patterns) (pg. 695 col. 1 para. 1); wherein the method includes mapping of mutation position to reference amplicon of reads (pg. 695 Fig. 1). Due to the described reasons above, it is interpreted that the claims do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the teachings found in the prior art.
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 14 para. 4:
4. Pattern associated with an edit matched against reference edit patterns The cited references fail to describe the recited matching of a pattern associated with an edit to one or more reference edit patterns. Claims 1, 13, and 21 recite "one or more reference edit patterns matching a pattern associated with the at least one edit." The Office cites generic sequence matching and k-mer matching. (OA, p. 15-17 .) However, matching DNA sequence content is not the same as matching a pattern associated with a genome-edit event against reference edit patterns. Neither Kim nor Bingmann teaches or suggests identifying an edit by comparing an observed edit associated pattern to reference edit patterns. Instead, the cited references are directed to sequence alignment and sequence searching. Therefore, the cited references fail to describe the recited pattern-matching framework used to determine genome edits
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because the detailed explanation of subject matter suggested by a prior art reference is entirely acceptable when establishing a rationale for obviousness: "to support the conclusion that the claimed invention is directed to obvious subject matter, either the references must expressly or impliedly suggest the claimed invention or the examiner must present a convincing line of reasoning as to why the artisan would have found the claimed invention to have been obvious in light of the teachings of the references" (Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 at 973 (BPAI 1985)); "Office personnel may also take into account 'the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ' (KSR v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 at 1396 (SC 2007))" (MPEP 2141 § 11.C); "the rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 may rely on logic and sound scientific principle" (MPEP 2144.02). For this instantly argued claim element, Bingmann teaches an algorithm namely COmpact Bit-sliced Signature index to generate DNA data structure from sequencing experiments (pg. 1 para. 2); wherein the creation of k-mers for DNA string allows pattern matching (pg. 5 para. 2); wherein each filter is represented bit arrays with possibly different parameters to perform approximate matching for a pattern of DNA (pg. 5 para. 4); wherein the matching for a pattern is performed by testing each of the query’s q-grams on all documents to determine the q-gram distance of a pattern P to all documents (pg. 5 para. 5). Here, the testing of each document to a reference query pattern to determine the pattern P distance reads on “identifying from a data structure, the at least one edit based on one or more reference edit patterns matching a pattern associated with the at least one edit.” The examiner's explanation of how the combination of teachings read over the claimed invention presents a convincing line of reasoning, takes into account and explains the inferences and creative steps by a person of ordinary skill in the art, and relies on logic and sound scientific principle.
Applicant asserts starting in pg. 15 para. 2:
B. There is no motivation to combine the combined references are missing claimed features, a case of obviousness requires an apparent reason, based either on the references themselves or on the general knowledge in the art, by which a skilled artisan would modify the references to include the missing subject matter. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (obviousness includes determining whether there was an apparent reason to combine known elements in the fashion claimed). There is no motivation to combine Kim, Bingmann, and Boel in the manner required by Claims 1, 13, and 21. Kim is directed to read mapping and seed-location filtering, Bingmann is directed to sequence indexing and retrieval using k-mers, and Boel is directed to analyzing and reporting genome-editing outcomes. The Office does not identify any teaching or suggestion in the cited references that would have motivated a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSIT A) to modify these systems to identify edits based on reference edit patterns, let alone patterns defined by locations and/or orientations of mapped read segments relative to target sites. Instead, the rejection selects isolated concepts from the references (e.g., read mapping from Kim, sequence searching from Bingmann, and edit reporting from Boel) and assembles them using the present Specification as a blueprint. Therefore, the suggested combination appears to be based on impermissible hindsight reconstruction because the cited references do not teach or suggest the recited edit-pattern framework. In sum, Claims 1, 13, and 21 are not obvious over the cited references because (A) the cited references fail to disclose all elements and (B) there is no motivation to combine. Claims 2-10, 14- 15, 17, and 22 depend upon Claims 1, 13, or 21 and are patentable for at least the same reasons
It is respectfully submitted that the arguments above are not persuasive because there is a large amount of evidence in the cited references that would provide one ordinary skilled in the art with any reasoned basis to modify the cited combination of teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. The Examiner provided a reason for combining the references, namely: to enable the index to be applied to corpora with highly varying document sizes when investigating DNA samples (pg. 2 para. 4 Bingmann) and to incorporate an indexing method to enable approximate pattern matching due to its simple data structure (pg. 16 para. 2 Bingmann) as described by Bingmann; to incorporate a faster, more informative and flexible analysis of multiple genome editing experiments for any organism of interest (pg. 7 para. 4 Boel) as described by Boel and to enable accurate quantification and visualization of genomic outcomes, as well as comprehensive evaluation of effects on coding sequences, non-coding elements and selected off-target sites (pg. 695 col. 2 para. 1 Pinello) as described by Pinello. The claim rejections as explained in the Claim Rejections above does establish a prima facie case of obviousness under the applicable legal standards. Obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). "It is well-established that a determination of obviousness based on teachings from multiple references does not require an actual, physical substitution of elements." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1332, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Due to the described reasons above, it is interpreted that the claims do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the teachings found in the prior art.
Conclusion
13. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1685
/JANNA NICOLE SCHULTZHAUS/Examiner, Art Unit 1685