DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/6/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 4,768,860 to Tatsukami et al.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art lacking a TPE cladding layer is persuasive. However, Tatsukami discloses both a cladding and outer protective layer made of a thermoplastic resin. This is described in the prior art as “thermoplastic flourorubber” that is comprised of different copolymers (see disclosure of the compound used defined as “DAI-EL” (column 3, lines 41-column 4, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-15 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,768,860 to Tatsukami et al. in view of Nakakuki et al (cited in prior office action).
Tatsukami discloses in the abstract and figure 1, an optical waveguide comprising:
At least one core (1) defining a longitudinal axis Z, and a cladding (2) surrounding said core, said core and said cladding being configured to transmit along said axis Z a light beam (background of invention) having a wavelength greater than 180nm (650nm disclosed in Examples 1-2), said core comprising at least an outermost layer (outside of 1) and innermost layer of cladding (inside of 2) where the innermost layer contacts the core (figure 1), wherein
Said outermost layer of the core is made of a material having a first index of refraction,
Said innermost layer is made at least partially of a thermoplastic elastomer (thermoplastic fluoroubbers and resins are used and see disclosure of the compound used defined as “DAI-EL” in column 3, lines 41-column 4, line 2) having a second index of refraction being smaller than the first index of refraction (column 5, lines 53-55 and column 3, lines 26-35 describe the core refractive index being smaller than the cladding).
Claims 2-5, 7, 10, and 13-15 disclose various materials, added layers, silicone core and outcoupling light characteristics.
As to claim 6, column 3, lines 26-35 describe the core having a refractive index smaller than the cladding value with a practical value of the cladding index being 1.42 or less.
As to claim 8, the waveguide is an optical fiber (column 1, line 67).
Claims 24-25 disclose a general preform and extrusion of a fiber with the materials claimed in the prior art (Prior art column 4, line 64-column 5, line 22).
Although Tatsukami discloses a thermoplastic fluororeubber/resin, Tatsukami does not specifically disclose a “TPE” cladding. It is noted that the prior art does disclose many materials including “DAI-EL” which from material product sheets show characteristics of TPE materials.
Nakakuki discloses numerous adaptations and variations to fibers such as the claimed features.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to adjust and use the claimed values given the effective result variables taught in Nakakuki in order to optimize light confinement.
Claim(s) 9, 12, 16, 18-23, 34, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsukami et al. in view of Nakakuki et al (hereinafter TIN) in view of US 5,928,222 to Kleinerman.
TIN discloses the invention as claimed except for added fibers, shape of the fiber and its use in medical applications. It is noted that the intended use is not a positive limitation and the current claims that recite such, do so in the preamble with no added structure to support such a use.
Claim 34 relates to method claims of a rectangular fiber.
Kleinerman discloses such uses and fiber characteristics for their use (abstract and figures 15, 19 and 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the arrangements taught by Kleinerman with fibers of TIN to create devices for use in respective fields with maximum optimization of fiber bend and light confinement.
Claim(s) 32-33 and 35-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TIN as applied to claims 1 and 24 above, and further in view of US 10,852,479 to Bhethanabotla et al.
TIN discloses the invention and general methods for extruding from a preform the structure of the claimed optical fiber.
However, TIN fails to explicitly disclose using 3D printing techniques to produce a preform. It is noted that no specific steps are claimed as to this 3D printing process. 3D printing is utilized in multiple fields as an efficient and cost effective method to produce parts.
Bhethanabotla discloses such a common 3D printing device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a 3D printer as taught by Bhethanabotla to produce the needed preform in TIN to reduce cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0003796 (thermoplastic elastomer core layers).
ERIC K. WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2874
/Eric Wong/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874