Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18).
As to claim 1, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses A user device adapted to operate with personalized identity module profiles, comprising: - a controller (112) being configured to operate the user device for users for which an assigned personalized identity module profile is or can be enabled in the user device (Fig. 4 processor 420 works as a controller that enables subscriber identity module profile as shown in fig 5 step 510. Paragraph [0055] – “As shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include enabling a first subscriber identity module (SIM) profile”. Paragraph [0063] – “In some implementations, one or more process blocks of FIG. 6 may be performed by another device or a group of devices separate from or including RSP system 330, such as user device 305, eUICC device 310, subscription management device 325, one or more components of vehicle 315, and/or the like.” This step can occur in the user device 305 as mentioned in the paragraph [0063] ),
- a memory device (114) for storing personalized identity module profiles and secret credentials to securely connect to a subscription manager (Fig 5 step 510 says the SIM profile is installed in memory of eUICC and it is associated with an integrated circuit card identifier. Paragraph [0055] – “As shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include enabling a first subscriber identity module (SIM) profile, wherein the first SIM profile is installed in memory of the eUICC and associated with a first integrated circuit card identifier (ICCID) (block 510).”),
- a detector (118) for deriving a user identity (UID) of a user (120) of the user device (Fig 6 step 610 says Receive, from eUICC, a request for a SIM profile associated with an integrated circuit card identifier as a user identity. Paragraph [0064] – “As shown in FIG. 6, process 600 may include receiving, from an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) device, a request for a SIM profile associated with an integrated circuit card identifier (ICCID) (block 610).”), and
- a communicator (116) for secure data communication between the user device and a subscription manager based on the secret credentials stored in the memory device (Fig 4 Communication Interface 470 works as a communicator here. Paragraph [0064] – “For example, the RSP system (e.g., using processor 420, memory 430, communication interface 470, and/or the like) may receive a request for a SIM profile associated with an ICCID, as described above in connection with FIGS. 1-2.”);
wherein said controller (112) is arranged for causing the communicator (116) to transmit to a subscription manager (130) the derived user identity and a device identity to the subscription manager (Fig 6 steps 620 and 630 say “Transmit the SIM profile to the eUICC device, transmit to a subscription management device associated with the specific mobile network operator, the ICCID and an eUICC identifier that is unique to the eUICC device. Paragraph [0065] – “As further shown in FIG. 6, process 600 may include transmitting the SIM profile to the eUICC device, wherein the SIM profile is associated with a specific mobile network operator (block 620).” ), and
wherein the communicator (116) is adapted to receive a personalized identity module profiles from the subscription manager prepared after identification of the user by a service system based on the derived user identity (Communication Interface 470 is adapted to receive SIM profile as mentioned Fig 5 steps 530 and 540. Paragraph [0058] – “As further shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include receiving the second SIM profile based on requesting the second SIM profile (block 530).” ).
As to claim 4, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The user device of claim 1, wherein the controller (112) is configured to derive information that the user device will be used multiple times by a specific user within a time frame, and the personalized identity module profile assigned to the specific user is temporarily enabled or disabled if the user device is used multiple times by the specific user within a time frame (Paragraph [0026] – “As shown, the eID and subscription information (e.g., a data limit, a message limit, a call minute limit, and/or the like) may be provided from the user device 305 to the subscription management device 325.” Paragraph [0009] – “The SIM profiles may be remotely managed using remote SIM provisioning to install, enable, disable, and/or delete SIM profiles from the eUICC. For example, remote SIM provisioning may be used when a device with an eUICC changes ownership, when a subscription associated with the device changes, when a user switches to a different MNO, and/or the like.”).
As to claim 5, Chen (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The user device of claim 1, wherein the controller (112) is arranged for causing the communicator (116) to transmit to the subscription manager (130) the derived user identity and a device identity to the subscription based on a trigger (Paragraph [0013, 0026] – trigger is the user inputting the request via website, barcode, input of number, etc.).
As to claim 6, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses A system (100) for operating a user device with personalized identity module profiles, comprising: - a user device (110), comprising: - a controller (112) being configured to operate the user device for users for which an assigned personalized identity module profile is or can be enabled in the user device(Fig. 4 processor 420 works as a controller that enables subscriber identity module profile as shown in fig 5 step 510. Paragraph [0055] – “As shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include enabling a first subscriber identity module (SIM) profile” Paragraph [0063] – “In some implementations, one or more process blocks of FIG. 6 may be performed by another device or a group of devices separate from or including RSP system 330, such as user device 305, eUICC device 310, subscription management device 325, one or more components of vehicle 315, and/or the like.” This step can occur in the user device 305 as mentioned in the paragraph [0063]),
- a memory device (114) for storing personalized identity module profiles and secret credentials to securely connect to a subscription manager (Fig 5 step 510 says the SIM profile is installed in memory of eUICC and it is associated with an integrated circuit card identifier. Paragraph [0055] – “As shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include enabling a first subscriber identity module (SIM) profile, wherein the first SIM profile is installed in memory of the eUICC and associated with a first integrated circuit card identifier (ICCID) (block 510).”),
- a detector (118) for deriving a user identity (UID) of a user (120) of the user device (Fig 6 step 610 says Receive, from eUICC, a request for a SIM profile associated with an integrated circuit card identifier as a user identity. Paragraph [0064] – “As shown in FIG. 6, process 600 may include receiving, from an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) device, a request for a SIM profile associated with an integrated circuit card identifier (ICCID) (block 610).”), and
- a communicator (116) for secure data communication between the user device and a subscription manager based on the secret credentials stored in the memory device (Fig 4 Communication Interface 470 works as a communicator here. Paragraph [0064] – “For example, the RSP system (e.g., using processor 420, memory 430, communication interface 470, and/or the like) may receive a request for a SIM profile associated with an ICCID, as described above in connection with FIGS. 1-2.”);
- a service system (140) being configured to identify the user corresponding to the derived user identity and to request personalized identity module profiles for the user device (Fig 6 steps 620 and 630 say “Transmit the SIM profile to the eUICC device, transmit to a subscription management device associated with the specific mobile network operator, the ICCID and an eUICC identifier that is unique to the eUICC device. Paragraph [0065] – “As further shown in FIG. 6, process 600 may include transmitting the SIM profile to the eUICC device, wherein the SIM profile is associated with a specific mobile network operator (block 620).” ); and
- a subscription manager (130) being configured to forward the derived user identity and a device identity, EID, received from the user device to the service system, and to send prepared personalized identity module profiles to the user device requested by the service system (140) (Communication Interface 470 is adapted to receive SIM profile as mentioned Fig 5 steps 530 and 540. Paragraph [0058] – “As further shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include receiving the second SIM profile based on requesting the second SIM profile (block 530).” ).
As to claim 7, Chen (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The system of claim 6, wherein the subscription manager (130) comprises a routing entity (132) being configured to manage secure data communication with the user device and the service system, and a profile preparation entity (134) being configured to prepare personalized identity module profiles (Paragraph [0013] – “The subscription management device 325 may identify, using a data structure stored in memory of the subscription management device 325, a SIM profile associated with the eID and the first MNO, and may activate the SIM profile to permit the eUICC device 310 to be used to access and communicate via a wireless network of the first MNO. In some implementations, the SIM profile may be uniquely identified using an integrated circuit card identifier (ICCID), which may be stored by the subscription management device 325 and associated with an account of the first user upon activation of the SIM profile.”).
As to claim 8, Chen (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The system of claim 6, wherein the service system (140) comprises at least one network operator system (150) to which users are subscribed and which is configured to request the subscription manager (130) to prepare personalized identity module profiles for the user device, and an identifier system (145) being configured to identify the active user corresponding to the derived user identity and to send information about the identified user to one of the at least one network operator systems to which the identified user is subscribed (Fig 1 referring to MNO as network operator system. Paragraph [0016] – “[0016] As shown by reference number 120, based on enabling the first SIM profile of the first MNO, the eUICC device 310 may request (e.g., via the LPA) a second SIM profile associated with the first MNO (shown as MNO1-profile2).” Paragraph [0018] – “As shown by reference number 125, the RSP system 330 may transmit the second SIM profile to the eUICC device 310 (e.g., via the LPA).”).
As to claim 9, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The system of claim 6, wherein at least one of the controller (112) of the user device (110) and the service system (140) is also configured to send a message to the subscription manager that the current session of the user can be ended or that a limit for a number of sessions, or time limit has been reached, and the subscription manager (130) is also configured to cause disabling or deleting the personalized identity module profile assigned to this user (Paragraph [0026] – “As shown, the eID and subscription information (e.g., a data limit, a message limit, a call minute limit, and/or the like) may be provided from the user device 305 to the subscription management device 325.”).
As to claim 10, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The system of claim 6, wherein at least one of the controller (112) of the user device (110) and the service system (140) is also configured to derive information that the user device will be used multiple times by a specific user within a time frame, and the subscription manager (130) is also configured to cause temporarily enabling or disabling the personalized identity module profile assigned to the specific user if the user device is used multiple times by the specific user within a time frame (Paragraph [0026] – “As shown, the eID and subscription information (e.g., a data limit, a message limit, a call minute limit, and/or the like) may be provided from the user device 305 to the subscription management device 325.” Paragraph [0009] – “The SIM profiles may be remotely managed using remote SIM provisioning to install, enable, disable, and/or delete SIM profiles from the eUICC. For example, remote SIM provisioning may be used when a device with an eUICC changes ownership, when a subscription associated with the device changes, when a user switches to a different MNO, and/or the like.”).
As to claim 11, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The system of claim 6, wherein the service system (140) comprises a receiver (154) for receiving location information (LOC) of user devices belonging to a specific user or a user message (UM) from a specific user (122) and a memory (152) for storing lists of user devices belonging to specific users, and the service system (140) is configured to request the subscription manager to cause disabling or deleting the personalized identity module profiles assigned to the specific user or activating disabled personalized identity module profiles assigned to the specific user for a user device or all listed user devices, depending on location information of user devices belonging to the specific user or a user message received from the specific user (Paragraph [0039] – “For example, a SIM profile may include a UMTS SIM (USIM), an Internet Protocol multimedia services identity module (ISIM), a CDMA SIM (CSIM), and/or the like, and may store a phone number, an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), an eID, IMS registration information, parameters for CDMA service, a network identifier, a preferred local network identifier (e.g., to identify a home network, one or more roaming networks, one or more allowed networks, one or more barred networks, and/or the like), location information (e.g., a cell identifier), a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, an MNO identifier, a mobile country code (MCC), a new exchange key, one or more other security keys, and/or the like.”. Paragraph [0009] – “The SIM profiles may be remotely managed using remote SIM provisioning to install, enable, disable, and/or delete SIM profiles from the eUICC. For example, remote SIM provisioning may be used when a device with an eUICC changes ownership, when a subscription associated with the device changes, when a user switches to a different MNO, and/or the like.”).
As to claim 12, Chen (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses A method (200) for operating a user device (110) with personalized identity module profiles, comprising the steps of:- deriving (S210) a user identity (UID) of a user (120) of the user device, by the user device (110) (Paragraph [0026], fig. 2 – “a first user (User 1) may purchase, rent, lease, or use a vehicle 315 (e.g., a car), and may be provided with a Quick Response (QR) code with embedded information, which may include a eUICC identifier (eID) for the eUICC device 310 (e.g., a back seat SIM). As shown by reference number 210, the first user may interact with the user device 305 to scan the QR code and establish a subscription plan of the specific MNO for the vehicle 315 (and the eUICC device 310) and/or to add the subscription plan to an account of the first user.” Paragraph [0013] – “a first user may interact with the user device 305 to subscribe to services provided by a first MNO (shown as MNO1), such as by logging in to a website and/or application of the first MNO and adding the vehicle 315 to an account of the first user.” i.e. the user using the device is identifiable);
- sending (S216) the derived user identity (UID) and a device identity (EID) of the user device via a subscription manager (130) to a service system (140) if no personalized identity module profile assigned to the user of the user device is enabled in the user device, by the user device (110) (See fig. 2, action 210: “Add a vehicle, scan QR code to provide eID, select plan, and pay” Paragraph [0026] – “the eID and subscription information (e.g., a data limit, a message limit, a call minute limit, and/or the like) may be provided from the user device 305 to the subscription management device 325. … the subscription management device 325 may receive the eID and/or the subscription information in a different manner”, i.e. the same information is sent to the network. See fig. 2, action 230 – Request download MNO1-profile 2 (eiD). Paragraph [0029] – “the eUICC device 310 may request to download a second SIM profile for the specific MNO (e.g., MNO1-profile2). As shown, the request may include an eID of the eUICC device 310.”, wherein it is clear that the user has also to identify itself in the request);
- identifying (S220) the user corresponding to the derived user identity (Paragraph [0029] – “the RSP system 330 may select a SIM profile (e.g., the second SIM profile, shown as MNO1-profile2)”, i.e. the service system is able to recognize the user from the received user identity) and
requesting (S234) a personalized identity module profile for the identified user to be used in the user device, by the service system (140) (Paragraph [0029] – “the RSP system 330 may send a message to the subscription management device 325 to permit the subscription management device 325 to link the second SIM profile with the eID for future use (e.g., when the first SIM profile is disabled and/or when a request is received from a second user to activate the second SIM profile)”, personalized as it is linked to the requesting user); and
- preparing (S240) a personalized identity module profile for the identified user (Paragraph [0027] – “The subscription management device 325 may activate and/or provision service for the eUICC device 310, such as by storing an association between the ICCID, a phone number (e.g., a mobile directory number (MDN), a mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN), and/or the like) or other identifying information associated with the first user, and/or information associated with the subscription plan.”, i.e. upon request from the RSP system the SM prepares the profile by associating the user and the device with other related information and stores it in a data structure) and
sending (S242) the prepared personalized SIM profile to the user device, by the subscription manager (130), wherein the data communication between the user device and the subscription manager is a secure data communication based on secret credentials stored in the user device (See fig. 2, action 245 – download of profile. Paragraph [0029, 0030] – “the eUICC device 310 may install the second SIM profile in memory of the eUICC device 310 in a disabled state, thus queueing the second SIM profile for later use after the first SIM profile is disabled and/or deleted.”).
As to claim 13, Chen (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the service system (140) verifies (S230) whether the user corresponding to the derived user identity is legitimated to use the user device, before requesting (S234) the subscription manager (130) to prepare the personalized identity module profile for the identified user or before installing the prepared personalized identity module profile in the user device (Paragraph [0013] – “The subscription management device 325 may identify, using a data structure stored in memory of the subscription management device 325, a SIM profile associated with the eID and the first MNO, and may activate the SIM profile to permit the eUICC device 310 to be used to access and communicate via a wireless network of the first MNO.”).
As to claim 14, Chen (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The method of claim 12, wherein the service system (140) also retrieves (S232) user specific settings for the user device and provides this information to the subscription manager, and the subscription manager (130) prepares (S240) the personalized identity module profile bundled with user specific settings for the user device (Paragraph [0013] – “The subscription management device 325 may identify, using a data structure stored in memory of the subscription management device 325, a SIM profile associated with the eID and the first MNO, and may activate the SIM profile to permit the eUICC device 310 to be used to access and communicate via a wireless network of the first MNO.”).
As to claim 15, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) discloses The method of claim 12, further comprising: requesting the subscription manager (130), by the service system (140), to cause disabling (S345) or deleting (S340) personalized identity module profiles assigned to a specific user or activating (S372) disabled personalized identity module profiles assigned to a specific user for a user device or all user devices belonging to the specific user, depending on location information of user devices belonging to the specific user or a user message received from the specific user (Paragraph [0009] – “The SIM profiles may be remotely managed using remote SIM provisioning to install, enable, disable, and/or delete SIM profiles from the eUICC. For example, remote SIM provisioning may be used when a device with an eUICC changes ownership, when a subscription associated with the device changes, when a user switches to a different MNO, and/or the like.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20220248308 A1 dated 2020-04-17)
As to claim 2, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Chen et al. (US 20220248308 A1 dated 2020-04-17) discloses The user device of claim 1, wherein the memory device (114) comprises an eUICC, and the communicator (116) uses cellular network communication (Paragraph [0023] – “This is a secure unit, in case of a SIM or UICC typically removable, in case of an eUICC typically soldered to the user equipment, which holds in its secured memory all necessary credentials for authenticating at the cellular network upon registration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) to include the means to holding eUICC in the secured memory by Chen et al. in order to communicate securely using cellular network communication.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Li et al. (US 20130303122 A1 dated 2012-09-14)
As to claim 3, Chen et al. (US 20200092711 A1 dated 2018-09-18) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Li et al. (US 20130303122 A1 dated 2012-09-14) discloses The user device of claim 1, wherein the controller (112) of the user device (110) is configured to send a message to the subscription manager that the current session of the user can be ended or that a limit for a number of sessions, or time limit has been reached, thereby causing disabling or deleting the personalized identity module profile assigned to this user (Paragraph [0023] – “The first personalized SIM information may be removed from the eSIM (e.g., if the user is no longer a subscriber with a carrier which provided the first personalized SIM information) or may remain in the eSIM along with the second personalized SIM information (e.g., if the user is a subscriber with both the carrier which provided the first personalized SIM information and the carrier which provided the second personalized SIM information)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen et al. to include the means to deleting the personalized identity module profile by Li et al. in order to stop services related to personalized identity module assigned to the user.
Remarks/Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 10/20/2025 have been reviewed.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, “Chen fails to disclose "forward(ing) the derived user identity and a device identity, EID, received from the user device to the service system, and to send prepared personalized identity module profiles to the user device requested by the service system."”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chen et al. discloses that Communication Interface 470 is adapted to receive SIM profile as mentioned in Fig 5 steps 530 and 540. Paragraph [0058] – “As further shown in FIG. 5, process 500 may include receiving the second SIM profile based on requesting the second SIM profile (block 530).” Here the SIM profile is received based on requesting the SIM profile. The claim says the same that the SIM profile is sent to the user device requested by the service system.
In response to applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. From the applicant arguments, it appears he is trying to distinguish a SIM profile from the claimed “derived user identity”. The applicant argues, “The present invention overcomes the problem of having to associate a new SIM profile with each additional device, which means that the process has to be repeated each time a user buys or wants to use another device.” Here the Examiner interprets these requested SIM profiles to be “derived”. If the applicant intends for “deriving” to have a more specific meaning, then he should add that to the claims.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, “Chen 2 merely discloses the use of eUICC and fails to contemplate the forwarding of the derived user identity and the device identity to the service system to prepare and send a personalized identity module profile to a user device.” The claim 2 limitation does not mention the forwarding of the derived user identity and the device identity to the service system to prepare and send a personalized identity module profile to a user device. It merely mentions that the memory device (114) comprises an eUICC, and the communicator (116) uses cellular network communication. Chen et al. (US 20220248308 A1 dated 2020-04-17) discloses in Paragraph [0023] – “This is a secure unit, in case of a SIM or UICC typically removable, in case of an eUICC typically soldered to the user equipment, which holds in its secured memory all necessary credentials for authenticating at the cellular network upon registration”.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, “Li merely discloses means to remove personalized SIM information based on whether the user is subscribed with a carrier. Li, at [0023]. Li fails to contemplate the forwarding of the derived user identity and the device identity to the service system to prepare and send a personalized identity module profile to a user device.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 3 limitation does not mention the forwarding of the derived user identity and the device identity to the service system to prepare and send a personalized identity module profile to a user device. Claim 3 talks about disabling or deleting the personalized identity module profile assigned to the user. Accordingly, Li et al. (US 20130303122 A1 dated 2012-09-14) discloses in Paragraph [0023], “The first personalized SIM information may be removed from the eSIM (e.g., if the user is no longer a subscriber with a carrier which provided the first personalized SIM information) or may remain in the eSIM along with the second personalized SIM information (e.g., if the user is a subscriber with both the carrier which provided the first personalized SIM information and the carrier which provided the second personalized SIM information)”. The prior art here also disables or deletes the personalized identity module profile assigned to the user.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646