Status of Claims
Claims 1-16, 26-27, and 30-31 are pending.
Claims 27, 30, and 31 are withdrawn.
Claims 17-25, 28-29, and 32-43 are cancelled.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to Application Serial No. PCT/IB2021/054229, filed 05/17/2021; and further claims priority to PRO Application number 63/026,301, filed on 5/18/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received 10/19/2023 and 05/16/2025 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive.
In a non-final dated 10/31/2025, Claims 1-16 and 26 were examined upon their merits.
In a non-final dated 10/31/2025, Claims 1-16 and 26 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103.
With respect to the 102 rejection, the Applicant argues that the primary reference provided by the Examiner (“Maloney”) fails to anticipate claim 1 because it neglects the limitation that "when R³ᵇ is fluoro, R³ᵃ is methoxy and R³ᵉ and R³ᵈ are each hydrogen, then at least one of X¹ and X² is fluoro or chloro". The Examiner argues that this is not how the claim is recited rather it reads as the following:
The Examiner argues that the way the claim is currently worded it is unclear that the limitation “then at least one of X¹ and X² is fluoro or chloro” is relevant to all (i), (ii), and (iii). The Examiner understands now but requests the Applicant reword this limitation for clarity. Along this line, the Applicant argues that the Examiner solely relies on the Compounds 278 and 471 in Maloney, which fail to meet the instant limitations of either “at least one of X¹ and X² is fluoro or chloro” or “when R³ᵃ is CF₃, R³ᵇ is fluoro, and R³c and R³ᵈ are each hydrogen, then R¹⁰ is not cyclopropylmethyl,” respectively. The Examiner argues that she relies on the genus structure of Maloney (Claim 13, Formula Ia-4), where compounds 278 and 471 are just examples of this genus structure. The compounds chosen are just examples to show that the genus structure allows for the limitations of the instant claim because the embodiments can be switched out for the functional groups that meet the instant limitations. The Examiner believes if the wording of the claim was clearer then the 102 rejection may be reconsidered. Therefore, the Examiner withdraws Maloney as anticipatory art and the 102 rejection, however, the Examiner maintains that it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to use embodiments from different structural examples taught by Maloney to arrive at the instant invention.
With respect to the 103 rejection, the Applicant argues that Maloney fails to teach the instant limitations of either “at least one of X¹ and X² is fluoro or chloro.” First, Examiner maintains argument from above about clarity of the claim limitations. Second, Examiner argues that even if this limitation was clearer it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to use embodiments from different structural examples taught by Maloney to arrive at the instant invention. The Applicant also argues that it would not be obvious because the instant application has demonstrated substantially improved feature of the instantly claimed compounds, where the compounds had greater liver-targeted tissue distribution profiling than plasma distribution. Further, the Applicant argues that nowhere in Maloney recognizes or discloses such a feature, i.e. improve liver-targeting drug profiling. The Examiner argues that this point is moot because the claims do not reflect and limitation of the compounds for use in liver targeting. The claims only recite a compound, which is taught by Maloney. Therefore, the 103 rejection is maintained.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7-9, 11-15 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Maloney, J. et al. (US20180273488A1; “Maloney”).
This rejection applies to an expanded specie, where X1 and R3b-d are all hydrogen, or R3b = F (see examples below), X2 can be a hydrogen or fluoro group, R3a is an alkoxy group, and R10 is a cycloalkyl group.
Maloney teaches an overlapping genus structure with independent claim 1 and the expanded specie.
(Maloney, Claim 13)
Maloney teaches two structural examples of the expanded specie, see below (Compound 278 and Compound 471). The structural examples include where R3b is fluoro and R3a is an alkoxy group, as required by instant claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-15. Maloney also teaches the compounds as a pharmaceutically acceptable salt (Claim 1), as required by instant claim 26.
Therefore, the expanded specie and instant claims 1-3, 6, 7-9, 11-14 and 26 are anticipated by Maloney.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney, J. et al. (US20180273488A1; “Maloney”).
This rejection applies to the elected specie.
Maloney teaches an overlapping genus structure with independent claim 1 and the elected specie.
(Maloney, Claim 13)
Although Maloney fails to teach an explicit structural example of the elected specie, Maloney teaches structural examples that encompass the defined embodiments of the elected specie. While Compound 471 taught by Maloney teaches all the embodiments of the elected specie, with an additional alkoxy group in the R3a, Maloney also teaches the compound without an additional aryl group, as shown in Compound 19 (Table 7).
(Maloney, Compound 471)
(Maloney, Compound 19)
It would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time to combine the different embodiments of the compounds taught by Maloney to arrive at the elected species and one would be motivated to do so because Maloney teaches the compounds as inhibitors as lactate dehydrogenase, similar to the instant application. Along the same line, structurally similar compounds are expected to have similar properties, see MPEP 2144.09.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (B), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the structure of compound 471 taught by Maloney and substitute the alkoxy on the aryl structure for a hydrogen group, as seen in compound 19 taught by Maloney. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to do so because Maloney teaches the compounds as inhibitors as lactate dehydrogenase, similar to the instant application. Along the same line, structurally similar compounds are expected to have similar properties, see MPEP 2144.09. Therefore, claims 1-16 and 26 would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 and 26 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621