DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 8/3/26.
Claim(s) 21, 23-33, 35-42 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 24, 26-30, 32, 33-34, 26, 38 & 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2020/0220694 A1 in view of Li, US 2021/0321396 A1.
As to claim 21, Khoryaev teaches an User Equipment device (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
determine a minimum time gap between a first resource for a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) transmission of a transport block (TB) (Khoryaev, page 7, paragraph 73-74; i.e., [0073] a minimum time gap between: a UE transmission using one of the sidelink resources and HARQ feedback corresponding to the UE transmission, or the HARQ feedback corresponding to the UE transmission and a next UE transmission using another of the sidelink resources; [0074] select a set of the sidelink resources to transmit a plurality of transmissions of a transport block (TB)) and a second resource for a second HARQ transmission of the TB, wherein the minimum time gap comprises a sum of:
a first time to receive HARQ feedback;
a second time to determine whether to perform retransmission of the TB (Khoryaev, page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] The design of sidelink resource selection for feedback based NR-V2X sidelink communication and UE behavior for HARQ feedback and resource selection scheme designed for blind retransmissions ( e.g., broadcast communication without HARQ retransmissions));
a third time to perform the retransmission of the TB (Khoryaev, page 4, paragraph 41-42; i.e., [0041] sidelink resources (multiple sub-channels and slots for transmission of a TB); [0042] a chain-based resource reservation in which the resource for future retransmission is selected immediately before the preceding (re )-transmission and also considered as a reserved);
to select from the plurality of time-frequency resources, a set of sidelink (SL) resources for the retransmission of the TB based at least in part on the minimum time gap (Khoryaev, page 4, paragraph 43; i.e., [0043] a minimum time gap, N_sens_proc, may be introduced between blind retransmissions for the resource selection procedure. The minimum time gap may accommodate at least the Sidelink Control Information (SCI). The time gap may depend on UE implementation. In other embodiments, however, the time gap may be specified as a minimum value, e.g. 2, 3 slots).
But Khoyaev failed to teach the claim limitation wherein cause a physical (PHY) layer to indicate, to a medium access control (MAC) layer prior to a transmission of the TB, the minimum time gap and a candidate resource set for the retransmission of the TB, wherein the candidate resource set comprises a plurality of time-frequency resources determined based on a resource pool configuration and further based on sidelink (SL) HARQ feedback being disabled or enabled for each candidate resource of the candidate resource set; cause the MAC layer to select from the plurality of time-frequency resources of the candidate resource set, a set of SL resources for the retransmission of the TB based at least in part on the minimum time gap, wherein consecutive SL resources for the retransmission of the TB satisfy the minimum time gap.
However, Li teaches the limitation wherein cause a physical (PHY) layer to indicate, to a medium access control (MAC) layer prior to a transmission of the TB, the minimum time gap and a candidate resource set for the retransmission of the TB, wherein the candidate resource set comprises a plurality of time-frequency resources determined based on a resource pool configuration and further based on sidelink (SL) HARQ feedback being disabled or enabled for each candidate resource of the candidate resource set (Li, page 11, paragraph 284; page 15, paragraph 403-404; page 23, paragraph 491; i.e., [0284] For dynamic grant, DCI indicates the timefrequency resource allocation with the signalling format used for SCI; [0403] time gap of any two (adjacent, neighbor, or consecutive) scheduled or assigned sidelink resources is larger than or equal to the minimum time gap Z, the TX UE may determine to select (only) SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with enabled SL HARQ feedback. The TX UE may preclude or exclude from selecting SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with disabled SL HARQ feedback. The TX UE may generate a TB, which precludes or excludes from comprising or multiplexing SL data from SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with disabled SL HARQ feedback. In other words, the Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) for the Transport Block (TB) may be performed among (only) SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with enabled SL HARQ feedback. [0491] sidelink resources for retransmission of the TB with need of satisfying the minimum time gap Z, or to indicate that the TX UE requests additional or other sidelink resources for retransmission of the TB without need of satisfying the minimum time gap Z. The information may be HARQ-ACK in a location in the HARQ report); cause the MAC layer to select from the plurality of time-frequency resources of the candidate resource set, a set of SL resources for the retransmission of the TB based at least in part on the minimum time gap, wherein consecutive SL resources for the retransmission of the TB satisfy the minimum time gap (Li, page 11, paragraph 284; page 15, paragraph 403-404; i.e., [0284] For dynamic grant, DCI indicates the timefrequency resource allocation with the signalling format used for SCI; [0403] time gap of any two (adjacent, neighbor, or consecutive) scheduled or assigned sidelink resources is larger than or equal to the minimum time gap Z, the TX UE may determine to select (only) SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with enabled SL HARQ feedback. The TX UE may preclude or exclude from selecting SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with disabled SL HARQ feedback. The TX UE may generate a TB, which precludes or excludes from comprising or multiplexing SL data from SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with disabled SL HARQ feedback. In other words, the Logical Channel Prioritization (LCP) for the Transport Block (TB) may be performed among (only) SL logical channel(s) (or MAC PDU) with enabled SL HARQ feedback. In one embodiment, the LCP for the TB may be performed among (only) SL logical channel( s) ( or MAC PDU) with enabled SL HARQ feedback and with available SL data and with SBj>0); cause the MAC layer to select from the plurality of time-frequency resources of the candidate resource set, a set of SL resources for the retransmission of the TB based at least in part on the minimum time gap, wherein consecutive SL resources for the retransmission of the TB satisfy the minimum time gap (Li, page 11, paragraph 284; page 17, paragraph 427; i.e., [0284] For dynamic grant, DCI indicates the timefrequency resource allocation with the signalling format used for SCI; [0427] Additional or alternatively, if time gap of two adjacent, neighbor, or consecutive scheduled or assigned sidelink resources is larger than or equal to the minimum time gap Z, the sidelink control information in the first one or the earlier one (in time domain) of the two adjacent, neighbor, or consecutive scheduled or assigned resources may indicate RX UE to transmit SL HARQ feedback. If time gap of two adjacent, neighbor, or consecutive scheduled or assigned resources is less than the minimum time gap Z).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khoyaev to substitute different layers from Li for sidelink resource selection from Khoyaev to provide users of mobile communication devices with voice over IP, multimedia, multicast and on-demand communication services (Li, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 24, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select the first resource for the first HARQ transmission of the TB and the second resource for the second HARQ transmission of the TB based on the minimum time gap (Khoryaev, page 4, paragraph 43; i.e., [0043] a minimum time gap between: a UE transmission using one of the sidelink resources and HARQ feedback corresponding to the UE transmission, or the HARQ feedback corresponding to the UE transmission and a next UE transmission using another of the sidelink resources).
As to claim 26, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to enable HARQ feedback for the TB and to perform resource selection in response to enabling the HARQ feedback (Khoryaev, page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] The design of sidelink resource selection for feedback based NR-V2X sidelink communication and UE behavior for HARQ feedback may involve the use of an enhanced sensing and resource selection scheme to accommodate the transmission of feedback for each sidelink transmission by the UE and/or enhanced UE behavior for HARQ feedback transmission while retaining principles of sensing and resource selection scheme designed for blind retransmissions).
As to claim 27, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 26, wherein to perform the resource selection, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to switch to a resource pool containing a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel (PSFCH) resource (Khoryaev, page 3, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] HARQ-ACK (Acknowledge) or HARQNACK (Non-Acknowledge) feedback for data transmitted in the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) may be carried in the Sidelink Feedback Control Information (SFCI) format(s) via the Physical Sidelink Feedback Control Channel (PSFCH) in resource allocation).
As to claim 28, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select a retransmission mode based at least on part on the minimum time gap, wherein the retransmission mode comprises a blind retransmission mode or a HARQ feedback-based transmission (HFBT) mode (Khoryaev, page 3, paragraph 33; i.e., [0033] The design of sidelink resource selection for feedback based NR-V2X sidelink communication and UE behavior for HARQ feedback may involve the use of an enhanced sensing and resource selection scheme to accommodate the transmission of feedback for each sidelink transmission by the UE and/or enhanced UE behavior for HARQ feedback transmission while retaining principles of sensing and resource selection scheme designed for blind retransmissions).
As to claim 29, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 28, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to select the retransmission mode further based on a pattern of blind retransmissions and HARQ feedback-based transmissions, wherein a first number of retransmissions are blind retransmissions and a second number of subsequent retransmissions are HARQ feedback-based transmissions (Khoryaev, page 5, paragraph 52; i.e., [0052] resource (re )-selection assumes that for transmission of each TB, the UE selects N sidelink
resources for transmission. Each sidelink resource may be composed from multiple sub-channels and slots. In this case, resource selection may be performed before the first/initial transmission of a TB and may not change for subsequent retransmissions. One potential drawback of look-ahead based).
As to claim 30, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 28, wherein to select the retransmission mode, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from the blind retransmission mode to the HFBT mode based on Channel State Information (CSI) or on a Channel Busy Ratio (CBR) of a SL channel, or both (Khoryaev, page 3, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] a sidelink communication in NR-V2X. HARQ-ACK (Acknowledge) or HARQNACK (Non-Acknowledge) feedback for data transmitted in the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) may be carried in the Sidelink Feedback Control Information (SFCI) format(s) via the Physical Sidelink Feedback Control Channel (PSFCH) in resource allocation).
As to claim 32, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 21, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
determine a number of blind retransmissions and a number of HARQ feedback- based transmissions to satisfy a reliability requirement (Khoryaev, page 3, paragraph 32; i.e., [0032] Independent of the type of application, Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) feedback and HARQ combining in the physical layer may be used to improve the link performance of a sidelink communication in NR-V2X. HARQ-ACK (Acknowledge) or HARQNACK (Non-Acknowledge) feedback for data transmitted in the Physical Sidelink Shared Channel (PSSCH) may be carried in the Sidelink Feedback Control Information (SFCI) format(s) via the Physical Sidelink Feedback Control Channel (PSFCH) in resource allocation); and
decrease the number of blind retransmissions in response to a change in an channel congestion (Khoryaev, page 6, paragraph 64-66; i.e., [0064] When the PSFCH is configured periodically, not all slots may be the slots with an increased number of REs. in order to optimize for any combination of resource selection decision, the RV cycling sequence may provide combinations of RV2 followed by RV0 when initial transmission contains a PSFCH region and next retransmission does not contain a PSFCH region; [0065] In some embodiments, if the PSFCH is configured periodically with periodicity K>l, a UE may choose an RV cycling sequence where RV3 or RV2 is mapped to a slot(s) with a PSFCH region and RV0 is mapped to a slot(s) without a PSFCH region. [0066] Similarly, there may be cases when the PSCCH is either transmitted in a slot ( e.g., every initial transmission of a bundle)).
Claim(s) 33 & 40 is/are directed to a system and method claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 21. Therefore, claim(s) 33 & 40 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 21.
Claim(s) 36 & 38 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 24 & 27. Therefore, claim(s) 36 & 38 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 24 & 27.
Claim(s) 41 & 42 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 28 & 32. Therefore, claim(s) 41 & 42 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 28 & 32.
Claim(s) 23, 25, 31, 35, 37 & 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2020/0220694 A1 in view of Li, US 2021/0321396 A1, and further in view of Koskela, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2022/0110166 A1.
As to claim 23, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 22, wherein to determine the minimum time gap, the at least one processor is configured to cause the PHY layer to determine the minimum time gap (Khoryaev, page 4, paragraph 43; i.e., [0043] a minimum time gap, N_sens_proc, may be introduced between blind retransmissions for the resource selection procedure. The minimum
time gap may accommodate at least the Sidelink Control Information (SCI) processing time and sensing/resource selection decision time. The time gap may depend on UE implementation. In other embodiments, however, the time gap may be specified as a minimum value, e.g. 2, 3 slots).
But Khoryaev-Li failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the PHY layer to indicate, to the MAC layer, one or more candidate time slots in which SL HARQ feedback is enabled for a retransmission attempt.
However, Koskela teaches the limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the PHY layer to indicate, to the MAC layer, one or more candidate time slots in which SL HARQ feedback is enabled for a retransmission attempt (Koskela, page 1, paragraph 52-53; i.e., [0052] MAC layer implements a counter to count the BFI indications from the PHY layer. This counter may be supervised by a timer: each time MAC receives BFI indication from lower layer the timer is started; [0053] UE's PHY layer may provide candidate beam Ll-RSRP measurements to MAC layer. Network may configure UE with dedicated signaling resources (PRACH resources) that are candidate beam specific i.e. UE can indicate that a specific candidate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev-Li to substitute random resource selection from Koskela for sidelink resource selection from Khoryaev-Li to determine a beam failure instance (BFI) indication which is provided to higher layer (MAC) (Koskela, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 25, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 24. But Khoryaev-Li failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to provide a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer configured to select the first resource and the second resource.
However, Koskela teaches the limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to provide a Medium Access Control (MAC) layer configured to select the first resource and the second resource (Koskela, page 1, paragraph 52-53; i.e., [0053] UE's PHY layer may provide candidate beam Ll-RSRP measurements to MAC layer. Network may configure UE with dedicated signaling resources (PRACH resources) that are candidate beam specific i.e. UE can indicate that a specific candidate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev-Li to substitute random resource selection from Koskela for sidelink resource selection from Khoryaev-Li to determine a beam failure instance (BFI) indication which is provided to higher layer (MAC) (Koskela, page 1, paragraph 5).
As to claim 31, Khoryaev-Li teaches the UE as recited in claim 21, wherein the bitmap of slots identifies enabled blind retransmissions and enabled HARQ feedback- based transmissions.
But Khoryaev-Li failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to send a bitmap of slots from a medium access control (MAC) layer to a physical (PHY) layer.
However, Koskela teaches the limitation wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to send a bitmap of slots from a medium access control (MAC) layer to a physical (PHY) layer (Koskela, page 1, paragraph 52-53; i.e., MAC layer implements a counter to count the BFI indications from the PHY layer. This counter may be supervised by a timer: each time MAC receives BFI indication from lower layer the timer is started; [0053] UE's PHY layer may provide candidate beam Ll-RSRP measurements to MAC layer. Network may configure UE with dedicated signaling resources (PRACH resources) that are candidate beam specific i.e. UE can indicate that a specific candidate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Khoryaev-Li to substitute random resource selection from Koskela for sidelink resource selection from Khoryaev-Li to determine a beam failure instance (BFI) indication which is provided to higher layer (MAC) (Koskela, page 1, paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 35, 37 & 39 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 23, 25 & 31. Therefore, claim(s) 35, 37 & 39 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 23, 25 & 31.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 23-33, 35-42 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Wu, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210289491 A1 discloses MAC layer, MAC PDU, PHY layer, retransmitting.
Seidel, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210167897 A1 discloses PHY, MAC layer, retransmission, resource allocation.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416