DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Remarks filed on 04/14/2026.
Currently, claims 1-3 and 5 are pending in the application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 and 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over TSUCHIYA et al. (Foreign Pub. No. WO 2017/212986 A1 with US Pub. No. 20190181275 A1 as English translation) in view of TATANI et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0106626 A1) and further in view of CHUNG et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0153045) and further in view of MATSUO et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0321544)
Regarding independent claim 1, Tsuchiya teaches a semiconductor photodetection element (Fig. 7) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7, 1N, ¶ [0059]) having a principal surface (Fig. 7, 1Na, ¶ [0055]) on which detection target light (¶ [0075]) is incident and a rear surface (Fig. 7, 1Nb, ¶ [0056]) opposite to the principal surface, and including one or a plurality of photodetection regions (Fig. 7, 11a, ¶ [0048]) on the principal surface side each configured to generate a charge in an amount according to a light intensity of the detection target light (¶ [0056]); and
a through electrode (Fig. 7, TE, ¶ [0060]) provided between the principal surface (Fig. 7, 1Na, ¶ [0055]) and the rear surface (Fig. 7, 1Nb, ¶ [0056]), and having one end on the principal surface side electrically connected to the photodetection region (¶¶ [0048] & [0062] teaches that penetration electrode TE is connected to common electrode E3 which is connected to the avalanche photodiodes 11a),
the through electrode is disposed in a through hole (Fig. 7, TH, ¶ [0059]) provided through the semiconductor substrate.
However, Tsuchiya does not explicit a light absorption film provided on the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the light absorption film has a multi-layer structure including a reflection layer being a metal layer, a resonance layer provided between the reflection layer and the semiconductor substrate, and a light absorption layer provided between the resonance layer and the semiconductor substrate, and
in at least one of a wavelength of the detection target light and a wavelength of spontaneous light generated in the photodetection region, a light transmittance inside the resonance layer is larger than a light transmittance inside the light absorption layer, and a light reflectance on a surface of the reflection layer is larger than a light reflectance on a surface of the resonance layer, and
the light absorption film is formed on an inner side surface of the through hole in addition to on the rear surface.
However, Tatani is a pertinent art that teaches a light absorption film (Fig. 5, 24, ¶ [0088]) provided on the rear surface (Fig. 5, bottom of 11, ¶ [0089]) of the semiconductor substrate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchiya’s device to further comprise a light absorption film on the bottom of the substrate according to the teaching of Tatani (Fig. 5) in order to absorb infrared light and thereby reduce fluctuations of the device’s optical black level (Tatani ¶¶ [0007], [0017], & [0088]).
However, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani does not explicitly teach that the light absorption film has a multi-layer structure including a reflection layer being a metal layer, a resonance layer provided between the reflection layer and the semiconductor substrate, and a light absorption layer provided between the resonance layer and the semiconductor substrate,
the light absorption layer is provided on the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate, the resonance layer is provided in contact with the light absorption layer, and the reflection layer is provided in contact with the resonance layer, and
in at least one of a wavelength of the detection target light and a wavelength of spontaneous light generated in the photodetection region, a light transmittance inside the resonance layer is larger than a light transmittance inside the light absorption layer, and a light reflectance on a surface of the reflection layer is larger than a light reflectance on a surface of the resonance layer, and
the light absorption film is formed on an inner side surface of the through hole in addition to on the rear surface.
However, Chung is a pertinent art that teaches the light absorption film (Fig. 2, 140 + 130 + 120, ¶ [0028]) has a multi-layer structure including a reflection layer (Fig. 2, 120, ¶ [0030] teaches that 120 can be a same or similar material to Applicant’s reflection layer) being a metal layer, a resonance layer (Fig. 2, 130, ¶ [0030] provided between the reflection layer and the semiconductor substrate, and a light absorption layer (Fig. 2, 140, ¶ [0030] teaches that 140 can be a same or similar material to Applicant’s light absorption layer) provided between the resonance layer and the semiconductor substrate,
the light absorption layer is provided on the rear surface of the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 2, L, ¶ [0028] teaches that incident light enters through absorption layer 140 and anti-reflective layer 150. Therefore, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung’s light absorption film would be on the bottom of Tsuchiya’s semiconductor substrate with light entering from the top of Tsuchiya’s semiconductor substrate), the resonance layer is provided in contact with the light absorption layer, and the reflection layer is provided in contact with the resonance layer (Fig. 2), and
in at least one of a wavelength of the detection target light and a wavelength of spontaneous light generated in the photodetection region (¶ [0029] teaches that Chung’s light absorption structure can be adjusted to absorb specific wavelengths of light, including visible and near-infrared light), a light transmittance inside the resonance layer is larger than a light transmittance inside the light absorption layer (Fig. 2, ¶ [0028] teaches that light transmits through 130 but is absorbed by 140. Therefore, 130 has a higher light transmittance), and a light reflectance on a surface of the reflection layer is larger than a light reflectance on a surface of the resonance layer (¶ [0030] teaches that 130 can be a silicon oxide while 120 can be a metallic glass. It would be obvious that silicon oxide has a lower light reflectance than metallic glass).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchiya modified by Tatani’s light absorption film to be a similar structure to Chung’s multilayered light absorption structure (Fig. 2) in order to increase light absorption efficiency using the interference effect (Chung ¶ [0028]).
However, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung does not explicitly teach that the light absorption film is formed on an inner side surface of the through hole in addition to on the rear surface.
However, Matsuo is a pertinent art that teaches that the light absorption film (Fig. 6, 117, ¶ [0053] teaches a film with a light blocking effect formed on the top surface of 117 and on an inner surface of contact hole 116a) is formed on an inner side surface of the through hole (Fig. 6, 116a, ¶ [0046]) in addition to on the rear surface (Fig. 6, top surface of 111, ¶ [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chug’s light absorption film to be on a rear surface of the substrate and an inner surface of a through hole according to the teaching of Matsuo (Fig. 6) in order to avoid the appearance of ghosts during image capture (Matsuo ¶ [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung modified by Matsuo teaches the semiconductor photodetection element according to Claim 1, and Tsuchiya teaches that each of the one or plurality of photodetection regions (Fig. 7, 11a, ¶¶ [0006] & [0048] teaches avalanche photodiodes) is an avalanche photodiode or a p-n junction type photodiode.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over TSUCHIYA et al. (Foreign Pub. No. WO 2017212986 A1 with US Pub. No. 20190181275 A1 as English translation) in view of TATANI et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0106626 A1) and further in view of CHUNG et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0153045) and further in view of MATSUO et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0321544) and further in view of PELLICORI et al. (US Pub. No. 2004/0095645 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung modified by Matsuo teaches the semiconductor photodetection element according to claim 1.
However, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung modified by Matsuo does not explicitly teach that an optical thickness of the resonance layer is within a range of ±20% centered on an integer multiple of one of 1/4 of the wavelength of the detection target light and 1/4 of the wavelength of the spontaneous light.
However, Pellicori is a pertinent art that teaches an optical thickness of the resonance layer (Fig. 1, ¶ [0078] teaches setting an optical thickness of dielectric layer 17 to be an odd multiple of one-quarter wavelength for the particular wavelength desired to be removed) is within a range of ±20% centered on an integer multiple of one of 1/4 of the wavelength of the detection target light and 1/4 of the wavelength of the spontaneous light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung modified by Matsuo’s resonance layer to have an optical thickness according to the teaching of Pellicori (Fig. 1) in order for the light to undergo destructive interference at a particular wavelength (Pellicori ¶ [0078]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over TSUCHIYA et al. (Foreign Pub. No. WO 2017212986 A1 with US Pub. No. 20190181275 A1 as English translation) in view of TATANI et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0106626 A1) and further in view of CHUNG et al. and further in view of MATSUO et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0321544) (US Pub. No. 2017/0153045) and further in view of YAMAZAKI et al. (Foreign Pub. No. WO 2018110309 A1 with US Pub. No. 2020/0072677 A1 as English translation).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung modified by Matsuo teaches the semiconductor photodetection element according to claim 1, and Chung teaches that the resonance layer (Fig. 2, 130, ¶ [0030] teaches a light interference layer that can be made of SiO2) mainly contains SiO2.
However, Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung does not explicitly teach that the light absorption layer mainly contains tungsten silicide.
However, Yamazaki is a pertinent art that teaches that the light absorption layer (Fig. 6, 34, ¶ [0052] teaches that 34 can be tungsten silicide) mainly contains tungsten silicide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsuchiya modified by Tatani modified by Chung’s light absorption layer to be tungsten silicide according to the teaching of Yamazaki (Fig. 6) in order to reduce manufacturing costs. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813