DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/24/2026 has been entered.
Claims 16-35 are rejected
Claims 1-15 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over “3GPP TSG-SA WG6 Meeting #37-e, E-meeting, 8 May 2020, S6-200764, Convida Wireless LCC, Solution to the Key Issue of Message Segmentation and Reassembly, 3GPP TR 23.700 v0.5.0” (hereinafter as “S6-200764”) in view of Casaccia (US 2003/0035440)
Regarding Claim 16, “S6-200764” teaches a method performed by a source node in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a message related to an application (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, step 1, an Application Server sends a message to a MSGin5G Server that targets an Application Client on a UE);
identifying whether a size of the message related to the application exceeds a maximum allowed packet size (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 2 the MSGin5G Server compares the size of the received message to the maximum allowed packet size of the access network transport of the targeted UE and detects that the size exceeds the limit);
segmenting the message related to the application into one or more segmented messages based on the maximum allowed packet size (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 2 if the size of the received message exceeds the maximum allowed packet size, then the MSGin5G Sever segments the received message into a set of segmented messages such that each segmented message can fit within an individual access network transport packet);
transmitting, to a destination node, the one or more segmented messages (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 3 the MSGin5G Server sends each segmented message to the targeted UE within an individual access network transport packet);
“S6-200764” does not explicitly teach the below limitations:
Receiving a segment recovery request message from the destination node based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments.
However Casaccia teaches the below limitations:
Receiving a segment recovery request message from the destination node based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK message is interpreted as being the segment recovery request, Fig 5A, paragraph 68, each fragment includes an SI, Fig 5B, paragraph 69, the second bit of SI (SI2) indicates the start of a segment, the third bit of SI (SI3) indicates the end of a segment, hence it is interpreted that the NAK message identifying the missing segment would do so by indicating the start and end of the segment, it is further interpreted that the list of segment range in the claim language could be one segment range, and that a segment range could be only one segment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “S6-200764” by adding a segment recovery message to indicate missing segment(s) as taught by Casaccia. Because “S6-200764” and Casaccia teach segmented messaging, and specifically Casaccia teaches segment recovery message to indicate missing segment(s) for the benefit of the analogous art of segmented message transmission (Casaccia, abstract).
Regarding Claim 17, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein the one or more segmented messages comprise a segmentation set identifier indicating the one or more segmented messages are associated with the message related to the application, and a segment sequence number, and (“S6-200764”, Table 6.X.1.2-1: Segmentation and Reassembly Information Elements, “Segmentation Set Identifier” identifies all segmented messages associated within the same set of segmented messages, “Segment Sequence Number” refers to an incrementing counter that indicates the sequence number of each segmented message within a set of segmented messages),
wherein a reassembly of the one or more segmented messages is performed based on the segmentation set identifier and the segment sequence number (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 4 the MSGin5G Client receives all the segmented messages and reassembles them into a single MSGin5G message based on the information elements defined in Table 6.X.1.2-1).
Regarding Claim 18, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach further comprising:
transmitting a segment recovery acknowledgement message to the destination node (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12, the retransmission of the segment is interpreted as the segment recovery acknowledgement message); and
transmitting the at least one missed segmented message to the destination node (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12).
Regarding Claim 19, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a segmentation set identifier indicating the at least one missed segmented message is associated with the message related to the application (“S6-200764”, Table 6.X.1.2-1: Segmentation and Reassembly Information Elements, “Segmentation Set Identifier” identifies all segmented messages associated within the same set of segmented messages, “Segment Sequence Number” refers to an incrementing counter that indicates the sequence number of each segmented message within a set of segmented messages, Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, it is interpreted that the identifying of the missing segments of Casaccia is via the identifiers from “S6-200764”).
Regarding Claim 20, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein result information of a confirmation message is determined based on whether the transmission of the at least one missed segmented message is successful (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK is interpreted as being the confirmation message).
Regarding Claim 21, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein a confirmation message comprises a segmentation set identifier indicating the one or more segmented messages are associated with the message related to the application, and result information indicating whether a reassembly of the one or more segmented messages is successful (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK message is interpreted as being the confirmation message)
Regarding Claim 22, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach further comprising:
transmitting, to the destination node, an acknowledge message related to a confirmation message (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12, the retransmission of the segment is interpreted as an acknowledgement to the NAK).
Regarding Claim 23, “S6-200764” teaches a method performed by a destination node in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a source node, one or more segmented messages associated with a message related to an application, wherein the one or more segmented messages are segmented when a size of the message related to the application exceeds a maximum allowed packet size (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 2 if the size of the received message exceeds the maximum allowed packet size, then the MSGin5G Sever segments the received message into a set of segmented messages such that each segmented message can fit within an individual access network transport packet, in step 3 the MSGin5G Server sends each segmented message to the targeted UE within an individual access network transport packet);
“S6-200764” does not explicitly teach the below limitation:
Transmitting a segment recovery request message based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments.
However Casaccia teaches the below limitation:
Transmitting a segment recovery request message based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK message is interpreted as being the segment recovery request, Fig 5A, paragraph 68, each fragment includes an SI, Fig 5B, paragraph 69, the second bit of SI (SI2) indicates the start of a segment, the third bit of SI (SI3) indicates the end of a segment, hence it is interpreted that the NAK message identifying the missing segment would do so by indicating the start and end of the segment, it is further interpreted that the list of segment range in the claim language could be one segment range, and that a segment range could be only one segment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “S6-200764” by adding a segment recovery message to indicate missing segment(s) as taught by Casaccia. Because “S6-200764” and Casaccia teach segmented messaging, and specifically Casaccia teaches segment recovery message to indicate missing segment(s) for the benefit of the analogous art of segmented message transmission (Casaccia, abstract).
Regarding Claim 24, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein the one or more segmented messages comprise a segmentation set identifier indicating the one or more segmented messages are associated with the message related to the application, and a segment sequence number (“S6-200764”, Table 6.X.1.2-1: Segmentation and Reassembly Information Elements, “Segmentation Set Identifier” identifies all segmented messages associated within the same set of segmented messages, “Segment Sequence Number” refers to an incrementing counter that indicates the sequence number of each segmented message within a set of segmented messages), and
wherein a reassembly of the one or more segmented messages is performed based on the segmentation set identifier and the segment sequence number (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 4 the MSGin5G Client receives all the segmented messages and reassembles them into a single MSGin5G message based on the information elements defined in Table 6.X.1.2-1).
.
Regarding Claim 25, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach further comprising:
receiving a segment recovery acknowledgment message to the destination node (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12, the retransmission of the segment is interpreted as the segment recovery acknowledgement message); and
receiving the at least one missed segmented message (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12).
Regarding Claim 26, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein the recovery request message comprises a segmentation set identifier indicating the at least one missed segmented message is associated with the message related to the application (“S6-200764”, Table 6.X.1.2-1: Segmentation and Reassembly Information Elements, “Segmentation Set Identifier” identifies all segmented messages associated within the same set of segmented messages, “Segment Sequence Number” refers to an incrementing counter that indicates the sequence number of each segmented message within a set of segmented messages, Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, it is interpreted that the identifying of the missing segments of Casaccia is via the identifiers from “S6-200764”).
Regarding Claim 27, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein result information of a confirmation message is determined based on whether a transmission of the at least one missed segmented message is successful (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK is interpreted as being the confirmation message).
Regarding Claim 28, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein a confirmation message comprises a segmentation set identifier indicating the one or more segmented messages are associated with the message related to the application, and result information indicating whether a reassembly of the one or more segmented messages is successful (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK message is interpreted as being the confirmation message).
Regarding Claim 29, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach further comprising:
receiving, from the destination node, an acknowledge message related to a confirmation message (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12, the retransmission of the segment is interpreted as an acknowledgement to the NAK).
Regarding Claim 30, “S6-200764” teaches a source node in a wireless communication system, the source node comprising:
a communicator (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, step 1, an Application Server sends a message to a MSGin5G Server that targets an Application Client on a UE, hence the MSGin5G Server has a transceiver to receive this message); and
at least one processor coupled to the communicator and configured to (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 2 the MSGin5G Server compares the size of the received message to the maximum allowed packet size of the access network transport of the targeted UE and detects that the size exceeds the limit, hence the MSGin5G Server has a processor to perform these actions):
receive a message related to an application (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, step 1, an Application Server sends a message to a MSGin5G Server that targets an Application Client on a UE);
identify whether a size of the message related to the application exceeds a maximum allowed packet size (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 2 the MSGin5G Server compares the size of the received message to the maximum allowed packet size of the access network transport of the targeted UE and detects that the size exceeds the limit);
segment the message related to the application into one or more segmented messages based on the maximum allowed packet size (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 2 if the size of the received message exceeds the maximum allowed packet size, then the MSGin5G Sever segments the received message into a set of segmented messages such that each segmented message can fit within an individual access network transport packet);
transmit, to a destination node, the one or more segmented messages (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 3 the MSGin5G Server sends each segmented message to the targeted UE within an individual access network transport packet);
“S6-200764” does not explicitly teach the below limitations:
Receive a segment recovery request message from the destination node based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments.
However Casaccia teaches the below limitations:
Receive a segment recovery request message from the destination node based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK message is interpreted as being the segment recovery request, Fig 5A, paragraph 68, each fragment includes an SI, Fig 5B, paragraph 69, the second bit of SI (SI2) indicates the start of a segment, the third bit of SI (SI3) indicates the end of a segment, hence it is interpreted that the NAK message identifying the missing segment would do so by indicating the start and end of the segment, it is further interpreted that the list of segment range in the claim language could be one segment range, and that a segment range could be only one segment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of “S6-200764” by adding a segment recovery message to indicate missing segment(s) as taught by Casaccia. Because “S6-200764” and Casaccia teach segmented messaging, and specifically Casaccia teaches segment recovery message to indicate missing segment(s) for the benefit of the analogous art of segmented message transmission (Casaccia, abstract).
Regarding Claim 31, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein the one or more segmented messages comprise a segmentation set identifier indicating the one or more segmented messages are associated with the message related to the application, and a segment sequence number (“S6-200764”, Table 6.X.1.2-1: Segmentation and Reassembly Information Elements, “Segmentation Set Identifier” identifies all segmented messages associated within the same set of segmented messages, “Segment Sequence Number” refers to an incrementing counter that indicates the sequence number of each segmented message within a set of segmented messages),
wherein a reassembly of the one or more segmented messages is performed based on the segmentation set identifier and the segment sequence number (“S6-200764”, Fig 6.X.1.2-1: MT MSGin5G Message Segmentation and Reassembly, in step 4 the MSGin5G Client receives all the segmented messages and reassembles them into a single MSGin5G message based on the information elements defined in Table 6.X.1.2-1).
.
Regarding Claim 32, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach the at least one processor further configured to:
transmit a segment recovery acknowledgement message to the destination node (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12, the retransmission of the segment is interpreted as the segment recovery acknowledgement message); and
transmit the at least one missed segmented message to the destination node (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12).
Regarding Claim 33, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein the recovery request message comprises a segmentation set identifier indicating the at least one missed segmented message is associated with the message related to the application (“S6-200764”, Table 6.X.1.2-1: Segmentation and Reassembly Information Elements, “Segmentation Set Identifier” identifies all segmented messages associated within the same set of segmented messages, “Segment Sequence Number” refers to an incrementing counter that indicates the sequence number of each segmented message within a set of segmented messages, Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, it is interpreted that the identifying of the missing segments of Casaccia is via the identifiers from “S6-200764”).
Regarding Claim 34, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach wherein a confirmation message comprises a segmentation set identifier indicating the one or more segmented messages are associated with the message related to the application, and result information indicating whether a reassembly of the one or more segmented messages is successful (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, the receiver receives the message from time t2 to t3, a NAK message is sent by the receiver from t3 to t4, the NAK message identifies the missing segment of the transmitted message, the NAK message is interpreted as being the confirmation message).
Regarding Claim 35, “S6-200764” and Casaccia further teach further comprising:
transmitting, to the destination node, an acknowledge message related to a confirmation message (Casaccia, Fig 9B, paragraph 83, in response to the transmitter receiving the NAK at time t11, the transmitter retransmits the segment at time t12, the retransmission of the segment is interpreted as an acknowledgement to the NAK).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been thoroughly considered but are respectfully not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Casaccia does not teach the below limitation:
Receiving a segment recovery request message from the destination node based on at least one missed segmented message among the one or more segmented messages, wherein the segment recovery request message comprises a list of segment ranges, each segment range in the list of segment ranges including a start sequence number and an end sequence number of missing segments
Casaccia teaches in Fig 9B paragraph 83 sending a NAK message indicating a missing segment that needs to be transmitted, and moreover as in Fig 5A, Fig 5B, paragraph 68, SI of fragments that indicate the start and end of a segment.
Applicant argues that Casaccia only teaches indicating an individual segment to retransmit, and not a range of segments (Remarks, page 10 second from last paragraph). However it can be interpreted that the list of segment ranges in the claim language could be one segment range, and that a segment range in the claim language could be only one segment. Therefore Applicant’s arguments are respectfully not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.N.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412