This action is in response to the amendment filed 6/9/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-12, 16-17 have been amended. Claims 9, 20-28 have been canceled. Claims 1-8, 10-19 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims disclose that a first operation is received to be processed on a first file and a first floating icon is displayed for the first file in response to receiving the first operation. Then the first operation is applied to the first floating icon after receiving a second operation on the first floating icon. But, if the first floating icon is displayed in response receiving the first operation, and then the first operation is applied to the first floating icon after receiving the second operation, then two redundant and conflicting operations cause the first operation to be applied to the first floating icon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 12-14, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laird-McConnell et al. (US 2011/0035421 A1) in view of Criou et al. (US 2017/0163793 A1).
Claim 1 includes the following contradiction: the claim discloses that a first operation is received to be processed on a first file and a first floating icon is displayed for the first file in response to receiving the first operation. Then the first operation is applied to the first floating icon after receiving a second operation on the first floating icon. But, if the first floating icon is displayed in response receiving the first operation, and then the first operation is applied to the first floating icon after receiving the second operation, then two redundant and conflicting operations cause the first operation to be applied to the first floating icon.
Claim 1. Laird-McConnell discloses a file application method, comprising:
receiving, by a first terminal device, [an] operation on a first file, wherein the first file is to be processed based on the first operation, a user inputs a file name into a query field and at least one file icon is displayed that has been subject to sharing (P 0054 Fig 7) As noted above, it is unclear whether the first operation is applied to the file independent of or subsequent to application of the second operation;
displaying, by the first terminal device in response to receiving the … operation, a first floating icon representing the first file, in response to a search for a file, a file icon is displayed (P 0051 0054 Fig 5, 7); and
applying, by the first terminal device, after receiving a second operation on the first floating icon, the first operation to the first file based on the second operation, a user selects a mechanism for executing the share option, thereby executing the first operation (P 0052); and
terminating, by the first terminal device, after receiving a fourth operation on the first floating icon, or based on no second operation on the first floating icon being received within a first time period, display of the first floating icon, a user terminates a touch event to end the process (P 0026).
Laird-McConnell does not disclose receiving, by a first terminal device, a first operation on a first file; displaying, by the first terminal device in response to receiving the first operation, a first floating icon representing the first file, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Criou discloses receive user input through the user interface indicating a control command and/or data to be shared, sending the control command to a second mobile communications terminal, indicating data to be shared to the second communications terminal (P 0009) options to share data may be presented as virtual keys, possibly associated with a field for searching or browsing for the file to be shared (P 0094). Laird-McConnell discloses providing the ability to search for a file via a search field, displaying file icons in response to the search for files that have been shared, then making a share option available through a menu displayed by selecting a file icon. But Laird-McConnell does not disclose that the search field is directedly associated with the function to share the file. Criou explicitly discloses that a user input is associated to a control command to share a file to a second device, wherein options to share are presented as virtual keys associated with a field for searching for files to be shared. The combination of Criou with Laird-McConnell would provide the functionality that the search field in Laird-McConnell would include options to share the returned files represented by icons, wherein when a share option, as disclosed in Laird-McConnell, is selected, the file will be shared. Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Criou, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving, by a first terminal device, a first operation on a first file; displaying, by the first terminal device in response to receiving the first operation, a first floating icon representing the first file with the teachings of Laird-McConnell with the motivation to make Laird-McConnell consistent with the disclosure of searching for a file for the purpose of sharing the file as is explicitly stated in Laird-McConnell.
Claim 2. Laird-McConnell and Criou disclose the method according to claim 1, and Laird-McConnell, options available for executing on the file by selecting the file icon include opening the file (P 0052) in response to a query for a file, one or more files are displayed (P 0054 Fig 7), and Criou discloses, presenting includes displaying images and text (P 0090) the file to be shared is presented in a manner consistent with the type of file and a prompt is presented to a user asking to present the shared file (P 0108). Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Criou, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the second operation indicates to display the first file, and applying, by the first terminal device, the first operation to the first file based on the second operation comprises: opening and displaying, by the first terminal device, the first file. It is unclear what distinguishes the step of displaying the first file according to the second operation, and opening and displaying the first file by applying the first operation and second operation with the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Criou with the motivation to make Laird-McConnell consistent with the disclosure of searching for a file for the purpose of sharing the file as is explicitly stated in Laird-McConnell.
Claim 3. Laird-McConnell and Criou disclose the method according to claim 1, and Laird-McConnell discloses wherein the second operation indicates to share the first file with a second application (APP), the first file is a file of a first APP, and the first APP and the second APP are APPs installed in the first terminal device; and wherein applying, by the first terminal device, the first operation to the first file based on the second operation comprises: sharing, by the first terminal device, the first file with the second APP, upon selection of the file icon, a menu with an option to share the related file using different selectable applications is displayed (P 0052).
Claim 8. Laird-McConnell and Criou disclose the method according to claim 1, and Laird-McConnell disclose storing, after processing on the first file is completed, a processed first file in a database; wherein applying, by the first terminal device, the first operation to the first file based on the second operation comprises: applying, by the first terminal device, the first file in the database, alterations or comments may be automatically synchronized from the file on the server to the file retained on the personal computing device of the user (P 0007) comments made to a file are synchronized to cloud storage (P 0042) and a copy of the file is stored in the cloud (P 0045) and users may edit the file stored in the cloud and edit are automatically uploaded (P 0046) when a user of a first computer updates content, through a synchronization component, the update is automatically reflected in the cloud and shared with users when the modifying user indicates should be reflected (P 0048) 0048) .
Claim 9. canceled.
Claim(s) 12, 13, 14, 19 is/are directed to file application apparatus claim(s) similar to the file application method claim(s) of Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claims 20-28. (Cancelled)
Claim(s) 4-5, 10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laird-McConnell et al. (US 2011/0035421 A1) in view of Criou et al. (US 2017/0163793 A1) and further in view of Chang et al. (US 2010/0262673 A1).
Claim 4. Laird-McConnell and Criou disclose the method according to claim 1, but Laird-McConnell does not disclose wherein a third application (APP) of a second terminal device is displayed in a sharing window of the first terminal device, and the second operation indicates to share the first file with the third APP; and wherein applying, by the first terminal device, the first operation to the first file based on the second operation comprises: transmitting, by the first terminal device, a first instruction and the first file to the second terminal device, wherein the first instruction instructs to share the first file with the third APP, as disclosed in the claims. However, Laird-McConnell discloses a window for selecting an app for sharing the file with a second user device (P 0052 Fig 5). In the same field of invention, Chang discloses windows for a first terminal and a second terminal are displayed on a device screen, and a user is able to drag and drop a file to transfer the file from the first terminal to the second terminal (P 0486 Fig 42) wherein the window for the second terminal includes an application to operate on the file (P 0507-0517 Fig 48-51). Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell, Criou and Chang, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein a third application (APP) of a second terminal device is displayed in a sharing window of the first terminal device, and the second operation indicates to share the first file with the third APP; and wherein applying, by the first terminal device, the first operation to the first file based on the second operation comprises: transmitting, by the first terminal device, a first instruction and the first file to the second terminal device, wherein the first instruction instructs to share the first file with the third APP with the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Criou with the motivation to provide an intuitive user interface for sharing files.
Claim 5. Laird-McConnell and Criou disclose the method according claim1, but Laird-McConnell does not disclose receiving, by the first terminal device, a third operation on a second floating icon in a sharing window, wherein the second floating icon is an icon of a second file of a third terminal device, and the third operation indicates to share the second file in a fourth application (APP} of the first terminal device; transmitting, by the first terminal device, a second instruction to the third terminal device based on the third operation, wherein the second instruction instructs to share the second file with the first terminal device; and sharing, by the first terminal device, after receiving the second file, the second file in the fourth APP, as disclosed in the claims. However, Laird-McConnell discloses a window for selecting an app for sharing the file with a second user device (P 0052 Fig 5). In the same field of invention, Chang discloses windows for a first terminal and a second terminal are displayed on a device screen, and a user is able to drag and drop a file to transfer the file from the first terminal to the second terminal (P 0486 Fig 42) wherein the window for the second terminal includes an application to operate on the file (P 0507-0517 Fig 48-51). Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell, Criou and Chang, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving, by the first terminal device, a third operation on a second floating icon in a sharing window, wherein the second floating icon is an icon of a second file of a third terminal device, and the third operation indicates to share the second file in a fourth application (APP} of the first terminal device; transmitting, by the first terminal device, a second instruction to the third terminal device based on the third operation, wherein the second instruction instructs to share the second file with the first terminal device; and sharing, by the first terminal device, after receiving the second file, the second file in the fourth APP with the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Criou with the motivation to provide an intuitive user interface for sharing files.
Claim 10. Laird-McConnell discloses a file application method, comprising:
receiving, by a second terminal device, a first instruction and a first file that are transmitted by a first terminal device, a file is shared from a first computer to a second computer and an icon of the file is displayed on the desktop of the second computer with a message that the sharing user has shared the file (P 0055),
wherein a third application (APP) of the second terminal device is displayed …, a message is displayed on the second computer (P 0055),
receiving, by the second terminal device, an operation of opening the third APP … ; opening, by the second terminal device, the third APP in response to receiving the operation of opening the third APP, once a mechanism for sharing the file has been chosen, a URI that has been assigned to the file can be transmitted by the way of the selected application(s), such that another individual can access the file or a preview thereof (P 0052), an APP is used to access or preview the file shared with the device to which the URI has been transmitted for sharing, and
sharing, by the second terminal device, the first file with the third APP …, a graphic icon for a file is displayed on the interface of a computer and displays a menu for sharing the file (P 0051-0052 Fig 5). It is clear that the file icon can be displayed either in response to a query (P 0054 Fig 7) or as a result of sharing from a first computer (P 0055 Fig 8)., but Laird-McConnell does not explicitly disclose that file icon of Fig 5 is displayed according to paragraphs 0054 and 0055.
Laird-McConnell does not disclose wherein a third application (APP) of the second terminal device is displayed in a sharing window of the first terminal device; the first instruction instructs to share the first file with the third APP; and sharing, by the second terminal device, the first file with the third APP according to the first instruction; receiving, by the second terminal device, an operation of opening the third APP in the sharing window of the first terminal device; wherein an interface of the third APP is displayed in the sharing window of the first terminal device, and the first file is received by the interface of the third APP displayed in the sharing window of the first terminal device, as disclosed in the claims. However, Laird-McConnell discloses a window for selecting an app for sharing the file with a second user device (P 0052 Fig 5) if a user of a second device shares a file with a user of a first device, a message is displayed on the first device indicating the second device shared a file with the first device, and the user of the first device may select the message to open a file folder including representing the shared files (P 0055 Fig 8). In the same field of invention, Criou discloses a second terminal sends data to a first terminal, the first terminal compiles the data and presents it to a user, the user applies an input including a control command and data to be shared with the second terminal, then sharing data from the first terminal to the second terminal, and the second terminal presents the shared data (P 0014). Furthermore, Chang discloses a first terminal displays icons for files and the first terminal generates notifications to a second terminal for the files and corresponding icons are displayed on the second terminal (P 0388-0389) menus are displayed on the second terminal to operate on each corresponding file (P 0392) a user selects a menu on the second terminal and a request signal is transmitted to the first terminal for the function (P 0393) then the first terminal executes content corresponding to the menu and transmits information according to the file to the second terminal (P 0394) and the corresponding information is displayed on the second terminal (P 0395) if a user selects a further information from the file, the second terminal transmits a request to the first terminal (P 0397) and the first terminal executes a function for the selected information and transmits further information to the second terminal (P 0398) windows for a first terminal and a second terminal are displayed on a device screen, and a user is able to drag and drop a file to transfer the file from the first terminal to the second terminal (P 0486 Fig 42) wherein the window for the second terminal includes an application to operate on the file (P 0507-0517 Fig 48-51). Laird-McConnell discloses that a notification is sent from a sharing device to a device with which a file is shared, and a message is displayed that allows access to the shared files. It is clear that the shared files are at least accessible on each device. Criou discloses that a second device transmits data to a first device and the first device determines that a share command is executed based on the data it receives from the second device, then the share command is executed on the first device to share data with the second device. Criou does not disclose that the data shared from the first device is displayed on the first device. Chang discloses that share windows are displayed on both the first and second devices. Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell, Criou and Chang, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein a third application (APP) of the second terminal device is displayed in a sharing window of the first terminal device; the first instruction instructs to share the first file with the third APP; and sharing, by the second terminal device, the first file with the third APP according to the first instruction; receiving, by the second terminal device, an operation of opening the third APP in the sharing window of the first terminal device; wherein an interface of the third APP is displayed in the sharing window of the first terminal device, and the first file is received by the interface of the third APP displayed in the sharing window of the first terminal device with the teachings of Laird-McConnell with the motivation to provide an intuitive user interface for sharing files.
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are directed to file application apparatus claim(s) similar to the file application method claim(s) of Claim(s) 4, 5 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6-7, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laird-McConnell et al. (US 2011/0035421 A1) in view of Criou et al. (US 2017/0163793 A1) and further in view of Avadhanam (US 2012/0254746 A1).
Claim 6. Laird-McConnell and Criou disclose the method according claim1, but Laird-McConnell does not disclose further comprising, before the displaying, by the first terminal device, a first floating icon of the first file:determining, by a first terminal device, that the first application (APP) is a target APP, wherein the first file is a file of the first APP, and a file of the target APP comprises an editable file, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Avadhanam discloses files are identified as valid shareable files (P 0029) according to a criteria for sharing (P 0031) wherein shareable files are returned from a query (P 0038). Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell, Criou and Avadhanam, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine further comprising, before the displaying, by the first terminal device, a first floating icon of the first file:determining, by a first terminal device, that the first application (APP) is a target APP, wherein the first file is a file of the first APP, and a file of the target APP comprises an editable file with the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Criou with the motivation to provide an intuitive user interface for sharing files.
Laird-McConnell discloses determining, by the first terminal device, after determining that the first APP is a target APP, by monitoring a processing status of the first file, that processing on the first file is completed, the file is automatically uploaded to a server (P 0006) alterations or comments may be automatically synchronized from the file on the server to the file retained on the personal computing device of the user (P 0007) a user edits a file and automatically transmitted to another computer to be modified, and the modification are automatically uploaded to the server (P 0046) when a user of a first computer updates content, through a synchronization component, the update is automatically reflected in the cloud and shared with users when the modifying user indicates should be reflected (P 0048) a user chooses to save a file in a repository (P 0060) an indication that a user wishes to share the file with an identified user (P 0062) initiate an action that facilitates transmittal of the URL of the file to the identified user (P 0063). It is clear that a file may be a file is shared upon completion of an update.
Claim 7. Laird-McConnell, Criou and Avadhanam disclose the method according to claim 6, and Laird-McConnell discloses wherein determining, by the first terminal device, that the first APP is a target APP comprises: determining, by the first terminal device, information about the first APP based on an installation package of the first APP; and determining, by the first terminal device, based on the information about the first APP indicating that a file of the first APP comprises an editable file, or based on the information about the first APP indicating that the first APP is an APP comprised in a target application list, that the first APP is a target APP, wherein the target application list comprises at least one target APP, the sharer component initiates an application utilized to transmit a URI to a personal computing device used by an individual with whom the file is desirably shared, including a text messaging application, an instant messaging application, a web-based broadcasting application, or other suitable application in connection with causing the URI to be transmitted/received by the user of the personal computing device (P 0033) wherein a web browser is installed that is initiated to be used with the URI corresponding to the file (P 0034) hovering over the option to share the file, a graphical icon can be displayed that presents a plurality of selectable applications pertaining to a manner in which the file can be shared with others (P 0052). Clearly, the applications initiated for sending the URI of the and for sharing the file are both appropriate for sharing and are installed.
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are directed to file application apparatus claim(s) similar to the file application method claim(s) of Claim(s) 6,7 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laird-McConnell et al. (US 2011/0035421 A1) in view of Chang et al. (US 2010/0262673 A1).
Claim 11. Laird-McConnell discloses a file application method, comprising:
displaying, by a third terminal device, a second floating icon of a second file in response to receiving an operation on the second file, a file icon is displayed in response to a query on the file name, wherein the file has been subject to sharing (P 0051 0054 Fig 5, 7) Paragraph 0054 does not limit the functions that can be performed on a displayed icon, and the embodiment of a query on files subject to sharing that have been edited by other users in only an exemplary embodiment, furthermore, Paragraph 0054 does not exclude selecting sharing options in the embodiment in Paragraph 51 and Figure 5;
receiving, by the third terminal device, a second instruction …, the second instruction instructs to share the second file with the first terminal device, a user selects a mechanism for executing the share option, thereby executing the first operation (P 0052); and
transmitting, by the third terminal device, the second file to the first terminal device according to the second instruction, upon selection of a share option, a URI of the shared file is transmitted to computer with which the file is to be shared (P 0052).
Laird-McConnell does not disclose receiving, by the third terminal device, a second instruction transmitted by a first terminal device, wherein the second floating icon is displayed in a sharing window of the first terminal device, as disclosed in the claims. The examiner notes that, while Criou, relied upon for the rejections of Claims 1 and 10, is not relied upon for the rejection of Claim 11, Criou discloses a second terminal sends data to a first terminal, the first terminal compiles the data and presents it to a user, the user applies an input including a control command and data to be shared with the second terminal, then sharing data from the first terminal to the second terminal, and the second terminal presents the shared data (P 0014). Laird-McConnell discloses a window for selecting an app for sharing the file with a second user device (P 0052 Fig 5) if a user of a second device shares a file with a user of a first device, a message is displayed on the first device indicating the second device shared a file with the first device, and the user of the first device may select the message to open a file folder including representing the shared files (P 0055 Fig 8). In the same field of invention, Chang discloses a first terminal displays icons for files and the first terminal generates notifications to a second terminal for the files and corresponding icons are displayed on the second terminal (P 0388-0389) menus are displayed on the second terminal to operate on each corresponding file (P 0392) a user selects a menu on the second terminal and a request signal is transmitted to the first terminal for the function (P 0393) then the first terminal executed content corresponding to the menu and transmits information according to the file to the second terminal (P 0394) and the corresponding information is displayed on the second terminal (P 0395) if a user selects a further information from the file, the second terminal transmits a request to the first terminal (P 0397) and the first terminal executes a function for the selected information and transmits further information to the second terminal (P 0398) windows for a first terminal and a second terminal are displayed on a device screen, and a user is able to drag and drop a file to transfer the file from the first terminal to the second terminal (P 0486 Fig 42) wherein the window for the second terminal includes an application to operate on the file (P 0507-0517 Fig 48-51). Therefore, considering the teachings of Laird-McConnell and Chang, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine receiving, by the third terminal device, a second instruction transmitted by a first terminal device, wherein the second floating icon is displayed in a sharing window of the first terminal device with the teachings of Laird-McConnell with the motivation to provide an intuitive user interface for sharing files.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues:
The rejections are respectfully traversed in light of the foregoing amendments. Specifically, independent claims 1 and 12 are amended to recite displaying a first floating icon representing the first file in response to receiving the first operation, and also "terminating, by the first terminal device, after receiving a fourth operation on the first floating icon, or based on no second operation on the first floating icon being received within a first time period, display of the first floating icon". The later clause is incorporated from dependent claims 9 and 20.
With respect to independent claims 1 and 12, the claims are allowable over the cited art for the following reasons:
First, the cited combination of Laird-McConnell in view of Criou do not disclose a floating icon representing the first file. Rather, Laird-McConnell discloses in Fig. 5 a box 502 denoted in the specification as an icon of a file. Laird-McConnell, [0051]. There is no suggestion that this icon can be moved around or is anything other than static. Likewise, the menus (506, 508) are described as graphical icons, but are not representing the first file, and are likewise not described as being capable of being moved. Id., [0052]. A person skilled in the art would not understand Laird-McConnell to disclose a floating icon.
Second, neither Laird-McConnell nor Criou disclose that the icon of the file (502) is displayed in response to receiving a first operation. Rather, the cited art simply assumes that the file icon exists in some fashion on the interface independent of any particular first operation. This deficiency is further highlighted by the Office's observation that Laird-McConnell does not disclose receipt of a first operation, and instead needs to cite to Criou.
Third, neither Laird-McConnell nor Criou disclose terminating display of the first floating icon, in any circumstance. As discussed above, Laird-McConnell (the reference the Office specifically cites against dependent claim 9) discloses a file icon that is effectively static, and does not disclose either how the icon is generated, or that the icon is not displayed. To the extent that the Office was construing the menus triggered from an action on the file icon, as discussed above, the menus do not represent the first file; Laird thus fails to teach or disclose terminating display of the first floating icon.
With respect to independent claims 10 and 11, the rejections are respectfully traversed in light of the foregoing amendments.
Considering independent claim 10, claim 10 has been amended to recite "receiving, by the second terminal device, an operation of opening the third APP in the sharing window of the first terminal device" and "opening, by the second terminal device, the third APP in response to receiving the operation of opening the third APP, wherein an interface of the third APP is displayed in the sharing window of the first terminal device, and the first file is received by the interface of the third APP displayed in the sharing window of the first terminal device".
The closest art is Chang. Assuming for the sake of argument only that Chang discloses a sharing window of a second terminal device being displayed on a first terminal device, Chang nevertheless fails to disclose receiving an operation of opening the third APP in the sharing window of the first terminal device, then displaying an interface of the third APP in the sharing window, and then receiving the first file by the interface of the third APP displayed in the sharing window.
Considering independent claim 11, claim 11 has been amended to recite displaying, by a third terminal device, a second floating icon of a second file in response to receiving an operation on the second file. Neither Laird-McConnell nor Chang disclose these limitations. As discussed above with respect to independent claims 1 and 12, Laird-McConnel simply fails to disclose any sort of floating icon, let alone displaying a floating icon in response to receiving an operation on a second file. Chang fails to correct this deficiency.
Claims 9 and 20 have been canceled, rendering their rejections moot. The remaining claims depend from and add further features to one of the independent claims. It is respectfully submitted that these dependent claims are allowable by reason of depending from an allowable claim, as well as for adding new features, and that it is not necessary to separately address these dependent claims at this time.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted above, Claim 1 includes the following contradiction: the claim discloses that a first operation is received to be processed on a first file and a first floating icon is displayed for the first file in response to receiving the first operation. Then the first operation is applied to the first floating icon after receiving a second operation on the first floating icon. But, if the first floating icon is displayed in response receiving the first operation, and then the first operation is applied to the first floating icon after receiving the second operation, then two redundant and conflicting operations cause the first operation to be applied to the first floating icon.
Laird-McConnell discloses a user may perform a search on a file and an icon of the file is returned. The embodiment of Paragraph 0054 does not restrict the search to shared files edited by other users, and does not preclude the sharing option from be selected per Paragraph 0051 and 0052. Laird-McConnell discloses that once shared, a URI of a file is transmitted to a second device so the file may be accessed or previewed on the second device. If a second user shares a file with a first user, a notification message is displayed to the first user such that the first user may access the file folder containing the shared file by selecting the message notification.
A user may terminate the selected process by a touch event, which satisfied the claim limitation terminating, by the first terminal device, after receiving a fourth operation on the first floating icon.
Criou discloses receive user input through the user interface indicating a control command and/or data to be shared, sending the control command to a second mobile communications terminal, indicating data to be shared to the second communications terminal (P 0009) options to share data may be presented as virtual keys, possibly associated with a field for searching or browsing for the file to be shared (P 0094). Laird-McConnell discloses providing the ability to search for a file via a search field, displaying file icons in response to the search for files that have been shared, then making a share option available through a menu displayed by selecting a file icon. But Laird-McConnell does not disclose that the search field is directedly associated with the function to share the file. Criou explicitly discloses that a user input is associated to a control command to share a file to a second device, wherein options to share are presented as virtual keys associated with a field for searching for files to be shared. The combination of Criou with Laird-McConnell would provide the functionality that the search field in Laird-McConnell would include options to share the returned files represented by icons, wherein when a share option, as disclosed in Laird-McConnell, is selected, the file will be shared.
Claim 12 is rejected with the same rationale used to reject Claim 1
With respect to Claim 10, However, Laird-McConnell discloses a window for selecting an app for sharing the file with a second user device (P 0052 Fig 5) if a user of a second device shares a file with a user of a first device, a message is displayed on the first device indicating the second device shared a file with the first device, and the user of the first device may select the message to open a file folder including representing the shared files (P 0055 Fig 8). In the same field of invention, Criou discloses a second terminal sends data to a first terminal, the first terminal compiles the data and presents it to a user, the user applies an input including a control command and data to be shared with the second terminal, then sharing data from the first terminal to the second terminal, and the second terminal presents the shared data (P 0014). Furthermore, Chang discloses a first terminal displays icons for files and the first terminal generates notifications to a second terminal for the files and corresponding icons are displayed on the second terminal (P 0388-0389) menus are displayed on the second terminal to operate on each corresponding file (P 0392) a user selects a menu on the second terminal and a request signal is transmitted to the first terminal for the function (P 0393) then the first terminal executes content corresponding to the menu and transmits information according to the file to the second terminal (P 0394) and the corresponding information is displayed on the second terminal (P 0395) if a user selects a further information from the file, the second terminal transmits a request to the first terminal (P 0397) and the first terminal executes a function for the selected information and transmits further information to the second terminal (P 0398) windows for a first terminal and a second terminal are displayed on a device screen, and a user is able to drag and drop a file to transfer the file from the first terminal to the second terminal (P 0486 Fig 42) wherein the window for the second terminal includes an application to operate on the file (P 0507-0517 Fig 48-51). Laird-McConnell discloses that a notification is sent from a sharing device to a device with which a file is shared, and a message is displayed that allows access to the shared files. It is clear that the shared files are at least accessible on each device. Criou discloses that a second device transmits data to a first device and the first device determines that a share command is executed based on the data it receives from the second device, then the share command is executed on the first device to share data with the second device. Criou does not disclose that the data shared from the first device is displayed on the first device. Chang discloses that share windows are displayed on both the first and second devices.
With respect to Claim 11, The examiner notes that, while Criou, relied upon for the rejections of Claims 1 and 10, is not relied upon for the rejection of Claim 11, Criou discloses a second terminal sends data to a first terminal, the first terminal compiles the data and presents it to a user, the user applies an input including a control command and data to be shared with the second terminal, then sharing data from the first terminal to the second terminal, and the second terminal presents the shared data (P 0014). Laird-McConnell discloses a window for selecting an app for sharing the file with a second user device (P 0052 Fig 5) if a user of a second device shares a file with a user of a first device, a message is displayed on the first device indicating the second device shared a file with the first device, and the user of the first device may select the message to open a file folder including representing the shared files (P 0055 Fig 8). In the same field of invention, Chang discloses a first terminal displays icons for files and the first terminal generates notifications to a second terminal for the files and corresponding icons are displayed on the second terminal (P 0388-0389) menus are displayed on the second terminal to operate on each corresponding file (P 0392) a user selects a menu on the second terminal and a request signal is transmitted to the first terminal for the function (P 0393) then the first terminal executed content corresponding to the menu and transmits information according to the file to the second terminal (P 0394) and the corresponding information is displayed on the second terminal (P 0395) if a user selects a further information from the file, the second terminal transmits a request to the first terminal (P 0397) and the first terminal executes a function for the selected information and transmits further information to the second terminal (P 0398) windows for a first terminal and a second terminal are displayed on a device screen, and a user is able to drag and drop a file to transfer the file from the first terminal to the second terminal (P 0486 Fig 42) wherein the window for the second terminal includes an application to operate on the file (P 0507-0517 Fig 48-51).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 9/28/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145