DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 07/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant argues the amended claims are allowable over Wang et al. (US-20190096270-A1) in view of Suddreth et al. (US-20100023189-A1). Applicant continues, each of independent claims 1 and 5, has been amended by reciting controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol that is completely superimposed on the first symbol at a superimposition position, as well as controlling a movement of the second symbol on the display medium, from the superimposition position of the first symbol. Applicant continues while Suddreth describes a display system for a vehicle, it plainly fails to teach or suggest “a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol that is completely superimposed on the first symbol....” Indeed, Suddreth appears to disclose a display device configured to render a three dimensional view comprising a first symbol and a second symbol superimposed on each other. Applicant also assets Wang does not teach or suggest a sequence where a second symbol is first completely superimposed on a first symbol and then subsequently moves from that specific superimposition position. Furthermore, Applicant has cited paragraph [0008] of Suddreth and concludes the superposition of Suddreth is static.
4. However, Suddreth teaches a display device is coupled the processor for receiving the display commands and operable to render a three-dimensional view, including first symbology representing the landing information and second symbology representing the navigation and control information. The second symbology is superimposed on the first symbology, displayed as a function of use conditions, and represents at least one of lateral deviation information, heading information, speed information, and distance information ([0008]) which clearly teaches sending a display command for displaying a symbol and encompasses sending or receiving a second display command. Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that for a symbol to be displayed on a screen, a command must be necessarily sent to the display. Accordingly, Suddreth teaches issuing a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol.
5. In regard to the sequence where a second symbol is first completely superimposed on a first symbol and then subsequently moves from that specific superimposition position, Wang teaches The alignment symbol 320 is displayed on a cockpit display 300 with the tracking bug 350 and the heading bug 345 so that the pilot can view all three items at once in a direct view region and determine a spacing part of the items for coordinating adjustments in the ownship flight or glide slope to merge the items together in a manner that represents an alignment between all three items. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed earlier in the flight of the ownship prior to the lateral flare cue displayed. That is, the alignment symbol 320 is displayed when the ownship is at a greater than 100 ft. elevation which is ordinarily the period when the lateral flare cue is displayed; and therefore, provide at an earlier time to the flight crew an indication which is, in instances, be a distinct indication that the track angle and heading of the ownship are misaligned or trending to a misalignment to the runway course ([0038]). The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown ([0044]). The heading bug being positioned within the alignment symbol is superimposition.
6. In regard to the static supposition argument, it appears that the applicant is analyzing the references in isolation without considering the combination of the references. As mentioned above, paragraph [0044] of Wong also teaches superposition for the heading bug and the alignment symbol which is not a static superposition. Furthermore, the rejection does no rely of Suddreth for teaching superposition. Indeed, Suddreth reference is incorporated in the rejection for teaching issuing a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol.
7. Applicant also asserts a person of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Suddreth's static informational overlay with Wang's dynamic spatial-alignment system to arrive at the claimed invention. Doing so would require fundamentally redesigning Wang's logic, changing it from a "reduce the gap" system to the claimed "follow the leader from a superimposed start" system, a modification for which Suddreth provides no motivation. The combination is a product of hindsight, using Applicant's disclosure as a blueprint to piece together disparate elements from the art that do not work together in the manner claimed. However, Applicant is reminded that Suddreth reference is incorporated in the rejection for teaching issuing a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol.
8. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-20190096270-A1) in view of Suddreth et al. (US-20100023189-A1).
In regards to claim 1
, Wang teaches An electronic device for guiding a pilot in piloting an aircraft (Fig. 1, Fig. 11, [0026] A system for displaying the alignment symbol of an ownship of the display system which is a device for guiding the pilot.) for performing an alignment maneuver of a longitudinal axis of the aircraft with a runway centerline when landing said aircraft in a presence of a crosswind, (Figs. 1-2, [0036]-[0037] Environmental conditions, such as presence of cross-winds 60, cause impediments to a precise alignment. To counter the cross-winds 60 the pilot adjusts the heading 40 of the aircraft. In order to land within a given area on the runaway, the pilot operates the aircraft along a flight path to the runway 205 which is performing an alignment maneuver by changing the heading of the aircraft or the longitudinal axis of the aircraft.)
said device being configured to determine at a first instant, an occurrence close to the alignment maneuver and to trigger, upon said determination of the near occurrence, the device being configured to issue a first display command controlling an appearance, on a display medium intended for the pilot and displaying a horizon graduated according to a heading scale, of at least one first symbol at a specified position on the display medium with respect to the graduation of the horizon line; (Fig. 3, [0007] A display system for use onboard an ownship is provided for a method of assessing misalignment when landing an ownship, the method includes: displaying an alignment symbol on a display for aiding in a first instance, aligning a tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course by a pilot, and in a second instance, displaying as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course to the pilot wherein the alignment symbol is configured for viewing as a first display item on a zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) in a viewpoint of the pilot of a direct line of sight of the pilot on the display. [0011] The processor is further configured to: generate on the cockpit display an alignment symbol on a zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) to aid in a first instance, to align to a tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course by a pilot, and in a second instance, to display as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course to the pilot; display on the cockpit display a heading bug to aid to align a heading of the ownship with a runway course for the pilot wherein the heading bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the cockpit display, a reference of a magnitude of lateral misalignment; display on the cockpit display a tracking bug to aid to align a track angle of the ownship with the runway course wherein the tracking bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the display, a reference of a magnitude of angular misalignment; and enable a pilot to use the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug to maneuver the ownship to maintain first, an alignment of the heading with the runway course and second, to attempt to align the tracking angle of the ownship with the runway course by making adjustments in maneuvers of the ownship in a course of landing while viewing the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug on the ZPRL of the cockpit display wherein a relative position of each other serves as an indicator to the pilot of adjustments needed to correct the lateral and angular misalignment in the course of landing. [0038] The alignment symbol 320 is positioned on the ZPRL 305 together with tracking bug 350 and also there is within a direct view a heading bug 345. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed on a cockpit display 300 with the tracking bug 350 and the heading bug 345 so that the pilot can view all three items at once in a direct view region and determine a spacing part of the items for coordinating adjustments in the ownship flight or glide slope to merge the items together in a manner that represents an alignment between all three items. As mentioned above, an alignment symbol is displayed on a display and when the pilot aligning the tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course at the first instance, then the symbol is used for displaying as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course at the second instance. The heading bug acts as the first symbol and the zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) is the graduation of the horizon line.)
said device being configured to update a current position of the first symbol on the horizon depending on the updated value of the aircraft heading; ([0042] During this flight phase the heading bug 345 will move towards the alignment symbol 320 indicating to the pilot that a touchdown is approaching and when the touchdown occurs the heading bug 345 will be positioned within a pair of lines 315 which may be symmetrical parallel segments of the alignment symbol 320. As indicated above, the position of the heading bug is updated on the screen.)
a second symbol that is completely superimposed on the first symbol at a superimposition position; ([0032] An alignment symbol as indicator such as a “lateral cue” or a “lateral flare cue” notifying the pilot at earlier time of the lateral deviations and for a pilot to perform various maneuvers including changes in heading and crabbing or de-crabbing maneuvers to compensate for the deviations. [0038] The alignment symbol 320 is positioned on the ZPRL 305 together with tracking bug 350 and also there is within a direct view a heading bug 345. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed on a cockpit display 300 with the tracking bug 350 and the heading bug 345 so that the pilot can view all three items at once in a direct view region and determine a spacing part of the items for coordinating adjustments in the ownship flight or glide slope to merge the items together in a manner that represents an alignment between all three items. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed earlier in the flight of the ownship prior to the lateral flare cue displayed. That is, the alignment symbol 320 is displayed when the ownship is at a greater than 100 ft. elevation which is ordinarily the period when the lateral flare cue is displayed; and therefore, provide at an earlier time to the flight crew an indication which is, in instances, be a distinct indication that the track angle and heading of the ownship are misaligned or trending to a misalignment to the runway course. [0044] The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown. The pilot has a reference to assist in identifying when to start making the lateral adjustments needed for the ownship by the reference markings of the heading bug 345 and the alignment symbol 320 on the cockpit display 300. The heading bug 345 and tracking bug 350 will also need to be aligned with the alignment symbol 320 at the approach and prior to the landing and further if not aligned properly, a last-minute adjustment by the pilot to correct the runway course heading of the ownship should be made. The predicted trend line 325 is helpful to the pilot in ascertaining the magnitude of the needed later correction and once correct, the tracking bug 350 and extensions or abridgments of the predicted trend line 325 will be positioned within a range of the sides of the alignment symbol 320 on the cockpit display 300. As mentioned above, the alignment symbol appears on the screen when the ownship is at a greater than 100 ft. elevation during the ownship approach and landing. As mentioned above, the heading bug is positioned within the alignment symbol. That is, the heading bug and the alignment symbol are superimposed and encompasses the scenario that the second symbol is completely superimposed on the first symbol at a position based on runway position or the specified position.)
said device being configured to determine, at a second instant strictly following said first instant, that the alignment maneuver should now begin and then for triggering a third display command controlling a movement of the second symbol on the display medium ([0011] The processor is further configured to: generate on the cockpit display an alignment symbol on a zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) to aid in a first instance, to align to a tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course by a pilot, and in a second instance, to display as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course to the pilot; display on the cockpit display a heading bug to aid to align a heading of the ownship with a runway course for the pilot wherein the heading bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the cockpit display, a reference of a magnitude of lateral misalignment; display on the cockpit display a tracking bug to aid to align a track angle of the ownship with the runway course wherein the tracking bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the display, a reference of a magnitude of angular misalignment; and enable a pilot to use the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug to maneuver the ownship to maintain first, an alignment of the heading with the runway course and second, to attempt to align the tracking angle of the ownship with the runway course by making adjustments in maneuvers of the ownship in a course of landing while viewing the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug on the ZPRL of the cockpit display wherein a relative position of each other serves as an indicator to the pilot of adjustments needed to correct the lateral and angular misalignment in the course of landing. [0035] The pilot is provided with additional graphic assistance visually on when and how to make adjustments by viewing an alignment symbol which in a particular instance is considered a cue of the lateral deviations or tracking misalignments indicating an appropriate time to attempt to correct for angular deviation and heading misalignment and a reference of time to touchdown. The second symbol is the alignment symbol. As mentioned above, the second instance follows the first instance which is a second instant strictly following said first instant. For a display to render a symbol on the screen, a display command must be necessarily sent to the display device which encompasses triggering a third display command controlling a movement of the second symbol on the display medium. The appropriate time to attempt to correct the angular deviation and heading misalignment encompasses the time that the alignment maneuver should now begin and then triggering a third display command controlling a movement of a second symbol on the display medium.), from the current position of the first symbol, a direction of a displacement with respect to the horizon being determined depending on the direction of the crosswind with respect to the runway, and a value of the displacement being determined depending on the difference between a current dynamic sideslip of the aircraft and a current dynamic sideslip setpoint value calculated for the aircraft, said current dynamic sideslip corresponding to an angle between a current air speed of the aircraft and a current heading of said aircraft. ([0036] When landing an ownship 20 on a runaway, the pilot needs to align the ownship heading 40 to a designated tracking by viewing a tracking bug 50 which is displayed on a display of the ownship which is aligned to the designated runway. The appropriate alignment of the tracking bug 50 must occur within a limited range during the landing approach or prior to the touchdown with a more precise aligning occurring on the touchdown of the ownship 20 on the runaway. There are environmental conditions that cause impediments to a precise alignment and in particular, the condition or presence of cross-winds 60. Countering the cross-winds 60 requires adjustments by the pilot of the ownship during the ownship flight on approach, where the pilot in making the adjustments is assisted by using an alignment symbol 30. This enables the pilot to establish an appropriate crab angle or a sideslip of the ownship to counter drift in the ownship course caused by the cross-winds 60 and/or an incorrect ownship heading 40. The track bug acts as the current dynamic sideslip corresponding to the angle between the current air speed of the aircraft and the current heading of said aircraft. [0044] The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown. The heading bug being within the alignment symbol is the superimposition position. [0065] The processing unit 1150 generates display control signals for a visual display of the flight management information, which includes navigation and control symbols such as the alignment symbol, a zero-pitch reference line, heading indicators, tapes for airspeed and altitude, flight path information, required navigation performance (RNP) information, and any other information desired by a flight crew.)
Wang does not teach said device being configured to issue a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol;
However, Suddreth teaches a display system for a helicopter includes a processor configured to receive data representative of landing information and navigation and control information and to supply display commands associated with the landing information and navigation and control information. A display device is coupled the processor for receiving the display commands and operable to render a three-dimensional view, including first symbology representing the landing information and second symbology representing the navigation and control information. The second symbology is superimposed on the first symbology, displayed as a function of use conditions, and represents at least one of lateral deviation information, heading information, speed information, and distance information ([0008]) which encompasses issuing a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol that is completely superimposed on the first symbol.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify method and system for displaying an alignment symbol for indicating deviations between ownship runway course heading and tracking of Wang, by incorporating the teachings of Suddreth, such that display commands are supplied to display the first and second symbols on the screen.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Suddreth, to provide systems and methods that increase the visibility of certain flight information on a visual display and particularly increase the information displayed with the landing information ([0005]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the pilot to have access to all the information that is needed for landing safely.
In regards to claim 2
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The electronic guiding device according to claim 1, wherein:
the first symbol is an aircraft heading reminder symbol and the device is suitable for determining the position of the heading reminder symbol with respect to the runway centerline mark along the horizon depending on the angle between the aircraft heading and the runway centerline; or
the first symbol is a dynamic sideslip reminder symbol, and the device is suitable for determining the position of the dynamic sideslip reminder symbol with respect to the ground speed marker of the aircraft along said horizon depending on said dynamic sideslip, a zero dynamic sideslip giving rise to the same position, on the horizon, of said first symbol and of the ground speed. ([0011] A heading bug is displayed to aid the pilot to align a heading of the ownship with a runway course for the pilot wherein the heading bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the cockpit display, a reference of a magnitude of lateral misalignment.)
In regards to claim 3
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The electronic guiding device according to claim 2, suitable for controlling the display on the display medium of the first symbol at a given distance with respect to the runway centerline mark; (Fig. 3, [0044] The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown which is displaying of the first symbol at a given distance with respect to the said mark. The alignment symbol acts as the mark.)
the guiding device configured to determine said distance depending on the multiplication of a scale factor strictly less than 1 and of an angle difference with respect to the heading scale of said horizon on the display medium, said angle difference being the angle between the aircraft heading and the runway centerline when the first symbol is an aircraft heading reminder symbol, being the dynamic sideslip angle, respectively, when the first symbol is a dynamic sideslip reminder symbol. ([0062] Further, at task 1050 the lateral flare cue displayed and distance from the alignment symbol will indicate visually to the pilot the time left to adjust for the tracking deviations in course which indicates the distance between the markers are calculated. While Applicant’s disclosure does not specifically point out the mathematical equivalate of the scale factor, it appears the scale factor is no more than the sine value of the angle formed between the tracking of the aircraft and the runway course.)
In regards to claim 4
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding device according to claim 1, configured to trigger, at said second instant, an appearance modification command controlling an appearance modification of the first symbol displayed on said display medium. (Fig. 5, [0051] The trend line 465, is designated in a green color on the cockpit display, this color varies in accordance with the magnitude of the misalignment determined by the processing unit of the flight management system which occurs upon the approach or landing, and is changed in color to indicate a greater or lesser amount of deviation. This color variation of the trend line 465 is designed, such that timely visual alert is issued for hazardous condition. Changing the color of the trend line encompasses triggering appearance modification command controlling an appearance modification of the first symbol displayed on said display medium.)
In regards to claim 5
, Wang teaches A method of guiding a pilot in piloting of an aircraft ([0012] A method for presenting information on a display system for use onboard an ownship which encompasses a method for guiding the pilot.) for performing an alignment maneuver of a longitudinal axis of the aircraft with a runway centerline during landing of said aircraft in a presence of a crosswind (Figs. 1-2, [0036]-[0037] Environmental conditions, such as presence of cross-winds 60, cause impediments to a precise alignment. To counter the cross-winds 60 the pilot adjusts the heading 40 of the aircraft. In order to land within a given area on the runaway, the pilot operates the aircraft along a flight path to the runway 205 which is performing an alignment maneuver by changing the heading of the aircraft or the longitudinal axis of the aircraft.), using an electronic guiding device (Fig. 1, Fig. 11, [0026] A system for displaying the alignment symbol of an ownship of the display system which is the electronic guiding device.) implementing the following steps:
- determining at a first instant an occurrence close to the alignment maneuver and initiating, upon the determination of the near occurrence, of a first display command for controlling an appearance on a display medium intended for the pilot and displaying a horizon graduated according to a heading scale, of at least one first symbol at a specified position on the display medium with respect to the horizon line; (Fig. 3, [0007] A display system for use onboard an ownship is provided for a method of assessing misalignment when landing an ownship, the method includes: displaying an alignment symbol on a display for aiding in a first instance, aligning a tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course by a pilot, and in a second instance, displaying as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course to the pilot wherein the alignment symbol is configured for viewing as a first display item on a zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) in a viewpoint of the pilot of a direct line of sight of the pilot on the display. [0011] The processor is further configured to: generate on the cockpit display an alignment symbol on a zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) to aid in a first instance, to align to a tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course by a pilot, and in a second instance, to display as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course to the pilot; display on the cockpit display a heading bug to aid to align a heading of the ownship with a runway course for the pilot wherein the heading bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the cockpit display, a reference of a magnitude of lateral misalignment; display on the cockpit display a tracking bug to aid to align a track angle of the ownship with the runway course wherein the tracking bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the display, a reference of a magnitude of angular misalignment; and enable a pilot to use the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug to maneuver the ownship to maintain first, an alignment of the heading with the runway course and second, to attempt to align the tracking angle of the ownship with the runway course by making adjustments in maneuvers of the ownship in a course of landing while viewing the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug on the ZPRL of the cockpit display wherein a relative position of each other serves as an indicator to the pilot of adjustments needed to correct the lateral and angular misalignment in the course of landing. [0038] The alignment symbol 320 is positioned on the ZPRL 305 together with tracking bug 350 and also there is within a direct view a heading bug 345. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed on a cockpit display 300 with the tracking bug 350 and the heading bug 345 so that the pilot can view all three items at once in a direct view region and determine a spacing part of the items for coordinating adjustments in the ownship flight or glide slope to merge the items together in a manner that represents an alignment between all three items. As mentioned above, an alignment symbol is displayed on a display and when the pilot aligning the tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course at the first instance, then the symbol is used for displaying as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course at the second instance. The heading bug acts as the first symbol and the zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) is the graduation of the horizon line.)
- updating a current position of the first symbol on the horizon according to the updated value of the aircraft heading; ([0042] During this flight phase the heading bug 345 will move towards the alignment symbol 320 indicating to the pilot that a touchdown is approaching and when the touchdown occurs the heading bug 345 will be positioned within a pair of lines 315 which may be symmetrical parallel segments of the alignment symbol 320. As indicated above, the position of the heading bug is updated on the screen.)
- a second symbol that is completely superimposed on the first symbol at a superimposition position; ([0032] An alignment symbol as indicator such as a “lateral cue” or a “lateral flare cue” notifying the pilot at earlier time of the lateral deviations and for a pilot to perform various maneuvers including changes in heading and crabbing or de-crabbing maneuvers to compensate for the deviations. [0038] The alignment symbol 320 is positioned on the ZPRL 305 together with tracking bug 350 and also there is within a direct view a heading bug 345. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed on a cockpit display 300 with the tracking bug 350 and the heading bug 345 so that the pilot can view all three items at once in a direct view region and determine a spacing part of the items for coordinating adjustments in the ownship flight or glide slope to merge the items together in a manner that represents an alignment between all three items. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed earlier in the flight of the ownship prior to the lateral flare cue displayed. That is, the alignment symbol 320 is displayed when the ownship is at a greater than 100 ft. elevation which is ordinarily the period when the lateral flare cue is displayed; and therefore, provide at an earlier time to the flight crew an indication which is, in instances, be a distinct indication that the track angle and heading of the ownship are misaligned or trending to a misalignment to the runway course. [0044] The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown. The pilot has a reference to assist in identifying when to start making the lateral adjustments needed for the ownship by the reference markings of the heading bug 345 and the alignment symbol 320 on the cockpit display 300. The heading bug 345 and tracking bug 350 will also need to be aligned with the alignment symbol 320 at the approach and prior to the landing and further if not aligned properly, a last-minute adjustment by the pilot to correct the runway course heading of the ownship should be made. The predicted trend line 325 is helpful to the pilot in ascertaining the magnitude of the needed later correction and once correct, the tracking bug 350 and extensions or abridgments of the predicted trend line 325 will be positioned within a range of the sides of the alignment symbol 320 on the cockpit display 300. As mentioned above, the alignment symbol appears on the screen when the ownship is at a greater than 100 ft. elevation during the ownship approach and landing. As mentioned above, the heading bug is positioned within the alignment symbol. That is, the heading bug and the alignment symbol are superimposed and encompasses the scenario that the second symbol is completely superimposed on the first symbol at a position based on runway position or the specified position.)
- determining, at a second instant strictly following said first instant, that the alignment maneuver should now begin and then triggering a third display command controlling a movement of the second symbol on the display medium ([0011] The processor is further configured to: generate on the cockpit display an alignment symbol on a zero-pitch reference line (ZPRL) to aid in a first instance, to align to a tracking angle and a lateral course of the ownship with a runway course by a pilot, and in a second instance, to display as a cue of misalignment of the ownship from the runway course to the pilot; display on the cockpit display a heading bug to aid to align a heading of the ownship with a runway course for the pilot wherein the heading bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the cockpit display, a reference of a magnitude of lateral misalignment; display on the cockpit display a tracking bug to aid to align a track angle of the ownship with the runway course wherein the tracking bug indicates, by an approximate position to the alignment symbol on the ZPRL of the display, a reference of a magnitude of angular misalignment; and enable a pilot to use the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug to maneuver the ownship to maintain first, an alignment of the heading with the runway course and second, to attempt to align the tracking angle of the ownship with the runway course by making adjustments in maneuvers of the ownship in a course of landing while viewing the alignment symbol, heading bug and track bug on the ZPRL of the cockpit display wherein a relative position of each other serves as an indicator to the pilot of adjustments needed to correct the lateral and angular misalignment in the course of landing. [0035] The pilot is provided with additional graphic assistance visually on when and how to make adjustments by viewing an alignment symbol which in a particular instance is considered a cue of the lateral deviations or tracking misalignments indicating an appropriate time to attempt to correct for angular deviation and heading misalignment and a reference of time to touchdown. The second symbol is the alignment symbol. As mentioned above, the second instance follows the first instance which is a second instant strictly following said first instant. For a display to render a symbol on the screen, a display command must be necessarily sent to the display device which encompasses triggering a third display command controlling a movement of the second symbol on the display medium. The appropriate time to attempt to correct the angular deviation and heading misalignment encompasses the time that the alignment maneuver should now begin and then triggering a third display command controlling a movement of a second symbol on the display medium.), from the superimposition position, a direction of a displacement with respect to the horizon being determined depending on the direction of the crosswind with respect to the runway, and a value of the displacement being determined depending on the difference between a current dynamic sideslip of the aircraft and a current dynamic sideslip setpoint value calculated for the aircraft, said current dynamic sideslip corresponding to an angle between a current air speed of the aircraft and a current heading of said aircraft. ([0036] When landing an ownship 20 on a runaway, the pilot needs to align the ownship heading 40 to a designated tracking by viewing a tracking bug 50 which is displayed on a display of the ownship which is aligned to the designated runway. The appropriate alignment of the tracking bug 50 must occur within a limited range during the landing approach or prior to the touchdown with a more precise aligning occurring on the touchdown of the ownship 20 on the runaway. There are environmental conditions that cause impediments to a precise alignment and in particular, the condition or presence of cross-winds 60. Countering the cross-winds 60 requires adjustments by the pilot of the ownship during the ownship flight on approach, where the pilot in making the adjustments is assisted by using an alignment symbol 30. This enables the pilot to establish an appropriate crab angle or a sideslip of the ownship to counter drift in the ownship course caused by the cross-winds 60 and/or an incorrect ownship heading 40. The track bug acts as the current dynamic sideslip corresponding to the angle between the current air speed of the aircraft and the current heading of said aircraft. [0044] The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown. The heading bug being within the alignment symbol is the superimposition position. [0065] The processing unit 1150 generates display control signals for a visual display of the flight management information, which includes navigation and control symbols such as the alignment symbol, a zero-pitch reference line, heading indicators, tapes for airspeed and altitude, flight path information, required navigation performance (RNP) information, and any other information desired by a flight crew.)
Wang does not teach triggering a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol;
However, Suddreth teaches a display system for a helicopter includes a processor configured to receive data representative of landing information and navigation and control information and to supply display commands associated with the landing information and navigation and control information. A display device is coupled the processor for receiving the display commands and operable to render a three-dimensional view, including first symbology representing the landing information and second symbology representing the navigation and control information. The second symbology is superimposed on the first symbology, displayed as a function of use conditions, and represents at least one of lateral deviation information, heading information, speed information, and distance information ([0008]) which encompasses triggering a second display command controlling an appearance on the display medium of a second symbol that is completely superimposed on the first symbol.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify method and system for displaying an alignment symbol for indicating deviations between ownship runway course heading and tracking of Wang, by incorporating the teachings of Suddreth, such that display commands are supplied to display the first and second symbols on the screen.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Suddreth in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 6
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 5.
Claim 6 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 2 above, therefore claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 2.
In regards to claim 7
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 5.
Claim 7 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 8
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 5.
Claim 8 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 9
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 5, wherein the steps triggered at said second instant prompt the pilot to perform the alignment maneuver so that the first symbol and the second symbol stay superimposed. ([0031] By using an alignment symbol as indicator such as a “lateral cue” or a “lateral flare cue” the pilot is notified at earlier time of the lateral deviations and for a pilot to perform various maneuvers including changes in heading and crabbing or de-crabbing maneuvers to compensate for the deviations. Notifying the pilot is prompting the pilot. [0038] The alignment symbol 320 is positioned on the ZPRL 305 together with tracking bug 350 and also there is within a direct view a heading bug 345. The alignment symbol 320 is displayed on a cockpit display 300 with the tracking bug 350 and the heading bug 345 so that the pilot can view all three items at once in a direct view region and determine a spacing part of the items for coordinating adjustments in the ownship flight or glide slope to merge the items together in a manner that represents an alignment between all three items which encompasses performing the alignment maneuver so that the first symbol and the second symbol stay superimposed. [0044] The alignment symbol 320 like the heading bug 345 appears at a similar time or instance and indicates a control reference during the ownship approach and landing but the heading bug 345 is positioned closer and then within the alignment symbol 320 at touchdown. The heading bug being within the alignment symbol is the superimposition position.)
In regards to claim 10
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored software instructions which, when executed by a computer, implement the method according to claim 5. (Fig. 11, [0069] Memory 1155 is external to and operatively coupled to processing unit or, instead, in integrated into processing unit 1150. Memory 1155 stores data, such as various software or firmware, supporting operation of processing unit 1150 and other components included in display device 1180, such as graphics system, sensor system, and the source of ownship state data. Various software encompasses software instructions for the method of claim 5.)
In regards to claim 11
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding device according to claim 2.
Claim 11 recites a device having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 12
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding device according to claim 3.
Claim 12 recites a device having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 13
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 6.
Claim 13 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 14
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 6.
Claim 14 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 15
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 7.
Claim 15 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
In regards to claim 16
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 6.
Claim 16 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 9 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
In regards to claim 17
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 7.
Claim 17 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 9 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
In regards to claim 18
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches The guiding method according to claim 8.
Claim 18 recites a method having substantially the same features of claim 9 above, therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 9.
In regards to claim 19
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored software instructions which, when executed by a computer, implement the method according to claim 6. (Fig. 11, [0069] Memory 1155 is external to and operatively coupled to processing unit or, instead, in integrated into processing unit 1150. Memory 1155 stores data, such as various software or firmware, supporting operation of processing unit 1150 and other components included in display device 1180, such as graphics system, sensor system, and the source of ownship state data. Various software encompasses software instructions for the method of claim 6.)
In regards to claim 20
, Wang, as modified by Suddreth, teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium on which is stored software instructions which, when executed by a computer, implement the method according to claim 7. (Fig. 11, [0069] Memory 1155 is external to and operatively coupled to processing unit or, instead, in integrated into processing unit 1150. Memory 1155 stores data, such as various software or firmware, supporting operation of processing unit 1150 and other components included in display device 1180, such as graphics system, sensor system, and the source of ownship state data. Various software encompasses software instructions for the method of claim 7.)
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record
and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gannon et al. (US-9640081-B2) teaches a dynamic runway indicator is displayed overlying a conformal runway for assisting a pilot in completing an approach to landing on a runway.
Wyatt et al. (US-20140222257-A1) teaches a method for generating and displaying symbols that graphically represents a lateral distance between a runway threshold and a virtual inner marker.
He (US-20070179684-A1) teaches a method for displaying a heading awareness symbology to indicate heading relative to track, and varying the prominence of the heading awareness symbology on a display element based on at least one sensed condition.
He (US-9245452-B2) teaches systems and methods to accurately display lateral deviation symbology in offset approaches to runways.
Takenaka (US-20190031326-A1) teaches a safety device that, when a crosswind is present, allows an aircraft to more safely land on a runway in an airport.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661