Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment and remark filed on 07/08/2026 are entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending. Claims 1-9 remain withdrawn. Claims 10-14 are examined herein.
Status of Rejection
The amendment necessitates new ground of rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, the remark is directed toward newly amended limitation of naphthimidazole florescent label, which has not been considered in the previous round of prosecution. Examiner believes the newly cited art Yang (US 20170299530 A1), when incorporated with the arts of record, would have cured the deficiency (see the rejection below).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: hydrolysis unit and derivatization unit in claims 10 and 11.
Applicant discloses the hydrolysis unit includes a first reservoir A containing a solution of the glycan molecule, a first reservoir containing an acidic solution, a first reactor and a first collection valve, connected with connective tubing (para. [0071]).
Applicant discloses the derivatization unit includes a second reservoir A containing the fluorescent label, a second reservoir B, a mixer, a derivatization reactor and a second collection valve, connected with connective tubing (para. [0072]).
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for comparing the one or more characteristics…to determine the composition and sugar sequence of the glycan molecule in claim 11.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waters (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0195564 A1) as cited in the previous Office Action and Yang (U.S. Pub. No. 20170299530 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Waters discloses a flow chemistry system for carbohydrate analysis (system 1, Figure 1), comprising:
a unit includes a first reservoir A containing a solution of a sample (first sample loop 40, Fig. 2), a first reservoir containing a reagent (reagent reservoir 50), a mixer (tee mixer 18, Fig. 2), a reactor (microreactor 12, Fig. 2) and a collection valve (reagent valve 28, Fig. 2), connected with connective tubing (In addition, unless otherwise specified, all connections are fluidic and provide for fluid flow, including but not limited to, tubing connections between fluidic ports and devices such as the reactor, the reactor flow stream, valves, pumps, reservoirs and other apparatus that are described herein. Para. [0052]).
Waters does not disclose a second unit including a second reservoir A, a second reservoir B, a reactor and a second collection valve, connected with connective tubing.
Furthermore, Waters does not disclose hydrolysis unit includes a first reservoir A containing a solution of the glycan molecule, a first reservoir containing an acidic solution and the derivatization unit the derivatization unit includes a second reservoir A containing the fluorescent label, a second reservoir B containing the product produced by the hydrolysis unit, wherein the detectable fluorescent label is a naphthimidazole molecule.
Regarding incorporation of a second unit including a second reservoir A, a second reservoir B, a reactor and a second collection valve, connected with connective tubing, wherein the second reservoir B is configured to receive the product from the reaction of the unit, Waters discloses the flow chemistry system can be modified to include multiple reaction unit sequentially and in series (Samples can be taken from one or more non-pressurized sources (reactors, reactor flow streams, and the like) sequentially or simultaneously, in series or in parallel. Para. [0090]) and it would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device to fit the proper application (para. [0131]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a second unit connected with a first unit in order to enable a sequential reactions application.
Regarding the limitation of derivatization unit including a second reservoir A containing the fluorescent label, Waters discloses the microreactors of the flow chemistry system are ideal for derivatization reaction including the addition of a chromophore or fluorescent functional group (para. [0108]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a derivatization unit with reagent reservoir including a fluorescent label as taught by Waters. Incorporating a step of derivatization chemistry enables better detectability and enhanced separation for the analysis of an analyte (Advantages of derivatization include improved detectability... Para. [0109]).
Regarding the limitation of hydrolysis unit including a first reservoir A containing a solution of the glycan molecule, a first reservoir containing an acidic solution, and using a naphthimidazole, Waters discloses the flow system, with the right reagents, can be used for rapid tagging and analysis of glycans such as N-linked glycan using liquid chromatography, mass spectrometry, fluorescence and UV detection (para. [0111]). Furthermore, it is known in the art that efficacy of chromatography or spectrometry improves when a complex structure is being fragmented.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses a method of for quantitating a saccharide in a liquid sample. The method comprises incubating the liquid sample with 2,3-naphthalenediamine in the presence of iodine to allow a naphthimidazole group to be linked to the saccharide (Abstract). The sample is first subjected to acidic hydrolysis, followed by NAIM (naphthimidazole) labeling (para. [0522]). Yang discloses that the labeling procedure is especially desirable for quantification of common sugar ingredients in beverage and food crops in NMR analysis (para. [0523]).
As the sampling and reaction system of Waters are designed to be used with NMR (para. [0029]; [0040]; [0042]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized the reagents for hydrolysis for the first reservoir and derivatization reagent naphthimidazole for the derivatization unit as taught by Yang to derive the claimed invention.
Waters discloses the potential/ability to analyze labeled N-glycan in the flow chemistry system. Incorporating a step of partial hydrolysis of carbohydrate in the hydrolysis unit with appropriate reagents as taught by Yang would allow for complex carbohydrate structure to be fragmented, which would have improved the effectiveness of subsequent NMR spectrometry analysis with simple preparation procedure without additional purification (We demonstrate in this study that NMR spectrometry can be effectively utilized to quantify the common sugar ingredients in beverage and food crops via a simple treatment with an NAIM labeling kit. The NAIM reaction is smoothly performed at room temperature, and the product without further purification is directly subjected to the 1H-NMR analysis, para. [0523], Yang).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waters in view of Yang and Yu (N-linked Glycan Characterization and Profiling: Combining the Power of Accurate Mass, Reference Glucose Units, and UNIFI Software for Confident Glycan Assignment) as cited in previous Office Action.
Regarding claims 11-14, Waters discloses a flow chemistry system for carbohydrate analysis, comprising:
a flow chemistry system, comprising:
a unit includes a first reservoir A containing a solution of a sample (first sample loop 40, Fig. 2), a first reservoir containing a reagent (reagent reservoir 50), a mixer (tee mixer 18, Fig. 2), a reactor (microreactor 12, Fig. 2) and a collection valve (reagent valve 28, Fig. 2), connected with connective tubing (In addition, unless otherwise specified, all connections are fluidic and provide for fluid flow, including but not limited to, tubing connections between fluidic ports and devices such as the reactor, the reactor flow stream, valves, pumps, reservoirs and other apparatus that are described herein. Para. [0052]);
an analytical system adapted for interaction with flow chemistry system for the measurement of one or more characteristics of sugar derivatives, wherein the measurement is performed by NMR, LC, GC, MS and any combination thereof (para. [0040]);
Waters does not disclose a second unit including a second reservoir A, a second reservoir B, a reactor and a second collection valve, connected with connective tubing. Waters also does not disclose hydrolysis unit includes a first reservoir A containing a solution of the glycan molecule, a first reservoir containing an acidic solution and the derivatization unit the derivatization unit includes a second reservoir A containing the fluorescent label, a second reservoir B containing the product produced by the hydrolysis unit, wherein the detectable fluorescent label is a naphthimidazole molecule. Furthermore, Waters does not disclose the claimed data processing system.
Regarding incorporation of a second unit including a second reservoir A, a second reservoir B, a reactor and a second collection valve, connected with connective tubing, wherein the second reservoir B is configured to receive the product from the reaction of the unit, Waters discloses the flow chemistry system can be modified to include multiple reaction unit sequentially and in series (Samples can be taken from one or more non-pressurized sources (reactors, reactor flow streams, and the like) sequentially or simultaneously, in series or in parallel. Para. [0090]) and it would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device to fit the proper application (para. [0131]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a second unit connected with a first unit in order to enable a sequential reactions application.
Regarding the limitation of derivatization unit including a second reservoir A containing the fluorescent label, Waters discloses the microreactors of the flow chemistry system are ideal for derivatization reaction including the addition of a chromophore or fluorescent functional group (para. [0108]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated a derivatization unit with reagent reservoir including a fluorescent label as taught by Waters. Incorporating a step of derivatization chemistry enables better detectability and enhanced separation for the analysis of an analyte (Advantages of derivatization include improved detectability... Para. [0109]).
Regarding the limitation of hydrolysis unit including a first reservoir A containing a solution of the glycan molecule, a first reservoir containing an acidic solution, and using a naphthimidazole, Waters discloses the flow system, with the right reagents, can be used for rapid tagging and analysis of glycans such as N-linked glycan using liquid chromatography, mass spectrometry, fluorescence and UV detection (para. [0111]). Furthermore, it is known in the art that efficacy of chromatography or spectrometry improves when a complex structure is being fragmented.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses a method of for quantitating a saccharide in a liquid sample. The method comprises incubating the liquid sample with 2,3-naphthalenediamine in the presence of iodine to allow a naphthimidazole group to be linked to the saccharide (Abstract). The sample is first subjected to acidic hydrolysis, followed by NAIM (naphthimidazole) labeling (para. [0522]). Yang discloses that the labeling procedure is especially desirable for quantification of common sugar ingredients in beverage and food crops in NMR analysis (para. [0523]).
As the sampling and reaction system of Waters are designed to be used with NMR (para. [0029]; [0040]; [0042]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have utilized the reagents for hydrolysis for the first reservoir and derivatization reagent naphthimidazole for the derivatization unit as taught by Yang to derive the claimed invention.
Waters discloses the potential/ability to analyze labeled N-glycan in the flow chemistry system. Incorporating a step of partial hydrolysis of carbohydrate in the hydrolysis unit with appropriate reagents as taught by Yang would allow for complex carbohydrate structure to be fragmented, which would have improved the effectiveness of subsequent NMR spectrometry analysis with simple preparation procedure without additional purification (We demonstrate in this study that NMR spectrometry can be effectively utilized to quantify the common sugar ingredients in beverage and food crops via a simple treatment with an NAIM labeling kit. The NAIM reaction is smoothly performed at room temperature, and the product without further purification is directly subjected to the 1H-NMR analysis, para. [0523], Yang).
Regarding the claimed data processing system, Yu (also by Waters) discloses a data processing system for N-glycan analysis. The data processing system comprises sugar database (Scientific library, Fig. 1, Page 7) and a means for comparing the one or more characteristics of sugar derivatives measured by the analytical system with sugar database (Step 2: Data processing and scientific library search, Page 9-11) to determine the composition and sugar sequence of the glycan (Fig. 5-6; Practical application: Using UNIFI Scientific Information System to compare N-glycan profiles of an innovator biotherapeutic and a biosimilar candidate, Page 12-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to have integrated Waters’s own data processing system (as taught by Yu) to the device of Waters to derive the claimed invention, doing so enable a compliant-ready, automated, high-confidence glycan structure assignments by enabling rapid acquisition, review, and communication of individual glycan profile results, and the larger sets of glycan analyses used for comparability studies (Conclusion, Page 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen (Quantitative Analysis of Sugar Ingredients in Beverages and Food Crops by an Effective Method Combining Naphthimidazole Derivatization and H-NMR Spectrometry, 2017) (with the inventor as a co-author) is a academic disclosure of method of combining naphthimidazole derivatization and H-NMR spectrometry for testing sugar ingredients in beverages and Food Crops (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758