DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 07/16/2025 are entered for prosecution. Claims 23, 25-34, and 36-46 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 23, 25-34, and 36-46 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 30-32, 34, 37-38, 40, 43, and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 20230056442 A1, hereafter Ly).
Regarding claim 23, Ly discloses:
An apparatus (UE) (a UE 201 operating with both 3GPP and non-3GPP access in an ATSSS architecture. See, e.g., FIGS. 2, 4, 10, 11; [0013], [0025], [0110]-[0112].) comprising:
memory to store access traffic steering switching and splitting (ATSSS) rules (ATSSS rules, N4 rules, MAR rules) (UE receives and uses ATSSS rules for a multi-access PDU session. See [0025] (“the UE receives a PDU Session Establishment Accept message … [that] includes the ATSSS rules”); Table 4 (“Structure of ATSSS Rules”); see also Table 3 (MAR rules) and [0150]-[0152].; Ly teaches ATSSS-related rule structures stored/used by the UE. Since Ly’s UE is implemented as a WTRU having memory and processor, the received ATSSS rules should have been stored in memory for use by the processor. See FIG. 18F; [0338]-[0343].), radio access network (RAN) load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) (Ly discloses UE/network measurements including access network performance measurements ([0033]), wi-fi network measurements ([0111]), access availability ([0033], [0111]; Table 2), and connection percentages (Table 2).; Ly further discloses UE collection/reporting of such information. See ¶¶ [0123]-[0126], [0136], [0155]-[0156].), and user equipment (UE)-specific RAN condition indicator information (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) (Ly discloses UE-specific radio/access condition information including RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements (Table 2), received signal strength (¶ [0111]), UL data bit rate, DL data bit rate (¶ [0111]; Table 2; Table 5), and carrier power received (Table 5). As above, Ly’s UE/WTRU includes memory for storing such data. See FIG. 18F; ¶¶ [0338]-[0343].), the ATSSS rules including how to use the RAN load indicator information and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information for ATSSS ([0013] FIG. 2 shows the 5G architectural support for the Access Traffic Steering, Switching, Splitting (ATSSS) feature in Rel-16. This feature allows both the UE and the CN to steer, switch, and split traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses. In other words, the UE uses ATSSS rules to determine whether to send UL data over 3GPP access or over non-3GPP access, or over both accesses. Similarly, the UPF in the CN uses N4 rules to route DL data to the UE over 3GPP or non-3GPP access, or over both accesses. The ATSSS and N4 rules are created by the SMF and provided to the UE and UPF respectively during MA PDU session establishment procedure. [0028] A steering mode is specified in each ATSSS rule to inform the UE how to distribute UL traffic over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses.; Hence Ly discloses Analytics Driven steering in ATSSS rules. Table 4, Note 6 states that when “Analytics Driven” steering mode is enabled, the UE uses UL transmission metrics such as data bit rate or access network signal strength to make traffic splitting decisions. Ly also teaches that analytics information may be derived from wi-fi network measurements, received signal strength, DL data bit rate, access availability, etc. ¶ [0111].); and
processing circuitry, coupled with the memory, to configure the apparatus to ([0354] It is understood that any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, such as processors 118 or 91, cause the processor to perform or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein.; Hence Ly discloses a WTRU/UE including processor 118 and memory 130/132, with the processor accessing and storing information in memory. FIG. 18F; ¶¶ [0338]-[0345].):
retrieve the ATSSS rules (ATSSS rules, N4 rules, MAR rules), RAN load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages), and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information from the memory (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) (Ly’s processor accesses memory-stored information. ¶ [0343]. Ly further discloses that the UE receives ATSSS rules (¶ [0025]), collects the specified data, and sends the data using the PMF protocol (¶ [0126]).; Hence Ly’s UE necessarily retrieves the rules, and the information stored in the memory in order to implement the systems, methods, and processes using computer executable instructions. See [0354]);
encode an ATSSS RAN measurement report message (collected data, data analytics reports) for transmission that includes the RAN load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) ([0105] Disclosed is a mechanism by which a network entity with data analytics capability analyses the data collected from the UE 201 and other network functions, and generates data analytics report. [0121] The following disclosed PMF protocol enhancements extends the UE 201 to CN communications. In the first enhancement, the PMF protocol is used by UEs 201 to provide the NWDAF 205 with information that may be utilized for analytics. In other words, UEs 201 can provide the NWDAF 205 UE specific information for analytics using the user plane of the network. [0140] For example, the UE 201 may send the data analytics reports to the PMF within the UPF 206 that manages the user plane tunnel(s) of the PDU session for the UE 201.; the UE collects the required data specified by policy and sends them … to a PMF using the PMF protocol. ¶ [0126]. Ly also discloses that the PMF protocol, introduced for ATSSS support, is expanded so UEs can provide UE-specific information for analytics. ¶¶ [0121]-[0123]. Table 2 identifies the reportable information, including access availability, connection percentages, RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements, and data bit rate. FIG. 10, steps 221 and 225-226, further shows the UE sending data to the UPF and NWDAF via PMF protocol.);
determine traffic distribution across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access based on the ATSSS rules and using the RAN load indicator information and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information ([0110] In a third exemplary implementation, there may be a data analytics driven steering mode. UE 201 may inform core network 204 that UE 201 may support providing data for analytics and has traffic steering capability; core network 204 may generate and may return to UE 201 a data analytics reporting policy; UE 201 may dynamically steer UL traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP access based on performance measurements obtained by UE 201; and network may dynamically steer DL traffic to UE 201 between 3GPP and non-3GPP access based on analytics information provided by analytics function. [0152] (NOTE 6): When “Analytics Driven” steering mode is enabled, the UE uses UL transmission metrics such as data bit rate or access network signal strength to make traffic splitting decisions. Alternatively, an “Analytics Driven” indicator may be used instead as an indication that is separate from the Steering Mode.; Ly teaches that the UE dynamically steers UL traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP access based on performance measurements obtained by the UE. Ly also discloses using wi-fi network measurements, received signal strength, DL data bit rate, and access availability in steering decisions. ¶¶ [0111], [0358].; FIG. 10, steps 222-223 and 227-228.); and
distribute traffic across the 3GPP access and non-3GPP access based on the traffic distribution (Ly teaches that the UE and/or UPF may dynamically steer traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses and may adjust traffic splitting percentages. ¶¶ [0110], [0152]-[0156], [0358]; FIG. 10, steps 222-223 and 227-228.).
Therefore, Ly teaches all limitations of the claim, or at least renders the claim obvious. To the extent Ly does not expressly state that the rules/measurements are “stored in” and “retrieved from memory” before use or use the exact phrase “ATSSS RAN measurement report message,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement Ly’s disclosed UE using conventional processor-memory operation in which the processor retrieves stored rules and measurement data from memory and encodes the disclosed PMF/ATSSS reporting message for transmission, because such retrieval and encoding are routine and necessary to carry out the expressly disclosed steering and reporting functions. See MPEP § 2143; KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007).
Regarding claim 30, Ly discloses:
wherein the RAN load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) is received via a wireless local area network (WLAN) through N2 signaling (Ly discloses ATSSS operation across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access, including WLAN 203 as the non-3GPP access. See, e.g., FIGS. 6, 10, and 11; paras. [0089], [0155]-[0156]. Ly further teaches that ATSSS-related signaling may be carried over the non-3GPP access path and specifically discloses that, in the MA PDU session procedure, the PDU Session Establishment Request may be sent over non-3GPP access (para. [0016]), that the UE receives a PDU Session Establishment Accept including ATSSS rules (para. [0025]), and that, when the UE is registered over both accesses, the SMF sends an N1N2 Message Transfer to the AMF including N2 SM Information and indicates that the N2 SM Information should be sent over non-3GPP access (para. [0026]). Ly also teaches the claimed RAN load indicator information in the form of access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, and connection percentages used for ATSSS and analytics-driven steering. See para. [0033]; para. [0111]; Table 2. Thus, Ly teaches or at least suggests that ATSSS-related information used for traffic steering, including the claimed RAN load indicator information, is received by the UE over the WLAN/non-3GPP access using the disclosed N2 signaling path for non-3GPP delivery.).
Therefore, Ly teaches all limitations of the claim, or at least renders the claim obvious. To the extent Ly does not expressly state verbatim that the “RAN load indicator information is received via a WLAN through N2 signaling,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to convey Ly’s disclosed load-related steering information over the same non-3GPP/N2 signaling path already used in Ly for delivery of ATSSS-related session information, because Ly expressly teaches both: (1) use of WLAN/non-3GPP access in the ATSSS architecture, and (2) delivery of N2 signaling over non-3GPP access. Using that same established signaling path to provide the load information used for steering would have been a predictable implementation choice that promotes coordinated ATSSS control over the WLAN access. See MPEP § 2143 and KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007).
Regarding claims 31, 37 and 43, Ly discloses:
wherein the UE-specific RAN condition indicator information (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) comprises an indication of UE radio signal quality (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) that includes an indication of:
reference signal received power (RSRP) (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (RSRQ), an average or median channel quality indicator (CQI) index, or an average medium access control (MAC) data rate (Data Bit Rate) (Table 2, The data bit rate may be extended to include minimum, average, and maximum bit rates for the reporting period.; [0256] Aggregating data: Data may be aggregated before it is sent to the network. For example, an average of collected data may be sent. This may be for privacy as well as network performance reasons.).
Regarding claims 32 and 38, Ly discloses:
wherein the indication of UE radio signal quality (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) includes:
an indication of an estimated downlink MAC data rate (DL data (bit) rate), an indication of an estimated uplink MAC data rate (UL data (bit) rate), or a measured uplink received signal strength indicator (RSSI) (The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength).
Regarding claim 34, Ly discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, configure a next-generation NodeB (gNB) (Ly discloses gNode-Bs 180a, 180b in RAN 105. See FIG. 18D; ¶¶ [0314]-[0316]. Ly further discloses that the entities performing the disclosed steps may be logical entities, and that the steps may be stored in memory and executed on a processor of a device, server, or computer system. See ¶ [0278]; see also ¶ [0354].) to:
send, to a user equipment (UE), access traffic steering switching and splitting (ATSSS) rules (ATSSS rules, N4 rules, MAR rules) (Ly discloses that the UE receives ATSSS rules in the PDU Session Establishment Accept message. See ¶ [0025] (“This message includes the ATSSS rules for the MA PDU session”); see also FIG. 3, step 13. Ly also discloses ATSSS rule structures and MAR rules. See Table 4; Table 3; ¶¶ [0150]-[0152].; Note that although Ly describes the rules as generated by core network entities, the rules are delivered to the UE via the RAN/gNB over the air interface.) that include how to use radio access network (RAN) load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information for ATSSS from the UE (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) ([0013] FIG. 2 shows the 5G architectural support for the Access Traffic Steering, Switching, Splitting (ATSSS) feature in Rel-16. This feature allows both the UE and the CN to steer, switch, and split traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses. In other words, the UE uses ATSSS rules to determine whether to send UL data over 3GPP access or over non-3GPP access, or over both accesses. Similarly, the UPF in the CN uses N4 rules to route DL data to the UE over 3GPP or non-3GPP access, or over both accesses. The ATSSS and N4 rules are created by the SMF and provided to the UE and UPF respectively during MA PDU session establishment procedure. [0028] A steering mode is specified in each ATSSS rule to inform the UE how to distribute UL traffic over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses.; Hence Ly discloses Analytics Driven ATSSS steering. Table 4, Note 6 states that when Analytics Driven steering mode is enabled, the UE uses UL transmission metrics such as data bit rate or access network signal strength to make traffic splitting decisions. Ly also discloses analytics information derived from wi-fi network measurements, received signal strength, DL data bit rate, access availability, and related measurements. See ¶ [0111]. Table 2 discloses access availability and connection percentages. Table 2 also discloses RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements, data bit rate. Table 5 discloses carrier power received, UL data rate, and DL data rate.); and
receive, from the UE, a measurement report message (collected data, data analytics reports) that includes the RAN load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) ([0105] Disclosed is a mechanism by which a network entity with data analytics capability analyses the data collected from the UE 201 and other network functions, and generates data analytics report. [0121] The following disclosed PMF protocol enhancements extends the UE 201 to CN communications. In the first enhancement, the PMF protocol is used by UEs 201 to provide the NWDAF 205 with information that may be utilized for analytics. In other words, UEs 201 can provide the NWDAF 205 UE specific information for analytics using the user plane of the network. [0140] For example, the UE 201 may send the data analytics reports to the PMF within the UPF 206 that manages the user plane tunnel(s) of the PDU session for the UE 201.; the UE collects the required data specified by policy and sends them … to a PMF using the PMF protocol. ¶ [0126]. Ly also discloses that the PMF protocol, introduced for ATSSS support, is expanded so UEs can provide UE-specific information for analytics. ¶¶ [0121]-[0123]. Table 2 identifies the reportable information, including access availability, connection percentages, RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements, and data bit rate. FIG. 10, steps 221 and 225-226, further shows the UE sending data to the UPF and NWDAF via PMF protocol. Ly also discloses that the UE may send collected data during a PDU session or by NAS messaging. See ¶ [0236]. FIG. 14 shows UE → RAN → AMF/NWDAF, including step 255, “Send UE Data.”).
Regarding claim 40, Ly discloses:
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors ([0354] It is understood that any or all of the apparatuses, systems, methods and processes described herein may be embodied in the form of computer executable instructions (e.g., program code) stored on a computer-readable storage medium which instructions, when executed by a processor, such as processors 118 or 91, cause the processor to perform or implement the systems, methods and processes described herein.; Hence Ly discloses a WTRU/UE including processor 118 and memory 130/132, with the processor accessing and storing information in memory. FIG. 18F; ¶¶ [0338]-[0345].), cause a user equipment (UE) (UE) (a UE 201 operating with both 3GPP and non-3GPP access in an ATSSS architecture. See, e.g., FIGS. 2, 4, 10, 11; [0013], [0025], [0110]-[0112].) to:
determine access traffic steering switching and splitting (ATSSS) rules (ATSSS rules, N4 rules, MAR rules) (UE receives and uses ATSSS rules for a multi-access PDU session. See [0025] (“the UE receives a PDU Session Establishment Accept message … [that] includes the ATSSS rules”); Table 4 (“Structure of ATSSS Rules”); see also Table 3 (MAR rules) and [0150]-[0152].; Ly teaches ATSSS-related rule structures stored/used by the UE. Since Ly’s UE is implemented as a WTRU having memory and processor, the received ATSSS rules should have been stored in memory for use by the processor. See FIG. 18F; [0338]-[0343].), radio access network (RAN) load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) (Ly discloses UE/network measurements including access network performance measurements ([0033]), wi-fi network measurements ([0111]), access availability ([0033], [0111]; Table 2), and connection percentages (Table 2).; Ly further discloses UE collection/reporting of such information. See ¶¶ [0123]-[0126], [0136], [0155]-[0156].) and user equipment (UE)-specific RAN condition indicator information (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) (Ly discloses UE-specific radio/access condition information including RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements (Table 2), received signal strength (¶ [0111]), UL data bit rate, DL data bit rate (¶ [0111]; Table 2; Table 5), and carrier power received (Table 5). As above, Ly’s UE/WTRU includes memory for storing such data. See FIG. 18F; ¶¶ [0338]-[0343].), the ATSSS rules including how to use the RAN load indicator information and UE- specific RAN condition indicator information for ATSSS ([0013] FIG. 2 shows the 5G architectural support for the Access Traffic Steering, Switching, Splitting (ATSSS) feature in Rel-16. This feature allows both the UE and the CN to steer, switch, and split traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses. In other words, the UE uses ATSSS rules to determine whether to send UL data over 3GPP access or over non-3GPP access, or over both accesses. Similarly, the UPF in the CN uses N4 rules to route DL data to the UE over 3GPP or non-3GPP access, or over both accesses. The ATSSS and N4 rules are created by the SMF and provided to the UE and UPF respectively during MA PDU session establishment procedure. [0028] A steering mode is specified in each ATSSS rule to inform the UE how to distribute UL traffic over 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses.; Hence Ly discloses Analytics Driven steering in ATSSS rules. Table 4, Note 6 states that when “Analytics Driven” steering mode is enabled, the UE uses UL transmission metrics such as data bit rate or access network signal strength to make traffic splitting decisions. Ly also teaches that analytics information may be derived from wi-fi network measurements, received signal strength, DL data bit rate, access availability, etc. ¶ [0111].);
encode an ATSSS RAN measurement report message (collected data, data analytics reports) for transmission that includes the RAN load indicator information (access network performance measurements, wi-fi network measurements, access availability, connection percentages) and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information (RSRP, RSRQ, The received signal power measurement associated with the measurements non-3GPP access network, received signal strength, UL data (bit) rate, DL data (bit) rate, Carrier power received) ([0105] Disclosed is a mechanism by which a network entity with data analytics capability analyses the data collected from the UE 201 and other network functions, and generates data analytics report. [0121] The following disclosed PMF protocol enhancements extends the UE 201 to CN communications. In the first enhancement, the PMF protocol is used by UEs 201 to provide the NWDAF 205 with information that may be utilized for analytics. In other words, UEs 201 can provide the NWDAF 205 UE specific information for analytics using the user plane of the network. [0140] For example, the UE 201 may send the data analytics reports to the PMF within the UPF 206 that manages the user plane tunnel(s) of the PDU session for the UE 201.; the UE collects the required data specified by policy and sends them … to a PMF using the PMF protocol. ¶ [0126]. Ly also discloses that the PMF protocol, introduced for ATSSS support, is expanded so UEs can provide UE-specific information for analytics. ¶¶ [0121]-[0123]. Table 2 identifies the reportable information, including access availability, connection percentages, RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements, and data bit rate. FIG. 10, steps 221 and 225-226, further shows the UE sending data to the UPF and NWDAF via PMF protocol.);
determine traffic distribution across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access based on the ATSSS rules and using the RAN load indicator information and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information ([0110] In a third exemplary implementation, there may be a data analytics driven steering mode. UE 201 may inform core network 204 that UE 201 may support providing data for analytics and has traffic steering capability; core network 204 may generate and may return to UE 201 a data analytics reporting policy; UE 201 may dynamically steer UL traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP access based on performance measurements obtained by UE 201; and network may dynamically steer DL traffic to UE 201 between 3GPP and non-3GPP access based on analytics information provided by analytics function. [0152] (NOTE 6): When “Analytics Driven” steering mode is enabled, the UE uses UL transmission metrics such as data bit rate or access network signal strength to make traffic splitting decisions. Alternatively, an “Analytics Driven” indicator may be used instead as an indication that is separate from the Steering Mode.; Ly teaches that the UE dynamically steers UL traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP access based on performance measurements obtained by the UE. Ly also discloses using wi-fi network measurements, received signal strength, DL data bit rate, and access availability in steering decisions. ¶¶ [0111], [0358].; FIG. 10, steps 222-223 and 227-228.); and
distribute traffic across the 3GPP access and non-3GPP access based on the traffic distribution (Ly teaches that the UE and/or UPF may dynamically steer traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses and may adjust traffic splitting percentages. ¶¶ [0110], [0152]-[0156], [0358]; FIG. 10, steps 222-223 and 227-228.).
Regarding claim 45, Ly discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry further configures the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity, an updated ATSSS rule (Ly discloses that the NWDAF may send the rule to the UE via the SMF and NAS messaging as an ATSSS rule, and that an input to the rule may be measurement data. Ly further expressly states that “The NWDAF 205 may update the rule as network conditions change.” See [0154]. Ly also discloses that the relevant changed information includes the claimed categories of RAN load indicator information and UE-specific RAN condition indicator information, such as: wi-fi network measurements, received signal strength, DL data bit rate, access availability, RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements, UL/DL data bit rate, connection percentages, carrier power received; See [0111], Table 2, and Table 5.) in response to a change in at least one of the RAN load indicator information or UE-specific RAN condition indicator information (Ly discloses changing wi-fi measurements, access availability, signal strength, bit rates, RSRP/RSRQ, etc., [0111], Table 2, Table 5); and
apply the updated ATSSS rule to adjust the traffic distribution across the 3GPP access and non-3GPP access (Ly further teaches that the UE applies such ATSSS rules to adjust traffic distribution. In particular, Ly discloses that when Analytics Driven steering mode is enabled, the UE uses UL transmission metrics such as data bit rate or access network signal strength to make traffic splitting decisions. See Table 4, Note 6 and [0152]. Ly also states that both the UE and UPF may dynamically steer traffic between 3GPP and non-3GPP access and that traffic steering is adjusted as network or UE conditions change. See [0153]. Ly’s example in FIG. 10 also shows the network adjusting traffic distribution in response to updated UE/network information, including an initial split of 20%/80% and a later adjusted split of 70%/30% after changed conditions are reported. See [0155]-[0156].).
Regarding claim 46, Ly discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry further configures the apparatus to:
detect congestion on at least one of the 3GPP access or non-3GPP access (Ly expressly discloses detecting congestion on at least one access. Ly states in connection with the Priority-based steering mode that traffic is shifted when the high-priority access is determined to be congested, and that the UE and UPF determine congestion. See [0032]. More specifically, Ly’s FIG. 10 example teaches that the wi-fi network becomes congested, and the UE experiences service degradation and notices the wi-fi network congestion based on the bandwidth it is currently receiving. See [0156]. This teaches detecting congestion on the non-3GPP access, which satisfies the claim’s “at least one of the 3GPP access OR non-3GPP access.”);
receive, from a network entity, an updated ATSSS rule based on the congestion and the UE- specific RAN condition indicator information (Ly teaches receiving an updated ATSSS rule from a network entity based on the congestion and UE-specific RAN condition information. After congestion occurs, Ly teaches that the UE sends data to the network using the PMF protocol, and that the UE may provide the available data from Table 2. See [0156]. Those data include UE-specific RAN condition indicators such as RSRP, RSRQ, non-3GPP AN measurements, data bit rate, received signal strength, etc. See [0111], Table 2, Table 5. Ly further teaches that the NWDAF may send the rule to the UE via the SMF and NAS messaging as an ATSSS rule, and that the NWDAF may update the rule as network conditions change. See [0154].); and
apply the updated ATSSS rule to adjust the traffic distribution across the 3GPP access and non-3GPP access (Ly teaches applying the updated rule to adjust traffic distribution. Ly discloses that the UE uses the ATSSS rule in Analytics Driven steering mode to make traffic splitting decisions using metrics such as data bit rate and access network signal strength. See Table 4, Note 6; [0152]. Ly further discloses that both UE and UPF may dynamically steer traffic as conditions change. See [0153]. In the congestion example of FIG. 10, the traffic distribution is adjusted from 20/80 to 70/30 in response to the congestion and reported data. See [0155]-[0156].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-26, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Ahmed et al. (US 20130303114 A1, hereafter Ahmed).
Regarding claim 25,
Ly does not disclose wherein the RAN load indicator information includes a radio resource utilization measurement.
However, Ahmed discloses:
wherein a RAN load indicator information includes a radio resource utilization measurement (Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI)) ([0223] Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI) may be measured. This may be done, for example, to measure the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) for a particular hosted operator during a measurement time period T. This measurement may also be measured by measuring per traffic class (QCI) the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per hosted operator during a measurement time period T. The measurement result may be in the form of a percentage PRB usage for a particular hosted operator or for each hosted operator.)..
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the RAN load indicator information of Ly to include a radio resource utilization measurement as taught by Ahmed, in order to optimize traffic steering by load balancing (Ahmed, [0221] Load balancing may be performed. A measurement disclosed herein may be used to support PLMN-specific load measurement for load balance in the RAN; Ly, [0149] The resulting analytics may represent both system conditions and UE QoS experiences to optimize traffic steering such that it benefits both the network and the UE 201. On the one hand, system resources are optimized to load balance traffic in the network; while on the other hand, user experiences for the UE 201 are maintained or improved due to traffic steering that automatically selects the best access.)
Regarding claim 26,
Ly does not disclose wherein the radio resource utilization measurement is a total physical resource block (PRB) usage indicator that indicates PRB usage per traffic class.
However, Ahmed discloses:
wherein the radio resource utilization measurement (Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI)) is a total physical resource block (PRB) usage indicator that indicates PRB usage (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) ([0223] Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI) may be measured. This may be done, for example, to measure the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) for a particular hosted operator during a measurement time period T. This measurement may also be measured by measuring per traffic class (QCI) the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per hosted operator during a measurement time period T. The measurement result may be in the form of a percentage PRB usage for a particular hosted operator or for each hosted operator.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the radio resource utilization measurement of Ly and Ahmed to be a total PRB usage indicator as taught by Ahmed, in order to optimize traffic steering by load balancing (Ahmed, [0221] Load balancing may be performed. A measurement disclosed herein may be used to support PLMN-specific load measurement for load balance in the RAN; Ly, [0149] The resulting analytics may represent both system conditions and UE QoS experiences to optimize traffic steering such that it benefits both the network and the UE 201. On the one hand, system resources are optimized to load balance traffic in the network; while on the other hand, user experiences for the UE 201 are maintained or improved due to traffic steering that automatically selects the best access.)
Regarding claim 36,
Ly does not disclose wherein the RAN load indicator information includes a radio resource utilization measurement that includes a total physical resource block (PRB) usage indicator that is to indicate PRB usage per traffic class.
However, Ahmed discloses:
wherein a RAN load indicator information includes a radio resource utilization measurement (Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI)) that includes a total physical resource block (PRB) usage indicator that is to indicate PRB usage (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) ([0223] Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI) may be measured. This may be done, for example, to measure the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) for a particular hosted operator during a measurement time period T. This measurement may also be measured by measuring per traffic class (QCI) the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per hosted operator during a measurement time period T. The measurement result may be in the form of a percentage PRB usage for a particular hosted operator or for each hosted operator.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the RAN load indicator information of Ly to include a radio resource utilization measurement as taught by Ahmed, in order to optimize traffic steering by load balancing (Ahmed, [0221] Load balancing may be performed. A measurement disclosed herein may be used to support PLMN-specific load measurement for load balance in the RAN; Ly, [0149] The resulting analytics may represent both system conditions and UE QoS experiences to optimize traffic steering such that it benefits both the network and the UE 201. On the one hand, system resources are optimized to load balance traffic in the network; while on the other hand, user experiences for the UE 201 are maintained or improved due to traffic steering that automatically selects the best access.)
Claims 33, 39, and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Chaudhuri et al. (US 20170214436 A1, hereafter Chaudhuri), in further view of Ahmed.
Regarding claims 33, 39, and 44, Ly discloses:
a UE with a multiple access protocol data unit (MA-PDU) session ([0013] FIG. 2 shows the 5G architectural support for the Access Traffic Steering, Switching, Splitting (ATSSS) feature ... The ATSSS and N4 rules are created by the SMF and provided to the UE and UPF respectively during MA PDU session establishment procedure.; See, e.g., paras. [0013]-[0027], [0111], [0136]; Table 2; Table 5).
Ly does not disclose wherein the UE-specific RAN condition indicator includes an indication of a UE per radio access technology (RAT) utilization that is based on a level of efficiency of radio usage of the UE.
However, Chaudhuri discloses:
wherein a UE-specific RAN condition indicator includes an indication of a UE per radio access technology (RAT) utilization (total PRB usage for each UE) that is based on a level of efficiency of radio usage of a UE (each UE) ([0073] System 200 may calculate a total PRB usage by summing the PRB usage for packet data scheduling and PRB usage after merging. System 200 may calculate the total PRB usage for each UE in a UE list (e.g., PRBTotal(i)).; Broadest reasonable interpretation of “UE per radio access technology (RAT) utilization that is based on a level of efficiency of radio usage of a UE” includes Chaudhuri’s total PRB usage for each UE because according to the instant specification “UE per RAT radio resource utilization can be captured by PRB usage per UE” ([0041] A new RAN measurement, UE per RAT radio resource utilization, can be defined to capture the efficiency of radio usage of a UE with MA-PDU session. For NG-RAN, UE per RAT radio resource utilization can be captured by PRB usage per UE)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the UE-specific RAN condition indicator of Ly to include the indication as taught by Chaudhuri, in order to optimize traffic steering by load balancing based on PRB usage (Ly, [0149] The resulting analytics may represent both system conditions and UE QoS experiences to optimize traffic steering such that it benefits both the network and the UE 201. On the one hand, system resources are optimized to load balance traffic in the network; while on the other hand, user experiences for the UE 201 are maintained or improved due to traffic steering that automatically selects the best access.; Ahmed, [0221], [0223])
Claim 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Kim et al. (US 20160165475 A1, hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 27,
Ly does not disclose wherein the RAN load indicator information includes an indication of a basic service set (BSS) load element for an access point (AP) beacon message.
However, Kim discloses:
wherein a RAN load indicator information includes an indication of a basic service set (BSS) load element (ESP) for an access point (AP) beacon message ([0064] Although not shown in FIG. 1, a STA 115 may be covered by more than one AP 105 and may therefore associate with one or more APs 105 at different times. A single AP 105 and an associated set of stations may be referred to as a basic service set (BSS). [0085] FIG. 6B shows a block diagram of another example of an estimated services parameters (ESP) format 600-b including information fields, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As above, the ESP format 600-b may be employed as part of a wireless beacon or as part of a response message from an AP.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the RAN load indicator information of Ly to include the BSS load element as taught by Kim, in order to take advantage of Wi-Fi network measurement for ATSSS (Ly, [0111]).
Regarding claim 28,
Ly does not disclose wherein the BSS load element includes an indication of a station (STA) count or an indication of channel utilization.
However, Kim discloses:
wherein the BSS load element (ESP) includes an indication of a station (STA) count (a number of active stations) or an indication of channel utilization (the estimated air time fraction, the estimated throughput) ([0086] The ESP format 600-b may include an access category information field 605-a, a number of active stations information field 630, a channel access latency information field 635, a random access delay information field 640, a data format information field 615-a, a BA window size information field 620-a and a data PPDU duration target (or PPDU transmission time) information field 625-a. [0087] Thus, when the ESP format 600-b is employed, the STA may determine (e.g., calculate) the estimated air time fraction for determining the estimated throughput, such as described herein. [0088] Restimated(AC) is the estimated throughput for a given access class. [0091] αestimated air time fraction(AC) is the estimated fraction of air time).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the BSS load element of Ly to include one or more of the indications as taught by Kim, in order to take advantage of Wi-Fi network measurement for ATSSS (Ly, [0111]).
Regarding claim 29,
Ly does not disclose wherein the RAN load indicator information includes an estimated service parameter (ESP), which includes estimated throughput for available access categories, estimate of air time fraction, Block Ack Window size, and data Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) duration target.
However, Kim discloses:
wherein a RAN load indicator information includes an estimated service parameter (ESP) (ESP), which includes estimated throughput (Restimated(AC), estimated throughput) for available access categories (given access class), estimate of air time fraction (αestimated air time fraction(AC), estimated air time fraction), Block Ack Window size (a BA window size), and data Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) duration target (a data PPDU duration target) (FIG. 6B, [0086] The ESP format 600-b may include an access category information field 605-a, a number of active stations information field 630, a channel access latency information field 635, a random access delay information field 640, a data format information field 615-a, a BA window size information field 620-a and a data PPDU duration target (or PPDU transmission time) information field 625-a. [0087] Thus, when the ESP format 600-b is employed, the STA may determine (e.g., calculate) the estimated air time fraction for determining the estimated throughput, such as described herein. [0088] Restimated(AC) is the estimated throughput for a given access class. [0091] αestimated air time fraction(AC) is the estimated fraction of air time).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the RAN load indicator information of Ly to include the ESP as taught by Kim, in order to take advantage of Wi-Fi network measurement for ATSSS (Ly, [0111]).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Ahmed, in further view of Kim.
Regarding claim 41,
Ly does not disclose wherein the RAN load indicator information includes: a radio resource utilization measurement that includes a total physical resource block (PRB) usage indicator that is to indicate PRB usage per traffic class; an estimated service parameter (ESP), which includes estimated throughput for available access categories, estimate of air time fraction, Block Ack Window size, and data Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) duration target; and a basic service set (BSS) load element for an access point (AP) beacon message, wherein the BSS load element includes an indication of a station (STA) count or an indication of channel utilization.
However, Ahmed discloses:
wherein a RAN load indicator information includes: a radio resource utilization measurement (Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI)) that includes a total physical resource block (PRB) usage indicator that is to indicate PRB usage (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) ([0223] Total hosted operator PRB usage per traffic class (QCI) may be measured. This may be done, for example, to measure the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per traffic class (QCI) for a particular hosted operator during a measurement time period T. This measurement may also be measured by measuring per traffic class (QCI) the usage of frequency resources (PRB usage) per hosted operator during a measurement time period T. The measurement result may be in the form of a percentage PRB usage for a particular hosted operator or for each hosted operator.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the RAN load indicator information of Ly to include a radio resource utilization measurement as taught by Ahmed, in order to optimize traffic steering by load balancing (Ahmed, [0221] Load balancing may be performed. A measurement disclosed herein may be used to support PLMN-specific load measurement for load balance in the RAN; Ly, [0149] The resulting analytics may represent both system conditions and UE QoS experiences to optimize traffic steering such that it benefits both the network and the UE 201. On the one hand, system resources are optimized to load balance traffic in the network; while on the other hand, user experiences for the UE 201 are maintained or improved due to traffic steering that automatically selects the best access.)
Ly and Ahmed do not disclose wherein the RAN load indicator information includes: an estimated service parameter (ESP), which includes estimated throughput for available access categories, estimate of air time fraction, Block Ack Window size, and data Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) duration target; and a basic service set (BSS) load element for an access point (AP) beacon message, wherein the BSS load element includes an indication of a station (STA) count or an indication of channel utilization.
However, Kim discloses:
wherein a RAN load indicator information includes: an estimated service parameter (ESP) (ESP), which includes estimated throughput (Restimated(AC), estimated throughput) for available access categories (given access class), estimate of air time fraction (αestimated air time fraction(AC), estimated air time fraction), Block Ack Window size (a BA window size), and data Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) duration target (a data PPDU duration target) (FIG. 6B, [0086] The ESP format 600-b may include an access category information field 605-a, a number of active stations information field 630, a channel access latency information field 635, a random access delay information field 640, a data format information field 615-a, a BA window size information field 620-a and a data PPDU duration target (or PPDU transmission time) information field 625-a. [0087] Thus, when the ESP format 600-b is employed, the STA may determine (e.g., calculate) the estimated air time fraction for determining the estimated throughput, such as described herein. [0088] Restimated(AC) is the estimated throughput for a given access class. [0091] αestimated air time fraction(AC) is the estimated fraction of air time); and a basic service set (BSS) load element (ESP) for an access point (AP) beacon message ([0064] Although not shown in FIG. 1, a STA 115 may be covered by more than one AP 105 and may therefore associate with one or more APs 105 at different times. A single AP 105 and an associated set of stations may be referred to as a basic service set (BSS). [0085] FIG. 6B shows a block diagram of another example of an estimated services parameters (ESP) format 600-b including information fields, in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As above, the ESP format 600-b may be employed as part of a wireless beacon or as part of a response message from an AP.), wherein the BSS load element (ESP) includes an indication of a station (STA) count (a number of active stations) or an indication of channel utilization (the estimated air time fraction, the estimated throughput) ([0086] The ESP format 600-b may include an access category information field 605-a, a number of active stations information field 630, a channel access latency information field 635, a random access delay information field 640, a data format information field 615-a, a BA window size information field 620-a and a data PPDU duration target (or PPDU transmission time) information field 625-a. [0087] Thus, when the ESP format 600-b is employed, the STA may determine (e.g., calculate) the estimated air time fraction for determining the estimated throughput, such as described herein. [0088] Restimated(AC) is the estimated throughput for a given access class. [0091] αestimated air time fraction(AC) is the estimated fraction of air time).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the RAN load indicator information of Ly to include the ESP and the BSS load element as taught by Kim, in order to take advantage of Wi-Fi network measurement for ATSSS (Ly, [0111]).
Claim 42 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly in view of Shukla (US 10966277 B1).
Regarding claim 42,
Ly discloses wherein the RAN load indicator information is received by STA via a signaling (Ly discloses UE/network measurements including access network performance measurements ([0033]), wi-fi network measurements ([0111]), access availability ([0033], [0111]; Table 2), and connection percentages (Table 2).; Ly further discloses UE collection/reporting of such information. See ¶¶ [0123]-[0126], [0136], [0155]-[0156].; UE is also STA for wi-fi connectivity).
Ly does not disclose the signaling is protected management frame (PMF) in-band signaling.
However, Shukla discloses:
a signaling is protected management frame (PMF) in-band signaling (col.1, l.64 - col.2, l.11, More specifically, IEEE 802.11w, now rolled into IEEE 802.11-2016 standard, introduced protection of Management frames that are being used to signal network activities e.g., disconnect events.; col.17, ll.14-26, The modem 822 may generate signals and send these signals to antenna(s) 887 of a first type (e.g., WLAN 5 GHz), antenna(s) 885 of a second type (e.g., WLAN 2.4 GHz), and/or antenna(s) 887 of a third type (e.g., WAN), via RF circuitry 883, and RF module(s) 886 as descried herein. Antennas 887 may be configured to transmit in different frequency bands and/or using different wireless communication protocols. The antennas 887 may be directional, omnidirectional, or non-directional antennas. In addition to sending data, antennas 887 may also receive data, which is sent to appropriate RF modules connected to the antennas. One of the antennas 887 may be any combination of the antenna structures described herein.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the signaling of Ly to be protected management frame (PMF) in-band signaling as taught by Shukla, in order to protect management frames against various attacks using frequency bands available for the signaling (Shukla, col.1, l.64 - col.2, l.11, col.17, ll.14-26).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418