DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action addresses pending claims 1-12 and 14-21. Claims 1 and 8 were amended, claim 13 was cancelled, and claims 20-21 were added in the response filed 3/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0062120) in view of Okuda et al. (WO 2014/073330, see machine translation), Chang et al. (US 2007/0154789), and Sugaya et al. (US 2017/0338463).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a secondary battery 100 comprising a container 120, an electrode assembly 110, and an insulator assembly 131 and 132 wherein the first insulator 131 is mounted on the upper end and the second insulator 132 is mounted on the lower end of the electrode assembly ([0056]-[0057], Fig 2). The electrode assembly 110 has a jelly-roll structure ([0056]). The first insulator 131 is assembled to have first insulating plates 201a and 201b having a woven structure which sandwich three insulating plates 203a, 203b, and 203c that have a nonwoven structure ([0058], Fig 3). The container 120 includes a top cap 122 and a lower container 124 wherein the top cap 122 is coupled to the upper portion of the lower container 124 ([0056]).
While Kim teaches that there are three insulating plates 203a-c (insulating layers) and therefore three layers of insulating plates, Kim does not explicitly disclose that these plates are an insulating layer that is folded at least once.
Okuda teaches an electrode assembly that is obtained by sequentially laminating a positive electrode 22, a separator, and a negative electrode 11, further comprising a short-circuit unit 40 that is arranged on the electrode assembly (abstract). In an embodiment, the short-circuit unit 40 comprises a [first] insulating layer 36, a [second] insulating layer 32, and a [third] insulating layer 34 that are stacked from the outside of the battery (Fig 4). The end portions of the first, second, and third insulating layers 36c, 32c, 34c protrudes outward form the side surfaces. The insulating layers 36, 34, 32 may be formed by folding one insulating sheet (Fig 4b) or as multiple insulating sheets (Fig 4a). That is, Okuda teaches that thick insulating portions can be made by stacking individual insulating sheets or by folding one insulating sheet multiple times, and therefore teaches equivalency and substitution of both methods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use folding one insulating layer as taught by Okuda with the insulating plates of Kim for the purpose of manufacturing a thick insulation portion as Okuda recognizes the structures as simple substitutions of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
While Kim teaches that the top cap 122 is coupled to the upper portion of the lower container 124 ([0056]), Kim does not explicitly disclose how the top cap is coupled, and therefore does not explicitly disclose that the insulating layer is crimped.
Chang discloses a secondary battery 100 comprising an electrode assembly 200 contained within a cylinder type case 300, an upper insulating plate 241 is positioned at the top of the electrode assembly, and a lower insulating plate 245 is positioned at the bottom of the electrode assembly (abstract). A cap assembly 400 is installed on the upper part of the case 300 to seal the case 300 and to provide electric current generated by the electrode assembly 200 to an external apparatus ([0050]). A beading unit 340 is placed between a crimping unit 330 and side plate 310, and surrounds a space formed between the cap assembly 400 and upper insulating plate ([0068], Fig 2). The beading unit 340 is recessed inward to press the lower part of cap assembly 400 ([0068], Fig 2). The crimping unit 330 and beading unit 340 press and hold the upper part of the cap assembly ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beading unit and crimping unit of the battery of Chang with the battery and top cap of Kim for the purpose of pressing and holding the upper part of the cap assembly.
While Kim teaches the three third insulating plates 203a-c with a nonwoven structure can include polymer fibers but is not limited thereto ([0031]), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the nonwoven structure fabric include glass fibers.
Sugaya discloses a cylindrical nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery 10 having an electrode body 30 disposed in case body 12, wherein a sealing body 20 including a cap 21 is mounted on the opening of the case body 12 (abstract, [0048], Fig 1). An upper insulating plate 40 is provided between the electrode body and the sealing body ([0057], Fig 1). The upper insulating plate 40 includes a fiber-reinforced phenol resin, and the fiber can preferably be glass fiber ([0058]). The glass fiber has a higher heat resistance than the polymer ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the glass fiber reinforcement of the upper insulating plate of Sugaya with the third insulating plates of Kim for the purpose of increasing the heat resistance of the insulating plates.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches that the insulator assembly provides an electrolytic solution flow path ([0029]) and has pores therein ([0038]). The pores allow electrolyte to pass, and therefore the insulator assembly is configured to absorb an electrolyte solution after being positioned on the upper part of the electrode assembly and increase in thickness.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches first insulating plates 201a/b made of a woven structure ([0058]) and teaches that the polymer fibers that make up the first insulating plates 201a/b may be formed from of various materials and may be formed of one or a mixture of two or more materials selected from the group consisting of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene (PP), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and polyvinyl chloride (PVC) ([0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the materials of PE or PTFE to obtain the benefits of the upper insulating assembly as taught by Kim.
Further, the instant application at least in claim 5, recognizes that materials of HDPE, PTFE, and silicon are heat-resistance layers. Therefore, as the combination teaches PE or PTFE as a material for the layer, the layer is a heat-resistance layer.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches the first insulating layer 201a is formed on an upper surface (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches the material can be PE and PTFE ([0031]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further teaches a lower container 124 (battery case) in which the electrode assembly 110 is housed (Fig 2). Chang further teaches a beading unit 340 positioned above the upper insulator plate and is indented in a center direction of the electrode assembly from an upper part of the upper end insulating member (Chang at [0068] and Fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches first insulating plates 201a/b made of a woven structure ([0058]) and teaches that the polymer fibers that make up the first insulating plates 201a/b may be formed from of various materials and may be formed of one or a mixture of two or more materials selected from the group consisting of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene (PP), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and polyvinyl chloride (PVC) ([0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the materials of PE or PTFE to obtain the benefits of the upper insulating assembly as taught by Kim.
Further, the instant application at least in claim 5, recognizes that materials of HDPE, PTFE, and silicon are heat-resistance layers. Therefore, as the combination teaches PE or PTFE as a material for the layer, the layer is a heat-resistance layer.
In addition, Chang further teaches a beading unit 340 positioned above the upper insulator plate (Chang at [0068] and Fig 2), and therefore the first insulating plate 201a is between the insulating layer and the beading part.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0062120) in view of Okuda et al. (WO 2014/073330, see machine translation), Chang et al. (US 2007/0154789), and Sugaya et al. (US 2017/0338463), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Song (US 2014/0302380).
Regarding claims 14-15, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kim discloses using polyethylene or polytetrafluoroethylene as a material for the insulating plates ([0031]), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose using high-density polyethylene.
Song discloses a battery unit 1 includes an electrode assembly 10 ([0053]-[0054]) with a positive terminal member 320 and negative terminal member 330 ([0069]). The terminal members 320, 330 are fixed by fixing members 340, 350 to the cap plate 310 ([0069]). The fixing members are made of an electrical insulation plastic that can be such as polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polystyrene, high density polyethylene, and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene copolymer (ABS), and others including polytetrafluoroethylene ([0070]). Therefore, Song recognizes the equivalency of high density polyethylene and polytetrafluoroethylene as insulating materials used in the cap plates of a battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use high density polyethylene as taught by Song as the polyethylene material of the insulating plates of Kim because Song recognizes the material as suitable as insulating material in a cap plate of a battery.
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0062120) in view of Okuda et al. (WO 2014/073330, see machine translation), Chang et al. (US 2007/0154789), and Sugaya et al. (US 2017/0338463), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0144563).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kim discloses using polyethylene or polytetrafluoroethylene as a material for the insulating plates ([0031]), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose using silicon.
Lee discloses a battery 1 comprising a top insulator inserted into a case (abstract). The top insulator 16 includes a disc-shaped glass fiber 161 and silicon rubber 162 applied to the surfaces of the glass fiber 161 ([0092], [0094]). The silicon rubber 162 is silicon, which has excellent heat resistance and chemical resistance ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the silicon material of the upper layer of the top insulator as taught by Lee with the first insulating plate of Kim for the purpose having a material having excellent heat resistance and chemical resistance.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0062120) in view of Okuda et al. (WO 2014/073330, see machine translation), Chang et al. (US 2007/0154789), and Sugaya et al. (US 2017/0338463), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukase et al. (US 2010/0055555).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. The nonwoven fibers 210 of the third insulating plates 203a-c are intertwined with each other ([0059]). Because the fibers 210 are nonwoven, the fibers are in random directions, and therefore are entangled [intertwined] with each without directionality.
While Kim discloses the first insulating plates 201a,b include an opening 201c as an outlet for an electrode lead [first through hole in heat-resistant film layer] and discloses the third insulating plates 203a-c have bored apertures 203d [insulating layer includes a second through hole] (see Fig 4), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first through hole overlaps the second through hole.
Fukase discloses an insulating plate 20 of a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary cell 10 interposed between a cell element 101 and a cover member 104 (abstract, Fig 13). The insulating plate 20 includes an insulating plate body 21 and filter member 22 [made of nonwoven fabric] ([0077], Fig 13). The insulating plate body 21 has injection holes 21a where electrolyte can be injected and a central hole 21b, and the filter member 22 only has central hole 22a ([0057], Figs 1A-C). The central holes 22a,21b allow for an electrode lead to pass through and electrically connect with the cover member 104 (Fig 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a common hole in all the layers of an insulating plate of Fukase with the first insulator [by adding a hole in third insulating plates 203a-c common to the opening 201c of first insulating plates 201a,b] of Kim for the purpose of allowing an outlet for an electrode lead.
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0062120) in view of Okuda et al. (WO 2014/073330, see machine translation), Fukase et al. (US 2010/0055555), and Chang et al. (US 2007/0154789).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a secondary battery 100 comprising a container 120, an electrode assembly 110, and an insulator assembly 131 and 132 wherein the first insulator 131 is mounted on the upper end and the second insulator 132 is mounted on the lower end of the electrode assembly ([0056]-[0057], Fig 2). The electrode assembly 110 has a jelly-roll structure ([0056]). The first insulator 131 is assembled to have first insulating plates 201a and 201b having a woven structure which sandwich three insulating plates 203a, 203b, and 203c that have a nonwoven structure ([0058], Fig 3). The container 120 includes a top cap 122 and a lower container 124 wherein the top cap 122 is coupled to the upper portion of the lower container 124 ([0056]).
The top cap 122 [cap assembly] is positioned over the insulator assembly 131 ([0056]); therefore Kim teaches after the positioning of the upper end insulating member, positioning a cap assembly on the battery case.
While Kim teaches that there are three insulating plates 203a-c (insulating layers) and therefore three layers of insulating plates, Kim does not explicitly disclose that these plates are an insulating layer that is folded at least once.
Okuda teaches an electrode assembly that is obtained by sequentially laminating a positive electrode 22, a separator, and a negative electrode 11, further comprising a short-circuit unit 40 that is arranged on the electrode assembly (abstract). In an embodiment, the short-circuit unit 40 comprises a [first] insulating layer 36, a [second] insulating layer 32, and a [third] insulating layer 34 that are stacked from the outside of the battery (Fig 4). The end portions of the first, second, and third insulating layers 36c, 32c, 34c protrudes outward form the side surfaces. The insulating layers 36, 34, 32 may be formed by folding one insulating sheet (Fig 4b) or as multiple insulating sheets (Fig 4a). That is, Okuda teaches that thick insulating portions can be made by stacking individual insulating sheets or by folding one insulating sheet multiple times, and therefore teaches equivalency and substitution of both methods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use folding one insulating layer as taught by Okuda with the insulating plates of Kim for the purpose of manufacturing a thick insulation portion as Okuda recognizes the structures as simple substitutions of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
While Kim teaches the insulating assembly having three insulating plates 203a-c (insulating layers) ([0059], Fig 3) and Okuda teaches folding an insulating sheet (Fig 4b), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose a first crimping of the insulating member.
Fukase discloses an insulating plate 20 of a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary cell 10 interposed between a cell element 101 and a cover member 104 (abstract, Fig 13). The insulating plate 20 includes an insulating plate body 21 and filter member 22 [made of nonwoven fabric] ([0077], Fig 13). In the manufacture, a base material 24 [for the insulating plate body 21] is fixed to filter base material 26 [for the filter member 22] by welding followed by rolling ([0070], Figs 10A-B). Therefore, either the rolling or the welding [because welding requires pressing] is considered to be a crimping step.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine either or both of the welding and rolling steps [both a type of crimping] for the insulating plate body and filter member of Fukase with the first insulator 131 [having the first insulating plates 201a-b, and third insulating plates 203a-c] of Kim for the purpose of joining the insulating plates of the first insulator together.
While Kim teaches that the top cap 122 is coupled to the upper portion of the lower container 124 ([0056]), Kim does not explicitly disclose how the top cap is coupled, and therefore does not explicitly disclose performing second crimping to couple the battery case and the cap assembly.
Chang discloses a secondary battery 100 comprising an electrode assembly 200 contained within a cylinder type case 300, an upper insulating plate 241 is positioned at the top of the electrode assembly, and a lower insulating plate 245 is positioned at the bottom of the electrode assembly (abstract). A cap assembly 400 is installed on the upper part of the case 300 to seal the case 300 and to provide electric current generated by the electrode assembly 200 to an external apparatus ([0050]). A beading unit 340 is placed between a crimping unit 330 and side plate 310, and surrounds a space formed between the cap assembly 400 and upper insulating plate ([0068], Fig 2). The beading unit 340 is recessed inward to press the lower part of cap assembly 400 ([0068], Fig 2). The crimping unit 330 and beading unit 340 press and hold the upper part of the cap assembly ([0068]) [performing second crimping to couple the battery case and the cap assembly].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the beading unit and crimping unit of the battery of Chang with the battery and top cap of Kim for the purpose of pressing and holding the upper part of the cap assembly.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches first insulating plates 201a/b made of a woven structure ([0058]) and teaches that the polymer fibers that make up the first insulating plates 201a/b may be formed from of various materials and may be formed of one or a mixture of two or more materials selected from the group consisting of polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene (PP), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and polyvinyl chloride (PVC) ([0031]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the materials of PE or PTFE to obtain the benefits of the upper insulating assembly as taught by Kim.
Further, the instant application at least in claim 5, recognizes that materials of HDPE, PTFE, and silicon are heat-resistance layers. Therefore, as the combination teaches PE or PTFE as a material for the layer, the layer is a heat-resistance layer.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim further teaches a lower container 124 (battery case) in which the electrode assembly 110 is housed (Fig 2). Chang further teaches a beading unit 340 positioned above the upper insulator plate and is indented in a center direction of the electrode assembly from an upper part of the upper end insulating member (Chang at [0068] and Fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches injecting electrolytic solution into the electrode assembly through the upper insulator ([0036]).
Regarding claims 17-19, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Kim teaches injecting electrolytic solution into the electrode assembly through the upper insulator ([0036]). While Kim does not explicitly disclose (claim 17) comprising injecting an electrolyte solution into the electrode assembly through the upper end insulating member so that the upper end insulating member absorbs the electrolyte solution and expands such that a thickness of the upper end insulating member increases, (claim 18) wherein the upper end insulating member expands in a direction away from the heat-resistant film layer, or (claim 19) comprising injecting an electrolyte solution into the electrode assembly through the upper end insulating member so that the upper end insulating member absorbs the electrolyte solution and expands so as to be fixed under the beading part.
However, Kim teaches that the material of the insulating plates is: polyethylene (PE), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polypropylene (PP), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), and/or polyvinyl chloride (PVC) ([0031]). Kim further teaches that the material includes pores ([0035]), and can absorb force and be elastically restored ([0034]). That is, Kim teaches that the materials expand and contract.
Comparatively, the instant application discloses that the non-woven fabric material is an electrically insulating material and may be “at least one of polyethylene, polybutylene, polystyrene, polyethylene terephthalate, polypropylene, glass fiber, natural rubber, and synthetic rubber” and also absorbs the electrolyte solution (published paragraphs [0038] and [0042]).
Therefore, Kim and the instant application disclose overlapping materials (e.g., polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate, and polypropylene) for the insulating plates which Kim teaches expands and contracts ([0034]). Because the materials are the same, and because Kim teaches that the material expands and contracts, the materials are considered the same or substantially the same and would similarly display the claimed properties of expanding when the electrolyte is injected, and away from the heat-resistant film layer.
Regarding claim 21, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kim discloses joining the first insulating plates 201a-b [having an opening 201c] and third insulating plates 203a-c [having bored apertures 203d] ([0033]), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the forming of the heat-resistant layer [first insulating plates 201a-b] on the insulating layer [third insulating plates 203a-c] includes (i) overlapping a fabric of the insulating layer and a fabric of the heat-resistant film layer and then performing the fabric of the insulating layer and the fabric of the heat-resistant film layer, or (ii) separately punching the fabric of the insulating layer and the fabric of the heat-resistant layer and then stacking the fabric of the insulating layer and the fabric of the heat-resistant film layer.
Fukase discloses an insulating plate 20 of a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary cell 10 interposed between a cell element 101 and a cover member 104 (abstract, Fig 13). The insulating plate 20 includes an insulating plate body 21 and filter member 22 [made of nonwoven fabric] ([0077], Fig 13). Fukase discloses an insulating plate 20 of a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary cell 10 interposed between a cell element 101 and a cover member 104 (abstract, Fig 13). The insulating plate 20 includes an insulating plate body 21 and filter member 22 [made of nonwoven fabric] ([0077], Fig 13). In the manufacture, a base material 24 [for the insulating plate body 21] is fixed to filter base material 26 [for the filter member 22] to form an insulating plate base material 27 ([0070], Fig 12). Center holes 21b are punched in the insulating plate base material 27 after the joining [which makes the center hole 21b in the insulating plate body 21, and the central hole 22a in the filter member 22] ([0071], Fig 1B and 12). That is, the two layers are overlapped, and then the two layers are perforated (option i).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the punching of center/through holes of the insulating plate after the layers are joined of Fukase with the first insulator of Kim for the purpose of providing a single punch operation to make a hole through the layers for an electrode lead to pass (see Fukase at Fig 16).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2018/0062120) in view of Okuda et al. (WO 2014/073330, see machine translation), Fukase et al. (US 2010/0055555), and Chang et al. (US 2007/0154789), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0220394, herein referred to as Kim ‘394).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Kim teaches mounting the insulator assembly 131 in the case above the electrode assembly ([0056], Fig 2), modified Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein preparing the upper end insulating member further comprises cutting the insulating layer and the heat-resistant film layer together.
Kim ‘394 discloses a secondary battery having a jelly-roll having a cathode/separator/anode structure mounted in a battery case wherein a plate-shaped insulator mounted on the top of the jelly-roll (abstract). The insulator is cut into the shape and size, allowing a predetermined pressing sheet to be inserted into a cylindrical battery case, and the insulator sheet having a woven or non-woven fabric structure is free of a bending phenomenon resulting from the pressing sheet, thus advantageously improving productivity ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the cutting of the insulator as taught by Kim ‘394 with the insulator assembly of Kim for the purpose of obtaining the shape and size necessary to fit within the case as well as having the insulator be free of a bending phenomenon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725