DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2021/0296605 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a light emitting device, wherein the light emitting device comprises: a substrate (a substrate under 110, not shown), and a luminescent layer (150) and an additional component (140) that are provided on one side of the substrate (a top side of the substrate), the additional component is capable of having a chemical reaction with water and oxygen, and a reaction rate constant of the additional component with water and oxygen is greater than a reaction rate constant of the luminescent layer with water and oxygen (for example, 140 formed of alkali metal such as Li and 150 having quantum dots 151 formed of group II-VI binary semiconductor compound such as ZnSe are compared. It is noted that Li of alkali metal reacts with both water and oxygen much faster than binary semiconductor ZnSe does since Li reacts vigorously with water while ZnSe is insoluble in water and Li rapidly oxidizes in oxygen while ZnSe slowly reacts with oxygen) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 46-118); and the additional component is provided in a same layer as the luminescent layer and/or in a different layer from the luminescent layer (140 is provided in a different layer from 150) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches wherein a material of the additional component comprises at least one of a metal, a metal oxide and an organometallic compound (140 formed of alkali metal such as Li) (paragraphs 47-52).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches wherein a material of the additional component comprises at least one of an organic compound of lithium, an organic compound of sodium, an organic compound of zinc, an organic compound of cadmium, an organic compound of iron and an organic compound of titanium (for example, instead of 140 formed of alkali metal such as Li, 140 formed of alkali metal complex such as lithium quinolate (Liq) and 150 having quantum dots 151 formed of group II-VI binary semiconductor compound such as ZnSe are compared. It is noted that Liq as an organic compound of lithium reacts with both water and oxygen much faster than binary semiconductor ZnSe does since Liq has fast reaction with water while ZnSe is insoluble in water and Liq oxidizes fast in oxygen while ZnSe slowly reacts with oxygen) (paragraphs 47-59).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches wherein a thickness of the additional component is greater than or equal to 0.1 nm, and less than or equal to 10 nm (paragraph 70).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches wherein the luminescent layer comprises an organic luminescent material or a quantum dot (paragraphs 79-85).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches wherein the light emitting device further comprises at least one of a first electrode (110), a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, a second electrode, an optical-extraction layer and an encapsulation layer (paragraph 115); the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer are arranged in stack on one side of the substrate, and the first electrode is close to the substrate; or the first electrode, the electron injection layer, the electron transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the hole transporting layer, the hole injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer are arranged in stack on the one side of the substrate, and the first electrode is close to the substrate (Fig. 1, 110 is close to the substrate); and the position of the additional component includes at least one of: provided between at least one group of neighboring film layers among the substrate, the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer, provided on one side of the encapsulation layer that is away from the substrate, and doped in at least one of the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer (Fig. 1, 140 is provided between 110 and 190).
Regarding claim 13, Park teaches a light emitting apparatus, wherein the light emitting apparatus comprises the light emitting device according to claim 1 (paragraph 2 and see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches a fabricating method of a light emitting device, wherein the fabricating method comprises: providing a substrate (a substrate under 110, not shown) (paragraph 118-119); and forming a luminescent layer (150) and an additional component (140) on one side of the substrate (a top side of the substate) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 77-78 and 152-153), wherein the additional component is capable of having a chemical reaction with water and oxygen, and a reaction rate constant of the additional component with water and oxygen is greater than a reaction rate constant of the luminescent layer with water and oxygen (for example, 140 formed of alkali metal such as Li and 150 having quantum dots 151 formed of group II-VI binary semiconductor compound such as ZnSe are compared. It is noted that Li of alkali metal reacts with both water and oxygen much faster than binary semiconductor ZnSe does since Li reacts vigorously with water while ZnSe is insoluble in water and Li rapidly oxidizes in oxygen while ZnSe slowly reacts with oxygen) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 46-118); wherein the additional component is provided in a same layer as the luminescent layer and/or in a different layer from the luminescent layer (140 is provided in a different layer from 150) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Park teaches wherein the step of forming the luminescent layer and the additional component on the one side of the substrate comprises at least one of: providing a first solution containing a material of the additional component, and coating the first solution by spin coating, spray coating or blade coating, to form the additional component; forming the additional component by vapor deposition; and forming the additional component by sputtering (paragraphs 77-78 and 152-153).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung et al. (US 2021/0226172 A1; hereinafter “Chung”).
Regarding claim 1, Chung teaches a light emitting device, wherein the light emitting device comprises: a substrate (100), and a luminescent layer (140 including 141 such as quantum dots) and an additional component (a second ligand attached to 141) that are provided on one side of the substrate (a top side of 100), the additional component is capable of having a chemical reaction with water and oxygen, and a reaction rate constant of the additional component with water and oxygen is greater than a reaction rate constant of the luminescent layer with water and oxygen (for example, the second ligand formed of polyvalent metal such as diethyl zinc would have reaction with water and oxygen greater than 141 of 140 formed of ZnSe since these are identical materials to those of the invention in claim 6 reciting diethyl zinc claim 8 reciting quantum dot with paragraph 69 disclosing the quantum dot such as ZnSe) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 64-134); and the additional component is provided in a same layer as the luminescent layer and/or in a different layer from the luminescent layer (the second ligand is in a same layer as 140) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Chung teaches wherein the additional component and the luminescent layer are arranged in the same layer (Fig. 1), the additional component and the luminescent layer are mixed (Fig. 1), and a molar volume fraction of the luminescent layer is greater than a molar volume fraction of the additional component (paragraphs 116-140. For example, the second ligand is attached to 141 located in 140 with an amount of the second ligand about 1 wt% based on a total weight of 141).
Regarding claim 4, Chung teaches wherein a material of the additional component comprises at least one of a metal, a metal oxide and an organometallic compound (paragraphs 130-134. For example, the second ligand formed of polyvalent metal such as diethyl zinc).
Regarding claim 5, Chung teaches wherein the material of the additional component comprises at least one of an organic compound of lithium, an organic compound of sodium, an organic compound of zinc, an organic compound of cadmium, an organic compound of iron and an organic compound of titanium (paragraphs 130-134. For example, the second ligand formed of polyvalent metal such as diethyl zinc).
Regarding claim 6, Chung teaches wherein the material of the additional component comprises at least one of diethyl zinc, dimethyl zinc, dibutyl zinc, diphenyl zinc, diethyl cadmium, dimethyl cadmium, dibutyl cadmium, diphenyl cadmium, butyl lithium, tert-butyl lithium, methyl lithium and benzyl lithium (paragraphs 130-134. For example, the second ligand formed of polyvalent metal such as diethyl zinc).
Regarding claim 8, Chung teaches wherein the luminescent layer comprises an organic luminescent material or a quantum dot (paragraph 96).
Regarding claim 9, Chung teaches wherein the light emitting device further comprises at least one of a first electrode (110), a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, a second electrode (170), an optical-extraction layer and an encapsulation layer (paragraph 65); the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer are arranged in stack on one side of the substrate, and the first electrode is close to the substrate; or the first electrode, the electron injection layer, the electron transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the hole transporting layer, the hole injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer are arranged in stack on the one side of the substrate, and the first electrode is close to the substrate (Fig. 1, 110 is close to 100); and the position of the additional component includes at least one of: provided between at least one group of neighboring film layers among the substrate, the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer, provided on one side of the encapsulation layer that is away from the substrate, and doped in at least one of the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer and the encapsulation layer (Fig. 1 and paragraph 116-117. For example, the second ligand is between 110 and 170 or the second ligand in a mixed solution for forming 141 attached with the second ligand in 140).
Regarding claim 12, Chung teaches wherein the light emitting device comprises the electron transporting layer, a material of the electron transporting layer comprises a compound of a first metal (Zn of ZnO) (paragraph 154), and a material of the additional component doped in the luminescent layer comprises at least one of the first metal, an oxide of the first metal and an organic compound of the first metal (paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 13, Chung teaches a light emitting apparatus, wherein the light emitting apparatus comprises the light emitting device according to claim 1 (paragraph 2 and see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 14, Chung teaches a fabricating method of a light emitting device, wherein the fabricating method comprises: providing a substrate (100) (Fig. 1 and paragraph 70-71); and forming a luminescent layer (140 including 141 such as quantum dots) and an additional component (a second ligand attached to 141) on one side of the substrate (a top side of 100) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs ), wherein the additional component is capable of having a chemical reaction with water and oxygen, and a reaction rate constant of the additional component with water and oxygen is greater than a reaction rate constant of the luminescent layer with water and oxygen (for example, the second ligand formed of polyvalent metal such as diethyl zinc would have reaction with water and oxygen greater than 141 of 140 formed of ZnSe since these are identical materials to those of the invention in claim 6 reciting diethyl zinc claim 8 reciting quantum dot with paragraph 69 disclosing the quantum dot such as ZnSe) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 64-134); wherein the additional component is provided in a same layer as the luminescent layer and/or in a different layer from the luminescent layer (the second ligand is in a same layer as 140) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Chung teaches wherein the step of forming the luminescent layer and the additional component on the one side of the substrate comprises at least one of: providing a first solution containing a material of the additional component, and coating the first solution by spin coating, spray coating or blade coating, to form the additional component; forming the additional component by vapor deposition; and forming the additional component by sputtering (paragraphs 116-117 and 149).
Regarding claim 16, Chung teaches wherein the light emitting device further comprises at least one of a first electrode (110), a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, a second electrode, an optical-extraction layer and an encapsulation layer (paragraph 65); the light emitting device comprises a third functional layer (140), the third functional layer is the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer (140), the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer, the second electrode, the optical-extraction layer or the encapsulation layer, and the third functional layer is doped by the additional component (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 64-131); and the step of forming the luminescent layer and the additional component on the one side of the substrate comprises at least one of: providing a second solution (a mixed solution) containing a material of the third functional layer (a material for 141) and a material of the additional component (the second ligand), and coating the second solution by spin coating, spray coating or blade coating, to form the additional component doped in the third functional layer; by vapor deposition, vapor-depositing the material of the third functional layer and the material of the additional component at the same time, to form the additional component doped in the third functional layer; and by sputtering, sputtering the material of the third functional layer and the material of the additional component at the same time, to form the additional component doped in the third functional layer (paragraphs 116-117 and 149).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung.
Regarding claim 10, Chung teaches wherein the light emitting device comprises a first functional layer (140), and the first functional layer is the first electrode, the hole injection layer, the hole transporting layer, the luminescent layer, the electron transporting layer, the electron injection layer or the second electrode (paragraph 65); and the first functional layer is doped by the additional component (Fig. 1 and paragraph 116-117).
While Chung does not explicitly teach that a doping proportion of the additional component in the first functional layer in a numerical value as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the concentration/proportion of the additional component in the luminescent layer to a desired range, including the claimed range of greater than or equal to 0.1%, and less than or equal to 10%, as a routine skill in the art to obtain the optimal value for the additional component in the luminescent layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered, but are moot in view of different grounds of rejections as set forth above in this Office Action necessitated by amendments to claims 5-6, resulting a different consideration of the claimed term “an additional component” in the claims as a whole. Furthermore, it is noted that a typographical mistake for the prior art number of Chung et al. (US 2021/0226172 A1), which was correctly cited in the Notice of References Cited, has been corrected as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893