DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2020-0078447, filed on 06/26/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/15/2022 and 07/25/2024 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 11/15/2022. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 11/15/2022, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claim 7 has been amended.
Claims 1-14 are pending in the application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given on pages 14, Table 6 (page 79), Table 7 (page 80), and Table 8 (page 81) are illegible. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are not unclear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing font size, making the font bold, and/or making the lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2015/0200373 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Cho discloses Compound 320B (page 110), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Cho Formula 2 (abstract), which is pictured below.
Examiner notes that Cho is not limiting with respect to the bonding position of the substituents on the triphenylene core.
Given the general formula and teachings of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 320B in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as a host in the emission layer of the electroluminescent device of Cho and possess the properties taught by Cho. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Such a positional isomer meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 1 when d1 and d2 are 0 and d3 is 0, L1 and L2 are a direct bond, Z1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 and Z2 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-4. In Chemical Formula 1-1, X1 through X3 are nitrogen atoms, Ar1 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group and Ar2 is a C12 heteroaryl (carbazolyl) group. In Formula 1-4, d4 is 0 and D is not present, Y1 is NR’ and R’ is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group.
With respect to claim 2, Cho teaches the compound of claim 1, and L1 and L2 are the same and are a direct bond, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 3, Cho teaches the compound of claim 1, and Ar1 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group and Ar2 is a C12 heteroaryl (carbazolyl) group, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 4, Cho teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above. Chemical Formula 1-2 and 1-3 are required only in the alternative in parent claim 1, and so are not required in this rejection. However, for the sake of compact prosecution, Examiner notes that Cho teaches (iso)quinoline in Formula 5-22 on page 24, and teaches benzimidazole in Formula 5-56 on page 26.
With respect to claim 5, Cho teaches the compound of claim 1, and Z1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 6, Cho teaches the compound of claim 1, and the positional isomer discussed above is identical to instant compound 1-75.
With respect to claim 7, Cho teaches the compound of claim 1 and Cho also teaches an organic light emitting element comprising a first electrode (an anode), a second electrode (a cathode) (paragraphs 0039-0041 and Figure 1), and the organic layer (emission layer) comprises a compound of Chemical Formula 2 (paragraph 0009), such as the compound of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of claim 1 in an organic light emitting element with the claimed structure, as taught by Cho.
With respect to claim 8, Cho teaches the organic light emitting device of claim 7, and the organic material layer comprises a light emitting layer, and the light emitting layer comprises the compound (paragraph 0009), as discussed above.
With respect to claim 9, Cho teaches the organic light emitting device of claim 7, and the organic material layer includes an emission layer, and the light emitting layer includes a host, which includes the compound (paragraph 0009).
With respect to claim 10, Cho teaches the organic light emitting device of claim 8, and Cho also teaches the emission layer should also comprise a first host represented by Formula 1 (paragraph 0009), such as Compound 180B (page 101), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 3 when r31 is 4 and R31 is hydrogen atoms, r32 is 4 and R32 is hydrogen atoms, and Ar31 and Ar32 are both an unsubstituted C12 aryl (biphenyl).
Cho teaches that when a first host does not include an electron transporting group and the second host comprises an electron transporting group (triazine), an organic light emitting device may have improved efficiency and lifespan.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the first host (compound 180B), which does not have an electron transporting group, with the second host (compound 320B of the independent claim), which does comprise an electron transporting group, in order to obtain an organic light emitting device with improved efficiency and lifespan, as taught by Cho.
With respect to claim 12, Cho teaches the organic light emitting device of claim 10, and the compound of Chemical Formula 3 is identical to instant compound 3-42.
With respect to claim 13, Cho discloses a composition for forming an organic material layer (an emission layer), including a first and second host compound (abstract).
Cho discloses Compound 320B (page 110), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Cho Formula 2 (abstract), which is pictured below.
Examiner notes that Cho is not limiting with respect to the bonding position of the substituents on the triphenylene core.
Given the general formula and teachings of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 320B in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as a host in the emission layer of the electroluminescent device of Cho and possess the properties taught by Cho. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Such a positional isomer meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 1 when d1 and d2 are 0 and d3 is 0, L1 and L2 are a direct bond, Z1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 and Z2 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-4. In Chemical Formula 1-1, X1 through X3 are nitrogen atoms, Ar1 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group and Ar2 is a C12 heteroaryl (carbazolyl) group. In Formula 1-4, d4 is 0 and D is not present, Y1 is NR’ and R’ is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group.
Cho also teaches the emission layer should also comprise a first host represented by Formula 1 (paragraph 0009), such as Compound 180B (page 101), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 3 when r31 is 4 and R31 is hydrogen atoms, r32 is 4 and R32 is hydrogen atoms, and Ar31 and Ar32 are both an unsubstituted C12 aryl (biphenyl).
Cho teaches that when a first host does not include an electron transporting group and the second host comprises an electron transporting group (triazine), an organic light emitting device may have improved efficiency and lifespan.
While Cho does not specifically use these two compounds in a composition, Cho does teach that the emission layer can be formed using an ink-jet printing method (paragraph 0095), which implies the presence of a composition.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a composition including the first host (compound 180B), which does not have an electron transporting group, with the second host (compound 320B of the independent claim), which does have an electron transporting group, in order to obtain an organic light emitting device with improved efficiency and lifespan, as taught by Cho.
With respect to claim 14, Cho teaches the composition of claim 13, and Cho also teaches that the ratio of the first and second host compounds should be in a range of 1:10 to about 10:1 (paragraph 0249).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed ratio, as taught by Cho.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2015/0200373 A1) above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0213988 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Cho teaches the organic light emitting device of claim 8, as discussed above.
However, Cho does not teach nor fairly suggest the light emitting layer comprises a compound of instant Chemical Formula 2.
In analogous art, Park teaches a heterocyclic compound which significantly improves the lifetime, efficiency, electrochemical stability, and thermal stability of an organic light emitting device when contained in the organic layer (abstract).
Park gives an example of the heterocyclic compound in Compound 2-2 (page 52), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 2 when r21 is 4 and R21 is hydrogen atoms, r22 is 2 and R22 is hydrogen atoms, r23 is 4 and R23 is hydrogen atoms, r24 is 4 and R24 are hydrogen atoms, L21 is a direct bond, and Ar21 and Ar22 are a C6 aryl (phenyl) group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heterocyclic compound of Park in the organic layer of the device of Cho in order to significantly improve the lifetime, efficiency, electrochemical stability, and thermal stability of the organic light emitting device, as taught by Park.
With respect to claim 11, Cho and Park teach the device of claim 10, and the compound of Chemical Formula 2 is identical to instant compound 2-2, as pictured above.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2015/0200373 A1) and further in view of Park et al. (US 2017/0213988 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Cho discloses a composition for forming an organic material layer (an emission layer), including a first and second host compound (abstract).
Cho discloses Compound 320B (page 110), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Cho Formula 2 (abstract), which is pictured below.
Examiner notes that Cho is not limiting with respect to the bonding position of the substituents on the triphenylene core.
Given the general formula and teachings of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound 320B in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as a host in the emission layer of the electroluminescent device of Cho and possess the properties taught by Cho. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Such a positional isomer meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 1 when d1 and d2 are 0 and d3 is 0, L1 and L2 are a direct bond, Z1 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-1 and Z2 is represented by Chemical Formula 1-4. In Chemical Formula 1-1, X1 through X3 are nitrogen atoms, Ar1 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group and Ar2 is a C12 heteroaryl (carbazolyl) group. In Formula 1-4, d4 is 0 and D is not present, Y1 is NR’ and R’ is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group.
While Cho does not specifically teach a composition, Cho does teach that the emission layer can be formed using an ink-jet printing method (paragraph 0095), which implies the presence of a composition.
However, Cho does not teach nor fairly suggest the light emitting layer comprises a compound of instant Chemical Formula 2.
In analogous art, Park teaches a heterocyclic compound which significantly improves the lifetime, efficiency, electrochemical stability, and thermal stability of an organic light emitting device when contained in the organic layer (abstract).
Park gives an example of the heterocyclic compound in Compound 2-2 (page 52), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of instant Chemical Formula 2 when r21 is 4 and R21 is hydrogen atoms, r22 is 2 and R22 is hydrogen atoms, r23 is 4 and R23 is hydrogen atoms, r24 is 4 and R24 are hydrogen atoms, L21 is a direct bond, and Ar21 and Ar22 are a C6 aryl (phenyl) group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the heterocyclic compound of Park in the organic layer of the device of Cho in order to significantly improve the lifetime, efficiency, electrochemical stability, and thermal stability of the organic light emitting device, as taught by Park.
With respect to claim 14, Cho and Park teach the composition of claim 13, and Cho also teaches that the ratio of the first and second host compounds should be in a range of 1:10 to about 10:1 (paragraph 0249).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the claimed ratio, as taught by Cho.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (WO 2011/149240 A2) – teaches relevant compounds
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786